DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Drawings
Replacement drawings were received on December 9, 2025. These drawings are not approved, as they appear to be a marked-up version without a corresponding clean version. See the crossed out reference character “306b” in Figure 13, and handwritten reference characters “306b” and “307b” in Figure 13 and “405b” in Figure 14, which do not provide the drawing with adequate reproduction characteristics as required by 37 CFR 1.84(l).
Specification
The amended abstract filed December 9, 2025 partially overcomes the objection set forth in the non-final rejection mailed September 11, 2025, and is acceptable upon correction of the following matter:
The amended abstract is objected to for beginning with a phrase which can be implied. See “Described herein are” in line 1. See MPEP 608.01(b). The Examiner notes simply deleting this phrase and beginning the abstract with --Systems, mods, and methods…-- would place the abstract in proper form and overcome the objection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,759,250 (Anseth).
Regarding claim 1, Anseth discloses a system (10) for joining electronic equipment housings together in a rack apparatus (see Figures 1-4 and annotated Figure 1 below), the system comprising:
a first substantially planar panel (100 & 300) comprising
a first edge (see annotated Figure 1 below),
a second opposing edge (see annotated Figure 1 below),
a first U-shaped channel (see annotated Figure 1 below) on the first edge,
a second U-shaped channel (see annotated Figure 1 below) on the second edge, wherein each of the first and second U-shaped channels comprise inner surfaces that face each other and are substantially parallel to each other (see annotated Figure 1 below); and
a second substantially planar panel (200 & 400) comprising
a first U-shaped lip channel (232) adapted to slidingly engage and mate with the first U-shaped channel on the first edge of the first panel (see Figures 2 and 4), and
a second U-shaped lip channel (242) adapted to slidingly engage and mate with the second U-shaped channel on the second edge of the first panel (see Figures 2 and 4), and wherein
the first panel is further adapted to be attached to a respective one of the housings (see column 2, line 66, through column 3, line 5), and further wherein
the second panel is further adapted to be attached to a respective one of the housings (see column 3, lines 39-45).
Figure 1. Annotated Partial Figure 4 of Anseth
Regarding claim 2, Anseth discloses each of the first (232) and second (242) U-shaped lip channels comprise:
a lip portion (230, 240) adapted to slidingly engage and fit into respective first and second U-shaped channels on the first and second edges (see Figures 2 and 4, and annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Anseth discloses each of the first and second U-shaped channels (see annotated Figure 1 above) comprise:
an outer wall portion (see annotated Figure 1 above) that has a first height extending from an uppermost portion of a respective edge of the U-shaped channel to a bottom of the U-shaped channel; and
an inner wall portion (130, 140) that has a second height extending from an uppermost portion of the inner wall to the bottom of the U-shaped channel, and wherein a depth of the U-shaped channel is substantially similar to the second height (see Figure 1 and annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Anseth discloses the second height is less than the first height (see Figure 1 and annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Anseth discloses a width and height of the lip portion (230, 240) is substantially similar to a width and height of the U-shaped channel, such that the lip portion is adapted to fit in a slidingly engaging manner with the U-shaped channel (see Figure 4 and annotated Figure 1 above)).
Regarding claim 6, Anseth discloses the first panel is further adapted to be made part of a respective one of the housings (see column 2, line 66, through column 3, line 5).
Regarding claim 7, Anseth discloses the second panel is further adapted to be made part of a respective one of the housings (see column 3, lines 39-45).
Regarding claim 8, Anseth discloses the first U-shaped channel on the first edge of the first panel (100 & 300) comprises a first opening (see annotated Figure 1 above), and
the second U-shaped channel on the second edge of the first panel comprises a second opening (see annotated Figure 1 above), and further wherein
the first opening of the first U-shaped channel on the first edge of the first panel (see annotated Figure 1 above) and
the second opening of the second U-shaped channel on the second edge of the first panel face are oriented such that the first opening and second opening open in substantially opposite directions (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Anseth discloses the first U-shaped lip channel (230) on the first edge of the second panel (200 & 400) comprises a first opening (formed nominally at 232 in Figure 2), and
the second U-shaped lip channel on the second edge of the second panel comprises a second opening (formed at 242 in Figure 2), and further wherein
the first opening of the first U-shaped lip channel on the first edge of the second panel (see Figure 2) and
the second opening of the second U-shaped lip channel on the second edge of the second panel open towards each other (see Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed December 9, 2025, with respect to the previous claim objection, 112 rejection, and 102 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections and rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
December 23, 2025