Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (CN 106847172 B) in view of Lee (US 20200211440).
Regarding claim 1:
Tang (CN 106847172 B) discloses an apparatus (in Fig.1, 5-6) comprising: a first display (113) of a multi-display assembly; a second display (114) of the multi-display assembly, wherein the first and second normals (normal to the display devices) have different orientations (see Tang Pg, 3-6, Fig. 5-6);
a first viewing angle on the first display; a second viewing angle on second display ((in FIG. 1, display surface 113 with the main display surface 112 include angle is an obtuse angle, and a second auxiliary display surface 114 with the main display surface 112 include angle is an obtuse angle, the third secondary display side 115 and main display surface 112 include angle is an obtuse angle, and a fourth pair of display surface 116 with the main display surface 112 include angle is an obtuse angle;
in FIG. 6, disclose a display device 70 comprising an OLED display box 71, the OLED device of the OLED display box 71 is a transparent display to make the user see the display information of a plurality of display surface at different angles, and can through the transparent OLED display box 71 see OLED display item inside the box 71) (see pg. 5-6 on the description of Fig.1, 5- 6 and abstract),
present the image on at least the first display of the multi-display assembly in a display location (i.e. user’s gaze location at the displays) corresponding to where the RW view would be seen through the first display were the first display a transparent plate (see Tang, Fig. 5-6, the transparent optical device makes the real environment content (such as object in the environment) or can be considered to be the real environment content (e.g., content displayed on the display of the user presence environment can be seen, At the same time, the virtual object is displaying. Thereby, the principle relates to improving the apparent opacity of a virtual object) (see Tang Fig. 5-6 and abstract), receive at least one image of at least one real world (RW) view adjacent the multi- display assembly ((i.e. image on 113-116) (see Fig. 5-6)): and present the at least one image on at least the first display of the multi-display assembly in a display location corresponding to where the RW view would be seen through the (see Fig. 5 the visible display screens ) and were the first display a transparent plate (see Abstract and the description of Fig. 5-6).
However, Tang does not specifically discloses at least one processor assembly configured to: determine a first viewing angle between a direction of a user's gaze and a first normal of determine a second viewing angle between the direction of the user's gaze and a second normal of use the first viewing angle to establish a first brightness and/or a first contrast on the first display; and use the second viewing angle to establish a second brightness and/or a second contrast on the second display.
Lee discloses at least one processor assembly (1010, Fig. 9) configured to determine a first viewing angle (gaze angle θ1) and second viewing angle (gaze angle θ2); first and second normal (NL1 and NL2) (see Lee in Fig. 2, [0042]);
use the first viewing angle to establish a first brightness (luminance) and/or a first contrast on the first display ([0041-0042]); and use the second viewing angle to establish a second brightness (luminance) and/or a second contrast on the second display) (see [0041-0042], [0060-0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang with the teaching of Lee, thereby providing uniform luminance data transmission at the display device.
Regarding claim 8:
Tang discloses an apparatus (Fig. 5-6) comprising:
a multi-display assembly comprising at least first and second displays (113, 114) with respective first and second normal (i.e. nor to the displays) and present at least a portion of the image on the selected display of the multi- display assembly in a display location corresponding to where the RW view would be seen through the first display and transparent displays (FIG. 5, the visible display screens are referenced 113-116). 3d box display, images to be displayed on the box display and transparent display (see the abstract, Pg. 5-6 and the description of Fig. 5-6).
Tang does not specifically disclose at least one processor assembly to: at least one computer medium that is not a transitory signal and that comprises instructions executable receive at least one image of at least one real world (RW) view adjacent a multi-display assembly (the main display surface 112 and four secondary display surface display screen, the main display surface 112, the first auxiliary display surface 113, a second auxiliary display surface 114, third auxiliary display surface 115 and a fourth secondary display surface 116 simultaneously display), first and second normal that are perpendicular to each other.
Lee discloses by at least one processor assembly (1010 Fig. 9) to: at least one computer medium that is not a transitory signal and that comprises instructions executable receive at least one image of at least one real world (RW) view adjacent a multi-display assembly, first and second normal (NPL1, NPL2) that are perpendicular to each other (Lee, [0040-0045], [0060] Fig. 1, 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang with the teaching of Lee, thereby providing an accurate data transmission at the display device.
Regarding claim 16:
Tang discloses a method (in Fig. 5-6), comprising:
executing A, or B, or both A and B, wherein A comprises:
determining a first viewing angle between a direction of a user's gaze (user’s see) and a first normal of a first display (113) of a multi-display assembly (see Fig. 5), determining a second viewing angle between the direction of the user's gaze and a second normal of a second display (114) of the multi-display assembly (see the description of Fig. 5-6), wherein the first and second normal (i.e. normals to the displays) have different orientations using the first viewing angle (see Pg. 5-6, Fig. 5-6), wherein the first and second normals have different orientations ((In Fig. 5, the display screens 113-116 are visible to the US user),
and wherein B comprises: receiving at least one image of at least one real world (RW) view adjacent the multi- display assembly (113-116) (see Fig. 5-6), and presenting the image on at least the first display (113) of the multi-display assembly in a display location corresponding to where the RW view would be seen through the first display (see Pg. 5-6, Fig. 5 the visible display screens ) and were the first display a transparent plate (see Abstract and the description of Fig. 5-6).
However, Tang does not specifically disclose the first viewing angle to establish a first brightness and/or a first contrast on the first display; and use the second viewing angle to establish a second brightness and/or a second contrast on the second display.
Lee discloses at least one processor assembly (1010, Fig. 9) configured to determine a first viewing angle (gaze angle θ1) and second viewing angle (gaze angle θ2) ; use the first viewing angle to establish a first brightness (luminance) and/or a first contrast on the first display ([0041-0042]); and use the second viewing angle to establish a second brightness (luminance) and/or a second contrast on the second display) (see [0041-0042], [0060-0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang with the teaching of Lee, thereby providing uniform luminance data transmission at the display device.
Regarding claims 5 and 14:
Tang in view of Lee discloses wherein the processor assembly is configured to: use the first viewing angle to establish the first brightness on the first display (see Lee, [0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 6 and 15:
Tang in view of Lee discloses wherein the processor assembly is configured to: use the first viewing angle to establish the first contrast on the first display (see Lee, [0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9:
Tang in view of Lee discloses wherein the instructions are executable to: present at least a portion of the image on at least second display of the multi-display assembly (see Fig, 1-3) in a display location corresponding to where the RW view would be seen through the second display were the second display a transparent plate (see Tang, Fig. 5-6, and Lee Fig. 1-2, [0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 12:
Tang in view of Lee discloses wherein the instructions are executable to: determine a first viewing angle (Theta 1) between a direction of a user's gaze and a first normal of the first display (see Lee Fig.1-3); determine a second viewing angle (Theta 2) between the direction of the user's gaze and a second normal of a second display of the multi-display assembly, wherein the first and second normals have different orientations; (Lee, Fig.2-3, [0040-0045]);
Lee discloses viewing angle to establish brightness and/or a contrast on the first display (see Lee, [0040- 0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 19:
Tang in view of Lee discloses the method of Claim 16, comprising executing A, see Tang Fig. 5-6) and Lee Fig. 2-3, [0040-0045]). Same motivation as applied to claim 16.0
Regarding claim 20:
Tang in view of Lee discloses to executing B (see Tang, Pg 19, Fig. 5-6, Lee Fig.1-3, [0040-0043]. Same motivation as applied to claim 16.
Regarding claims 3 and 18:
Tang in view of Lee discloses wherein the first and second normal (NL1 and NL2) are perpendicular to each other (Lee, in Fig. 2, [0042]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11:
Tang discloses wherein the multi-display assembly comprises third , fourth, and fifth (bottom display) displays, and the first through fifth displays are arranged in a box-shape (see Tang Fig. 5, pg 19).
2. Claim(s) 2, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Lee and further in view of Limor (CN 111602100 A).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 17:
Tang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the first and second display comprise liquid crystal displays (LCD) .
Limor (CN 111602100 A) discloses first and second display comprise liquid crystal displays (LCD) (see Limor, Pag 11, discloses device 10 includes a LCD display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang with the teaching of Lee, and Limor (CN 111602100 A), thereby providing uniform luminance data transmission at the display device.
3. Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Lee and further in view of Inada (US 20130021390 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 13:
Tang in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor assembly is configured to, based on the first viewing angle being zero, and the second viewing angle being an oblique angle establish the second brightness and/or second contrast as greater than the first brightness and/or first contrast.
Inada discloses wherein the first viewing angle is zero is along a normal to the first display (first display region) and the second viewing angle (oblique angle) is along an oblique angle relative to a normal of the second display, and the second brightness and/or second contrast is greater than the first brightness and/or first contrast (see Fig. 10-11, [0008-0010],[0078-0079] , [0129-0130], [0149-0152]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with the teaching of Tang, Lee and Inada, thereby improving display quality.
Responds to Applicant’s argument
4. Applicant’s argument filed on 11/03/2025 has been considered. More specifically the Applicant argues that Tang does not disclose that any of the sub-display surfaces present an image "in a display location corresponding to where the RW view would be seen through the first display were the first display a transparent plate".
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 16:
In responds Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s point of view. Note that the limitations are broadly recited in the claims. Examiner gives a broadest reasonable interpretation towards the claimed language as recited in the claims. Tang’s reference implicitly teaches the limitations as recited in the claims. Tang, Fig. 5-6, the transparent optical device makes the real environment content (such as object in the environment) or can be considered to be the real environment content (e.g., content displayed on the display of the user presence environment can be seen, At the same time, the virtual object is displaying. Thereby, the principle relates to improving the apparent opacity of a virtual object) (see Tang Fig. 5-6 and abstract), receive at least one image of at least one real world (RW) view adjacent the multi- display assembly ((i.e. image on 113-116) (see Fig. 5-6)): and present the at least one image on at least the first display of the multi-display assembly in a display location corresponding to where the RW view would be seen through the (see Fig. 5 the visible display screens ) and were the first display a transparent plate (see Abstract and the description of Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 4 and 13:
More specifically the Applicant argues that Tang in view of Le and Inada fails to teach the limitations as recited in the claims 4 and 13:
In responds examiner disagrees with the Applicants point of view. Inada implicitly discloses the subject matter “wherein the first viewing angle is zero is along a normal to the first display (i.e. in first display region viewing angle is zero, see Fig. 10-11) and the second viewing angle (oblique angle) is along an oblique angle relative to a normal of the second display, and the second brightness and/or second contrast is greater than the first brightness and/or first contrast (see Inada, Fig. 10-11, [0008-0010],[0078-0079] , [0129-0130], [0149-0152]).
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pertinent art of record
6. Pertinent art of record US 20050094040 A1, US 8830225 B1, US 9886229 B2, and US 20170242646 discloses display device.
Inquire
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621