DETAILED ACTION
Status
Claims(s) 1-14, is/are filed on 10/11/2023 are currently pending. Claim(s) 10-14 is/are withdrawn without traverse, 1-9 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 4 recites the limitation ‘a whistle inlet.’ It is unclear as to what structure makes an inlet a whistle inlet. The specification discusses details of inlet whistle block and inlet whistle plate but no clear definition is provided of a whistle inlet. For interpretation, a whistle inlet is any inlet and entry point.
Claim(s) 7 recites the limitation ‘the solids material inlet and an upper section solvent inlet are positioned to initially rinse the solids material in the feed portion of the housing, the feed portion of the housing being positioned above the immersion portion of the housing’ it is unclear what is required structurally to meet this limitation. For interpretation, any position of both inlets would be correct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 20180291307 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson teaches an extractor, comprising: a housing (12) having a solids material inlet (14), a solvent inlet (20), a solids material outlet (18), and a solvent/miscella outlet (22), the housing including a feed portion (the region of housing (12) adjacent feed inlet (14) constitutes the "feed portion") configured to receive a solids material and an immersion portion (interior of housing (12) containing pool of solvent (24) constitutes the "immersion portion") configured to maintain a liquid pool in which the solids material is immersible during operation of the extractor [0012-0017];
a conveyor assembly (conveyors (26A, 26B, 26C) collectively form a "conveyor assembly) extending from the feed portion to the immersion portion, the conveyor assembly configured to transmit the solids material from the feed portion to the immersion portion within the extractor housing [0016-0020];
a plurality of recycle stages (each "sub-pool" constitutes a "recycle stage") [0020] within the immersion portion, wherein each stage is optionally separated by a divider (each bed deck (28) constitutes a "divider" under BRI), and wherein each stage has a solvent and/or miscella recycle inlet (a place of entry of miscella at the top of each recycling stage as inlet is nothing more than a place of entry) positioned to direct a flow of solvent and/or miscella upwardly into the immersion portion wherein the solvent and/or miscella intermixes with the solids material (Anderson explicitly teaches that the solvent flows upwardly around the ends of bed decks (28) as it moves countercurrently, and that this flow intermixes with solids material in each stage); optionally a further solvent and/or miscella recycle outlet (bottom outlet portion of miscella of each recycle stage) [0016-0022].
Regarding claim 2, Anderson teaches wherein the housing includes an upwardly angled section (see the portion from point 20 to point 18 – fig. 1) located between the immersion portion of the housing and the solids material outlet and configured to allow solvent drainage from the solids material [0013-0020].
Regarding claim 5, Anderson teaches wherein the solvent and/or miscella recycle outlet is configured as a suction outlet (suction is intended use – any outlet would work – the outlet at the bottom of 26C would read on this) in fluid communication with the immersion portion of the housing [0022].
Regarding claim 6, Anderson teaches wherein the conveyor assembly is configured to move the solids materials in a countercurrent direction relative to a solvent flow (see fig. 1 – miscella flows to the left and solids move to the right) [0016-0024].
Regarding claim 7, Anderson teaches wherein the solids material inlet (14) and an upper section solvent inlet (20) are positioned to initially rinse the solids material in the feed portion of the housing, the feed portion of the housing being positioned above the immersion portion of the housing (intended use) [0016-0024].
Regarding claim 8, Anderson teaches wherein the divider includes a stage separation baffle (bed deck 28 forms a baffle plate – fig. 1) [0016-0024].
Regarding claim 9, Anderson teaches wherein the extractor has from three to six stages (three stages – see fig. 1) [0019].
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Hengel (US 3597163 A).
Regarding claim 1, Van Hengel teaches an extractor, comprising: a housing (closed housing formed from 22 to 26) having a solids material inlet (22), a solvent inlet (40), a solids material outlet (26), and a solvent/miscella outlet (46), the housing including a feed portion (top portion near 22) configured to receive a solids material and an immersion portion (bottom portion of the housing) configured to maintain a liquid pool in which the solids material is immersible during operation of the extractor; a conveyor assembly (12, 14, 16, 18, 20) extending from the feed portion to the immersion portion, the conveyor assembly configured to transmit the solids material from the feed portion to the immersion portion within the extractor housing; a plurality of recycle stages (i.e. stages formed by 12, 14, 16, 18, 20) within the immersion portion, wherein each stage is optionally separated by a divider (12.2,14.2, 16.2, …), and wherein each stage has a solvent and/or miscella recycle inlet (inlet of 32, 34, 36, …) positioned to direct a flow of solvent and/or miscella upwardly into the immersion portion wherein the solvent and/or miscella intermixes with the solids material (intended use); and optionally, a further solvent and/or miscella recycle outlet (30.1, 32.1, 34.2…) (C3/20-C5/35).
Regarding claim 2, Van Hengel teaches wherein the housing includes an upwardly angled section (see the angled section above 20.7) located between the immersion portion of the housing and the solids material outlet and configured to allow solvent drainage from the solids material.
Regarding claim 4, Van Hengel teaches wherein the solvent and/or miscella recycle inlets comprises a whistle inlet (32.4-32.6, 34.4-34.6, etc) and a distribution manifold (piping of 32.4-32.6, etc).
Regarding claim 5, Van Hengel teaches wherein the solvent and/or miscella recycle outlet is configured as an overflow weir and/or a suction outlet in fluid communication with the immersion portion of the housing (both are provided – overflow system and pump 30.3 for suction).
Regarding claim 6, Van Hengel teaches wherein the conveyor assembly is configured to move the solids materials in a countercurrent direction relative to a solvent flow (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Van Hengel teaches wherein the solids material inlet and an upper section solvent inlet are positioned to initially rinse the solids material in the feed portion of the housing, the feed portion of the housing being positioned above the immersion portion of the housing (intended use – see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Van Hengel teaches wherein the divider includes a stage separation baffle (i.e. baffle of 12.2, 14.2, etc).
Regarding claim 9, Van Hengel teaches wherein the extractor has from three to six stages (5 stages – fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20180291307 A1) in view of US 4751060 A (Kratochwill).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson does not teaches wherein the conveyor assembly includes a chain with flights driven by an internal drive sprocket, and wherein the chain is guided by an idler sprocket and a guide rail. However, this design is implicit as it Anderson states it is a Model IV extractor. Kratochwill teaches chain (38) with staves/flights (40), drive sprockets (30) as internal drive sprockets, second sprocket (30) as idler sprocket, side walls (34, 36) guiding the chain.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the conveyors of Anderson using the chain-with-staves (flights) and sprocket arrangement of Kratochwill, because Anderson expressly identifies the extractor as a Model IV extractor from Crown Iron Works, and— also assigned to Crown Iron Works — provides the detailed chain/stave/sprocket conveyor construction used in such extractors, the combination yielding predictable results in operating the extractor. Furthermore, guide rails for chain conveyors are well-known mechanical components used to support and direct conveyor chains, and it would have been obvious to include a guide rail to prevent chain sag and ensure proper tracking.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 20180291307 A1) in view of Van Hengel (US 3597163 A).
Regarding claim 4, Anderson may not teach wherein the solvent and/or miscella recycle inlets comprises a whistle inlet and a distribution manifold. However, Van Hengel teaches a similar counter current extraction system that moves solids through multiple inclined conveyor stages, and below each stage sits a reservoir that collects liquid that has percolated down through the solids bed each stage has its own dedicated pump that draws liquid from that reservoir and pushes it back up through a branched pipe system (piping of 32) with whistle inlets (i.e. 32.4, 32.5, 32.6) to be sprayed over the top of the solids on that same stage's conveyor — creating a closed recirculation loop within each individual stage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add Van Hengel's per-stage recirculation to Anderson's immersion extractor because Anderson already has discrete sub-pools separated by bed decks but relies only on passive solvent flow between them, and Van Hengel teaches that actively pumping solvent back up through the solids within each stage dramatically increases solvent-solid contact and extraction efficiency. Both references are in the same field of conveyor-based multi-stage solvent extraction, and adding a pump and return line to each of Anderson's existing sub-pools is a straightforward mechanical modification yielding the predictable result of improved per-stage extraction performance.
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777