DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 3, 9 and/or 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,813,434 (hereinafter "the '434 patent") since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
Claims 2 and 15 recite that the retention surface of the covering cap deflects the barring means into a barring position; claims 3, 9 and/or 18 of the '434 patent recite that the covering cap deflects the barring means into the barring position but is silent to a "retention surface" performing this function. However, a skilled artisan would understand that the instant claims require a surface of the cap to perform the deflecting of the barring means into the barring position. This surface is not patentably different from the "retention surface" of instant claim 2.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 20 of the '434 patent, since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
Claims 18 recites limitations that are fully encompassed by claim 20 of the '434 patent. The claim of the '434 patent are narrower than instant claim 18. The only substantial difference is that claim 18 recites "the triggering member comprises a barring means" whereas claim 18 of the '434 patent recites that the barring means is "integrally formed by the triggering member". Claim 18 is therefore broader than the patent claim because it covers a barring means of the triggering member that can be either integrally or non-integrally formed by the triggering member. For this reason, claim 18 is an obvious variant of claim 20 of the '434 patent.
Claims 2, 15 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim1 of U.S. Pat. No. 10,894,127 B2 (hereinafter "the '127 patent"), in view of inventor Vogt (WO2010/0136078 A1, hereinafter "Vogt"; see corresponding U.S. Pub. 2012/0203186 A1), since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
Claims 2 and 15 recite limitations that are fully encompassed by claim 1 of the '127 patent, but the '127 patent is silent to a "retention surface" performing the function of deflecting the barring means into the barring position However, a skilled artisan would understand that the instant claims require a surface of the cap to perform the deflecting of the barring means into the barring position. This surface is not patentably different from the "retention surface" of instant claim 2.
Further, claim 1 of the '127 patent does not disclose a free end of the barring means extending in a proximal direction towards a proximal end of the housing.
Vogt discloses an autoinjector for dispensing a liquid product, comprising:
a housing 1 (Fig. 3a);
a product container 5 (Fig. 3a) configured to hold the liquid product and arranged in the housing, the product container comprising a piston 5f (Fig. 3a) shiftable in a distal direction by a drive member for product dispensing;
a covering cap 3 (Fig. 3a) removably arranged on a distal end of the housing; and
a triggering member 2 (Fig. 3a) configured to protrude beyond the distal end of the housing in a starting position (Fig. 4a), wherein:
when the covering cap 3 is removed from the housing, the triggering member is movable in a proximal direction relative to the housing from the starting position (Fig. 4a) into a triggering position (Fig. 5a) for triggering product dispensing, and
when the covering cap 3 is arranged on the distal end of the housing (as shown in Fig. 4a), the triggering member 2a is blocked against moving into the triggering position by way of spring-mounted barring means deflectable by the covering cap 3 into a barring position (the barring position corresponds to the barring means 2a being biased radially outward by the force of the holding portion 3c of the cap 3 in which the barring means 2a face the stop 1b, and so when the cap 3 is on the housing in the starting position, a holding portion 3c of the cap blocks the triggering member 2 from moving inwardly into its triggering position by biasing the barring means 2a outwardly into facing contact with the stop 1b), and the barring means shown to have a free end (see figures).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the claims of the '127 patent provide the barring means to have a free end, in order to prevent accidental automatic triggering of the device, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by inventor Vogt.
Regarding claim 2, Vogt discloses an autoinjector for dispensing a liquid product, comprising:
a housing 1 (Fig. 3a);
a product container 5 (Fig. 3a) arranged in the housing and configured to hold the liquid product
a covering cap 3 (Fig. 3a) removably arranged on a distal end of the housing and comprising a retention surface 4f (see Fig. 3b); and
a triggering member 2 (Fig. 3a) protruding beyond the distal end of the housing in a starting position (Fig. 4a) and configured to be moved to a triggering position for triggering product dispensing (see Fig. 5a),
wherein the triggering member comprises barring means 2a with a free end of the barring means extending in a proximal direction towards a proximal end of the housing (see Fig. 4a),
wherein when the covering cap is removed from the housing, the triggering member is movable in the proximal direction from the starting position into the triggering position (see Fig. 4a showing the starting position and Fig. 5a showing the triggering position), and
wherein when the covering cap is arranged on the distal end of the housing, the retention surface deflects the barring means into a barring position when the triggering member is moved in the proximal direction such that the triggering member is blocked against moving into the triggering position (by way of the spring-mounted barring means deflectable by the covering cap 3 into a barring position; the barring position corresponds to the barring means 2a being biased radially outward by the force of the holding portion 3c of the cap 3 in which the barring means 2a face the stop 1b, and so when the cap 3 is on the housing in the starting position, a holding portion 3c of the cap blocks the triggering member 2 from moving inwardly into its triggering position by biasing the barring means 2a outwardly into facing contact with the stop 1b).
Regarding claim 3, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, wherein in the barring position, the barring means faces a stop 1b (see Fig. 3a) formed by the autoinjector, and when the covering cap is removed, the barring means can be moved past the stop (see para [0078]).
Regarding claim 4, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, wherein the barring means is spring mounted (see rejection of claim 2, above).
Regarding claim 5, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, wherein the retention surface is configured for retaining the barring means in the barring position when the triggering member is in the starting position (as shown in Fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 6, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, wherein the retention surface is configured such that the barring means, which can be moved together with the triggering member, is retained by the retention surface when the barring means has been moved towards a stop formed by the autoinjector and the triggering member has been moved from the starting position in the proximal direction (see paras [0067], [0078]).
Regarding claim 8, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, wherein the retention surface deflects the barring means into the barring position when the triggering member is moved from the starting position in the proximal direction (i.e., as described above, when the cap 3 is removed to initiate moving the triggering member into the triggering position, the holding portion 3c is also removed, enabling the barring means 2a to move inwardly out of facial engagement with the stop 1b to enable the triggering member 2 to move proximally; see Fig. 5a-5b illustrating the proximal movement of the triggering member 2 relative to its position in Figs. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 12, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, the product container further comprising a needle 5e (see Fig. 3a), and the triggering member protruding beyond a distal end of the needle when the triggering member is in the starting position and/or after the product dispensing occurs (see Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 13, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, the product container further comprising a needle 53 (see Fig. 3a), the needle covered by a needle covering cap 6 (see Fig. 3a) removably coupled to the product container, and the covering cap being coupled to the needle covering cap such that when the covering cap is removed from the housing, the needle covering cap is removed from the product container or needle.
Regarding claim 14, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, further comprising a dispensing spring 8 (see Fig. 2a) configured to act on a drive member arranged in the housing, the dispensing spring pre-tensioned such that it can dispense the product from the product container by shifting the drive member by a dispensing stroke, thereby shifting a piston 5f (see Fig. 3a) arranged in the product container (see para [0053])..
Regarding claim 15, Vogt discloses a safety mechanism for an autoinjector for dispensing a liquid product, the safety mechanism comprising:
a covering cap 3 (Fig. 3a) and a triggering member, the covering cap being removably arranged on a distal end of the autoinjector, the triggering member being adapted to protrude beyond the distal end of the autoinjector and be movable in a proximal direction of the autoinjector from a starting position (see Fig. 4a) into a triggering position for triggering product dispensing (see Fig. 5a)
wherein the triggering member comprises a barring means 2a with a free end of the barring means extending in the proximal direction towards a proximal end of the autoinjector,
wherein the covering cap comprises a retention surface 4f (see Fig. 3b);
wherein when the covering cap is removed from the autoinjector, the triggering member is movable in the proximal direction from the starting position into the triggering position (see Fig. 4a showing the starting position and Fig. 5a showing the triggering position), and
wherein when the covering cap is arranged on the distal end of the autoinjector, the retention surface deflects the barring means into a barring position when the triggering member is moved in the proximal direction such that the triggering member is blocked against moving into the triggering position (by way of the spring-mounted barring means deflectable by the covering cap 3 into a barring position; the barring position corresponds to the barring means 2a being biased radially outward by the force of the holding portion 3c of the cap 3 in which the barring means 2a face the stop 1b, and so when the cap 3 is on the housing in the starting position, a holding portion 3c of the cap blocks the triggering member 2 from moving inwardly into its triggering position by biasing the barring means 2a outwardly into facing contact with the stop 1b).
Regarding claim 16, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, wherein in the barring position, the barring means faces a stop 1b (see Fig. 3a) formed by the autoinjector, and when the covering cap is removed, the barring means can be moved past the stop (see para [0078]).
Regarding claim 17, Vogt discloses the autoinjector according to claim 2, wherein the barring means is spring mounted (see rejection of claim 2, above).
Regarding claim 18, Vogt discloses an autoinjector for dispensing a liquid product, comprising:
a housing 1 (Fig. 3a) configured to hold a product container 5 (Fig. 3a)
a covering cap 3 (Fig. 3a) removably arranged on a distal end of the housing or the autoinjector (see Fig. 3b); and
a triggering member 2 (Fig. 3a) configured to protrude beyond the distal end of the housing in a starting position (Fig. 4a);
wherein the triggering member comprises a barring means 2a with a free end of the barring means extending in a proximal direction towards a proximal end of the housing (see Fig. 4a),
wherein when the covering cap is removed from the housing, the triggering member is movable in the proximal direction from the starting position into the triggering position for triggering product dispensing (see Fig. 4a showing the starting position and Fig. 5a showing the triggering position), and
wherein when the covering cap is arranged on the distal end of the housing or the autoinjector, the covering cap is configured to contact the barring means such that the triggering member is blocked from movement into the triggering position by the barring means being deflected into a barring position (by way of the spring-mounted barring means deflectable by the covering cap 3 into a barring position; the barring position corresponds to the barring means 2a being biased radially outward by the force of the holding portion 3c of the cap 3 in which the barring means 2a face the stop 1b, and so when the cap 3 is on the housing in the starting position, a holding portion 3c of the cap blocks the triggering member 2 from moving inwardly into its triggering position by biasing the barring means 2a outwardly into facing contact with the stop 1b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9-11 recite allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been moot in view of the cancellation of claim 1. Claims 2-18 have been rejected (see above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 07/27/2026