DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 10-12, filed 10/27/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 8, 23, and 32 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant argues that the written description requirement is met for the feature of “the at least one suitable location being located within a threshold distance of the vehicle’s geographic location”, in particular remarking that “there is a presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present when the application is filed”. Upon consideration of Applicant’s arguments and the disclosure of [0016], the Examiner is in agreement that the written description provides sufficient support for the above-recited feature(s), at least because [0016] discloses determining the target destination “based on a proximity of the vehicle to the target destination”, wherein the vehicle’s location can be determined based on its geographic location (see at least [0015]). Further, upon review, the Examiner submits that locating a target destination within a threshold distance of a vehicle’s geographic location is a conventional and routine activity previously known to the art (e.g., see at least [0048] and [0060]-[0063] of Wilson) (see MPEP 2163); in other words, one of ordinary skill in the art would not require additional disclosure with respect to the above-recited features other than what has already been presented in the claims and written description and would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Accordingly, the 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 8, 23, and 32 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 12-16, filed 10/27/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 102/103 rejections of claims 1, 19, and 27 and their respective dependent claims have been fully considered and are partially persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wilson fails to teach or suggest “and wherein the second signal comprises a plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle; wherein the vehicular control system, based at least in part on the second signal, and based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, selects a target destination from the plurality of destinations; wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle; and (ii) adjusts selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;” The Examiner is in agreement with Applicant’s arguments with respect to Wilson, but relies on Yasui for teaching the above-recited limitations.
With respect to Yasui, Applicant argues that Yasui fails to teach or suggest the above-recited features, “at least because Yasui discloses that the information processing device transmits the destination candidate hospitals to the automated driving vehicle and the automated driving vehicle determines the destination hospital as the hospital nearest to its current location”. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s characterization of Yasui with respect to the claimed limitations. The Examiner notes that the limitations merely specify “based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data”; the phrasing “at least in part” is very broad and does not particularly limit how the vehicular control system selects the target destination from the plurality of destinations aside from requiring that at least some level of processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data occurs as part of the determination process. Due to the broadness of the claim language, the Examiner asserts that Yasui does teach “wherein the vehicular control system, based at least in part on the second signal, and based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, selects a target destination from the plurality of destinations; wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” in at least Col. 9 lines 52 - Col. 10 line 27, Col. 14 line 21 - Col. 15 line 16, Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32, and Col. 18 lines 26-42. Here, Yasui teaches the processing of captured sensor data (i.e., biometric information) by biometric information processor 242 and biometric information acquirer 240 at the ECU, wherein the obtained biometric information is subject to compression prior to transmission to the external terminal 100. That is, the determinations performed at the external terminal 100 are still dependent upon the processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data. The biometric information processor 242 then selects the target destination from the plurality of destinations provided by the external terminal 100 (i.e., by information processing device 400; see FIG. 7 of Yasui).
The Examiner is in agreement, however, that Wilson and Yasui fail to teach or suggest “and (ii) adjusts selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;” While Yasui does teach selection of the target destination from a plurality of target destinations based on a change in a monitored health condition of an occupant of the vehicle (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42), Yasui does not teach adjusting selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Accordingly, the 35 USC 102/103 rejections of claims 1, 19, and 27 and their respective dependent claims has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration of the modified scope of the amended claims, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 11-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle and (ii) adjusts selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;” However, the claim is rendered indefinite because antecedent basis with respect to the limitation “monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” is unclear. The claim already recites “the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle”, but it is unclear whether the second invocation of “monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” refers to the same act established by feature (i), or if this act of monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle refers to a separate step of monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation “monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” is being interpreted as the same act of monitoring as the already-claimed “the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle”.
Claims 2-8 and 11-18 are dependent upon claim 1 and therefore inherit the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claims 2-8 and 11-18 are rejected under similar reasoning as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites “wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle and (ii) adjusts selection of the target destination from the plurality of medical facilities based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;” However, the claim is rendered indefinite because antecedent basis with respect to the limitation “monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” is unclear. The claim already recites “the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle”, but it is unclear whether the second invocation of “monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” refers to the same act established by feature (i), or if this act of monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle refers to a separate step of monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation “monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” is being interpreted as the same act of monitoring as the already-claimed “the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle”.
Claims 20-26 are dependent upon claim 19 and therefore inherit the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claims 20-26 are rejected under similar reasoning as claim 19 above.
Regarding claim 27, the claim recites “wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the remote server (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle and (ii) adjusts selection of the target destination from the plurality of medical facilities based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;” However, the claim is rendered indefinite because antecedent basis with respect to the limitation “monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” is unclear. The claim already recites “the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle”, but it is unclear whether the second invocation of “monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” refers to the same act established by feature (i), or if this act of monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle refers to a separate step of monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation “monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle” is being interpreted as the same act of monitoring as the already-claimed “the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle”.
Claims 28-33 are dependent upon claim 27 and therefore inherit the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claims 28-33 are rejected under similar reasoning as claim 27 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, and 17-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US 2019/0361437 A1), hereinafter Wilson, in view of Yasui et al. (US 11,545,262 B2), hereinafter Yasui, and in further view of Yoshida (US 2021/0188322 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches a vehicle control system, comprising:
an electronic control unit (ECU) disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular control system, wherein the ECU comprises electronic circuitry and associated software;
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise a car, sedan, van, truck, sport-utility-vehicle (SUV), taxi, aerial vehicle, or a different vehicle having autonomous (or semi-autonomous) and/or automated self-driving capabilities… Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0076]): "FIG. 7 illustrates a block diagram of a medical system 700 in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, medical system 700 is consistent with medical system 104 of FIG. 1." Wilson even further teaches ([0077]): "The medical system 700 includes a memory 725, storage 730, an interconnect (e.g., BUS) 720, one or more CPUs 705 (also referred to as processors 705 herein), an I/O device interface 710, I/O devices 712, and a network interface 715."
wherein the vehicular control system is in wireless communication with a remote server that is remote from the vehicle;
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0036]): "Communication channel 112 can interact with communication channel 118 of medical facility 114 via network 124." Wilson even further teaches ([0043]): "Network 124 can comprise a physical network, a wireless network, or a combination of physical and wireless networks. In some embodiments, network 124 comprises a cellular (e.g., 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.) network. In some embodiments, wireless networks can be realized using satellite communication, microwaves, a wireless communication protocol..."
wherein a health monitoring sensor is disposed at the vehicle, and wherein the health monitoring sensor captures sensor data representative of a health condition of an occupant of the vehicle;
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise a car, sedan, van, truck, sport-utility-vehicle (SUV), taxi, aerial vehicle, or a different vehicle having autonomous (or semi-autonomous) and/or automated self-driving capabilities… Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0027]): "Diagnostics 106 can include sensors capable of identifying a medical condition associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102. Sensors can include, but are not limited to, cameras, microphones, biometric sensors, gyroscopes, accelerometers, thermometers, and other sensors useful for collecting data associated with passenger gestures, postures, behaviors, language (e.g., words, phrases, sounds), physiology (e.g., body temperature, pulse, etc.), and environment (e.g., temperature, speed, orientation, etc.)."
wherein the vehicular control system, based on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, wirelessly transmits a first signal to the remote server, and wherein the first signal is based at least in part on the captured sensor data;
Wilson teaches ([0027]): "Diagnostics 106 can include sensors capable of identifying a medical condition associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102." Wilson further teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
wherein, responsive to receiving the first signal from the vehicular control system, the remote server wirelessly transmits a second signal to the vehicular control system,
Wilson teaches ([0050]): "In operation 210, the autonomous vehicle can receive a second data package from the first medical facility (e.g., via a cellular network). The second data package can comprise instructions implementable by the autonomous vehicle (e.g., instructions for implementing one or more actions from the list of actions executable by the autonomous vehicle) such as, but not limited to, routing instructions, environmental control instructions, and/or other instructions." Wilson further teaches ([0029]): "Actions 108 can comprise actions executable by the autonomous vehicle 102. Actions 108 can include, but are not limited to, routing instructions for driving the autonomous vehicle 102 to medical facility 114..." Wilson even further teaches ([0037]): "Medical facility 114 can comprise a hospital, clinic, ambulance, emergency helicopter, emergency vehicle... or a different medical facility capable of managing, treating, or otherwise mitigating a medical event associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102."
and wherein the vehicular control system determines a path of travel of the vehicle between the vehicle’s current geographic location and the target destination’s geographic location,
Wilson teaches ([0070]): "Referring now to FIG. 6, illustrated is a flowchart of an example method for implementing a vehicle action in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the method 600 is a sub-method of operation 212 of FIG. 2" Wilson further teaches ([0071]): "In operation 602, the autonomous vehicle can modify the route according to instructions received from the healthcare facility in the second data package. Modifying the vehicle route can include, but is not limited to, stopping the vehicle in a safe location (e.g., a side of the road, a pickup point, a parking lot, etc.), driving the vehicle to a rendezvous point (e.g., to meet an ambulance, an emergency helicopter, etc.), or driving the vehicle directly to a medical facility (e.g., a hospital, a clinic, etc.)."
and wherein the vehicular control system at least partially controls operation of the vehicle as the vehicle travels along the path of travel toward the target destination’s geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0070]): "Referring now to FIG. 6, illustrated is a flowchart of an example method for implementing a vehicle action in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the method 600 is a sub-method of operation 212 of FIG. 2" Wilson further teaches ([0071]): "In operation 602, the autonomous vehicle can modify the route according to instructions received from the healthcare facility in the second data package. Modifying the vehicle route can include, but is not limited to, stopping the vehicle in a safe location (e.g., a side of the road, a pickup point, a parking lot, etc.), driving the vehicle to a rendezvous point (e.g., to meet an ambulance, an emergency helicopter, etc.), or driving the vehicle directly to a medical facility (e.g., a hospital, a clinic, etc.)."
However, Wilson does not outright teach that the second signal comprises a plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, wherein the vehicular control system, based at least in part on the second signal, and based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, selects a target destination from the plurality of destinations, and wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yasui teaches an automated vehicle management system, comprising:
and wherein the second signal comprises a plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
wherein the vehicular control system, based at least in part on the second signal, and based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, selects a target destination from the plurality of destinations;
Yasui teaches (Col. 9 lines 52 - Col. 10 line 27): "FIG. 5 is a flowchart showing an example of a procedure of the biometric information processing. First, the biometric information processor 242 causes the biometric information acquirer 240 to acquire the biometric information of the occupant (step S11)... The biometric information acquirer 240, for example, may compress and transmit data of several seconds to tens of seconds obtained by measuring the biometric information in a time series. When the biometric information acquirer 240 compresses and transmits the data, the biometric information acquirer 240 may compress and transmit, for example, a plurality of pieces of transmission information... Then, biometric information processor 141 transmit the biometric information output by the biometric information acquirer 240 to the external terminal 100 via the communication device 220 (step S12). Then, the biometric information processor 242 determines whether or not response information transmitted by the external terminal 100 has been received..." Thus, the captured sensor data (i.e., the biometric data) is processed at the ECU (via biometric information processor 242 and biometric information acquirer 240). Yasui further teaches (Col. 14 line 21 - Col. 15 line 16): "FIG. 9 is a flowchart showing an example of a procedure of the external terminal processing. First the controller 130 in the external terminal 100 determines whether the controller 130 has received the biometric information (step S51)... Further, when the controller 130 has determined in step S53 that there has been the input operation, the controller 130 determines whether or not a fact that the visit to the hospital is necessary has been input (step S54). There, the remote diagnostician D carrying the external terminal determines whether or not a visit to any hospital... is necessary or whether or not a disease has a high urgency level..." Yasui even further teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui still further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle
Yasui teaches (Col. 9 lines 52 - Col. 10 line 270): "FIG. 5 is a flowchart showing an example of a procedure of the biometric information processing. First, the biometric information processor 242 causes the biometric information acquirer 240 to acquire the biometric information of the occupant (step S11)... The biometric information acquirer 240, for example, may compress and transmit data of several seconds to tens of seconds obtained by measuring the biometric information in a time series. When the biometric information acquirer 240 compresses and transmits the data, the biometric information acquirer 240 may compress and transmit, for example, a plurality of pieces of transmission information... Then, biometric information processor 141 transmit the biometric information output by the biometric information acquirer 240 to the external terminal 100 via the communication device 220 (step S12). Then, the biometric information processor 242 determines whether or not response information transmitted by the external terminal 100 has been received..."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson to incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the second signal comprises a plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, wherein the vehicular control system, based at least in part on the second signal, and based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, selects a target destination from the plurality of destinations, and wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson and Yasui are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
However, neither Wilson nor Yasui outright teach adjusting selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yoshida teaches a vehicle device and drive assist program, comprising:
and (ii) adjusts selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;
Yoshida teaches ([0054]): "The facility search unit 25h searches for a facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality in response to the abnormality resolution determination unit 25c determines that the driver's physical condition abnormality has not been resolved. The facility search unit 25h outputs a search signal to the navigation ECU 19, and controls the navigation ECU 19 to search for a facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality. In this case, when a medical institution is specified as the facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality, the emergency autonomous travelling execution unit 25e sets the specified medical institution as the destination, and executes the emergency autonomous travelling of the vehicle to the medical institution set as the destination. When failing to find a medical institution as the facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality and a school is specified as the facility different from the medical institution, the emergency autonomous travelling execution unit 25e sets the specified school as the destination, and executes the emergency autonomous travelling of the vehicle to the school set as the destination." The Examiner has interpreted the detection of the driver's physical condition abnormality as determining a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle (as 'abnormality' implies a change compared to normal health conditions).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson and Yasui to incorporate the teachings of Yoshida to provide adjusting selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yoshida, as doing so advantageously allows for the determination of an appropriate destination even if the initial selection of the target destination for treating the health condition of the occupant results in failure, as recognized by Yoshida (see at least [0054]).
Regarding claim 2, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wilson further teaches:
the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises a wireless communication module that is operable to wirelessly communicate with the remote server.
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0036]): "Communication channel 112 can interact with communication channel 118 of medical facility 114 via network 124." Wilson even further teaches ([0043]): "Network 124 can comprise a physical network, a wireless network, or a combination of physical and wireless networks. In some embodiments, network 124 comprises a cellular (e.g., 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.) network. In some embodiments, wireless networks can be realized using satellite communication, microwaves, a wireless communication protocol..."
Regarding claim 3, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wilson further teaches:
the first signal comprises the captured sensor data.
Wilson teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
Regarding claim 4, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wilson further teaches:
the first signal comprises the vehicle’s current geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
Regarding claim 5, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Wilson does not outright teach that the remote server determines the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle from a plurality of medical facilities based at least in part on the first signal. Yasui further teaches:
the remote server determines the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle from a plurality of medical facilities based at least in part on the first signal.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the remote server determines the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle from a plurality of medical facilities based at least in part on the first signal. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 6, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 5. However, Wilson does not outright teach the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be capable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yasui further teaches:
the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be capable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be capable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination capable of treating the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 7, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 5. However, Wilson does not outright teach that the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be available to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yasui further teaches:
the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be available to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be available to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination available to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 8, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 5. Wilson further teaches:
the first signal comprises the vehicle’s current geographic location,
Wilson teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
and wherein the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined… to be located within a threshold distance of the vehicle’s current geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0060]): "In operation 404, the autonomous vehicle can identify a subset of medical facilities. In some embodiments, the subset of medical facilities can comprise at least the medical facilities associated with a set of capabilities matching the medical condition of the passenger and/or medical facilities within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (e.g., a 100-mile radius, a 30-mile radius, a 15-minute travel time radius, etc.). Thus, operation 404 can accelerate selection of a medical facility by first reducing the total number of medical facilities... to a subset of medical facilities based on capabilities and/or locations in light of the location of the autonomous vehicle and the medical condition of the passenger in the autonomous vehicle." Wilson further teaches ([0061]): "In operation 406, the autonomous vehicle can calculate respective scores for respective medical facilities in the subset of medical facilities. The respective scores can be based on capabilities, locations, and availabilities associated with the subset of medical facilities." Wilson even further teaches ([0063]): "In operation 408, the autonomous vehicle can select a medical facility based on the scores calculated in operation 406."
However, Wilson does not outright teach that the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
and wherein the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server…
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like. For example, the information processing device 400 can acquire a current traveling position of the automated driving vehicle 200... and determine, as the destination candidate, a hospital within a radius of 10 km from the automated driving vehicle 200... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 11, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Wilson does not outright teach that the target destination is selected based at least in part on a distance from the vehicle’s current geographic location and the target destination’s geographic location. Yasui further teaches:
the target destination is selected based at least in part on a distance from the vehicle’s current geographic location and the target destination’s geographic location.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like. For example, the information processing device 400 can acquire a current traveling position of the automated driving vehicle 200... and determine, as the destination candidate, a hospital within a radius of 10 km from the automated driving vehicle 200... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the target destination is selected based at least in part on a distance from the vehicle’s current geographic location and the target destination’s geographic location. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 12, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Wilson does not outright teach that the target destination is selected based at least in part on a capability of the target destination to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yasui further teaches:
the target destination is selected based at least in part on a capability of the target destination to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the target destination is selected based at least in part on a capability of the target destination to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination capable of treating the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 13, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Wilson does not outright teach that the target destination is selected based at least in part on an availability of the target destination to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yasui further teaches:
the target destination is selected based at least in part on an availability of the target destination to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the target destination is selected based at least in part on an availability of the target destination to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination available to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 14, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wilson further teaches:
the vehicular control system autonomously controls operation of the vehicle as the vehicle travels along the path of travel toward the target destination’s geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0071]): "In operation 602, the autonomous vehicle can modify the route according to instructions received from the healthcare facility in the second data package. Modifying the vehicle route can include, but is not limited to, stopping the vehicle in a safe location (e.g., a side of the road, a pickup point, a parking lot, etc.), driving the vehicle to a rendezvous point (e.g., to meet an ambulance, an emergency helicopter, etc.), or driving the vehicle directly to a medical facility (e.g., a hospital, a clinic, etc.). In some embodiments, the medical facility provides the autonomous vehicle with a destination and the autonomous vehicle uses internal navigation software to select a route to the destination."
Regarding claim 15, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wilson further teaches:
the target destination’s geographic location comprises a medical facility.
Wilson teaches ([0070]): "Referring now to FIG. 6, illustrated is a flowchart of an example method for implementing a vehicle action in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the method 600 is a sub-method of operation 212 of FIG. 2" Wilson further teaches ([0071]): "In operation 602, the autonomous vehicle can modify the route according to instructions received from the healthcare facility in the second data package. Modifying the vehicle route can include, but is not limited to, stopping the vehicle in a safe location (e.g., a side of the road, a pickup point, a parking lot, etc.), driving the vehicle to a rendezvous point (e.g., to meet an ambulance, an emergency helicopter, etc.), or driving the vehicle directly to a medical facility (e.g., a hospital, a clinic, etc.)."
Regarding claim 17, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, while Wilson does teach that the occupant is a passenger of the vehicle (see at least [0027]), it is not clear whether that passenger can be the driver of the vehicle. Yasui further teaches:
the occupant is a driver of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 25 line 66 - Col. 26 line 8): "Further, although the user of which the biometric information is acquired is a driver of the automated driving vehicle 200 or an occupant (a fellow occupant) other than the driver in the embodiments, the user may be one of the driver and the fellow occupants or may be both."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the occupant is a driver of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson already generally teaches that the occupant is a passenger of the vehicle (see at least [0027]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it beneficial to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so allows for monitoring of both the driver and fellow occupants, as recognized by Yasui (Col. 25 line 66 - Col. 26 line 8).
Regarding claim 18, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wilson further teaches:
the occupant is a passenger of the vehicle.
Wilson teaches ([0027]): "Diagnostics 106 can include sensors capable of identifying a medical condition associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102."
Regarding claim 19, Wilson teaches a vehicular control system, comprising:
an electronic control unit (ECU) disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular control system, wherein the ECU comprises electronic circuitry and associated software;
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise a car, sedan, van, truck, sport-utility-vehicle (SUV), taxi, aerial vehicle, or a different vehicle having autonomous (or semi-autonomous) and/or automated self-driving capabilities… Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0076]): "FIG. 7 illustrates a block diagram of a medical system 700 in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, medical system 700 is consistent with medical system 104 of FIG. 1." Wilson even further teaches ([0077]): "The medical system 700 includes a memory 725, storage 730, an interconnect (e.g., BUS) 720, one or more CPUs 705 (also referred to as processors 705 herein), an I/O device interface 710, I/O devices 712, and a network interface 715."
wherein the vehicular control system is in wireless communication with a remote server that is remote from the vehicle;
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0036]): "Communication channel 112 can interact with communication channel 118 of medical facility 114 via network 124." Wilson even further teaches ([0043]): "Network 124 can comprise a physical network, a wireless network, or a combination of physical and wireless networks. In some embodiments, network 124 comprises a cellular (e.g., 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.) network. In some embodiments, wireless networks can be realized using satellite communication, microwaves, a wireless communication protocol..."
wherein a health monitoring sensor is disposed at the vehicle, and wherein the health monitoring sensor captures sensor data representative of a health condition of an occupant of the vehicle;
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise a car, sedan, van, truck, sport-utility-vehicle (SUV), taxi, aerial vehicle, or a different vehicle having autonomous (or semi-autonomous) and/or automated self-driving capabilities… Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0027]): "Diagnostics 106 can include sensors capable of identifying a medical condition associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102. Sensors can include, but are not limited to, cameras, microphones, biometric sensors, gyroscopes, accelerometers, thermometers, and other sensors useful for collecting data associated with passenger gestures, postures, behaviors, language (e.g., words, phrases, sounds), physiology (e.g., body temperature, pulse, etc.), and environment (e.g., temperature, speed, orientation, etc.)."
wherein the vehicular control system, based on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, wirelessly transmits a first signal to the remote server, and wherein the first signal is based at least in part on the captured sensor data;
Wilson teaches ([0027]): "Diagnostics 106 can include sensors capable of identifying a medical condition associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102." Wilson further teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
wherein, responsive to receiving the first signal from the vehicular control system, the remote server wirelessly transmits a second signal to the vehicular control system, and wherein the second signal comprises [a destination] suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;
Wilson teaches ([0050]): "In operation 210, the autonomous vehicle can receive a second data package from the first medical facility (e.g., via a cellular network). The second data package can comprise instructions implementable by the autonomous vehicle (e.g., instructions for implementing one or more actions from the list of actions executable by the autonomous vehicle) such as, but not limited to, routing instructions, environmental control instructions, and/or other instructions." Wilson further teaches ([0029]): "Actions 108 can comprise actions executable by the autonomous vehicle 102. Actions 108 can include, but are not limited to, routing instructions for driving the autonomous vehicle 102 to medical facility 114..." Wilson even further teaches ([0037]): "Medical facility 114 can comprise a hospital, clinic, ambulance, emergency helicopter, emergency vehicle... or a different medical facility capable of managing, treating, or otherwise mitigating a medical event associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102."
and wherein the vehicular control system determines a path of travel of the vehicle between the vehicle’s current geographic location and the target destination’s geographic location,
Wilson teaches ([0070]): "Referring now to FIG. 6, illustrated is a flowchart of an example method for implementing a vehicle action in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the method 600 is a sub-method of operation 212 of FIG. 2" Wilson further teaches ([0071]): "In operation 602, the autonomous vehicle can modify the route according to instructions received from the healthcare facility in the second data package. Modifying the vehicle route can include, but is not limited to, stopping the vehicle in a safe location (e.g., a side of the road, a pickup point, a parking lot, etc.), driving the vehicle to a rendezvous point (e.g., to meet an ambulance, an emergency helicopter, etc.), or driving the vehicle directly to a medical facility (e.g., a hospital, a clinic, etc.)."
and wherein the vehicular control system at least partially controls operation of the vehicle as the vehicle travels along the path of travel toward the target destination’s geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0070]): "Referring now to FIG. 6, illustrated is a flowchart of an example method for implementing a vehicle action in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the method 600 is a sub-method of operation 212 of FIG. 2" Wilson further teaches ([0071]): "In operation 602, the autonomous vehicle can modify the route according to instructions received from the healthcare facility in the second data package. Modifying the vehicle route can include, but is not limited to, stopping the vehicle in a safe location (e.g., a side of the road, a pickup point, a parking lot, etc.), driving the vehicle to a rendezvous point (e.g., to meet an ambulance, an emergency helicopter, etc.), or driving the vehicle directly to a medical facility (e.g., a hospital, a clinic, etc.)."
However, Wilson does not outright teach that the second signal comprises a plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, wherein the vehicular control system, based at least in part on the second signal, and based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, selects a target destination from the plurality of destinations, and wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yasui teaches an automated vehicle management system, comprising:
and wherein the second signal comprises a plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
wherein the plurality of destinations comprises a plurality of medical facilities;
Yasui teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
wherein the vehicular control system, based at least in part on the second signal and based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, selects a target destination from the plurality of medical facilities;
Yasui teaches (Col. 9 lines 52 - Col. 10 line 27): "FIG. 5 is a flowchart showing an example of a procedure of the biometric information processing. First, the biometric information processor 242 causes the biometric information acquirer 240 to acquire the biometric information of the occupant (step S11)... The biometric information acquirer 240, for example, may compress and transmit data of several seconds to tens of seconds obtained by measuring the biometric information in a time series. When the biometric information acquirer 240 compresses and transmits the data, the biometric information acquirer 240 may compress and transmit, for example, a plurality of pieces of transmission information... Then, biometric information processor 141 transmit the biometric information output by the biometric information acquirer 240 to the external terminal 100 via the communication device 220 (step S12). Then, the biometric information processor 242 determines whether or not response information transmitted by the external terminal 100 has been received..." Thus, the captured sensor data (i.e., the biometric data) is processed at the ECU (via biometric information processor 242 and biometric information acquirer 240). Yasui further teaches (Col. 14 line 21 - Col. 15 line 16): "FIG. 9 is a flowchart showing an example of a procedure of the external terminal processing. First the controller 130 in the external terminal 100 determines whether the controller 130 has received the biometric information (step S51)... Further, when the controller 130 has determined in step S53 that there has been the input operation, the controller 130 determines whether or not a fact that the visit to the hospital is necessary has been input (step S54). There, the remote diagnostician D carrying the external terminal determines whether or not a visit to any hospital... is necessary or whether or not a disease has a high urgency level..." Yasui even further teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui still further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle
Yasui teaches (Col. 9 lines 52 - Col. 10 line 270): "FIG. 5 is a flowchart showing an example of a procedure of the biometric information processing. First, the biometric information processor 242 causes the biometric information acquirer 240 to acquire the biometric information of the occupant (step S11)... The biometric information acquirer 240, for example, may compress and transmit data of several seconds to tens of seconds obtained by measuring the biometric information in a time series. When the biometric information acquirer 240 compresses and transmits the data, the biometric information acquirer 240 may compress and transmit, for example, a plurality of pieces of transmission information... Then, biometric information processor 141 transmit the biometric information output by the biometric information acquirer 240 to the external terminal 100 via the communication device 220 (step S12). Then, the biometric information processor 242 determines whether or not response information transmitted by the external terminal 100 has been received..."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson to incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the second signal comprises a plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, wherein the vehicular control system, based at least in part on the second signal, and based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, selects a target destination from the plurality of destinations, and wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson and Yasui are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
However, neither Wilson nor Yasui outright teach adjusting selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yoshida teaches a vehicle device and drive assist program, comprising:
and (ii) adjusts selection of the target destination from the plurality of medical facilities based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;
Yoshida teaches ([0054]): "The facility search unit 25h searches for a facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality in response to the abnormality resolution determination unit 25c determines that the driver's physical condition abnormality has not been resolved. The facility search unit 25h outputs a search signal to the navigation ECU 19, and controls the navigation ECU 19 to search for a facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality. In this case, when a medical institution is specified as the facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality, the emergency autonomous travelling execution unit 25e sets the specified medical institution as the destination, and executes the emergency autonomous travelling of the vehicle to the medical institution set as the destination. When failing to find a medical institution as the facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality and a school is specified as the facility different from the medical institution, the emergency autonomous travelling execution unit 25e sets the specified school as the destination, and executes the emergency autonomous travelling of the vehicle to the school set as the destination." The Examiner has interpreted the detection of the driver's physical condition abnormality as determining a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle (as 'abnormality' implies a change compared to normal health conditions).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson and Yasui to incorporate the teachings of Yoshida to provide adjusting selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yoshida, as doing so advantageously allows for the determination of an appropriate destination even if the initial selection of the target destination for treating the health condition of the occupant results in failure, as recognized by Yoshida (see at least [0054]).
Regarding claim 20, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. However, while Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this selection is performed by the vehicle rather than the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
the remote server determines the plurality of medical facilities suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle based at least in part on the first signal.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the remote server determines the plurality of medical facilities suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle based at least in part on the first signal. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 21, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 20. However, while Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination capable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this selection is performed by the vehicle rather than the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
the plurality of medical facilities suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities determined by the remote server to be capable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the plurality of medical facilities suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities determined by the remote server to be capable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination capable of treating the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 22, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 20. However, while Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination available to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this selection is performed by the vehicle rather than the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
the plurality of medical facilities suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities determined by the remote server to be available to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the plurality of medical facilities suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities determined by the remote server to be available to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination available to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 23, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 20. Wilson further teaches:
the first signal comprises the vehicle’s current geographic location,
Wilson teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
and wherein the plurality of medical facilities suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities determined… to be located within a threshold distance of the vehicle’s current geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0060]): "In operation 404, the autonomous vehicle can identify a subset of medical facilities. In some embodiments, the subset of medical facilities can comprise at least the medical facilities associated with a set of capabilities matching the medical condition of the passenger and/or medical facilities within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (e.g., a 100-mile radius, a 30-mile radius, a 15-minute travel time radius, etc.). Thus, operation 404 can accelerate selection of a medical facility by first reducing the total number of medical facilities... to a subset of medical facilities based on capabilities and/or locations in light of the location of the autonomous vehicle and the medical condition of the passenger in the autonomous vehicle." Wilson further teaches ([0061]): "In operation 406, the autonomous vehicle can calculate respective scores for respective medical facilities in the subset of medical facilities. The respective scores can be based on capabilities, locations, and availabilities associated with the subset of medical facilities." Wilson even further teaches ([0063]): "In operation 408, the autonomous vehicle can select a medical facility based on the scores calculated in operation 406."
However, while Wilson does teach selecting a destination within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this determination is performed by the vehicle rather than at the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
and wherein the plurality of medical facilities suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities determined by the remote server to be located within a threshold distance of the vehicle’s current geographic location.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like. For example, the information processing device 400 can acquire a current traveling position of the automated driving vehicle 200... and determine, as the destination candidate, a hospital within a radius of 10 km from the automated driving vehicle 200... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the plurality of medical facilities suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises medical facilities determined by the remote server to be located within a threshold distance of the vehicle’s current geographic location. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 24, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. However, while Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this selection is performed by the vehicle rather than the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
the target destination is selected based at least in part on a distance from the vehicle’s current geographic location and the target destination’s geographic location.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like. For example, the information processing device 400 can acquire a current traveling position of the automated driving vehicle 200... and determine, as the destination candidate, a hospital within a radius of 10 km from the automated driving vehicle 200... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the target destination is selected based at least in part on a distance from the vehicle’s current geographic location and the target destination’s geographic location. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 25, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. However, while Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination capable of treating the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this selection is performed by the vehicle rather than the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
the target destination is selected based at least in part on a capability of the target destination to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the target destination is selected based at least in part on a capability of the target destination to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination capable of treating the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 26, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. However, while Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination available to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this selection is performed by the vehicle rather than the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
the target destination is selected based at least in part on an availability of the target destination to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the at least one destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises one or more medical facilities of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be available to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination available to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 27, Wilson teaches a vehicular control system, comprising:
an electronic control unit (ECU) disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular control system, wherein the ECU comprises electronic circuitry and associated software;
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise a car, sedan, van, truck, sport-utility-vehicle (SUV), taxi, aerial vehicle, or a different vehicle having autonomous (or semi-autonomous) and/or automated self-driving capabilities… Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0076]): "FIG. 7 illustrates a block diagram of a medical system 700 in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, medical system 700 is consistent with medical system 104 of FIG. 1." Wilson even further teaches ([0077]): "The medical system 700 includes a memory 725, storage 730, an interconnect (e.g., BUS) 720, one or more CPUs 705 (also referred to as processors 705 herein), an I/O device interface 710, I/O devices 712, and a network interface 715."
wherein the vehicular control system is in wireless communication with a remote server that is remote from the vehicle;
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0036]): "Communication channel 112 can interact with communication channel 118 of medical facility 114 via network 124." Wilson even further teaches ([0043]): "Network 124 can comprise a physical network, a wireless network, or a combination of physical and wireless networks. In some embodiments, network 124 comprises a cellular (e.g., 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.) network. In some embodiments, wireless networks can be realized using satellite communication, microwaves, a wireless communication protocol..."
wherein a health monitoring sensor is disposed at the vehicle, and wherein the health monitoring sensor captures sensor data representative of a health condition of an occupant of the vehicle;
Wilson teaches ([0026]): "Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise a car, sedan, van, truck, sport-utility-vehicle (SUV), taxi, aerial vehicle, or a different vehicle having autonomous (or semi-autonomous) and/or automated self-driving capabilities… Autonomous vehicle 102 can comprise medical system 104 for detecting and managing medical events. Medical system 104 can include diagnostics 106, actions 108, a medical directory 110, and a communication channel 112." Wilson further teaches ([0027]): "Diagnostics 106 can include sensors capable of identifying a medical condition associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102. Sensors can include, but are not limited to, cameras, microphones, biometric sensors, gyroscopes, accelerometers, thermometers, and other sensors useful for collecting data associated with passenger gestures, postures, behaviors, language (e.g., words, phrases, sounds), physiology (e.g., body temperature, pulse, etc.), and environment (e.g., temperature, speed, orientation, etc.)."
wherein the vehicular control system, based on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, wirelessly transmits a first signal to the remote server, and wherein the first signal is based at least in part on the captured sensor data;
Wilson teaches ([0027]): "Diagnostics 106 can include sensors capable of identifying a medical condition associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102." Wilson further teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
wherein, responsive to receiving the first signal from the vehicular control system, the remote server wirelessly transmits a second signal to the vehicular control system, and wherein the second signal comprises a target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;
Wilson teaches ([0050]): "In operation 210, the autonomous vehicle can receive a second data package from the first medical facility (e.g., via a cellular network). The second data package can comprise instructions implementable by the autonomous vehicle (e.g., instructions for implementing one or more actions from the list of actions executable by the autonomous vehicle) such as, but not limited to, routing instructions, environmental control instructions, and/or other instructions." Wilson further teaches ([0029]): "Actions 108 can comprise actions executable by the autonomous vehicle 102. Actions 108 can include, but are not limited to, routing instructions for driving the autonomous vehicle 102 to medical facility 114..." Wilson even further teaches ([0037]): "Medical facility 114 can comprise a hospital, clinic, ambulance, emergency helicopter, emergency vehicle... or a different medical facility capable of managing, treating, or otherwise mitigating a medical event associated with a passenger in autonomous vehicle 102."
and wherein the vehicular control system determines a path of travel of the vehicle between the vehicle’s current geographic location and the target destination’s geographic location,
Wilson teaches ([0070]): "Referring now to FIG. 6, illustrated is a flowchart of an example method for implementing a vehicle action in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the method 600 is a sub-method of operation 212 of FIG. 2" Wilson further teaches ([0071]): "In operation 602, the autonomous vehicle can modify the route according to instructions received from the healthcare facility in the second data package. Modifying the vehicle route can include, but is not limited to, stopping the vehicle in a safe location (e.g., a side of the road, a pickup point, a parking lot, etc.), driving the vehicle to a rendezvous point (e.g., to meet an ambulance, an emergency helicopter, etc.), or driving the vehicle directly to a medical facility (e.g., a hospital, a clinic, etc.)."
and wherein the vehicular control system at least partially controls operation of the vehicle as the vehicle travels along the path of travel toward the target destination’s geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0070]): "Referring now to FIG. 6, illustrated is a flowchart of an example method for implementing a vehicle action in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the method 600 is a sub-method of operation 212 of FIG. 2" Wilson further teaches ([0071]): "In operation 602, the autonomous vehicle can modify the route according to instructions received from the healthcare facility in the second data package. Modifying the vehicle route can include, but is not limited to, stopping the vehicle in a safe location (e.g., a side of the road, a pickup point, a parking lot, etc.), driving the vehicle to a rendezvous point (e.g., to meet an ambulance, an emergency helicopter, etc.), or driving the vehicle directly to a medical facility (e.g., a hospital, a clinic, etc.)."
However, Wilson does not outright teach that the remote server selects the target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle from a plurality of medical facilities based at least in part on the first signal, wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the remote server monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yasui teaches an automated vehicle management system, comprising:
wherein the remote server selects the target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle from a plurality of medical facilities based at least in part on the first signal;
Yasui teaches (Col. 9 lines 52 - Col. 10 line 270): "FIG. 5 is a flowchart showing an example of a procedure of the biometric information processing. First, the biometric information processor 242 causes the biometric information acquirer 240 to acquire the biometric information of the occupant (step S11)... The biometric information acquirer 240, for example, may compress and transmit data of several seconds to tens of seconds obtained by measuring the biometric information in a time series. When the biometric information acquirer 240 compresses and transmits the data, the biometric information acquirer 240 may compress and transmit, for example, a plurality of pieces of transmission information... Then, biometric information processor 141 transmit the biometric information output by the biometric information acquirer 240 to the external terminal 100 via the communication device 220 (step S12). Then, the biometric information processor 242 determines whether or not response information transmitted by the external terminal 100 has been received..." Thus, the captured sensor data (i.e., the biometric data) is processed at the ECU (via biometric information processor 242 and biometric information acquirer 240). Yasui further teaches (Col. 14 line 21 - Col. 15 line 16): "FIG. 9 is a flowchart showing an example of a procedure of the external terminal processing. First the controller 130 in the external terminal 100 determines whether the controller 130 has received the biometric information (step S51)... Further, when the controller 130 has determined in step S53 that there has been the input operation, the controller 130 determines whether or not a fact that the visit to the hospital is necessary has been input (step S54). There, the remote diagnostician D carrying the external terminal determines whether or not a visit to any hospital... is necessary or whether or not a disease has a high urgency level..." Yasui even further teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui still further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the remote server (i) monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle
Yasui teaches (Col. 9 lines 52 - Col. 10 line 270): "FIG. 5 is a flowchart showing an example of a procedure of the biometric information processing. First, the biometric information processor 242 causes the biometric information acquirer 240 to acquire the biometric information of the occupant (step S11)... The biometric information acquirer 240, for example, may compress and transmit data of several seconds to tens of seconds obtained by measuring the biometric information in a time series. When the biometric information acquirer 240 compresses and transmits the data, the biometric information acquirer 240 may compress and transmit, for example, a plurality of pieces of transmission information... Then, biometric information processor 141 transmit the biometric information output by the biometric information acquirer 240 to the external terminal 100 via the communication device 220 (step S12). Then, the biometric information processor 242 determines whether or not response information transmitted by the external terminal 100 has been received..."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson to incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the second signal comprises a plurality of destinations suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, wherein the vehicular control system, based at least in part on the second signal, and based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, selects a target destination from the plurality of destinations, and wherein, based at least in part on processing at the ECU of the captured sensor data, the vehicular control system monitors the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson and Yasui are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
However, neither Wilson nor Yasui outright teach adjusting selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Yoshida teaches a vehicle device and drive assist program, comprising:
and (ii) adjusts selection of the target destination from the plurality of medical facilities based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle;
Yoshida teaches ([0054]): "The facility search unit 25h searches for a facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality in response to the abnormality resolution determination unit 25c determines that the driver's physical condition abnormality has not been resolved. The facility search unit 25h outputs a search signal to the navigation ECU 19, and controls the navigation ECU 19 to search for a facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality. In this case, when a medical institution is specified as the facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality, the emergency autonomous travelling execution unit 25e sets the specified medical institution as the destination, and executes the emergency autonomous travelling of the vehicle to the medical institution set as the destination. When failing to find a medical institution as the facility that can treat the driver's physical condition abnormality and a school is specified as the facility different from the medical institution, the emergency autonomous travelling execution unit 25e sets the specified school as the destination, and executes the emergency autonomous travelling of the vehicle to the school set as the destination." The Examiner has interpreted the detection of the driver's physical condition abnormality as determining a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle (as 'abnormality' implies a change compared to normal health conditions).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson and Yasui to incorporate the teachings of Yoshida to provide adjusting selection of the target destination from the plurality of destinations based on determining, at least in part via monitoring the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle, a change in the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yoshida, as doing so advantageously allows for the determination of an appropriate destination even if the initial selection of the target destination for treating the health condition of the occupant results in failure, as recognized by Yoshida (see at least [0054]).
Regarding claim 28, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 27. Wilson further teaches:
the first signal comprises the captured sensor data.
Wilson teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
Regarding claim 29, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 27. Wilson further teaches:
the first signal comprises the vehicle’s current geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
Regarding claim 30, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 27. However, while Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination capable to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this selection is performed by the vehicle rather than the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
the target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises one medical facility of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be capable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises one medical facility of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be capable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination capable of treating the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 31, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 27. However, while Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination available to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this selection is performed by the vehicle rather than the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
the target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises one medical facility of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be available to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like... For example, the information processing device 400 may determine a hospital having a hospitalization facility when a disease with a high urgency level in which hospitalization is likely to be necessary is assumed for the user, and determine a small hospital when a disease with low urgency level is assumed for the user. As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..." Yasui further teaches (Col. 18 lines 26-42): "As a result, when the biometric information processor 242 has determined that the destination candidate hospital information has been added to the hospital visit necessity information, the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital that is the destination (step S38). When the biometric information processor 242 determines the destination hospital, the biometric information processor 242 determines the hospital nearest to the current location of the automated driving vehicle 200 as the destination hospital from hospitals included in the destination candidate hospital information."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises one medical facility of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be available to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination available to treat the health condition of the occupant (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 32, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 27. Wilson further teaches:
the first signal comprises the vehicle’s current geographic location,
Wilson teaches ([0048]): "In operation 206, the autonomous vehicle can send a first data package to the first medical facility comprising information related to the detected medical emergency. The first data package can include at least a location of the autonomous vehicle..., information regarding the detected medical condition (e.g., sensor data, a medical condition profile)..."
and wherein the target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises one medical facility of the plurality of medical facilities determined... to be located within a threshold distance of the vehicle’s current geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0060]): "In operation 404, the autonomous vehicle can identify a subset of medical facilities. In some embodiments, the subset of medical facilities can comprise at least the medical facilities associated with a set of capabilities matching the medical condition of the passenger and/or medical facilities within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (e.g., a 100-mile radius, a 30-mile radius, a 15-minute travel time radius, etc.). Thus, operation 404 can accelerate selection of a medical facility by first reducing the total number of medical facilities... to a subset of medical facilities based on capabilities and/or locations in light of the location of the autonomous vehicle and the medical condition of the passenger in the autonomous vehicle." Wilson further teaches ([0061]): "In operation 406, the autonomous vehicle can calculate respective scores for respective medical facilities in the subset of medical facilities. The respective scores can be based on capabilities, locations, and availabilities associated with the subset of medical facilities." Wilson even further teaches ([0063]): "In operation 408, the autonomous vehicle can select a medical facility based on the scores calculated in operation 406."
However, while Wilson does teach selecting a destination within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0060]-[0063]), this determination is performed by the vehicle rather than at the remote server. Yasui further teaches:
and wherein the target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises one medical facility of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be located within a threshold distance of the vehicle’s current geographic location.
Yasui teaches (Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32): "The information processing device 400 determines a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 in the destination candidate hospital determination process. The information processing device 400 can determine a hospital that is a candidate for the destination of the automated driving vehicle 200 according to... the urgency level of the disease of the user, or the like. For example, the information processing device 400 can acquire a current traveling position of the automated driving vehicle 200... and determine, as the destination candidate, a hospital within a radius of 10 km from the automated driving vehicle 200... As a result of performing the destination candidate hospital determination process, the information processing device 400 determines whether or not there has been a hospital that is a destination candidate (step S74). As a result, when the information processing device 400 has determined that there has been the hospital that is a destination candidate, the information processing device 400 adds destination candidate hospital information to the hospital visit necessity information... Then, the information processing device 400 adds the hospital visit necessity information to the response information... Thereafter, the information processing device 400 transmits the response information to the biometric information processor 242 of the automated driving vehicle 200..."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to further incorporate the teachings of Yasui to provide that the target destination suitable to treat the health condition of the occupant of the vehicle comprises one medical facility of the plurality of medical facilities determined by the remote server to be located within a threshold distance of the vehicle’s current geographic location. Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Further, Wilson is already concerned with selecting a destination within a certain radius of the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0060]-[0063]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yasui, as doing so beneficially allows for consideration of multiple candidate hospitals for treatment of the occupant's health condition, as recognized by Yasui (see at least Col. 16 line 23 - Col. 17 line 32 and Col. 18 lines 26-42).
Regarding claim 33, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 27. Wilson further teaches:
the vehicular control system autonomously controls operation of the vehicle as the vehicle travels along the path of travel toward the target destination’s geographic location.
Wilson teaches ([0070]): "Referring now to FIG. 6, illustrated is a flowchart of an example method for implementing a vehicle action in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the method 600 is a sub-method of operation 212 of FIG. 2" Wilson further teaches ([0071]): "In operation 602, the autonomous vehicle can modify the route according to instructions received from the healthcare facility in the second data package. Modifying the vehicle route can include, but is not limited to, stopping the vehicle in a safe location (e.g., a side of the road, a pickup point, a parking lot, etc.), driving the vehicle to a rendezvous point (e.g., to meet an ambulance, an emergency helicopter, etc.), or driving the vehicle directly to a medical facility (e.g., a hospital, a clinic, etc.)."
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida in view of Patel (US 2017/0344707 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Wilson does not outright teach that the vehicle comprises an emergency services vehicle. Patel teaches an integrated ambulance tracking system, comprising:
the vehicle comprises an emergency services vehicle.
Patel teaches ([0014]): "The integrated ambulance tracking system may further coordinate with a variety of devices to ensure swift pick up of the patient, smooth transition of the patient to the hospital, and appropriate preparation of caregivers. For example, as shown by reference number 140, the integrated ambulance tracking system may provide, to an ambulance operator device (e.g., a mobile device and/or geographic positioning system (GPS) device of an ambulance driver), dispatch information. The dispatch information may identify the fastest route from the current location of the ambulance to the patient. Additionally, or alternatively, the dispatch information may identify the fastest route from the patient's location to the hospital. In some cases, the ambulance may be a self-driving vehicle, and the integrated ambulance tracking system may provide instructions to direct the self-driving vehicle to the patient and/or the hospital. In this way, the integrated ambulance tracking system may assist in reducing delays in patient care and may conserve network resources by providing the appropriate information to the appropriate devices."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson, Yasui, and Yoshida to incorporate the teachings of Patel to provide that the vehicle comprises an emergency services vehicle. Wilson, Yasui, Yoshida, and Patel are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of medical services and routing for autonomous vehicles. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Patel, as expanding the control system to apply to an emergency service vehicle advantageously allows for routing from the vehicle's current location to the patient, and from the patient's location to the destination hospital, as recognized by Patel ([0014]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Colella et al. (US 2017/0364069 A1) teaches autonomous behavioral override utilizing an emergency corridor, including the use of biometric sensors to detect when an occupant of the vehicle is experiencing an emergency, and sending an emergency request to an emergency dispatch server which selects a medical facility (see at least [0017]). Oshida et al. (US 2016/0071418 A1) teaches vehicle operation assistance, including assessing whether a driver or occupant of a vehicle is experiencing an emergency via readings from one or more sensors (see at least [0036]), and submitting a request for help when it is determined that the driver or another occupant is experiencing a medical emergency (see at least [0043]). Akula (US 2016/0303969 A1) teaches a vehicle occupant emergency system, including receiving a facility list having medical capability and facility location for a plurality of facilities, and selecting one of the plurality of facilities based in part on a comparison between a medical issue and the medical capability of at least a portion of the plurality of facilities, and determine a route to the elected facility (see at least [0007]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662