Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-1 6 , and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Houghton (US 20170314254 A) . Regarding claim 1, Houghton teaches a terminus-supported structure comprising: a first elongate structural beam (Fig 15, beam structure shown, including structures 27 and 31, seen in Fig 3-4) having a first channel (Fig 3, opening occupied by 20) formed therethrough substantially orthogonally to a long axis of said first elongate structural beam (Fig 3, axis defined by 17) ; a second elongate structural beam having at least an insertion segment thereof that is sized and shaped for passage through and substantial occlusion of said first channel of said first elongate structural beam (Fig 3, beam 20) ; and wherein the respective, juxtaposed surfaces of said first and said second elongate structural beams (Fig 4, surfaces of 23a and 20 facing one another) , adjacent to the juxtaposition of said first channel and outer surfaces of said insertion segment of said second elongate structural beam are at least partially joined by welding (Para 0088, Fig 4-5, welds 29b) . Regarding claim 2, Houghton teaches wherein said first elongate structural beam is of a hollow, conduit design (see Fig 6, hollow as seen ) , having at least first and second opposing conduit walls, and said first channel comprises complimentarily positioned openings through said first and second opposing conduit walls (Fig 6, top and bottom walls defined by plates 27) . Regarding claim 3, Houghton teaches wherein said second elongate structural beam is of a hollow, conduit design (Fig 3, hollow conduit 20, as seen) . Regarding claim 4, Houghton teaches wherein the first and second elongate structural beams comprise rectangular steel tubes (Fig 3, first beam is rectangular made be 27 and 23; Fig 3, second beam 20 is rectangular as seen. Para 0002-0003, 0091, steel) . Regarding claim 6, Houghton teaches a support structure, comprising: a plurality of beams defining the support structure (Fig 1, plurality of beams, seen) ; a plurality of joints at intersection points of the plurality of beams within the support structure (Fig 11, joints, as seen) ; wherein the plurality of joints further comprises: a first beam of the plurality of beams (Fig 15, beam structure shown, including structures 27 and 31, seen in Fig 3-4) having a first channel laterally defined therein (Fig 3, opening occupied by 20) ; a second beam of the plurality of beams inserted through the first channel of the first beam (Fig 3, beam 20) , wherein exterior surfaces of the second beam are connected to edges of the first channel (Fig 4, surfaces of 23a and 20 facing one another; connected to the edge at 29b) . Regarding claim 7, Houghton teaches wherein the plurality of beams comprise rectangular steel tubes (Fig 3, first beam is rectangular made be 27 and 23, tube by virtue of accommodating 20; Fig 3, second beam 20 is rectangular as seen. Para 0002-0003, 0091, steel) . Regarding claim 8, Houghton teaches wherein the first channel is defined by a first opening in a first side of the first beam and a second opening in a second opposing side of the first beam (Fig 6, top and bottom walls defined by plates 27, with openings to accommodate 20) . Regarding claim 9, Houghton teaches wherein the exterior surfaces of the second beam are welded to the edges of the first channel (Para 0088, Fig 4-5, welds 29b) . Regarding claim 11, Houghton teaches wherein the first channel is substantially orthogonal to a long axis of the first beam (Fig 3, axis defined by 17; opening defined by 20 is orthogonal, as seen) . Regarding claim 12, Houghton teaches a joint for a support structure, comprising: a first beam (Fig 15, beam structure shown, including structures 27 and 31, seen in Fig 3-4) having a first channel laterally defined therein (Fig 3, opening occupied by 20) ; a second beam inserted through the first channel of the first beam (Fig 3, beam 20) , wherein exterior surfaces of the second beam are connected to edges of the first channel (Fig 4, surfaces of 23a and 20 facing one another; connected to the edge at 29b) . Regarding claim 13, Houghton teaches wherein the first beam and the second beam comprise rectangular steel tubes (Fig 3, first beam is rectangular made be 27 and 23, tube by virtue of accommodating 20; Fig 3, second beam 20 is rectangular as seen. Para 0002-0003, 0091, steel) . Regarding claim 14, Houghton teaches wherein the first beam and the second beam comprise rectangular tubes having a first and second opposing sides and a third and fourth opposing sides (Fig 3, each tube has a top/bottom and left/right side) . Regarding claim 15, Houghton teaches wherein the first channel is defined by a first opening in the first side of the first beam and a second opening in the second opposing side of the first beam (Fig 6, top and bottom walls defined by plates 27, with openings to accommodate 20) . Regarding claim 1 6 , Houghton teaches wherein the exterior surfaces of the second beam are welded to the edges of the first channel (Para 0088, Fig 4-5, welds 29b) . Regarding claim 18, Houghton teaches wherein the first channel is substantially orthogonal to a long axis of the first beam (Fig 3, axis defined by 17; opening defined by 20 is orthogonal, as seen) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 5, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houghton (US 20170314254 A13), in view of Official Notice. Regarding claim 5, Houghton is silent on wherein the terminus supported structure comprises a bridge. The Examiner takes Official Notice that frame and joint structures are known in the art to be used in bridges. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Houghton by having joint and frame structure used in a bridge as is known in the art because Houghton teaches the general applicability of his joint and frame and it is known that bridges are one such structure in which the joint and frame would be usable. Regarding claim 10, Houghton is silent on wherein the support structure comprises a bridge. The Examiner takes Official Notice that frame and joint structures are known in the art to be used in bridges. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Houghton by having joint and frame structure used in a bridge as is known in the art because Houghton teaches the general applicability of his joint and frame and it is known that bridges are one such structure in which the joint and frame would be usable. Regarding claim 17, Houghton is silent on wherein the support structure comprises a bridge. The Examiner takes Official Notice that frame and joint structures are known in the art to be used in bridges. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Houghton by having joint and frame structure used in a bridge as is known in the art because Houghton teaches the general applicability of his joint and frame and it is known that bridges are one such structure in which the joint and frame would be usable. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT THEODORE N YAO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8745 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT typically 8am-4pm ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT TARA SCHIMPF can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7741 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THEODORE N YAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676