DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-19, and 21 are pending wherein claims 1, 8, and 15 are in independent form.
3. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 15, 17-19, 21 have been amended. In view of amendments, double patenting rejections are withdrawn.
4. Claims 6, 13, and 20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azim et al (US 20150222744 A1, hereinafter referred to as Azim) in view of Cho et al (US 20160036476 A1, hereinafter referred to as Cho) and further in view of Hsieh et al (US 20080139225 A1, hereinafter referred to as Hsieh).
Re claim 1, Azim teaches a method (Abstract, Fig. 5-7), comprising:
(i) logging into an account of a user (storing/registering information related to multiple devices of a user in the user specific account/data structure 400, storing call record based on the data structure 400) (Fig. 4-7, Par 0011, Par 0019-0021, Par 0026-0029, Par 0045-0047);
(ii) receiving, from the first terminal (one of user devices such as smart phone as shown in Fig. 1A-D, user device 305-1 as shown in Fig. 5-7) and wherein the first call record comprises a time and a duration of a call answered by the first terminal (duration of call, time of call) (Fig. 1D, Fig. 4-9, Par 0010-0011, Par 0019-0021, Par 0026-0033, Par 0035-0045, Par 0047, Par 0056-0062 --- Azim does not disclose to receive the first call record through a Bluetooth connection);
(iii) merging, based on the first terminal and the second terminal both being associated with the account of the user (user account/data structure 400, user devices 305 (i.e., 305-1 and 305-2) registered in a same user account/subscriber), the first call record of the first terminal with a second call record of the second terminal (merging call log from user device 305-1 and user device 305-2) to obtain a merged call record (unified call log), wherein the second terminal is a one-number-multi-terminal primary device, and wherein the first terminal and the second terminal have a same primary number (the same phone number is shared by all the devices of a user) (Fig. 4-9, Par 0010-0011, Par 0019-0021, Par 0026-0033, Par 0035-0045, Par 0047, Par 0056-0062);
(iv) wherein the merged call record comprises the time and the duration of the call answered by the first terminal (duration of call, time of call) (Fig. 1D, Fig. 4-9, Par 0010-0011, Par 0032-0033, Par 0036-0037, Par 0041-0045).
Azim discloses to store the unified/merged call log, but does not explicitly disclose to
(v) establish, with a first terminal, a BLUETOOTH connection between the first terminal and a second terminal;
(vi) receive, from the first terminal and through Bluetooth connection, a first call record of the first terminal;
(vii) detect an input operation requesting to display a call record; and
(viii) display, in response to detecting the input operation, the merged call record.
Re components (v) and (vi), Cho teaches to
(v) establish, with a first terminal, a BLUETOOTH connection between the first terminal and a second terminal (Fig. 3-4, Fig. 8A, Fig. 30, Par 0134-0137, Par 0161, Par 0557, Par 0619);
(vi) receive, from the first terminal and through Bluetooth connection, a first call record of the first terminal (Fig. 25-28, Par 0523-0525, Par 0528-0536, Par 0541-0549).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Azim by including the steps to (v) establish, with a first terminal, a BLUETOOTH connection between the first terminal and a second terminal; (vi) receive, from the first terminal and through Bluetooth connection, a first call record of the first terminal, as taught by Cho for the purpose of allowing different mobile devices sharing the same phone number on a mobile communication system, as taught by Cho (Par 0003).
Re components (vii) and (viii), Hsieh teaches to
(vii) detect an input operation requesting to display a call record (receiving a request to display call history) (Fig. 1-2, Par 0012-0014, Par 0017); and
(viii) display, in response to detecting the input operation, the merged call record (displaying merged call history based on a received request) (Fig. 1-2, Par 0012-0014, Par 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Azim by including the steps to (vii) detect an input operation requesting to display a call record; and (viii) display, in response to detecting the input operation, the merged call record, as taught by Hsieh for the purpose of efficiently storing and retrieving desired call records from the call history storage, as taught by Hsieh (Par 0005-0006).
Azim discloses to store the unified/merged call log and Hsieh disclose to store and display the call log/history from the storage based on a user request. Therefore, Azim in view of Hsieh is capable of (vii) detecting an input operation requesting to display a call record; and (viii) displaying, in response to detecting the input operation, the merged call record and it would have been obvious to do so to store and retrieve desired call records from the call history storage, as taught by Hsieh (Par 0005-0006).
Claim 8 recites an apparatus performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 15 recites a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions to be executed by a processor to perform the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Re claims 2, 9, 16, Azim teaches that the first call record comprises a first incoming call record of the first terminal (received call by user device 305-1), wherein the second call record comprises a second incoming call record of the second terminal (missed call/transferred call of user device 305-2), and wherein merging the first call record with the second call record comprises merging the first incoming call record and the second incoming call record to obtain the merged call record (merging call log from user device 305-1 and user device 305-2) (Fig. 4-9, Par 0010-0011, Par 0019-0020, Par 0026-0033, Par 0035-0045, Par 0047, Par 0056-0062).
Re claims 3, 10, 17, Azim teaches that the merged call record comprises a first device identifier of the first terminal and a second device identifier of the second terminal (unified call log information includes the identifier associated with device 305-1 and 305-2) (Par 0028-0032, Par 0035-0036, Par 0042).
Re claims 4, 11, 18, Azim teaches that the merged call record comprises a call answering record of each of the first terminal and the second terminal (unified call log including answered call by devices 305-1 and 305-2) (Fig. 6B, Par 0038-0042, Par 0046-0047).
Azim does not disclose that the merged call record comprises a call making record of the first terminal and the second terminal.
Cho teaches that the merged call record comprises a call making record of the first terminal and the second terminal (incoming and outgoing call records of the first and second mobile device) (Fig. 27, Par 0538).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Azim by including the step that the merged call record comprises a call making record of the first terminal and the second terminal, as taught by Cho for the purpose of allowing different mobile devices sharing the same phone number on a mobile communication system, as taught by Cho (Par 0003).
Re claim 7, Azim teaches that the merged call record includes a plurality of call record entries, and wherein the plurality of call record entries comprises: an incoming call status identifier (call tag such as a business call);
Azim does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of call record entries comprises: an outgoing call status identifier and an outgoing call number identifier.
Cho teaches that the plurality of call record entries comprises: an outgoing call status identifier (time of outgoing call, Sync Index) and an outgoing call number identifier (phone number) (Par 0531, Par 0538, Par 0544-0546).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Azim by including the step that the plurality of call record entries comprises: an outgoing call status identifier and an outgoing call number identifier, as taught by Cho for the purpose of allowing different mobile devices sharing the same phone number on a mobile communication system, as taught by Cho (Par 0003).
8. Claims 5, 12, 14, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azim, Cho, and Hsieh as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above and further in view of Chaudhri et al (US 20170150305 A1, hereinafter referred to as Chaudhri).
Re claims 5, 12, 19, Azim does not explicitly disclose to receive, from the first terminal, a call answering message and a call making notification message; and displaying information from the call answering message and the call making notification message.
Chaudhri teaches to receive, from the first terminal, a call answering message and a call making notification message (incoming call alert, call placing message); and displaying information from the call answering message and the call making notification message (incoming call alert, call placing message) (Fig. 4-5, Fig. 8-14, Par 0097-0098, Par 0103-0106, Par 0110, Par 0119, Par 0121-0124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Azim by including the steps to receive, from the first terminal, a call answering message and a call making notification message; and displaying information from the call answering message and the call making notification message, as taught by Chaudhri for the purpose of “facilitating access to location-specific information using wireless devices”, as taught by Chaudhri (Par 0002).
Re claim 14, Azim does not explicitly disclose that the apparatus is a mobile phone and the first terminal is a watch.
Chaudhri teaches that the apparatus is a mobile phone (host device) and the first terminal is a watch (Wearable device 100) (Fig. 1, Fig. 4-5, Par 0055, Par 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Azim by including the step that the apparatus is a mobile phone and the first terminal is a watch, as taught by Chaudhri for the purpose of “facilitating access to location-specific information using wireless devices”, as taught by Chaudhri (Par 0002).
Re claim 21, Azim discloses that the account of the user comprises a cloud platform account of the user (call log server 310 storing user account information) (Fig. 4, Par 0019-0021), wherein the first terminal and the second terminal comprise a watch and a phone (user devices 305-1 and 305-2), wherein both the user device 305-1 user device 305-2
Azim does not disclose that the first terminal and the second terminal comprise a watch and a phone, wherein displaying the merged call record comprises displaying an indication of one of a plurality of device types associated with each call in the merged call record, and wherein the plurality of device types comprises a watch type and a phone type.
Chaudhri teaches that the first terminal and the second terminal comprise a watch (Wearable device 100) and a phone (host device) (Fig. 1, Fig. 4-5, Par 0055, Par 0061), (Fig. 4-5, Fig. 8-14, Par 0013, Par 0061-0062, Par 0097-0098, Par 0103-0106, Par 0110, Par 0119, Par 0121-0124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Azim by including the step that the first terminal and the second terminal comprise a watch and a phone, as taught by Chaudhri for the purpose of “facilitating access to location-specific information using wireless devices”, as taught by Chaudhri (Par 0002).
Hsieh teaches to display the merged call record (Fig. 1-2, Par 0012-0014, Par 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Azim by including the step to display the merged call record, as taught by Hsieh for the purpose of efficiently storing and retrieving desired call records from the call history storage, as taught by Hsieh (Par 0005-0006).
Azim discloses that the unified/merged call record of the first terminal and the second terminal includes device type (smart phone, wired phone) (Fig. 1D, Par 0011). Chaudhri discloses that the first terminal and the second terminal comprise a watch and a phone. Hsieh discloses to display the merged/unified call record. Therefore, Azim in view of Chaudhri and Hsieh is capable of displaying the merged call record comprises displaying an indication of one of a plurality of device types associated with each call in the merged call record, and wherein the plurality of device types comprises a watch type and a phone type and it would have been obvious to do so to enhance user experience by providing an accurate call activity of the different devices associated with the user, as taught by Azim (Par 0011-0012).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473