DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Restriction Requirement remarks filed on March 18, 2026. Claim(s) 1-11, 14-16, and 18 are pending. Claim(s) 18 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant's election of Group I drawn to a formulation comprising: cannabidiol (CBD) and tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and election of species of linalool (primary terpene) and beta-caryophyllene (secondary terpene) of the restriction requirement in the reply is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)). The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-16 are examined herein insofar as they read on the elected invention and species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wendschuh (US 2016/0250270) of record.
Wendschuh teaches compositions having one or more purified cannabinoids in combination with a purified terpene (abstract; claim 1).
Specifically, Wendschuh teaches:
, thereby meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendschuh (US 2016/0250270) as applied to claims 1 and 16 in the 102(a)(1) rejection above.
Wendschuh is discussed above.
Wendschuh teaches compositions formulated as exemplified in examples 3-7 ([0400]-[0404]).
Wendschuh teaches terpenes is chosen from terpene is chosen from Alpha-terpineol, Bergamotene (α-cis-Bergamotene) (α-trans-Bergamotene), Bisabolol (β-Bisabolol), Borneol, Camphor, Capsaicin, Carvacrol, Caryophyllene (β-Caryophyllene), Caryophyllene oxide, Cineole, Cinnamaldehyde (α-amyl-Cinnamaldehyde) (α-hexyl-Cinnamaldehyde), Cinnamyl Alcohol, Citronellal, Citronellol, Ethyl, Cinnamate, Eucalyptol/1,8-Cineole, Farnesol, Fenchol (β-Fenchol), Geranyl acetate, Germacrene B, Guaiene (α-Guaiene), Humulene (α-Humulene) (β-Humulene), Ionol (3-oxo-α-ionol) (β-Ionol), Ionone (α-Ionone) (β-Ionone), Isoamyl acetate, Isoprene, Kahweol, Laevo-Carvone, Lavandulol, Limonene, Linalool, Linalyl acetate, Luteolin, Lycopene, Menthol, Myrcene (β-Myrcene), Nerol, Nerolidol, Neryl acetate, P-cymene, Phytol, Pinene, Pristimerin, Retinol, Terpin hydrate, Terpineol, Terpinol-4-ol, Terpinolene, Thujone, Thymol, or Vanillin (claim 7).
Wendschuh teaches the term “terpene' means an organic compound built on an isoprenoid structural scaffold or produced by combining isoprene units. Often, terpene molecules found in plants may produce smell [0019]. -Cedrene Epoxide is often characterized as having a medium strength, woody, amber, tobacco, sandalwood, and fresh patchouli aroma [0075]. Linalool is characterized as having a floral scent reminiscent of spring flowers such as lily of the valley, but with spicy overtones. It is a terpenoid prominent in lavender. It is refined from lavender, neroli, and other essential oils [0202], terpinolene is often characterized as having a medium strength, herbal aroma that has been described as fresh, woody, sweet and piney with a hint of citrus. Its flavor is a sweet, woody, terpy, lemon and lime-like with a slight herbal and floral nuance [0335]. Thus the terpenes discussed above impart the fragrances recited in claim 3.
Wendschuh teaches the composition further comprising flavanoids wherein the purified flavonoid is chosen from Caffeine, Cannaflavin A, Cannaflavin B, Catechin (C), Catechin 3-gallate (Cg), Epicatechin 3-gallate (ECg), Epicatechins (Epicatechin (EC)), epigallocatechin, Epigallocatechin (EGC), Epigallocatechin 3-gallate (EGCg), Gallocatechin (GC), Gallocatechin 3-gallate (GCg)), Gamma amino butyric acid, Genistein, Ginkgo biloba, Ginsenosides, Quercetin, Quercitrin, or Rutin (claim 14).
The difference between Wendschuh and the claimed invention is that it does not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831,15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
However, based on the above, Wendschuh teaches the elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have varied the concentration of the components of the composition, namely CBD, THC, beta-caryophyllene, and linalool. Generally, mere optimization of ranges will not support the, patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382 "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." MPEP 2114.04.
Furthermore, regarding the concentrations of the fragrances present in the compositions, mere optimization of ranges will not support the, patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "When the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382 "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." MPEP 2114.04.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited reference.
Conclusion
Claims 1-11 and 14-16 are not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622