DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office action is based on the communications filed July 8, 2026. Claims 1, 3 – 6, 8, 9, 13, 15 – 18, 20 – 24 are currently pending and considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3 – 6, 8, 9, 13, 15 – 18, and 20 – 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 5, 8, 9, 13, 15 – 17, and 20 – 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gokarn et al. (US 10,743,105 B1), hereinafter Gokarn, in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0267773 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Claim 1: Gokarn discloses an audio output method, comprising: obtaining interface information of an operating system (see at least, “Operating system 111 may include a setup component 14 that may initialize and/or configure system 100. For example, setup component 14 may determine a total number of display devices 18 in communication with computer device 102. For example, the total number of display devices 18 may be predetermined by a user of computer device 102 and/or user input may be received via, for example, a user interface of a display on computer device 102 indicating the
total number of display devices 18 for system 100. As display devices are added and/or removed from system 100, the total number of display devices 18 may increase and/or decrease as necessary. Setup component 14 may also determine a total number of speakers 20 in system 100. Each display device 106, 108, 110, 112 may provide information regarding a number of speakers on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 and the corresponding speaker location information 22 for each speaker on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112. For example, setup component 14 may receive hardware information from
each of the display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 that identifies how many speakers display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may have, the speaker location information 22, how many channels display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may support, whether display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may be a high speed device or super speed device, how many audio ren-dering endpoints display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may
have, how many capture endpoints display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may have, and/or any hardware loop back points on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112. Setup component 14 may capture the hardware information of the display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 and may build a topology for system 100
in response to the information learned from the display devices 106, 108, 110, 112,” Gokarn Column 4 Line 63 – Column 5 Line 28), the interface information indicating first interfaces of the operating system called by an application including a plurality of application windows (see at least, “Operating system 111 may also include an application location manager 17 that may provide application location information 16 for each application 10. The application location information 16 may indicate one or more display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 where application 10 may be currently located. In addition, on a particular display device 106, 108, 110, 112, there may be multiple windows and/or virtual panels that may correspond to one or more applications 10. For example, applications 10 may have a graphical user interface (UI) that corresponds to a window on a display device 106, 108, 110, 112. The application location information 16 may also include coordinates from, for example, a Cartesian coordinate system, that provide a pixel position of the current location 19 of applications 10 on the display devices 106, 108, 110, 112. As such, the application location information 16 may indicate a window and/or virtual panel on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 where applications 10 may be located and may also provide a pixel position of a current location 19 of applications 10 on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112. As one or more applications 10 change locations to a new location 23, application location manager 17 may track the movement of applications 10 and may update the application location information 16 with the new locations 23 of applications 10 in response to the changes in location,” Gokarn Column 6 Lines 10 – 36); and for each application window of the plurality of application windows: determining a first screen where the application window is located based on the interface information (see at least, “Operating system 111 may also include an audio stack 24 that may receive audio data 12 from one or more applications 10 and may select speakers 30 on one or more display devices 106,108,110,112 to output the audio data 12. Audio stack 24 may receive information indicating a number of applications 10 open on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 and the corresponding application location information 16
for each application 10,” Gokarn Column 6 Lines 37 – 44, “The application location information 16 may indicate one or more display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 where application 10 may be currently located. In addition, on a particular display device 106, 108, 110, 112, there may be multiple windows and/or virtual panels that may correspond to one or more applications 10,” Gokarn Column 12 Lines 51 – 56), different screens corresponding to different second interfaces of the operating system (see at least, “In addition, audio stack 24 may receive display device information including, but not limited to, the total number of display devices 18 in communication with computer device 102, the total number of speakers 20, the speaker location information 22, and the device sequencing 21 information,” Gokarn Column 6 Lines 44 – 49); and outputting an audio corresponding to the application to a first audio output device associated with the first screen where the application window is located (see at least, “Audio stack 24 may use a combination of the application location information 16 and the speaker location information 22 in selecting the speakers 30 to receive the audio data 12,” Gokarn Column 6 Lines 49 – 52, “Audio stack 24 may use a combination of the application location information 16 and the display device information to select one or more speakers 30 of display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 to output the audio data 12 for applications 10,” Gokarn Column 7 Lines 15 – 18, “Referring now to FIG. 3, illustrated is an example of selecting speakers to output audio data for two applications, Application A 302 and Application B 310, located on a plurality of display devices 106, 108, 110. The example may be discussed below with reference to the architecture of FIG. 1. Application A 302 may be open on both display device 106 and display device 108. The application location information 16 for Application A 302 may indicate that application A 302 is located on both display device 106 and display device 108. In addition, the application location information 16 for Application A 302 may include one or more coordi-nates 304 that indicate a current location 19 of Application A 302 on display device 106 and one or more coordinates 306 that indicate a current location 19 of Application A 302 on display device 108. Speaker 34 of display device 106 and speakers 35, 36 of display device 108 may be selected by audio stack 24 to output any audio data 12 for Application A 302,” Gokarn Column 9 Lines 24 – 42, “In addition, Application B 310 may be open on display device 110. The application location information 16 for Application B 310 may indicate that Application B 310 is located on display device 110. In addition, the application location information 16 for Application B 310 may include one or more coordinates 320 that indicate a current location 19 of Application B 310 on display device 110. Audio stack 24 may receive the application location information 16 for Application B 310 and may use the application location information 16 to determine that Application B 310 is on display device 110. Audio stack 24 may use the speaker array 26 to identify that speakers 37, 38 are located on display device 110 and audio stack 24 may use the speaker array 26 to access the corresponding speaker location information 22 for speakers 37, 38. Audio stack 24 may use the speaker location information 22 for speakers 37, 38 to determine a distance 318 of speaker 37 to the current location 19 of Application B 310 and a distance 320 of speaker 38 to the current location 19 of Application B 310. Audio stack 24 may compare distance 318 to distance 320 and may determine that distance 318 and distance 320 are a similar distance from the current location 19 of Application B 310. As such, audio stack 24 may select both speakers 37, 38 to output any audio data 12 for Application B 310 in response to the comparison of distances 318, 320. Audio stack 24 may transmit audio data 12 for Application B 310 to speakers 37, 38 for output. Audio stack 24 may determine that display device 112 does not have an application 10 currently open, and audio stack 24 may not transmit audio data 12 to speakers 39, 40 of display device 112. As such, the current location 19 of Application A 302 and Application B 310 may be used to select the speakers to output the audio data 12 for Application A 302 and Application B 310,” Gokarn Column 10 Lines 18 – 52).
Gokarn does not disclose in response to an associated audio output device of the first screen changing from the first audio output device to a second audio output device, outputting the audio corresponding to the application window to the second audio output device. However, Kim discloses in regards to controlling audio output “Referring to FIGS. 22A to 22C, the electronic device may divide a screen area of a display into multiple areas, and may set an audio output device for each area,” Kim [0181]. Kim further discloses in response to an associated audio output device of the first screen changing from the first audio output device to a second audio output device, outputting the audio corresponding to the application window to the second audio output device (see at least, “The screen area of the display may be divided into multiple areas which may be logically divided by a designer and/or user setting. An audio output device for each area may be set and changed by a user. As a detailed example, as illustrated in FIG. 22A, the electronic device may divide a screen area of a single display into a first area corresponding to the upper area and a second area corresponding to the
lower area, may set an audio output device for an application executed in the first area as earphones, and may set an audio output device for an application executed in the second area as a first Bluetooth device. In the example illustrated in FIG. 22B, the electronic device may divide a screen area of a
single display into a first area corresponding to the left area and a second area corresponding to the right area, may set an audio output device for an application executed in the first area as a speaker, and may set an audio output device for an application executed in the second area as a first Bluetooth
device,” Kim [0182], “The screen area of a display may be divided in advance into multiple areas which are physically divided. In the example illustrated in FIG. 22C, the screen area of the display of the electronic device may be divided in advance into a first area corresponding to the screen area of a display disposed on a first side and a second area corresponding to the screen area of a display disposed on a second side. An audio output device for each area may be set and changed by a user. In the example illustrated in FIG. 22C, the electronic device may set an audio output device for an application executed in the first area disposed on the first side as a first Bluetooth device, and may set an audio output device for an application executed in the second area disposed on the second side as a second Bluetooth device,” Kim [0183], “In this situation, when execution of an application is detected, the electronic device may identify an audio output device of the corresponding application, based on the area where the corresponding application is displayed. When application A is equally executed in both the first area and the second area, the electronic device may recognize the application A executed in the first area and the application A executed in the second area as different applications, may provide audio data of the application A executed in the first area to an audio output device corresponding to the first area, and may provide audio data of the application A executed in the second area to an audio output device corresponding to the second area,” Kim [0184]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio output of the application window of Gokarn by taking into consideration the audio output device for each screen area of a display set and changed by a user as taught by Kim so that the audio is output to the appropriate audio output device as desired by the user.
Claim 3: Gokarn and Kim disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to a screen where the application is located being changed, determining a second screen where the application is located; and outputting the audio of the application to a third audio output device corresponding to the second screen (see at least, “Referring now to FIG. 4, an example of panning audio to a new set of speakers 31 (FIG. 1) when Application C 402 moves from a current location 19 (FIG. 1) to a new location 23 (FIG. 1) is illustrated. The example may be discussed below with reference to the architecture of FIG. 1,” Gokarn Column 10 Lines 53 – 57, “A user may move Application C 402 from the current location 19 on display device 106 to a new location 23 on display device 108. Audio stack 24 may receive updated application location information 16 for Application C 402 with the new location 23. For example, one or more coordinates P2 406 may indicate the new location 23 of Application C 402 on display device 108,” Gokarn Column 11 Lines 24 – 30, “Application C 402 is removed from display device 106. As such, speakers 33, 34 may no longer output audio data 12 for Application C 402 when Application C 402 moves to display device 108. Audio stack 24 may receive the updated application 45 location information 16 for Application C 402 and may determine that the new location 23 for Application C 402 is on display device 108. One or more coordinates P2 406 may indicate where Application C 402 is located on display device 108. Audio stack 24 may use the speaker array 26 to 50 identify that speakers 35, 36 are located on display device 108. As Application C 402 moves to display device 108, audio stack 24 may start outputting audio data 12 for Application C 402 via speakers 35, 36 of display device 108,” Gokarn Column 11 Lines 41 – 54).
Claim 4: Gokarn and Kim disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the screen where the application is located being changed includes: in response to detecting a screen switch operation of a user on the application, determining that the screen where the application is located is changed (see at least, “At 508, method 500 may include receiving updated application location information with a new location for the application. For example, a user may drag and/or expand the window size of application 10 so that application 10 may span across multiple display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 and/or move to a new location 23 (e.g., a different location on the current display device and/or to a different display device). As one or more applications 10 change locations to a new location 23, application location manager 17 may track the movement of the application(s) 10 and may update the application location information 16 in response to the changes in location. Audio stack 24 may receive the updated application location information 16 with the new location 23 for application 10. The updated application location information 16 may identify one or more display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 for the new location 23 of application 10,” Gokarn Column 14 Lines 8 – 23).
Claim 5: Gokarn and Kim disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the first screen and the second screen belong to different display areas of a same screen or different screens (see at least, “At 508, method 500 may include receiving updated application location information with a new location for the application. For example, a user may drag and/or expand the window size of application 10 so that application 10 may span across multiple display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 and/or move to a new location 23 (e.g., a different location on the current display device and/or to a different display device),” Gokarn Column 14 Lines 8 – 15).
Claim 8: Gokarn and Kim disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising, before determining the first screen where the application is located: obtaining a plurality of screens of the electronic device; obtaining a plurality of audio output devices; and associating the plurality of screens with the plurality of audio output devices in a one-to-one correspondence (see at least, “Setup component 14 may also determine a total number of speakers 20 in system 100. Each display device 106, 108, 110, 112 may provide information regarding a number of speakers on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 and the corresponding speaker location information 22 for each speaker on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112. For example, setup component 14 may receive hardware information from each of the display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 that identifies how many speakers display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may have, the speaker location information 22, how many channels display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may support, whether display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may be a high speed device or super speed device, how many audio ren-dering endpoints display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may have, how many capture endpoints display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 may have, and/or any hardware loop back points on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112. Setup component 14 may capture the hardware information of the display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 and may build a topology for system 100 in response to the information learned from the display devices 106, 108, 110, 112,” Gokarn Column 5 Lines 8 – 28).
Claim 9: Gokarn and Kim disclose an audio output device configured to perform the audio output method according to claim 1 (see at least, “The method may include receiving, at an operating system executing on the computer device, audio data from an application open on at least one display device of a plurality of display devices in communication with the computer device,” Gokarn Column 1 Lines 53 – 57).
Claims 13, 15 – 17, and 20 are directed to an electronic device (see at least, “The method may include receiving, at an operating system executing on the computer device, audio data from an application open on at least one display device of a plurality of display devices in communication with the computer device,” Gokarn Column 1 Lines 53 – 57), comprising: a processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the processor and storing executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method substantially similar in scope to claims 1, 3 – 5, and 8, respectively and therefore are rejected for the same reasons (see also at least, “Another example implementation relates to computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by a computer
device. The computer-readable medium may include at least one instruction for causing the computer device to receive audio data from an application open on at least one display device of a plurality of display devices in commu-nication with the computer device. The computer-readable medium may include at least one instruction for causing the computer device to select a set of speakers from a plurality of speakers of the plurality of display devices to receive the audio data in response to speaker location information for the plurality of speakers and application location information with a current location for the application,” Gokarn Column 2 Lines 4 – 16, “Computer device 102 may include an operating system 111 that may be executed by processor 42 and/or memory 44. Memory 44 of computer device 102 may be configured for storing data and/or computer-executable instructions defining and/or associated with operating system 111, and processor 42 may execute such data and/or instructions to instantiate operating system 111,” Gokarn Column 4 Lines 46 – 52).
Claim 21: Gokarn and Kim disclose an audio output method, comprising: for each application window of a plurality of application windows of an application (see at least, “Operating system 111 may also include an application location manager 17 that may provide application location information 16 for each application 10. The application location information 16 may indicate one or more display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 where application 10 may be currently located. In addition, on a particular display device 106, 108, 110, 112, there may be multiple windows and/or virtual panels that may correspond to one or more applications 10. For example, applications 10 may have a graphical user interface (UI) that corresponds to a window on a display device 106, 108, 110, 112. The application location information 16 may also include coordinates from, for example, a Cartesian coordinate system, that provide a pixel position of the current location 19 of applications 10 on the display devices 106, 108, 110, 112. As such, the application location information 16 may indicate a window and/or virtual panel on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 where applications 10 may be located and may also provide a pixel position of a current location 19 of applications 10 on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112. As one or more applications 10 change locations to a new location 23, application location manager 17 may track the movement of applications 10 and may update the application location information 16 with the new locations 23 of applications 10 in response to the changes in location,” Gokarn Column 6 Lines 10 – 36): determining a first screen where the application window is located (see at least, “Operating system 111 may also include an audio stack 24 that may receive audio data 12 from one or more applications 10 and may select speakers 30 on one or more display devices 106,108,110,112 to output the audio data 12. Audio stack 24 may receive information indicating a number of applications 10 open on display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 and the corresponding application location information 16 for each application 10,” Gokarn Column 6 Lines 37 – 44, “The application location information 16 may indicate one or more display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 where application 10 may be currently located. In addition, on a particular display device 106, 108, 110, 112, there may be multiple windows and/or virtual panels that may correspond to one or more applications 10,” Gokarn Column 12 Lines 51 – 56); and outputting an audio corresponding to the application window to a first audio output device corresponding to the first screen where the application window is located; wherein: the first screen belongs to a first display area of a screen, and the screen further includes a second display area to which a second screen belongs, the second display area being different from the first display area; and the second screen is associated with a second audio output device different from the first audio output device (see at least, “Audio stack 24 may use a combination of the application location information 16 and the speaker location information 22 in selecting the speakers 30 to receive the audio data 12,” Gokarn Column 6 Lines 49 – 52, “Audio stack 24 may use a combination of the application location information 16 and the display device information to select one or more speakers 30 of display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 to output the audio data 12 for applications 10,” Gokarn Column 7 Lines 15 – 18, “Another example may include when a media application 10 location on display device 106 plays audio and video, the audio for the media application 10 may be output by the selected speakers 30 of the display device 106 where the media application is currently located (e.g., speakers 33, 34). A user may drag and/or expand the window size of application 10 so that application 10 may span across multiple display devices (e.g., display devices 106, 108). As appli-cation 10 may move to a new location 23 (e.g., to another display device 108), the audio data 12 may be panned to a new set of selected speakers 31 (e.g., speakers 33, 34, 35, 36) that correspond to the new location 23 for application 10,” Gokarn Column 7 Lines 53 – 65, “Referring now to FIG. 3, illustrated is an example of selecting speakers to output audio data for two applications, Application A 302 and Application B 310, located on a plurality of display devices 106, 108, 110. The example may be discussed below with reference to the architecture of FIG. 1. Application A 302 may be open on both display device 106 and display device 108. The application location information 16 for Application A 302 may indicate that application A 302 is located on both display device 106 and display device 108. In addition, the application location information 16 for Application A 302 may include one or more coordi-nates 304 that indicate a current location 19 of Application A 302 on display device 106 and one or more coordinates 306 that indicate a current location 19 of Application A 302 on display device 108. Speaker 34 of display device 106 and speakers 35, 36 of display device 108 may be selected by audio stack 24 to output any audio data 12 for Application A 302,” Gokarn Column 9 Lines 24 – 42, “In addition, Application B 310 may be open on display device 110. The application location information 16 for Application B 310 may indicate that Application B 310 is located on display device 110. In addition, the application location information 16 for Application B 310 may include one or more coordinates 320 that indicate a current location 19 of Application B 310 on display device 110. Audio stack 24 may receive the application location information 16 for Application B 310 and may use the application location information 16 to determine that Application B 310 is on display device 110. Audio stack 24 may use the speaker array 26 to identify that speakers 37, 38 are located on display device 110 and audio stack 24 may use the speaker array 26 to access the corresponding speaker location information 22 for speakers 37, 38. Audio stack 24 may use the speaker location information 22 for speakers 37, 38 to determine a distance 318 of speaker 37 to the current location 19 of Application B 310 and a distance 320 of speaker 38 to the current location 19 of Application B 310. Audio stack 24 may compare distance 318 to distance 320 and may determine that distance 318 and distance 320 are a similar distance from the current location 19 of Application B 310. As such, audio stack 24 may select both speakers 37, 38 to output any audio data 12 for Application B 310 in response to the comparison of distances 318, 320. Audio stack 24 may transmit audio data 12 for Application B 310 to speakers 37, 38 for output. Audio stack 24 may determine that display device 112 does not have an application 10 currently open, and audio stack 24 may not transmit audio data 12 to speakers 39, 40 of display device 112. As such, the current location 19 of Application A 302 and Application B 310 may be used to select the speakers to output the audio data 12 for Application A 302 and Application B 310,” Gokarn Column 10 Lines 18 – 52).
Claim 22: Gokarn and Kim disclose an method according to claim 4, wherein the switch operation includes triggering through a shortcut or by selecting the screen switch key (see at least, “In addition, audio stack 24 may also use other auxiliary information 29 to select one or more speakers 30 of display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 to output the audio data 12 for applications 10. Auxiliary information 29 may include, but is not limited to, user location information, changes in speaker location information 22 (e.g., when a display device is rotated), and/or any other triggers that may modify a direction of the audio output,” Gokarn Column 7 Line 33 – 40).
Claim 23: Gokarn and Kim disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first audio output device includes a wireless audio device that is separate from the first screen (see at least, “Referring to FIGS. 22A to 22C, the electronic device may divide a screen area of a display into multiple areas, and may set an audio output device for each area,” Kim [0181], BT1, BT2, Kim FIGS. 22A – 22C, “may set an audio output device for an application executed in the second area as a first Bluetooth device,” Kim [0182], “may set an audio output device for an application executed in the first area disposed on the first side as a first Bluetooth device, and may set an audio output device for an application executed in the second area disposed on the second side as a second Bluetooth device,” Kim [0183]).
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gokarn and Kim in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0221910 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Claim 6: Gokarn and Kim disclose the method according to claim 5, but do not disclose wherein the screen is a foldable and flexible screen. However, Lee discloses in regards to “recent electronic devices,” Lee [0005], wherein the screen is a foldable and flexible screen (see at least, “A foldable device may be equipped with a folded (or bended) display (for example, flexible display or foldable display), and may be folded or unfolded and used,” Lee [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multiple display invention of Gokarn and Kim to apply to a foldable and flexible screen thereby allowing for the advantage of audio processing on devices having “a new form factor, such as a multi-display (for example, dual display) device (for example, foldable device),” Lee [0005].
Claim 18 is substantially similar in scope to claim 6 and therefore is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gokarn and Kim in view of Porwal et al. (US 2008/0063215 A1), hereinafter Porwal.
Claim 24: Gokarn and Kim disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein output to respective audio output devices corresponding to the first screens where the respective application windows are located (see at least, “Audio stack 24 may use a combination of the application location information 16 and the speaker location information 22 in selecting the speakers 30 to receive the audio data 12,” Gokarn Column 6 Lines 49 – 52, “Audio stack 24 may use a combination of the application location information 16 and the display device information to select one or more speakers 30 of display devices 106, 108, 110, 112 to output the audio data 12 for applications 10,” Gokarn Column 7 Lines 15 – 18, “Referring now to FIG. 3, illustrated is an example of selecting speakers to output audio data for two applications, Application A 302 and Application B 310, located on a plurality of display devices 106, 108, 110. The example may be discussed below with reference to the architecture of FIG. 1. Application A 302 may be open on both display device 106 and display device 108. The application location information 16 for Application A 302 may indicate that application A 302 is located on both display device 106 and display device 108. In addition, the application location information 16 for Application A 302 may include one or more coordi-nates 304 that indicate a current location 19 of Application A 302 on display device 106 and one or more coordinates 306 that indicate a current location 19 of Application A 302 on display device 108. Speaker 34 of display device 106 and speakers 35, 36 of display device 108 may be selected by audio stack 24 to output any audio data 12 for Application A 302,” Gokarn Column 9 Lines 24 – 42, “In addition, Application B 310 may be open on display device 110. The application location information 16 for Application B 310 may indicate that Application B 310 is located on display device 110. In addition, the application location information 16 for Application B 310 may include one or more coordinates 320 that indicate a current location 19 of Application B 310 on display device 110. Audio stack 24 may receive the application location information 16 for Application B 310 and may use the application location information 16 to determine that Application B 310 is on display device 110. Audio stack 24 may use the speaker array 26 to identify that speakers 37, 38 are located on display device 110 and audio stack 24 may use the speaker array 26 to access the corresponding speaker location information 22 for speakers 37, 38. Audio stack 24 may use the speaker location information 22 for speakers 37, 38 to determine a distance 318 of speaker 37 to the current location 19 of Application B 310 and a distance 320 of speaker 38 to the current location 19 of Application B 310. Audio stack 24 may compare distance 318 to distance 320 and may determine that distance 318 and distance 320 are a similar distance from the current location 19 of Application B 310. As such, audio stack 24 may select both speakers 37, 38 to output any audio data 12 for Application B 310 in response to the comparison of distances 318, 320. Audio stack 24 may transmit audio data 12 for Application B 310 to speakers 37, 38 for output. Audio stack 24 may determine that display device 112 does not have an application 10 currently open, and audio stack 24 may not transmit audio data 12 to speakers 39, 40 of display device 112. As such, the current location 19 of Application A 302 and Application B 310 may be used to select the speakers to output the audio data 12 for Application A 302 and Application B 310,” Gokarn Column 10 Lines 18 – 52) but do not disclose wherein: the plurality of application windows playing different audio contents; and in response to the plurality of application windows being displayed on different first screens, audios respectively corresponding to the plurality of application windows are simultaneously output to respective audio output devices corresponding to the first screens where the respective application windows are located. However, Porwal discloses in regards to a multi-window picture audio visual system with targeted audio wherein: the plurality of application windows playing different audio contents; and in response to the plurality of application windows being displayed on different first screens, audios respectively corresponding to the plurality of application windows are simultaneously output to respective audio output devices corresponding to the first screens where the respective application windows are located (see at least, “The present invention relates to a home-entertainment system which includes a display device with an ability to display multiple videos in different portions of the display screen and specifically, a method and system for directing audio streams, corresponding to different videos, to users of such systems,” Porwal [0001], “Methods and apparatus for managing audio corresponding to a video stream in an audio-visual system are disclosed. The audio-visual system includes sound reproducing devices intended to deliver audio to the required viewers. The method includes receiving an audio-video signal comprising various channels. Two or more channels are selected for simultaneous display by the viewers. The audio associated with each of the selected channels are identified. For each of the selected channels, the viewers who want to watch that channel are identified. The sound reproducing devices associated with those viewers are also identified. The identified audio stream for that channel is then directed to the identified sound reproducing devices such that only viewers associated with that channel can hear the audio for that channel, to the exclusion of other viewers,” Porwal [0003], “Each directional speaker is intended to deliver the audio stream corresponding to the channel being displayed in the secondary display regions to either viewer A, 108-1 or viewer B, 108-n as depicted in FIG. 1,” Porwal [0013], Porwal FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply output to respective audio output devices corresponding to the first screens where the respective application windows are located of Gokarn and Kim to the playing of different audio contents simultaneously output to respective audio output devices as taught by Porwal utilizing the set and changed audio output devices corresponding to the first screens where the respective application windows are located as taught by Gokarn and Kim thereby expanding the application to multi-window television with the advantage of targeted audio as desired by the viewer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH SAUNDERS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692