DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species 1 (figures 1-5a/6, claims 1-9, 12 and 14) in the reply filed on 08/10/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because as previously mention in the office action sent out on 06/10/26, the species are independent or distinct because the figures to the different species recite mutually exclusive characteristics and are not obvious variants of each other thereby by resulting in a serious burden if a restriction was not implemented.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations “wherein the second portion includes mutually continuous second turn portions, and one of the second turn portions is disposed on the first turn portions next to each other while crossing over the first turn portions..’ is vague and indefinite. Para 0098 of the applicant pgpub discloses wherein the 2nd coil has these limitations. Wherein in the specification/drawings discloses wherein the second portion of the first coil has a second portion including mutually continuous second turn portions, and one of the second turn portions is disposed on the first turn portions next to each other while crossing over the first turn portions. It appears that theses limitations are referring to the second portion of the second coil, but the second portion of the second coil, is not discussed in claims 1 or 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sakuma et al. (JP 2022141446)(English translation)
Regarding claim 1, Sakuma et al. (figures 1-6 and pages 2-4) discloses a first coil (20) formed by a first wire wound in a coil shape (see figures 2-3); and a second coil (40) formed by a second wire wound in a coil shape (see figures 2-3); wherein the first coil includes: a first portion (21/20) provided inside the second coil (40) (see figure 3); and a second portion (22/20) next to the first portion and the second coil along a winding axis of the first portion (see figure 3), a layer number of the first portion in its radial direction is one (see figures 3), and a layer number of the second portion in its radial direction is plural. (see figures 3)
Regarding claim 4, Sakuma et al. (figures 1-6 and pages 2-4) discloses wherein the first portion and a first layer of the second portion are continuous to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2 Claims 2-3 5-7, 9, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma et al. (JP 2022141446)(English translation) in view of Suido et al. (JP 2009088312)(English translation)
Regarding claim 2, Sakuma et al. (figures 1-6 and pages 2-4) discloses wherein the first portion (21/20) includes mutually continuous first turn portions but does not expressly discloses the first turn portions next to each other are separated from each other along the winding axis.
Suido et al. (figures 1-4 and pages 1-3) discloses a teaching wherein the first turn portions (12a) next to each other are separated from each other along the winding axis.(see figure 2)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the first turn portions next to each other are separated from each other along the winding axis as taught by Suido et al. to the inductive device of Sakuma et al. so as to significantly improved electrical insulation and voltage management.
Regarding claim 3, Suido et al. (figures 1-4 and pages 1-3) discloses wherein the second portion includes mutually continuous second turn portions, and one of the second turn portions is disposed on the first turn portions next to each other while crossing over the first turn portions.
Regarding claim 5, Sakuma et al. (figures 2-3 and pages 2-4) discloses a bobbin for disposing the first coil, wherein the bobbin includes a first region for disposing the first portion but does not expressly discloses protrusion portions protruding in a radial direction of the bobbin are arranged along an axial direction of the bobbin on an outer peripheral surface of the first region.
Suido et al. (figure 2 and pages 1-3) discloses a teaching wherein protrusion portions protruding in a radial direction of the bobbin are arranged along an axial direction of the bobbin on an outer peripheral surface of the first region.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein protrusion portions protruding in a radial direction of the bobbin are arranged along an axial direction of the bobbin on an outer peripheral surface of the first region as taught by Suido et al. to the inductive device of Sakuma et al. so as to allow the wire turns to perfectly aligned during winding, preventing uneven overlapping or overlapping faults.
Regarding claim 6, Suido et al. (figures 1-4 and pages 1-3) discloses wherein the protrusion portions extend along a circumferential direction of the bobbin, one of the protrusion portions is provided with a notch, and the first wire passes through the notch
Regarding claim 7, Suido et al. (figures 1-4 and pages 1-3) discloses wherein the first portion includes mutually continuous first turn portions, and one of the first turn portions is disposed between the protrusion portions next to each other.
Regarding claim 9, designing wherein a protrusion length of the protrusion portions is equal to a diameter of the first wire would have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use. Such as to prevent wire damage and maximizing winding density and also making the winding turns tight and uniform.
Regarding claim 12, Suido et al. (figures 1-4 and pages 1-3) discloses wherein the protrusion portions include: a first protrusion portion; and a second protrusion portion having a width along the axial direction of the bobbin different from that of the first protrusion, and the first protrusion
Regarding claim 14, Sakuma et al. (figures 1-6 and pages 2-4) discloses
a bobbin (see figures 2-3); a first coil (20) provided to the bobbin(see figures 2-3); a second coil (40) provided outside the first coil (see figures 2-3), wherein the first coil includes: a first portion (21/20) provided inside the second coil; and a second portion (22/20) next to the first portion and the second coil along a winding axis of the first portion(see figures 2-3), the bobbin includes a first region for disposing the first portion(see figures 2-3).
Sakuma et al. does not expressly discloses protrusion portions protruding in a radial direction of the bobbin are arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the first region along an axial direction of the bobbin.
Sakuma et al. (figure 2 and pages 1-3) discloses protrusion portions protruding in a radial direction of the bobbin are arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the first region along an axial direction of the bobbin.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design protrusion portions protruding in a radial direction of the bobbin are arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the first region along an axial direction of the bobbin as taught by Suido et al. to the inductive device of Sakuma et al. so as to allow the wire turns to perfectly aligned during winding, preventing uneven overlapping or overlapping faults.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837