DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 22, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Elinav and Manea does not disclose "measure in each carrier portion of the plurality of carrier portions, a respective power level of the signal [and] select a reference power level from among the respective power levels for the plurality of carrier portions", see pages 11-14 of Applicant’s Remarks.
The Examiner respectively disagrees.
Examiner respectfully asserts that Elinav and Manea teaches “measure in each carrier portion of the plurality of carrier portions, a respective power level of the signal [and] select a reference power level from among the respective power levels for the plurality of carrier portions”, in particular paragraphs 36-37 and 44 (below) and (see whole figure 4 below) (Elinav). Therefore, Elinav and Manea clearly teaches applicants “measure in each carrier portion of the plurality of carrier portions, a respective power level of the signal [and] select a reference power level from among the respective power levels for the plurality of carrier portions”.
In addition Manea also teaches “measure in each carrier portion of the plurality of carrier portions, a respective power level of the signal [and] select a reference power level from among the respective power levels for the plurality of carrier portions”, see below.
This action is made final at this time for reasons stated in this office action.
FIG. 4 shows an example of a return channel arrangement 200 that may correspond to satellite communication system 100, and a power-bandwidth limitation 400. The one or more terminal(s) 140a-n may use or may be assigned one or more dedicated return channel(s) for transmitting one or more carrier(s), e.g. carrier(s) 240a-n respectively. In some embodiments, the one or more carrier(s) 240a-n associated with the one or more terminal(s) 140a-n may be of non-uniform characteristics and may differ in one or more of: symbol rate, modulation, forward error correction coding (FEC), transmission power and/or power spectral density (e.g. as may be needed from satellite 110), and/or in any one or more other applicable parameter(s).
Power-bandwidth limitation 400 may be characterized by a bandwidth limitation 410 and a power limitation 420. In some embodiments, power limitation 420 may correspond to a normalized symbol energy over noise (E.sub.S/N.sub.0) characteristic of a carrier occupying the entire bandwidth limitation 410, for example as it may perhaps be measured (e.g. either theoretically or practically) at hub 120. In some embodiments, said E.sub.S/N.sub.0 characteristic may correspond to a maximum power level that may be drawn from a satellite (e.g. satellite 110) over said bandwidth limitation 410 (for example whether such limitation is a physical limitation of the satellite, a contractual limitation as per lease conditions of the space segment, or any other limitation).
As previously described, power-bandwidth limitation 400 may be characterized by a bandwidth limitation 410 and a power limitation 420, wherein power limitation 420 may correspond to a maximum power level that may be drawn from a satellite (e.g. satellite 110) over said bandwidth limitation 410. In some embodiments, power limitation 420 may be specified as an E.sub.S/N.sub.0 characteristic of a carrier occupying the entire bandwidth associated with bandwidth limitation 410, e.g. as such E.sub.S/N.sub.0 characteristics may perhaps be measured (e.g. either theoretically or practically) at hub 120. As E.sub.S/N.sub.0 may be a characteristic of power spectral density (e.g. power per a unit of bandwidth), multiplying said power limitation 420 by bandwidth limitation 410 may yield a figure corresponding to the maximum power level that may be drawn from a satellite (e.g. satellite 110) over bandwidth limitation 410. A similar principle may be applied to any part of the bandwidth associated with bandwidth limitation 410, for example to the bandwidth of any of the one or more carrier(s) 240a-n. For example, a maximum power equivalent for a carrier 240 (e.g. 240a) may be calculated as the multiplication of a maximum E.sub.S/N.sub.0 level associated with carrier 240 by the bandwidth occupied by carrier 240, wherein the bandwidth occupied by carrier 240 may be directly proportioned to a symbol rate characteristic of carrier 240.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-13, 16-17, 19-21, 24, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elinav et al. (US 20140064125 A1 and Elinav hereinafter) and further in view of Manea (US 20120213174 A1 and Manea hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Elinav, teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device (“terminal(s) 140a-n”[0022] and Fig. 1), comprising:
one or more memories (terminals 140a-n inherently has a memory); and
one or more processors (terminals 140a-n inherently has a processor), the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, being configured to (“The instructions, when executed(by the recited processors), may cause one or more apparatuses to perform one or more acts...”[0055]):
transmit (“A terminal 140 (e.g. 140a) may use or may be assigned a dedicated return channel for transmitting a carrier 240 e.g. 240a respectively referred to as transmit)”[0024]) in each carrier portion (Fig. 2, elements 240a-n, referred to has each carrier portion) of a plurality of carrier portions (“carrier 240 a-n” [0024 and ]Fig. 2) spanning an available bandwidth configured for the wireless device (“power-bandwidth limitation 400 may be characterized by a bandwidth limitation 410 and a power limitation 420, wherein power limitation 420 may correspond to a maximum power level that may be drawn from a satellite (e.g. satellite 110) over said bandwidth limitation 410. In some embodiments, power limitation 420 may be specified as an E.sub.S/N.sub.0 characteristic of a carrier occupying the entire bandwidth associated with bandwidth limitation 410, i.e. spanning an available bandwidth, e.g. as such E.sub.S/N.sub.0 characteristics may perhaps be measured (e.g. either theoretically or practically) at hub 120. As E.sub.S/N.sub.0 may be a characteristic of power spectral density (e.g. power per a unit of bandwidth), multiplying said power limitation 420 by bandwidth limitation 410 may yield a figure corresponding to the maximum power level that may be drawn from a satellite (e.g. satellite 110) over bandwidth limitation 410. A similar principle may be applied to any part of the bandwidth associated with bandwidth limitation 410, for example to the bandwidth of any of the one or more carrier(s) 240a-n i.e. configured for wireless device”[0044]), a signal in full occupied bandwidth for the carrier portion a maximum power equivalent for a carrier 240 (e.g. 240a) may be calculated as the multiplication of a maximum E.sub.S/N.sub.0 level associated with carrier 240 by the bandwidth occupied by carrier 240 i.e. a signal in full occupied bandwidth for the carrier portion”[0044]);
adjust the respective power levels for one or more carrier portions of the plurality of carrier portions to match the reference power level (“ terminal 140 may be further configured to receive, e.g. from hub 120, one or more E.sub.S/N.sub.0 measurements for carrier 240 and to regulate i.e. adjust the power level at which it transmits carrier 240 at least in accordance with the received one or more E.sub.S/N.sub.0 measurements and in accordance with a last received maximum E.sub.S/N.sub.0 level for carrier 240.” [0041]).
Elinav teaches from Fig. 3 and [0028] (step 311) a data rate characteristic for data to be transmitted (DR.sub.REQ), to further determine (step 312) a first MODCOD that may be used at that time for transmitting carrier 240 associated with terminal 140 and a first maximum data rate that may be transmitted over carrier 240 using said first MODCOD (DR.sub.1). Terminal 140 may be further configured to then compare (step 313) the determined data rate (DR.sub.REQ) with said determined first maximum data rate (DR.sub.1).).
Elinav does not explicitly teach
measure in each carrier portion of the plurality of carrier portions, a respective power level of the signal;
select a reference power level from among the respective power levels for the plurality of carrier portions.
In a similar endeavor Manea teaches
measure in each carrier portion (configured to measure a power contribution of each remote receiver and adjust at least one of the power level [0026] i.e. measure in each carrier portion) of the plurality of carrier portions in (Para 36 and Fig. 4b and 4c that disclose a spectral representation showing carrier signal of the same bandwidth but different power level and the same PEB i.e., each carrier portion of the plurality of carrier portion), a respective power level of the signal (“The remote receiver may be configured to determine an optimal combination of power level and data rate for the remote receiver based on a predetermined data rate and one or more network requirements.”[0026] and see also FIG 4C below);
select a reference power level (“The modulator may be further configured to maintain a power equivalent bandwidth (PEB)(being the recited reference power level)”[0025]) from among the respective power levels for the plurality of carrier portions (“The remote receiver may be configured to determine an optimal combination of power level and data rate for the remote receiver based on a predetermined data rate and one or more network requirements.”[0026].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Elinav with the method suggested by Manea so as to maintain the predetermined data rate and spectral allocation of the composite signal, thus maintaining a uninterrupted communications link between the transmitter and a remote receiver, (see Manea abstract).
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 32 Elinav teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to transmit a communication in multiple carrier portions of the plurality of carrier portions using adjusted power levels for the multiple carrier portions (“ terminal 140 may be further configured to receive, e.g. from hub 120, one or more E.sub.S/N.sub.0 measurements for carrier 240 and to regulate i.e. adjust the power level at which it transmits carrier 240 at least in accordance with the received one or more E.sub.S/N.sub.0 measurements and in accordance with a last received maximum E.sub.S/N.sub.0 level for carrier 240.” [0041])
Regarding Claim 3 and Claim 33 Elinav does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to transmit the signal and measure the respective power level of the signal for each carrier portion one at a time in a sweep of the available bandwidth.
In a similar field of endeavor Manea teaches
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to transmit the signal and measure the respective power level of the signal for each carrier portion one at a time in a sweep of the available bandwidth (“by a processor, a change in a power level of a composite signal transmitted (the processors transmit the power signal) by a transmitter, the composite signal comprising a plurality of carrier signals and having a constant center frequency (frequency being the recited available bandwidth)”[0017] and “a hub configured (via the processors) to measure a power contribution of each remote receiver (being the recited carrier)” [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Elinav with the method suggested by Manea so as to maintain the predetermined data rate and spectral allocation of the composite signal, thus maintaining a uninterrupted communications link between the transmitter and a remote receiver, (see Manea abstract).
Regarding Claim 9 Elinav teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to receive a configuration indicating the wireless device is to transmit signals in the plurality of carrier portions (A terminal 140 (e.g. 140a) may use or may be assigned a dedicated return channel i.e. carrier portion for transmitting a carrier 240 (e.g. 240a respectively) [0024] and Fig. 2, carriers 240a-n) and adjust the respective power levels to match the reference power level (“ terminal 140 may be further configured to receive, e.g. from hub 120, one or more E.sub.S/N.sub.0 measurements for carrier 240 and to regulate i.e. adjust the power level at which it transmits carrier 240 at least in accordance with the received one or more E.sub.S/N.sub.0 measurements and in accordance with a last received maximum E.sub.S/N.sub.0 level for carrier 240.” [0041]).
Regarding Claim 10 Elinav teaches “Power-bandwidth limitation 400 may be characterized by a bandwidth limitation 410 and a power limitation 420. In some embodiments, power limitation 420 may correspond to a normalized symbol energy over noise (E.sub.S/N.sub.0) characteristic of a carrier occupying the entire bandwidth limitation 410 [0037] Fig 4, element 410 being the full occupied bandwidth”
Elinav does not explicitly teach
wherein to transmit the signal, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to transmit the signal in the full occupied bandwidth at a transmit power within range of a power detector of the wireless device.
In a similar field of endeavor Manea teaches
wherein to transmit the signal, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to transmit the signal in the full occupied bandwidth (Fig 5, the allocated frequency being the recited entire occupied bandwidth) at a transmit power within range of a power detector of the wireless device (“Implementations of a system for controlling bandwidth allocation over a communications link i.e. full occupied bandwidth may comprise a transmitter, a remote receiver a processor configured to detect a change in a power level i.e. power detector of a composite signal transmitted by the transmitter, the composite signal comprising a plurality of carrier signals and having a constant center frequency and spectral allocation…”[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Elinav with the method suggested by Manea so as to maintain the predetermined data rate and spectral allocation of the composite signal, thus maintaining a uninterrupted communications link between the transmitter and a remote receiver, (see Manea abstract).
Regarding Claim 11, Elinav suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in method form rather than apparatus form. Elinav also discloses a method (”Various aspects of the disclosure may be embodied as one or more methods, systems, apparatuses (e.g., components of a satellite communication network), and/or computer program products”[0055]). Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 16, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 17, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Regarding Claim 19, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
Regarding Claim 21, Elinav-Manea suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in computer readable medium form rather than apparatus form. Elinav also discloses computer readable medium (“In some embodiments, one or more computer readable media storing instructions may be used”[0055]). Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 21.
Regarding Claim 24, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 25, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Regarding Claim 31, Elinav, teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (“terminal(s) 140a-n”[0022] and Fig. 1), comprising:
one or more memories (terminals 140a-n inherently has a memory); and
one or more processors (terminals 140a-n inherently has a processor), the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, being configured to (“The instructions, when executed(by the recited processors), may cause one or more apparatuses to perform one or more acts...”[0055]):
transmit (“A terminal 140 (e.g. 140a) may use or may be assigned a dedicated return channel for transmitting a carrier 240 e.g. 240a respectively referred to as transmit)”[0024]) in each carrier portion (Fig. 2, elements 240a-n, referred to has each carrier portion) of a plurality of carrier portions (“carrier 240 a-n” [0024 and ]Fig. 2) spanning an available bandwidth configured for the UE (“power-bandwidth limitation 400 may be characterized by a bandwidth limitation 410 and a power limitation 420, wherein power limitation 420 may correspond to a maximum power level that may be drawn from a satellite (e.g. satellite 110) over said bandwidth limitation 410. In some embodiments, power limitation 420 may be specified as an E.sub.S/N.sub.0 characteristic of a carrier occupying the entire bandwidth associated with bandwidth limitation 410, i.e. spanning an available bandwidth, e.g. as such E.sub.S/N.sub.0 characteristics may perhaps be measured (e.g. either theoretically or practically) at hub 120. As E.sub.S/N.sub.0 may be a characteristic of power spectral density (e.g. power per a unit of bandwidth), multiplying said power limitation 420 by bandwidth limitation 410 may yield a figure corresponding to the maximum power level that may be drawn from a satellite (e.g. satellite 110) over bandwidth limitation 410. A similar principle may be applied to any part of the bandwidth associated with bandwidth limitation 410, for example to the bandwidth of any of the one or more carrier(s) 240a-n i.e. configured for wireless device”[0044]), a signal in full occupied bandwidth for the carrier portion a maximum power equivalent for a carrier 240 (e.g. 240a) may be calculated as the multiplication of a maximum E.sub.S/N.sub.0 level associated with carrier 240 by the bandwidth occupied by carrier 240 i.e. a signal in full occupied bandwidth for the carrier portion”[0044]);
adjust the respective power levels for one or more carrier portions of the plurality of carrier portions to match the reference power level (“ terminal 140 may be further configured to receive, e.g. from hub 120, one or more E.sub.S/N.sub.0 measurements for carrier 240 and to regulate i.e. adjust the power level at which it transmits carrier 240 at least in accordance with the received one or more E.sub.S/N.sub.0 measurements and in accordance with a last received maximum E.sub.S/N.sub.0 level for carrier 240.” [0041]).
Elinav teaches from Fig. 3 and [0028] (step 311) a data rate characteristic for data to be transmitted (DR.sub.REQ), to further determine (step 312) a first MODCOD that may be used at that time for transmitting carrier 240 associated with terminal 140 and a first maximum data rate that may be transmitted over carrier 240 using said first MODCOD (DR.sub.1). Terminal 140 may be further configured to then compare (step 313) the determined data rate (DR.sub.REQ) with said determined first maximum data rate (DR.sub.1).).
Elinav does not explicitly teach
measure in each carrier portion of the plurality of carrier portions, a respective power level of the signal;
select a reference power level from among the respective power levels for the plurality of carrier portions.
In a similar endeavor Manea teaches
measure in each carrier portion (configured to measure a power contribution of each remote receiver and adjust at least one of the power level [0026] (i.e. measure in each carrier portion) of the plurality of carrier portions in (Para 36 and Fig. 4b and 4c that disclose a spectral representation showing carrier signal of the same bandwidth but different power level and the same PEB i.e., each carrier portion of the plurality of carrier portion), a respective power level of the signal (“The remote receiver may be configured to determine an optimal combination of power level and data rate for the remote receiver based on a predetermined data rate and one or more network requirements.”[0026] and see also FIG 4C below);
select a reference power level (“The modulator may be further configured to maintain a power equivalent bandwidth (PEB)(being the recited reference power level)”[0025]) from among the respective power levels for the plurality of carrier portions (“The remote receiver may be configured to determine an optimal combination of power level and data rate for the remote receiver based on a predetermined data rate and one or more network requirements.”[0026].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Elinav with the method suggested by Manea so as to maintain the predetermined data rate and spectral allocation of the composite signal, thus maintaining a uninterrupted communications link between the transmitter and a remote receiver, (see Manea abstract).
Claims 4, 8, 14, 18, 22 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elinav in view of Manea, Elinav-Manea hereinafter, and further in view of Prodan (US 20160050127 A1 and Prodan hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 34 Elinav-Manea do not explicitly teach wherein to measure the respective power levels, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to measure the respective power levels using an in-circuit power detector. In a similar endeavor Prodan teaches
wherein to measure the respective power levels, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to measure the respective power levels using an in-circuit power detector (“The processor then processes the sample capture to generate a detected power and performs an integrate-and-dump (I&D) operation on the detected power over at least one time period to generate an integrated power.”[0037] and Fig. 3B, elements 230 and 380).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Elinav-Manea with the method suggested by Prodan so as to support communications with other communication device(s) and to generate and process signals for such communications, (see Prodan, abstract).
Regarding Claim 8 Elinav-Manea teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. However, Elinav-Manea does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: transmit the signal and measure the respective power level of the signal for each carrier portion while the wireless device is in an operational mode; and
adjust the respective power levels for the one or more carrier portions while the wireless device is in the operational mode.
However, Prodan teaches
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to:
transmit the signal and measure the respective power level of the signal for each carrier portion while the wireless device is in an operational mode (“the device 110 can subtract an appropriately scaled amount of integrated power from another integrated power (being the recited power measure) generated by another integrate-and-dump (I&D) operation (“Examiner is interpreting that the device is in operational mode if it is generating an I&D operation.”) (e.g., appropriately scaled based on a sample capture made during transmission of such a transmission symbol made with a reduced number of sub-carriers and/or power).”[0039]); and
adjust the respective power levels for the one or more carrier portions (“The device 110 then updates the integrated power histogram of the communication channel (being the recited carrier portions) using the adjusted integrated power”[0038] Prodan) while the wireless device is in the operational mode (“The device 110 then processes such a sample capture to generate another detected power and performs another integrate-and-dump (I&D) operation (the device is in the recited operational mode) thereon to generate another integrated power.”[0038] Prodan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the method of Elinav-Manea with the method suggested by Prodan. The motivation would be “to support communications with other communication device(s) and to generate and process signals for such communications” Prodan at abstract.
Regarding Claim 14, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 18, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Regarding Claim 22, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claims 5-7 15, 23 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elinav-Manea and further in view of Huang (US 20220248347 A1 and Huang hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 5, Elinav-Manea does not explicitly teach wherein to adjust the respective power levels for the one or more carrier portions, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to adjust the respective power levels at an undroop filter in a digital front end of the wireless device, and wherein the undroop filter is configured to equalize gain imbalances over frequency.
In a similar endeavor Huang teaches
wherein to adjust the respective power levels for the one or more carrier portions, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to adjust the respective power levels at an undroop filter in a digital front end of the wireless device, and wherein the undroop filter is configured to equalize gain imbalances over frequency (“The transmitter and the receiver may include filters in the digital front end for each cluster (cluster being the recited carrier portion), and each filter (the recited undroop filter) can be enabled (configured) to pass signals and disabled to block signals (to equalize frequency gain imbalances).”[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the method of Elinav-Manea with the method suggested by Huang. The motivation would be so to improve cell activation process benefitting network operators and users of wireless communications thus this improvement can apply to apply to a wide range of multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies, Huang [0005].
Regarding Claim 6 Elinav does not explicitly teach wherein to adjust the respective power levels at the undroop filter, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to adjust the respective power levels in one or more frequency bins corresponding to the one or more carrier portions.
In a similar field of endeavor Manea teaches
wherein to adjust the respective power levels at the undroop filter (“Bandpass Filters (BPF) 220 that filter the frequency spectrum i.e. the undroop filter” [0058] and Fig. 2, element 220 ), the one or more processor are individually or collectively configured to adjust the respective power levels in one or more frequency bins corresponding to the one or more carrier portions (”adjusting one or more filter (i.e. undroop filter) roll-offs or excess bandwidth (bandwidth being the recited frequency bins) of one or more carrier signals while maintaining a power equivalent bandwidth (PEB) of the one or more carrier signals”[0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Elinav with the method suggested by Manea so as to maintain the predetermined data rate and spectral allocation of the composite signal, thus maintaining a uninterrupted communications link between the transmitter and a remote receiver, (see Manea abstract).
Regarding Claim 7, Elinav-Manea do not explicitly teach wherein to adjust the respective power levels at the undroop filter, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to obtain adjusted power levels from a stored data structure.
However, Prodan teaches
wherein to adjust the respective power levels at the undroop filter (operations may include any one or more of various operations including conversions between the frequency and analog or continuous time domains (e.g., such as the operations performed by a digital to analog converter (DAC) and/or an analog to digital converter (ADC)), gain adjustment including scaling, filtering i.e. the undroop filter (e.g., in either the digital or analog domains), frequency conversion (e.g., such as frequency upscaling and or frequency downscaling, such as to a baseband frequency at which one or more of the components of the device 110 operates), equalization, pre-equalization, metric generation, symbol mapping and/or de-mapping, automatic gain control (AGC) operations, and/or any other operations that may be performed by an AFE and/or PHY component within a communication device.[0049]), the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to obtain adjusted power levels from a stored data structure (“Memory 240 may also include and store various operational instructions for use by the processor 230 in regards to the processing of messages and/or other received signals and generation of other messages and/or other signals including those described herein. Memory 240 may also store information including one or more types of encoding, one or more types of symbol mapping, concatenation of various modulation coding schemes, etc. as may be generated by the device 110 or such information received from other devices via one or more communication channels.”[0048] and Fig. 2A, element 240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Elinav-Manea with the method suggested by Prodan so as to support communications with other communication device(s) and to generate and process signals for such communications, (see Prodan, abstract).
Regarding Claim 15, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding Claim 23, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding Claim 35, Elinav-Manea does not explicitly teach wherein to adjust the respective power levels for the one or more carrier portions, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to adjust the respective power levels at an undroop filter in a digital front end of the UE, and wherein the undroop filter is configured to equalize gain imbalances over frequency.
In a similar endeavor Huang teaches
wherein to adjust the respective power levels for the one or more carrier portions, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to adjust the respective power levels at an undroop filter in a digital front end of the wireless device, and wherein the undroop filter is configured to equalize gain imbalances over frequency (“The transmitter and the receiver may include filters in the digital front end for each cluster (cluster being the recited carrier portion), and each filter (the recited undroop filter) can be enabled (configured) to pass signals and disabled to block signals (to equalize frequency gain imbalances).”[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the method of Elinav-Manea with the method suggested by Huang. The motivation would be so to improve cell activation process benefitting network operators and users of wireless communications thus this improvement can apply to apply to a wide range of multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies, Huang [0005].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Elinav et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20140064125) “Power Division Multiple Access” (March 6, 2014) discloses a hub and one or more terminals, wherein the one or more terminals may be configured to communicate over a satellite with the hub using a segment of the satellite's resources and using a single channel per carrier (SCPC) access scheme. Methods are presented herein for facilitating the dimensioning of at least a power characteristic of said space segment using a Demand Assignment Multiple Access approach and for enforcing the dimensioned power characteristic in real-time, or substantially in real-time. Also presented are methods for allocating power to SCPC carriers, wherein a maximum power level for a carrier may be determined using a DAMA technique.
Manea et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20120213174) “Method And System For Optimizing Performance With Hitless Switching For Fixed Symbol Rate Carriers Using Closed-Loop Power Control While Maintaining Power Equivalent Bandwidth (PEB)” (August 23, 2012) discloses controlling bandwidth allocation over a communications link comprising detecting, by a processor, a change in a power level of a composite signal transmitted by a transmitter, the composite signal comprising a plurality of carrier signals and having a constant center frequency and spectral allocation, adjusting at least one of a modulation factor and a forward error correction (FEC) rate of one or more of the plurality of carrier signals using a modulator, in response to the change in power level to maintain a predetermined data rate and spectral allocation of the composite signal, and maintaining, by the modulator, an uninterrupted communications link between the transmitter and a remote receiver while the at least one of the modulation factor and the FEC rate is adjusted.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647