DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Kreuzer does not disclose the garment facing side of the core wrap is attached to the wearer facing side of the backsheet by the first glue or second glue, it is noted that Kreuzer further discloses in paragraph [0040] glue that attaches the backsheet to the core.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kreuzer et al. (2012/0316528).
With respect to claim 1, Kreuzer discloses an absorbent article 1 having a wearer-facing side, a garment-facing size, and a longitudinal axis A, as shown in figure 1. The article comprises a topsheet 5, a backsheet 6, and an absorbent core 7, as shown in figure 1. The absorbent core comprises an absorbent material comprising superabsorbent polymers, as disclosed in paragraph [0005], a core wrap 16 and 16’, and first and second channels 26 with an area therebetween, as shown in figure 8. A first glue application area comprises a first glue 60 and is at least disposed in the area between the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 7. A second glue application area comprising a second glue is at least disposed outside the area between the first and second channels 26, as disclosed in paragraph [0040]. The first glue application area 60 has a first glue application pattern, as shown in figure 7, and the second glue application area has a second glue application pattern, as disclosed in paragraph [0040]. The core, and therefore the core wrap, is attached to the backsheet by the second glue, as disclosed in paragraph [0040].
With respect to claim 2, the first glue application pattern 60 is continuous along the bottom of the core wrap, as shown in figure 7.
With respect to claim 3, the first glue is slot-coated, as disclosed in paragraph [0153].
With respect to claim 4, the second glue application pattern is discontinuous, as disclosed in paragraph [0040].
With respect to claim 5, the second glue application pattern is swirls, as disclosed in paragraph [0040].
With respect to claim 8, the first and second channels 26 comprise no absorbent material, as shown in figure 7, and therefore comprise less absorbent material than the area between the first and second channels.
With respect to claim 9, the absorbent material of the absorbent core comprises less than 20% of cellulosic fibers by weight of the absorbent material, as disclosed in paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 10, the absorbent material is free of cellulosic fibers, as disclosed in paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 11, the first and second channels 26 are substantially free of absorbent material and are surrounded by absorbent material 50, as shown in figure 7.
With respect to claim 12, a top side 16’ and a bottom side 16 of the core wrap are attached to each other through the channels 26, as shown in figure 9.
With respect to claim 13, the first and second channels 26 are longitudinally extending, as shown in figure 2, and have a length L that is at least 25% of the length M of the absorbent core, as disclosed in paragraph [0069].
With respect to claim 14, the first and second channels 26 do not extend to any edge of the absorbent core, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 15, Kreuzer discloses an absorbent article 1 having a wearer-facing side, a garment-facing size, and a longitudinal axis A, as shown in figure 1. The article comprises a topsheet 5, a backsheet 6, and an absorbent core 7, as shown in figure 1. The absorbent core comprises an absorbent material comprising superabsorbent polymers, as disclosed in paragraph [0005], a core wrap 16 and 16’, and first and second channels 26 with an area therebetween, as shown in figure 7. A first glue 40 is disposed in a first glue application area having a first glue application pattern and is at least disposed in the area between the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 7. A second glue is disposed in a second glue application area having a second glue application pattern and is at least disposed outside the area between the first and second channels 26, as disclosed in paragraph [0040]. The first glue application area 60 has a first glue application pattern, as shown in figure 7, and the second glue application area has a second glue application pattern, as disclosed in paragraph [0040]. The first glue 60 is continuous along the bottom of the core wrap, as shown in figure 7. The core, and therefore the core wrap, is attached to the backsheet by the second glue, as disclosed in paragraph [0040].
With respect to claim 16, the first and second channels 26 comprise no absorbent material, as shown in figure 7, and therefore comprise less absorbent material than the area between the first and second channels.
With respect to claim 17, a top side 16’ and a bottom side 16 of the core wrap are attached to each other through the channels 26, as shown in figure 9.
With respect to claim 18, Kreuzer discloses an absorbent article 1 having a wearer-facing side, a garment-facing size, and a longitudinal axis A, as shown in figure 1. The article comprises a topsheet 5, a backsheet 6, and an absorbent core 7, as shown in figure 1. The absorbent core comprises an absorbent material comprising superabsorbent polymers, as disclosed in paragraph [0005], a core wrap 16 and 16’, and first and second channels 26 with an area therebetween, as shown in figure 7. A first glue 60 is disposed in a first glue application area having a first glue application pattern and is at least disposed in the area between the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 7. A second glue is disposed in a second glue application area having a second glue application pattern and is at least disposed outside the area between the first and second channels 26, as disclosed in paragraph [0040]. The first glue application area 60 has a first glue application pattern, as shown in figure 7, and the second glue application area has a second glue application pattern, as disclosed in paragraph [0040]. The second glue covers the entire core, as disclosed in paragraph [0040], and therefore the second glue application area is larger than the first glue application area 60, as shown in figure 7. The garment facing side of the core, and therefore the core wrap, is attached to the wearer facing side of the backsheet by the second glue, as disclosed in paragraph [0040].
With respect to claim 19, the first and second channels 26 comprise no absorbent material, as shown in figure 7, and therefore comprise less absorbent material than the area between the first and second channels.
With respect to claim 20, a top side 16’ and a bottom side 16 of the core wrap are attached to each other through the channels 26, as shown in figure 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreuzer et al. (2012/0316528).
With respect to claim 6, Kreuzer discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the second glue application area comprising a first portion on one side of the longitudinal axis and a second portion on the other side of the longitudinal axis. Kreuzer discloses in paragraph [0040] that the second glue joins the absorbent core to the backsheet by a uniform continuous layer, but does not explicitly state that the second glue application area comprises a first portion on one side of the longitudinal axis and a second portion on the other side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second glue application area of Kreuzer with a first portion on one side of the longitudinal axis and a second portion on the other side, to achieve the predictable result of uniformly adhering the core and the backsheet along the lateral sides of the article to form a securely bonded article.
With respect to claim 7, Kreuzer discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the first and second portions of the second glue application areas extend along the full length of the first and second channels. Kreuzer shows in figure 3A that the first glue application area extends along the full length of the channels, but remains silent as to the second glue application area. Kreuzer discloses in paragraph [0040] that the second glue joins the absorbent core to the backsheet by a uniform continuous layer, but does not explicitly state that the second glue application area extends the full length of the channels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second glue application area of Kreuzer extend the full length of the channels, to achieve the predictable result of uniformly adhering the core and the backsheet along the entire length of the article to form a securely bonded article.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 9-13, 15, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, and 13-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,285,876. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose all limitations of the pending claims and therefore anticipate the pending claims.
Pending Claims
Patented Claims
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
8
9
13
10
14
11
15
12
16
13
17
15
2
18
6
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781