DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows: “[...] at least a first safety cap configured to mate with a first fitting disposed on a first end of a first line when the first fitting has been disconnected from a second fitting disposed on [[the]]a first end of a second line...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows: “[...] at least a second safety cap configured to mate with a third fitting disposed on a first end of a third line when the third fitting has been disconnected from a fourth fitting disposed on [[the]]a first end of a fourth line...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Turner (US Publication Number 2011/0041919 A1; herein “Turner”).
In regard to claim 1, Turner discloses: A system of safety caps and plugs (at least 41, 42) for capping and plugging lines (i.e., at least 20, 21 — abstract, paragraphs [0026-0033] and figures 1-6), respectively, the system comprising:
at least a first safety cap (41) configured to mate with a first fitting (36) disposed on a first end of a first line (24) when the first fitting has been disconnected from a second fitting (35) disposed on [[the]]a first end of a second line (31), the first safety cap including a first identifier (52 — paragraphs [0032, 0034] and figures 4 & 6) that is viewable to a user of the system when the first safety cap is mated with the first fitting (paragraphs [0026-0033] and figures 1-6); and
at least a first safety plug (42) configured to mate with the second fitting when the second fitting has been disconnected from the first fitting, and wherein the first safety plug includes the first identifier that is viewable to the user of the system when the first safety plug is mated with the second fitting, and wherein the first identifier can be viewed by the user when the first safety cap and plug are mated with the first and second fittings, respectively, to allow the user to identify the first and second lines to facilitate reconnection of the first and second fittings to one another during a re-installation process (paragraphs [0026-0033] and figures 1-6).
In regard to claim 2, Turner further discloses: wherein when the first safety cap and the first safety plug are mated with the first fitting and the second fitting, respectively, the first safety cap and the first safety plug seal the first ends of the first and second lines, respectively (paragraph [0007] and figures 1-6 | “[...] the identification fittings 41/42, 44/45 and 47/48 are formed as closed, cylindrical caps so as to serve as a closure on each of the equipment port 24-27 and the pressure fitting 30-33 when disconnected. Since many of the pressure lines 20, 21 may be provided with hydraulic fluid or need to be protected against outside contaminants, formation of the identification fittings as closures or caps will prevent the leakage of the pressure fluid from the pressure line, and also prevents leakage of the pressure fluid from the equipment load and equipment pressure source” — paragraph [0035]).
In regard to claim 3, Turner further discloses: wherein the first identifier comprises at least one of a numeral, a color, a sticker and printed text (paragraphs [0032, 0034]).
In regard to claim 4, Turner further discloses: wherein the first safety plug and first safety cap further include at least a size indication that is viewable to the user to allow the user to determine whether a size of the first safety cap and of the first safety plug are compatible with a size of the first fitting and with a size of the second fitting, respectively (Examiner notes that since the “first identifier” 52 is specifically meant to correspond to the fittings used in the line fitting ends of the pressurized system, as shown in figure 1, an operator would be able determine based off the indication/visual of 52 that the size of the plug and cap, 42 & 41, respectively, correspond the size of the line fitting ends associated with the pressurized system).
In regard to claim 5, Turner further discloses: wherein the first safety plug and first safety cap further include at least a type indication that is viewable to the user to allow the user to determine whether a type of the first safety cap and of the first safety plug are compatible with a type of the first fitting and with a type of the second fitting, respectively (Examiner notes that since the “first identifier” 52 & the female/male threaded ends of the cap/plug are specifically meant to correspond to the fittings used in the line fitting ends of the pressurized system, as shown in figure 1, an operator would be able determine based off the indication/visual of 52 & the female/male threaded ends of the cap/plug whether the cap/plug are correct type to correspond to the line fitting ends associated with the pressurized system).
In regard to claim 6, Turner further discloses: at least a second safety cap configured to mate with a third fitting disposed on a first end of a third line when the third fitting has been disconnected from a fourth fitting disposed on [[the]]a first end of a fourth line, the second safety cap including a second identifier that is viewable to a user of the system when the second safety cap is mated with the third fitting; and at least a second safety plug configured to mate with the fourth fitting when the fourth fitting has been disconnected from the third fitting, and wherein the second safety plug includes the second identifier that is viewable to the user of the system when the second safety plug is mated with the fourth fitting, and wherein the second identifier can be viewed by the user when the second safety cap and plug are mated with the third and fourth fittings, respectively, to allow the user to identify the third and fourth lines to facilitate reconnection of the third and fourth fittings to one another during a re-installation process (Examiner notes that the “second safety cap” and the “second safety plug” are of the second set of the plurality of sets which corresponds to other line ends from the system as shown in figure 1 — see paragraphs [0026-0034] and figures 1-6).
In regard to claim 7, Turner further discloses: wherein when the second safety cap and the second safety plug are mated with the third fitting and the fourth fitting, respectively, the second safety cap and the second safety plug seal the first ends of the third and fourth lines, respectively (paragraph [0007] and figures 1-6 | “[...] the identification fittings 41/42, 44/45 and 47/48 are formed as closed, cylindrical caps so as to serve as a closure on each of the equipment port 24-27 and the pressure fitting 30-33 when disconnected. Since many of the pressure lines 20, 21 may be provided with hydraulic fluid or need to be protected against outside contaminants, formation of the identification fittings as closures or caps will prevent the leakage of the pressure fluid from the pressure line, and also prevents leakage of the pressure fluid from the equipment load and equipment pressure source” — paragraph [0035]).
In regard to claim 8, Turner further discloses: wherein the first identifier comprises at least one of a numeral, a color, a sticker and printed text (paragraphs [0032, 0034]).
In regard to claim 9, Turner further discloses: wherein the second safety plug and second safety cap further include a size indication that is viewable to the user to allow the user to determine whether a size of the second safety cap and a size of the second safety plug are compatible with a size of the third fitting and with a size of the fourth fitting, respectively (Examiner notes that since the “second identifier” 52 is specifically meant to correspond to the fittings used in the line fitting ends of the pressurized system, as shown in figure 1, an operator would be able determine based off the indication/visual of 52 that the size of the plug and cap, 42 & 41, respectively, correspond the size of the line fitting ends associated with the pressurized system).
In regard to claim 10, Turner further discloses: wherein the second safety plug and second safety cap further include at least a type indication that is viewable to the user to allow the user to determine whether a type of the second safety cap and of the second safety plug are compatible with a type of the third fitting and with a type of the fourth fitting, respectively (Examiner notes that since the “second identifier” 52 & the female/male threaded ends of the cap/plug are specifically meant to correspond to the fittings used in the line fitting ends of the pressurized system, as shown in figure 1, an operator would be able determine based off the indication/visual of 52 & the female/male threaded ends of the cap/plug whether the cap/plug are correct type to correspond to the line fitting ends associated with the pressurized system).
In regard to claim 11, Turner further discloses: a holder (i.e., toolbox) configured to hold the first and second safety caps and plugs (paragraph [0035]).
In regard to claim 15, Turner further discloses: wherein the lines are one of hydraulic fluid lines, gas lines and electrical conduits (paragraphs [0026-0028]).
In regard to claim 16, Turner discloses: A method for marking lines (i.e., at least 20, 21) when the lines are disconnected to ensure that disconnected lines can be matched up during reconnection (abstract, paragraphs [0026-0033] and figures 1-6), the method comprising:
providing a system of safety caps and plugs (at least 41, 42) for capping and plugging lines (i.e., at least 20, 21 — abstract, paragraphs [0026-0033] and figures 1-6), respectively, the system comprising, the system comprising at least a first safety cap (41) and a first safety plug (42);
disconnecting a first fitting (36) disposed on a first end of a first line (24) from a second fitting (35) disposed on a first end of a second line (31); and
mating the first safety cap with the first fitting and mating the first safety plug with the second fitting, the first safety cap and the first safety plug including a first identifier (52 — paragraphs [0032, 0034] and figures 4 & 6) that is viewable to a user of the system when the first safety cap and the first safety plug are mated with the first fitting and the second fitting, respectively, wherein the first identifier is viewable by the user when the first safety cap and plug are mated with the first and second fittings, respectively, to allow the user to identify the first and second lines to facilitate reconnection of the first and second fittings to one another during a re-installation process (paragraphs [0026-0033] and figures 1-6).
In regard to claim 17, Turner further discloses: wherein mating the first safety cap and the first safety plug with the first fitting and the second fitting, respectively, seals the first ends of the first and second lines, respectively (paragraph [0007] and figures 1-6 | “[...] the identification fittings 41/42, 44/45 and 47/48 are formed as closed, cylindrical caps so as to serve as a closure on each of the equipment port 24-27 and the pressure fitting 30-33 when disconnected. Since many of the pressure lines 20, 21 may be provided with hydraulic fluid or need to be protected against outside contaminants, formation of the identification fittings as closures or caps will prevent the leakage of the pressure fluid from the pressure line, and also prevents leakage of the pressure fluid from the equipment load and equipment pressure source” — paragraph [0035]).
In regard to claim 18, Turner further discloses: wherein the first identifier comprises a visual identifier (paragraphs [0032, 0034] and figures 4 & 6).
In regard to claim 19, Turner further discloses: wherein the first identifier comprises at least one of a numeral, a color, a sticker and printed text (paragraphs [0032, 0034]).
In regard to claim 20, Turner further discloses: wherein the system further comprises at least a second safety cap and a second safety plug, the method further comprising: disconnecting a third fitting disposed on a first end of a third line from a fourth fitting disposed on a first end of a fourth line; and mating the second safety cap with the third fitting and mating the second safety plug with the fourth fitting, the second safety cap and the second safety plug including a second identifier that is viewable to a user of the system when the second safety cap and the second safety plug are mated with the third fitting and the fourth fitting, respectively, wherein the second identifier is viewable by the user when the second safety cap and plug are mated with the third and fourth fittings, respectively, to allow the user to identify the third and fourth lines to facilitate reconnection of the third and fourth fittings to one another during a re-installation process (Examiner notes that the “second safety cap” and the “second safety plug” are of the second set of the plurality of sets which corresponds to other line ends from the system as shown in figure 1 — see paragraphs [0026-0034] and figures 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (US Publication Number 2011/0041919 A1; herein “Turner”) in view of Vasudeva (US Patent Number 6,626,295 B1; herein “Vasudeva”).
In regard to claim 12, Turner discloses the preceding claims.
However, Turner is silent in regard to: wherein the holder comprises a generally flat, clear, hard plastic material, and wherein a portion of the holder is removed to form a handle at an upper portion of the holder to allow the holder to be carried by the user.
Nonetheless, Vaudeva teaches a toolbox used to store fasteners and other items (abstract, column 5, line 19- column 6, line 47, and figures 5-8), similar to that as disclosed in Turner. Vaudeva teaches for the toolbox to be “generally flat, clear, hard plastic material” and a portion of the holder is removed to form a handle at an upper portion of the holder to allow the holder to be carried by the user (column 5, line 19- column 6, line 47 and figures 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to simply substitute the toolbox, as taught by Turner, with that of Vasudeva, to yield the predictable result of having a tool case to allow for storage space for various elements (abstract — Vasudeva). See MPEP 2143, section I, subsection B.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references introduced in the PTO-892 relate to systems corresponding to sealable caps/plugs.
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676