Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timm (US Patent 4,019,304).
Timm discloses a method of temporarily water-proofing a building comprising applying a continuous strip of double-sided waterproof tape 12 around building 10. The tape is sealed to the building by the adhesive and flexible sheeting 18 is adhered to the tape to protect the building.
Timm does not disclose the timeframes (i.e. 5 days, 14 days and 3 days) as claimed by the applicant. However, it is the examiner’s position that floods typically recede after hours or days and given that Timm described the water-proofing as “temporary”, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to remove the temporary tape within 3 or 5 days and not leave undesirable deposits within 14 days.
In addition, when taping large structures such as buildings, it is the examiner’s position that repositioning such tape may be necessary to ensure proper placement to protect the structure.
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timm (US Patent 4,019,304) in view of Dai et al (US Patent 8,974,904).
Timm does not disclose the nano tape as claimed by the applicant. Regarding this difference, the applicant is directed to the reference of Dai.
Dai discloses a nanocomposite adhesive which incorporates carbon nanotubes (i.e. nano tape or gecko tape or alien tape). This adhesive exhibits high adhesive strength and shear adhesion strength (see col. 2, lines 6-21). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to employ nano tape, as taught by Dai, in the method of Timm in order to provide the predictable result of imparting such high adhesive strength and shear adhesion strength to the temporary waterproofing method. In addition, it is the examiner’s position that a thickness of 1-3 mm is a conventional and reasonable thickness for a waterproofing tape and would have been obvious to employ as the thickness of the double-sided tape in order to provide the predictable result of imparting desired strength to the waterproofing system.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timm (US Patent 4,019,304) in view of Dai et al (US Patent 8,974,904) in further view of Seabaugh et al (US 2021/0207005).
Timm in view of Dai does not disclose the backing as claimed by the applicant. Regarding this difference, the applicant is directed to the reference of Seabaugh.
Seabaugh discloses a water barrier tape in the form of a roll which employs a liner or backing 25 which prevents the adhesive 12 from adhering to the tape when in roll form (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to employ a backing layer, as taught by Seabaugh, for the double-sided tape of Timm in order to provide the predictable result of preventing the adhesive from adhering to itself when in roll form.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is noted that the IDS filed 10/11/2023 is blank and does not contain any references.
Conclusion
JAMES D. SELLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/JAMES D SELLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745