DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, Species D in the reply filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s traversal appears to be on the grounds that Inventions I and II should not be separate inventions, and the amendments filed on 5/26/2026 combine Invention I (Claims 1-10) and Invention II (Claims 11-17). Applicant’s reply identifies Claims 1, 2, 5-10, 12-15, and 17 to read on Invention I, Species D.
Regarding Inventions I/II/III, Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Invention III), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Regarding elected Species D (Figs. 8-9), Examiner has withdrawn Claims 3, 4, 6, and 7, as being drawn to a nonelected species:
Claim 3 recites a T-shaped cooling jacket (defined as Species A in restriction);
Claim 4 recites an L-shaped cooling jacket (defined as Species B in restriction);
Claim 6 recites a U-shaped cooling jacket (defined as Species C in restriction); and
Claim 7 recites the first, second, and third cooling segments “partially enclose” the first, second, and third prismatic cells. The instant specification only supports U-shaped cooling segments with this configuration (i.e., Species C, [0052] of the instant specification).
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 10, 12-15, and 17 are under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “150” has been used to designate both “a second Z-shaped cooling jacket” in Fig. 8, and “a first base leg” in Fig. 9. Examiner believes “150” in Fig. 9 should be changed to “151.” Please correct Fig. 9. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Appropriate correction is required.
18/484,869 – Figs. 8 and 9, see circled elements 150
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because: The descriptions of Figs. 8 and 9 recite different element numbers for the same component. For the description of Fig. 8, [0055] of the instant specification establishes “The first Z-shaped cooling jacket 148 includes a first base leg 151 directly in contact with the second side 140 of the prismatic cell 136.” This description of a first base leg 151 is consistent with Fig. 8.
However, [0056] of the specification discloses “The second Z-shaped cooling jacket 150 includes a first base leg 156 that abuts against the first base leg 150.” Examiner believes “first base leg 150” should be changed to “first base leg 151” to ensure consistency with [0055] and Fig. 8.
For the description of Fig. 9, [0057] of the specification discloses “Coolant flow is longitudinal in a flow direction K within the first base leg 150 and the first base leg 156. The first base leg 150 and the first base leg 156 are contiguously and fluidly connected to the first main leg 152 and the first main leg 158 respectively.” Examiner believes the underlined recitations of “first base leg 150” should be changed to “first base leg 151” to ensure consistency with [0055] and Fig. 8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 10 recite the limitations “first face, “second face,” and/or “third face” when referring to a prismatic cell. For the purpose of this action, all recitations of “face” are interpreted to be synonymous with “side.” This interpretation is consistent with [0055] of the instant application: “four contiguous sides or faces of a prismatic cell.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the at least first and second prismatic cells" in lines 3-4 of the claim. Claim 13 depends on Claims 1 and 2. Claims 1 and 2 only recite “a first prismatic cell” and “a second prismatic cell.” Claim 13 recites “the at least” which is unclear whether additional cells (beyond the first and second cells) are included in the scope of Claims 1 and/or 2. Please delete “at least” to ensure clarity of the scope of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the second cooling jacket" on line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13 depends on Claims 1 and 2, but neither Claim 1 nor 2 recite “a second cooling jacket.” Please correct the antecedent basis issue or change the dependency of Claim 13 (e.g., Claim 13 could depend upon Claim 12, which recites “a second cooling jacket”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 depends upon Claim 13, and also recites the limitation "the second cooling jacket" on line 5 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Please correct
the antecedent basis issue or change the dependency of Claim 14.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 10, 12-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Jin, US 20120315519 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Jin discloses a prismatic cell cooling system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a first prismatic cell (battery cell 10 [0027-0029], prismatic shape shown in Figs. 1 and 2A) having a first face, a second face angularly oriented to the first face and a third face oriented parallel to the first face and angularly oriented to the second face (Annotated Fig. 2A);
a first cooling jacket (barrier 150 [0027-0053], Figs. 1, 2A-B) providing multiple coolant flow passages (plurality of heat exchange medium passages U1 and U2 [0007, 0048-0051], Fig. 2A; heat exchange medium used for cooling the battery cell 10 [0065]);
a first cooling segment of the first cooling jacket contacting the third face of the first prismatic cell (base part 153 and projections 154 [0035-0038] Figs. 2A-B); and
a second cooling segment of the first cooling jacket directly contacting the second face of the first prismatic cell (flange part 152 [0028, 0035-0053], Figs. 2A-B), the second cooling segment contiguously and fluidly connected to the first cooling segment to promote simultaneous cooling of the third face and the second face of the first prismatic cell by flow of a coolant through the coolant flow passages (heat exchange medium path U1 defined by one of the openings 152c and/or second portions 152b, then through a flow path defined by projections 154 [0035-0053]).
The limitation “to promote simultaneous cooling of the third face and the second face of the first prismatic cell by flow of a coolant through the coolant flow passages” is considered intended use and is given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Annotated Fig. 2A
Regarding Claim 2, Jin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Jin discloses the prismatic cell cooling system further includes a second prismatic cell (plurality of battery cells 10 [0027-0029], prismatic shape shown in Figs. 1 and 2A) having a cell first face (cell surface facing the first prismatic cell, see Annotated Fig. 2A), a cell second face angularly oriented to the cell first face and a cell third face oriented parallel to the cell first face and angularly oriented to the cell second face (Annotated Fig. 2A), the second prismatic cell positioned proximate the first prismatic cell ([0027], Figs. 1 and 2A).
Annotated Fig. 2A
Regarding Claim 5, Jin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Jin discloses the first cooling jacket (150) defines a Z-shape having the first cooling segment (153/154) positioned between and directly contacting the first prismatic cell and the second prismatic cell (projections 154 contact the widest surfaces of the adjacent battery cells 10 [0035-0041]), the first cooling jacket having the second cooling segment also directly contacting the second face of the first prismatic cell (flange part 152 may be adjacent to and/or in contact with a second lateral side of an adjacent battery cell 10 [0028-0043] see portion of flange part 152 contacting lateral side of battery in Annotated Fig. 2A), and the first cooling jacket including a third cooling segment directly contacting a fourth face of the second prismatic cell (flange part 151 may be adjacent to and/or in contact with a first lateral side of one battery cell 10 [0003, 0028-0043], see portion of flange part 151 contacting second cell in Annotated Figs. 2A-B).
Annotated Figs. 2A-B
Regarding Claim 9, Jin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Jin discloses the first cooling
jacket includes multiple flow turbulators extending into the coolant flow passages to generate turbulent flow of the coolant, having individual ones of the flow turbulators defining one of a serpentine-shape and a raised pin (plurality of projections 154 control and define flow passageways of the heat exchange medium, flow path may be non-parallel/have projections 154 with a “staggered arrangement” [0035-0050]; see “raised pin” shape in Figs. 2A-B).
The limitation “to generate turbulent flow of the coolant” is considered intended use and is given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 10, Jin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Jin discloses the second face is oriented substantially perpendicular to the first face and the third face is oriented parallel to the first face and substantially perpendicular to the second face (flange parts 151 and 152 may intersect, e.g., be substantially perpendicular, to the base part 153 [0035-0039], Figs. 2A-B, see Annotated Fig. 2 in Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Jin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Jin discloses the prismatic cell cooling system further includes a second cooling jacket (plurality of barriers 150 [0027], Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the second cooling jacket is in direct contact with the second prismatic cell (Annotated Fig. 2A).
Annotated Fig. 2A
Regarding Claim 13, Jin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Jin discloses the prismatic cell cooling system further includes a third prismatic cell provided with the at least first and second prismatic cells (plurality of battery cells 10 [0027-0029], prismatic shape shown in Figs. 1 and 2A); and
a third cooling jacket (plurality of barriers 150 [0027]), the first cooling jacket in direct contact with the first prismatic cell, the second cooling jacket in direct contact with the second prismatic cell and
the third cooling jacket in direct contact with the third prismatic cell (see Fig. 1).
Annotated Fig. 2A
Regarding Claim 14, Jin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Jin discloses the first cooling jacket is further in direct contact with the second prismatic cell ([0035-0040], at portions of 154 facing second cell and portion of 151 contacting fourth surface of second cell, see Annotated Fig. 2A); and
the second cooling jacket is in direct contact with the third prismatic cell ([0035-0040], at 154 and portion of 151 contacting second cell surface, see Annotated Fig. 2A).
Regarding Claim 15, Jin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Jin discloses a second cooling jacket (plurality of barriers 150 [0027], Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the first cooling jacket is in direct contact with the first prismatic cell and the second cooling jacket is in direct contact with the second prismatic cell ([0035-0040], see Annotated Fig. 2A in Claim 12).
Regarding Claim 17, Jin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Jin discloses a material used for the first cooling jacket includes one of: aluminum, copper and steel (at least one of a metal, a stainless steel, aluminum, a plastic, and the like [0036-0043]), and
the first cooling jacket includes multiple turbulation features formed within the first cooling segment to increase flow turbulence of the coolant (plurality of projections 154 control and define flow passageways of the heat exchange medium, flow path may be non-parallel/have projections 154 with a “staggered arrangement” [0035-0050]).
The limitation “to increase flow turbulence of the coolant” is considered intended use and is given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon in this action is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Pekarsky et al., US 20150200428 A1.
Pekarsky discloses a battery array 12 comprises a plurality of cells 18 with a serpentine heat exchanger 20 wrapped around the cells 18 to remove unwanted heat from the cells. The heat exchanger 20 has a main body 54 with a lower portion 56 and an upper portion 58. An inlet manifold 60 is disposed along the main body 54 at the lower portion 56. The inlet manifold 60 includes four walls 62a-62d interconnected to define a chamber 64([0025], Fig 6A).
Pekarsky – Fig. 6
Conclusion
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721