Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 6-9, 11, 14, and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Applicants’ arguments are rendered moot in view of the present Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 11, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronne (US 10804690) in view of Bolognia (US 10712197), and further in view of Henley (US 5615039).
Consider Claim 1, Ronne discloses an apparatus, comprising: a battery management system (Figure 1D, element 100), comprising: at least one optical pathway (Figure 1D, element 177), further comprising: a plurality of optical communication devices (Figure 1D, element 182) connected to a corresponding one of a plurality of batteries (Figure 1D, element 156 is third element of multiple batteries); each of the plurality of optical communication devices further comprising: an optical emitter operable for emitting the one (Column 17, Lines 37-40, where each transceiver includes an electro-optical transmitter and Figure 1D, where element 177 contains multiple signals); an optical sensor operable for receiving the (Column 17, Lines 37-40, where each transceiver includes an electro-optical receiver); one (Figure 1D, element 182 transmits a signal) is received by the optical sensor of one of the plurality of optical communication devices (Figure 1D, element 188 receives signal); the one (Column 15, Lines 1-3, where element 148 transmits message downstream) but does not disclose a printed circuit board (PCB); wherein the optical emitter and the optical sensor are mounted to the PCB; at least one layer of transparent film, a first portion of the at least one laver of transparent film is mounted to an external surface of a first of the plurality of batteries, and a second portion of the at least one layer of transparent film is mounted to an external surface of a second of the plurality of batteries; and at least one layer of reflective film connected to the at least one layer of transparent film such that at least a portion of the at least one layer of transparent film is disposed between a portion of the at least one layer of reflective film and at least one of the plurality of optical communication devices; wherein the optical emitter of each of the plurality of optical communication devices emits the one or more of the plurality of optical signals which pass through the at least one layer of transparent film and reflects off of the at least one laver of reflective film.
However, Bolognia discloses printed circuit board (PCB), wherein the optical emitter and the optical sensor are mounted to the PCB (Column 3, Lines 45-48, where emitter and sensor dies are on PCB) but does not disclose at least one layer of transparent film, a first portion of the at least one laver of transparent film is mounted to an external surface of a first of the plurality of batteries, and a second portion of the at least one layer of transparent film is mounted to an external surface of a second of the plurality of batteries; and at least one layer of reflective film connected to the at least one layer of transparent film such that at least a portion of the at least one layer of transparent film is disposed between a portion of the at least one layer of reflective film and at least one of the plurality of optical communication devices; wherein the optical emitter of each of the plurality of optical communication devices emits the one or more of the plurality of optical signals which pass through the at least one layer of transparent film and reflects off of the at least one laver of reflective film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings
of Bolognia into Ronne to reduce the overall size of the device.
However, Henley discloses at least one layer of transparent film (Figure 1, element 2c), and at least one layer of reflective film (Figure 1, element 9) connected to the at least one layer of transparent film (Figure 1, where elements 2c and 9 are attached together) such that at least a portion of the at least one layer of transparent film is disposed between a portion of the at least one layer of reflective film and at least one of the plurality of optical communication devices (Figure 1, where element 2c is in between element 9 and light coming through from top); wherein the optical emitter of each of the plurality of optical communication devices (Figure 2, element 1) emits the one or more of the plurality of optical signals which pass through the at least one layer of transparent film (Figure 1, element 2c) and reflects off of the at least one laver of reflective film (Figure 1, element 9). While Henley doesn’t disclose a first portion of the at least one laver of transparent film is mounted to an external surface of a first of the plurality of batteries, and a second portion of the at least one layer of transparent film is mounted to an external surface of a second of the plurality of batteries, the batteries themselves do not provide any other function other than a surface for the film to be disposed on. It would be obvious to one of skill in the ordinary art to take the transparent layer on the structure of Henley and implement it on a different surface (battery) and put it on a second surface (another battery) to achieve transport of signals between devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Henley into Ronne and Bolognia to reduce signal loss with a transparent film.
Consider Claim 6, Ronne discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the at least one optical pathway further comprising a plurality of optical pathways (Figure 1D, element 180 has two optical pathways above and below it), each of the plurality of optical communication devices being part of a corresponding one of the plurality of optical pathways (Figure 1D, element 180, where transmitter gets one pathway and receiver gets another pathway), each of the plurality of optical pathways connected to and circumscribing a corresponding one of the plurality of batteries (Figure 1D, element 180’s pathways are contained within one battery).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Henley into Ronne and Bolognia to reduce signal loss with a transparent film.
Consider Claim 7, Ronne discloses the apparatus of claim 6 wherein the at least one optical communication device emits the one (Figure 1D, element 182 transmits a signal) and receives another of the one (Figure 1D, element 182 receives another signal) but fails to disclose each of the plurality of optical pathways further comprising: a layer of transparent film circumscribing one of the plurality of batteries; and a layer of reflective film connected to the layer of transparent film.
However, Henley discloses a layer of transparent film (Figure 1, element 2c), and a layer of reflective film (Figure 1, element 9) connected to the layer of transparent film. While Henley doesn’t disclose the layer being circumscribed one of the plurality of batteries, the transparent thin film layer is contained within the structure of Figure 1 of Henley. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the transparent layer can also be contained within another structure such as a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Henley into Ronne and Bolognia to reduce signal loss with a transparent film.
Consider Claim 8, Ronne discloses an optical sensor operable for receiving the one (Column 17, 37-40, where each transceiver includes an electro-optical receiver) but does not disclose an optical emitter operable for emitting the one or more optical signals, such that the one or more optical signals passes through the layer of transparent film, and a printed circuit board (PCB);wherein the optical emitter and the optical sensor are mounted to the PCB.
However, Bolognia a printed circuit board (PCB); wherein the optical emitter and the optical sensor are mounted to the PCB (Column 3, Lines 45-48, where emitter and sensor dies are on PCB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings
of Bolognia into Ronne to reduce the overall size of the device.
However, Henley discloses optical emitter operable for emitting the one (Figure 2, element 1 emits light), such that the one (Figure 1, where light from element 1 passes through element 2c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Henley into Ronne and Bolognia to reduce signal loss with a transparent film.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected because although neither Ronne in view of Bolognia and further in view of Henley fail to teach a transmitter and receiver bandpass filters, official notice is taken that it is well known in the art that bandpass filters allow frequencies within a specific range while rejecting frequencies outside the range. Hence it would be obvious to equip the electro-optical transmitters(emitter) and receivers(sensor), in Ronne with bandpass filters to restrict one of more transmitted from or received by the transceivers. The motivation being to allow frequencies within a specific range while rejecting frequencies outside the range.
Consider Claim 11, Ronne discloses the apparatus of claim 6, the plurality of batteries further comprising one of a (Figure 1D, where batteries are stacked in a vertical manner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Henley into Ronne and Bolognia to reduce signal loss with a transparent film.
Consider Claim 14, Ronne discloses a battery management system (Figure 1D, element 100), comprising: at least one optical pathway (Figure 1D, element 177), further comprising:; at least one a plurality of optical communication device devices (Figure 1D, element 182), each of the plurality of optical communication devices connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of batteries (Figure 1D, element 156 is third element of multiple batteries), each of the plurality of at least one optical communication device devices further comprising: an optical emitter operable for emitting at least one optical signal (Column 17, Lines 37-40, where each transceiver includes an electro-optical transmitter); an optical sensor operable for receiving the at least one optical signal (Column 17, Lines 37-40, where each transceiver includes an electro-optical receiver); one (Figure 1D, element 182 transmits a signal) is received by the optical sensor of one of the plurality of optical communication devices (Figure 1D, element 188 receives signal) but does not disclose a at least one layer of transparent film, first portion mounted to an external surface of a first of a plurality of batteries, and a second portion mounted to an external surface of a second of the plurality of batteries; and at least one layer of reflective film connected to the at least one layer of transparent film, such that at least a portion of the at least one layer of transparent film is disposed between a portion of the at least one layer of reflective film and at least one of the plurality of optical communication devices, and a printed circuit board (PCB), the optical emitter and the optical sensor are mounted to the PCB; the optical emitter of each of the plurality of optical communication devices emits the one or more optical signals which pass through the at least one layer of transparent film and reflects off of the at least one layer of reflective film.
However, Bolognia a printed circuit board (PCB), the optical emitter and the optical sensor are mounted to the PCB (Column 3, Lines 45-48, where emitter and sensor dies are on PCB) but does not disclose at least one layer of transparent film, a first portion mounted to an external surface of a first of a plurality of batteries, and a second portion mounted to an external surface of a second of the plurality of batteries; and at least one layer of reflective film connected to the at least one layer of transparent film, such that at least a portion of the at least one layer of transparent film is disposed between a portion of the at least one layer of reflective film and at least one of the plurality of optical communication devices, the optical emitter of each of the plurality of optical communication devices emits the one or more optical signals which pass through the at least one layer of transparent film and reflects off of the at least one layer of reflective film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings
of Bolognia into Ronne to reduce the overall size of the device.
However, Henley discloses at least one layer of transparent film (Figure 1, element 2c); and at least one layer of reflective film (Figure 1, element 9) connected to the at least one layer of transparent film (Figure 1, where elements 2c and 9 are attached together), such that at least a portion of the at least one layer of transparent film is disposed between a portion of the at least one layer of reflective film and at least one of the plurality of optical communication devices (Figure 1, where element 2c is in between element 9 and light coming through from top), the optical emitter of each of the plurality of optical communication devices (Figure 2, element 1) emits the one or more of the plurality of optical signals which pass through the at least one layer of transparent film (Figure 1, element 2c) and reflects off of the at least one laver of reflective film (Figure 1, element 9).. While Henley does not disclose a first portion mounted to an external surface of a first of a plurality of batteries, and a second portion mounted to an external surface of a second of the plurality of batteries, the batteries themselves do not provide any other function other than a surface for the transparent film to be disposed on. It would be obvious to one of skill in the ordinary art to take the transparent layer on the structure of Henley and implement it on a different surface (battery) and put it on a second surface (another battery) to achieve transport of signals between devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Henley into Ronne and Bolognia to reduce signal loss with a transparent film.
Consider Claim 18, Ronne discloses The battery management system of claim 14, the at least one optical pathway further comprising a plurality of optical pathways Figure 1D, element 180 has two optical pathways above and below it) such that each of the plurality of optical communication devices being part of a corresponding one of the plurality of optical pathways (Figure 1D, element 180, where transmitter gets one pathway and receiver gets another pathway), each of the plurality of optical pathways connected to and circumscribing a corresponding one of the plurality of batteries (Figure 1D, element 180’s pathways are contained within one battery).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Henley into Ronne to reduce signal loss with a transparent film.
Consider Claim 20, Ronne discloses the battery management system of claim 18, the plurality of batteries further comprising one of a (Figure 1D, where batteries are stacked in a vertical manner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Henley into Ronne and Bolognia to reduce signal loss with a transparent film.
Claim 5, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronne in view of Bolognia in view of Henley and in further view of Scholtz (US 11353362).
Consider Claim 5, Ronne discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the one or more of the plurality of optical signals are transmitted to a second optical communication device (Figure 1D, where element 182 transmits signals to transceiver with elements 188 and 192) but does not disclose at least one optical pathway further comprising: at least one aperture integrally formed as part of the at least one layer of reflective film; wherein the one or more of the plurality of optical signals pass through the at least one aperture.
However, Scholtz discloses disclose at least one optical pathway further comprising: at least one aperture (Fig. 1C, element 124D) integrally formed as part of the at least one layer of reflective film (Figure 1C, where element 122B acts as a thin reflective film) such that the at least one aperture is disposed between two of the plurality of optical communication devices ((Figure 1C where element 124D has detector element 116 beneath it and Figure 9, element 904 and Column 23, Lines 3-10, where element 904 provides EM energy (element 106 in Fig. 1C) that goes into element 124D from above); therefore element 124D is in between element 904 and element 116); wherein the one or more of the plurality of optical signals pass through the at least one aperture (Figure 1, element 106A is exiting out aperture).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of skill in the ordinary art to incorporate the teachings of Scholtz into Ronne, Bolognia, and Henley to ensure that emitted signal does not reflect back into the transparent layer.
Consider Claim 10, Ronne, Bolognia, and Henley do not disclose the limitations of this claim.
However, Scholtz discloses the apparatus of claim 7, further comprising: at least one aperture (Fig. 1C, element 124D) integrally formed as part of the layer of reflective film (Figure 1C, where element 112B acts as a thin reflective film); wherein the specific spectrum optical signal passes through the at least one aperture of a first of the plurality of optical pathways (Figure 1C, element 106 is entering aperture through one pathway) to a second of the plurality of optical pathways (Figure 1C, where element 106 exits aperture through a second pathway).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of skill in the ordinary art to incorporate the teachings of Scholtz into Ronne, Bolognia, and Henley to ensure that emitted signal does not reflect back into the transparent layer.
Consider Claim 17, Ronne discloses the battery management system of claim 14, the one or more of the plurality of optical signals are transmitted to a second optical communication device (Figure 1D, where element 182 transmits signals to transceiver with elements 188 and 192) but does not disclose at least one optical pathway further comprising: at least one aperture integrally formed as part of the at least one layer of reflective film; wherein the one or more of the plurality of optical signals pass through the at least one aperture.
However, Scholtz discloses disclose at least one optical pathway further comprising: at least one aperture (Fig. 1C, element 124D) integrally formed as part of the at least one layer of reflective film (Figure 1C, where element 112B acts as a thin reflective film) such that the at least one aperture is disposed between two of the plurality of optical communication devices ((Figure 1C where element 124D has detector element 116 beneath it and Figure 9, element 904 and Column 23, Lines 3-10, where element 904 provides EM energy (element 106 in Fig. 1C) that goes into element 124D from above); therefore element 124D is in between element 904 and element 116); wherein the one or more of the plurality of optical signals pass through the at least one aperture (Figure 1, element 106A is exiting out aperture).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of skill in the ordinary art to incorporate the teachings of Scholtz into Ronne, Bolognia, and Henley to ensure that emitted signal does not reflect back into the transparent layer.
Claims 12-13 and 21-22 is rejected ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronne in view of Bolognia, Henley, and further in view of Petrakivskyi (US 11069923).
Consider Claim 12, Ronne Bolognia, and Henley does not disclose the limitations of this claim.
However, Petrakivskyi discloses the apparatus of claim 6, the plurality of batteries further comprising: a first battery pack (Figure 12, element labeled battery cell k-1) ; a second irregular battery pack (Figure 12, element labeled battery cell k-1); and an extended optical pathway which provides communication between the first irregular battery pack and the second irregular battery pack (Column 9, Lines 24-31, where adjacent transceivers on battery packs can communicate each other wirelessly). While the mention of “irregular battery pack” is not explicitly disclosed, it is obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art that this is a change of arrangement of the battery pack and would be obvious as a matter of design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Petrakivskyi into Ronne, Bolognia, and Henley to reduce the need for wires connecting battery packs.
Consider Claim 13, Ronne and Bolognia do not disclose the limitations of this claim.
However, Henley discloses a layer of transparent film (Figure 1, element 2c); and a layer of reflective film (Figure 1, element 9) connected to the layer of transparent film Figure 1, where elements 2c and 9 are attached together). While Henley does not disclose wherein a first portion of the layer of transparent film is mounted to an external surface of a battery which is part of the first irregular battery pack, and an external surface of a battery which is part of the second irregular battery pack, the free space between the transceivers in the battery packs in Figure 2 of Petrakivskyi act as the medium for transport of the optical signal just as the transparent layer acts a medium for transport. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art can modify the medium of transport of the optical signals between the battery packs in Petrakivskyi to be with a transparent layer to achieve communication of signals between battery packs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Petrakivskyi into Ronne, Bolognia, and Henley to reduce the need for wires connecting battery packs.
Consider Claim 21, Ronne, Bolognia, and Henley do not disclose the limitations of this claim.
However, Petrakivskyi discloses the battery management system of claim 18, the plurality of batteries further comprising: a first battery pack (Figure 12, element labeled battery cell k-1) ; a second irregular battery pack (Figure 12, element labeled battery cell k-1); and an extended optical pathway which provides communication between the first irregular battery pack and the second irregular battery pack (Column 9, Lines 24-31, where adjacent transceivers on battery packs can communicate each other wirelessly). While the mention of “irregular battery pack” is not explicitly disclosed, it is obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art that this is a change of arrangement of the battery pack and would be obvious as a matter of design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Petrakivskyi into Ronne, Bolognia, and Henley to reduce the need for wires connecting battery packs.
Consider Claim 22, Ronne and Bolognia do not disclose the limitations of this claim.
However, Henley discloses a layer of transparent film (Figure 1, element 2c); and a layer of reflective film connected to the layer of transparent film (Figure 1, element 9). While Henley does not disclose wherein a first portion of the layer of transparent film is mounted to an external surface of a battery which is part of the first irregular battery pack, and an external surface of a battery which is part of the second irregular battery pack, the free space between the transceivers in the battery packs in Figure 2 of Petrakivskyi act as the medium for transport of the optical signal just as the transparent layer acts a medium for transport. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art can modify the medium of transport of the optical signals between the battery packs in Petrakivskyi to be with a transparent layer to achieve communication of signals between battery packs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Petrakivskyi into Ronne, Bolognia, and Henley to reduce the need for wires connecting battery packs.
Conclusion
/ASIF SHAMEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2634
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634