DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kreuzer et al. (2012/0316528).
With respect to claim 1, Kreuzer discloses an absorbent article 1 having a wearer-facing side, a garment-facing size, and a longitudinal axis A, as shown in figure 1. The article comprises a topsheet 5, a backsheet 6, and an absorbent core 7, as shown in figure 1. The absorbent core comprises an absorbent material comprising superabsorbent polymers, as disclosed in paragraph [0005], a core wrap 16 and 16’, and first and second channels 26 with an area therebetween, as shown in figure 7. A first glue application area comprises a first glue 40 and is at least disposed in the area between the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 7. A second glue application area comprising a second glue 60 is at least disposed outside the area between the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 7. The first glue application area 40 has a first glue application pattern and the second glue application area 60 has a second glue application pattern, as shown in figure 7.
With respect to claim 2, the first glue application pattern 60 is continuous along the bottom of the core wrap, as shown in figure 7.
With respect to claim 3, the first glue is slot-coated, as disclosed in paragraph [0153].
With respect to claim 4, the second glue application pattern 40 is discontinuous, as shown in figure 7.
With respect to claim 5, the second glue application pattern is randomly deposited adhesive fibers, as disclosed in paragraph [0152].
With respect to claim 6, the second glue application area 40 comprises a first portion on one side of the longitudinal axis and a second portion on the other side of the longitudinal axis, as shown in figure 7.
With respect to claim 7, the first and second portions of the second glue application area 40 extend along the full length of the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 3A.
With respect to claim 8, the first and second channels 26 comprise no absorbent material, as shown in figure 7, and therefore comprise less absorbent material than the area between the first and second channels.
With respect to claim 9, the absorbent material of the absorbent core comprises less than 20% of cellulosic fibers by weight of the absorbent material, as disclosed in paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 10, the absorbent material is free of cellulosic fibers, as disclosed in paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 11, the first and second channels 26 are substantially free of absorbent material and are surrounded by absorbent material 50, as shown in figure 7.
With respect to claim 12, a top side 16’ and a bottom side 16 of the core wrap are attached to each other through the channels 26, as shown in figure 9.
With respect to claim 13, the first and second channels 26 are longitudinally extending, as shown in figure 2, and have a length L that is at least 25% of the length M of the absorbent core, as disclosed in paragraph [0069].
With respect to claim 14, the first and second channels 26 do not extend to any edge of the absorbent core, as shown in figure 2.
With respect to claim 15, Kreuzer discloses an absorbent article 1 having a wearer-facing side, a garment-facing size, and a longitudinal axis A, as shown in figure 1. The article comprises a topsheet 5, a backsheet 6, and an absorbent core 7, as shown in figure 1. The absorbent core comprises an absorbent material comprising superabsorbent polymers, as disclosed in paragraph [0005], a core wrap 16 and 16’, and first and second channels 26 with an area therebetween, as shown in figure 7. A first glue 40 is disposed in a first glue application area having a first glue application pattern and is at least disposed in the area between the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 7. A second glue 60 is disposed in a second glue application area having a second glue application pattern and is at least disposed outside the area between the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 7. The first glue application pattern 40 differs from the second glue application pattern 60, as shown in figure 7. The first glue 60 is continuous along the bottom of the core wrap, as shown in figure 7.
With respect to claim 16, the first and second channels 26 comprise no absorbent material, as shown in figure 7, and therefore comprise less absorbent material than the area between the first and second channels.
With respect to claim 17, a top side 16’ and a bottom side 16 of the core wrap are attached to each other through the channels 26, as shown in figure 9.
With respect to claim 18, Kreuzer discloses an absorbent article 1 having a wearer-facing side, a garment-facing size, and a longitudinal axis A, as shown in figure 1. The article comprises a topsheet 5, a backsheet 6, and an absorbent core 7, as shown in figure 1. The absorbent core comprises an absorbent material comprising superabsorbent polymers, as disclosed in paragraph [0005], a core wrap 16 and 16’, and first and second channels 26 with an area therebetween, as shown in figure 7. A first glue 60 is disposed in a first glue application area having a first glue application pattern and is at least disposed in the area between the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 7. A second glue 40 is disposed in a second glue application area having a second glue application pattern and is at least disposed outside the area between the first and second channels 26, as shown in figure 7. The first glue application pattern 60 differs from the second glue application pattern 40, as shown in figure 7. The second glue application area 40 is larger than the first glue application area 60, as shown in figure 7.
With respect to claim 19, the first and second channels 26 comprise no absorbent material, as shown in figure 7, and therefore comprise less absorbent material than the area between the first and second channels.
With respect to claim 20, a top side 16’ and a bottom side 16 of the core wrap are attached to each other through the channels 26, as shown in figure 9.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 9-13, 15, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, and 13-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,285,876. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose all limitations of the pending claims and therefore anticipate the pending claims.
Pending Claims
Patented Claims
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
8
9
13
10
14
11
15
12
16
13
17
15
2
18
6
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patents 9,011,401; 7,753,899; and 6,753,455 disclose absorbent articles having different glue application patterns.
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781