DETAILED OFFICIAL ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification are to the published application US 2024/0154275 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guen et al. (US 2015/0270528 A1; “Guen”), in view of Kim et al. (US 2010/0136388 A1; “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Guen discloses a secondary battery (a power storage cell) [element 100, 0026-0027, FIG. 1] comprising a case (cell case) [element 140, 0027, FIGs. 1-2], that accommodates an electrode assembly (an electrode assembly) [element 110, 0027, 0033, FIG. 2] therein (the cell case accommodates the electrode assembly). The case includes a case main body (a case main body) [see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 1 of Guen] and a cap plate (cover) [element 151, 0027, FIG. 2]. The case main body has one opened surface (is provided with an opening) [0027, 0033, FIG. 2], wherein the cap plate may seal the opening (the cover closes the opening) [0027, 0034].
Furthermore, the cap plate includes a cover main body (a cover main body) [FIG. 1, see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 1 of Guen], a second reverse plate (an inversion plate) [element 162, 0027, 0034, 0038, 0040], a first terminal portion (a first electrode terminal) [element 123, 0034, FIGs. 1-2], and a second terminal portion (a second electrode terminal) [element 133, 0034, FIGs. 1-2], wherein the first and second terminal portions are positioned on the top of the cap plate (the cover main body supports the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal) [0034].
The cap plate further includes corresponding first and second insulating plates (an insulating member) [0035, FIGs. 1-2] between their respective first and second terminal portion and the cover main body (electrically insulates the first electrode terminal and the cover main body from each other) [0035, FIGs. 1-2].
The first terminal portion is electrically charged as a negative electrode and the second terminal portion is electrically charged as a positive electrode (the second electrode terminal has a polarity different from a polarity of the first electrode terminal) [0035].
The cover main body electrically connects the second reverse plate and the second terminal portion [FIGs. 2-3, 0035, 0043] to each other, while the first insulating plate electrically insulates the first terminal portion and the cover main body from each other [FIGs. 1-2].
The second reverse plate has a first surface (a first surface) [FIG. 3, see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 3 of Guen] and the first terminal portion has a second surface (a second surface) [FIG. 3, see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 3 of Guen], wherein the first surface faces the second surface.
The second reverse plate first surface is curved in a direction away from the first terminal portion second surface [0040, FIGs. 2-3, see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 3 of Guen], and under increased internal pressure than a predetermined pressure [0041-0044], the second reverse plate contacts the first terminal portion so as to be upwardly convex [0041-0044], thereby inducing a short circuit (the power storage cell is configured such that an electrical contact point is formed between the first surface and the second surface by inversion of the inversion plate) [0043-0044, 0049].
The second reverse plate first surface has a protruding portion [element 164, 0041, FIG. 3] and the first terminal portion second surface has accommodating grooves [elements 124a and 124b, 0041, FIG. 3].
Guen remains silent regarding a groove group is formed in at least one of the first surface and the second surface.
Kim is directed to a secondary battery including a cap assembly with a vent (inversion plate) [0014-0016]. Kim teaches the vent [element 73, 0064-0065, 0103, FIGs. 1B-4] with a first surface [FIGs. 1B and 2B], having a protrusion [element 737, 0069, 0078-0079] and a plurality of notches (a groove group) [0074, 0104], including a first notch [element 734], a second notch [element 736, 0091], and a third notch [element 735, 0107], with an intersection portion [element 738a], where the second notch intersects the third notch, and the second notch further extends to have an extension [element 738b, 0075].
Guen and Kim each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – an inversion plate. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second reverse plate first surface protruding portion of Guen such that it comprises a plurality of notches like that that of Kim, while still maintaining the curvature nature, thereby lowering an operating pressure of the vent so that current flow can be blocked even when internal pressure is low, and thus resulting in improved battery safety [Kim, 0132, 0158, 0176].
In accordance with the aforesaid modification, the second reverse plate first surface protruding portion of modified Guen would have included a plurality of notches, still with a curvature nature, thereby reading on the claimed groove group formed in at least one of the first surface and the second surface as defined by claim 1.
Figure 1. Annotated FIG. 1 of Guen
Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 3 of Guen
Regarding claim 2, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, the second reverse plate first surface protruding portion of modified Guen (a first groove group is formed in the first surface), forms a pattern, (the first groove group forms a first planar pattern) [element 164, 0041, FIG. 3].
Guen remains silent regarding a second groove group is formed in the second surface.
However, Guen discloses that when an internal pressure of the case is higher than a predetermined pressure, the protruding portion of the second reverse plate contacts with the first and second accommodating grooves of the first terminal portion [0013, 0038, 0043, FIG. 6], therefore the protruding portion and the accommodating grooves correspond to each other [0013, 0038, 0043].
In view thereof, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first terminal portion second surface accommodating grooves of Guen such that it corresponds to the modification set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first terminal portion second surface accommodating grooves also comprises a plurality of notches, therefore allowing the second surface to correspond to the modified first surface, and allow them to come in contact with each other under high pressure [Guen, 0013, FIG. 6].
Therefore, the modified first terminal portion second surface accommodating grooves (a second groove group is formed in the second surface), set forth above, form a pattern, (the second groove group forms a second planar pattern) [Guen, elements 124a and 124b, 0041, FIG. 3]. The modified accommodating grooves pattern is different from the modified protruding portion pattern as set forth above [FIGs. 3 and 6], taking into account the curvature nature of the first surface compared to the non-curvature nature of the second surface [FIG. 6].
Regarding claim 3, in view of the rejection of claim 2 above, Guen discloses that when the second reverse plate first surface protruding portion pattern and the first terminal portion accommodating grooves pattern are in the same plane, the protruding portion forming the protruding portion pattern extends to meet/intersect (extends to intersect) the accommodating grooves forming the accommodating grooves pattern [FIGs. 3 and 6, see below for Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 6 of Guen – Extends to Intersect].
In view of the foregoing modifications, as set forth above in the rejection of claims 1 and 2, both the second reverse plate first surface protruding portion pattern and the first terminal portion accommodating grooves pattern comprise a plurality of notches like that of the vent in Kim [Kim, FIG. 2B], therefore they correspond with each other, see below for Figure. 4. Annotated FIG. 3 of Guen with Kim Modification, wherein the first surface of modified Kim would still have the curvature nature, and when in the same plane, would still extend to meet/intersect (extends to intersect) one another in a manner similar to that as shown below in Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 6 of Guen – Extends to Intersect.
Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 6 of Guen – Extends to Intersect
Figure 4. Annotated FIG. 3 of Guen with Kim Modification
Regarding claim 4, modified Guen discloses the power storage cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Guen remains silent regarding the first planar pattern or the second planar pattern includes the groove group extending radially, and the first planar pattern or the second planar pattern includes the groove group extending annularly.
Kim further teaches that the vent may have a planar pattern [FIGs. 2A, 2C, 3A, 3B, 3C, 4], wherein the second notch and/or second notch extension extends radially (groove group extending radially) [0155-0156, 0160-0164, FIGs. 2A and 2C]. Furthermore, the vent may have a planar pattern wherein the protrusion, first notch, second notch, and third notch extend annularly (groove group extending annularly) [FIGs. 2A, 2C, 3A, 3B, 3C, 4].
In view of the totality of the foregoing, including both modifications as set forth in the rejections of claims 1 and 2 above, each of the modified the second reverse plate first surface protruding portion pattern and the modified first terminal portion second surface accommodating grooves would have the groove group extending radially, as well as, extending annularly, of which reads on the claimed first planar pattern or second planar pattern defined by claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, in view of the rejection of claim 2 above, modified Guen discloses that when the modified second reverse plate first surface protruding portion pattern and the modified first terminal portion accommodating grooves pattern are in the same plane, the protruding portion forming the protruding portion pattern extends orthogonally to the accommodating grooves forming the accommodating grooves pattern [FIGs. 3 and 6, see below for Figure 5. Annotated FIG. 3 of Guen with Kim Modification – Extends Orthogonally].
Figure 5. Annotated FIG. 3 of Guen with Kim Modification – Extends Orthogonally
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Guen et al., US 2015/0236333 A1 – is directed towards a downwardly convex inversion plate [element 161, 0062, FIGs 2-6] and a short-circuit plate [elements 163 and 263, 0049, 0061]. The short-circuit plate may further include contact protrusions [element 263a] on its bottom surface [0075].
Guen et al., US 2013/0130072 A1 – is directed towards a short-circuit member [elements 70, 80, 90, and 120, FIGs. 5A-8] electrically connected with the cap plate [0048] and having a circular plate shape [0061].
Byun et al., US 2014/0205863 A1 – is directed towards a second short-circuit plate [element 162, 0062, FIGs. 2-4B] and a connecting plate [element 163, 0068-0070] with a protrusion portion [element 163b, 0069, 0071].
Byun, US 2011/0305929 A1 – is directed towards a first short-circuiting plate [element 161, 0067, FIG. 2], including an inverting portion [element 161a, 0068, FIGs. 3A-6B]. Additionally, a second short-circuiting plate [element 462, 0091-0093, FIGs. 6A-6B] including protrusions [element 462b, 0092-0093, FIGs. 6A-6B].
Byun et al., US 2011/0183193 A1 – is directed towards a first short-circuiting plate [element 60, 0040, 0045, 0055, FIGs. 2, 6, and 9], including an inverting portion [0055]. Additionally, a second short circuit plate [element 61, 0040, 0045, 0055, FIGs. 2, 6, and 9].
Yong et al., KR 2016/0029230 A – teaches at least one notch [element 320, FIGs. 1-3] is provided in a concentric shape around the protrusion [element 310, FIG. 7] so that it breaks or changes shape when subjected to abnormal high pressure [0035].
Sato et al., US 2006/0078787 A1 – teaches a rupture plate [element 18, 0043, 0045, 0108-0110, 0117, FIGs. 1, 2] with notches [element 24, 0045, 0109, FIGs. 2, 7-10] in a radial pattern [0045, FIG. 2].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782