DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendments/arguments filed 4/16/26. The arguments set forth are addressed herein below. Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are pending, Claim 18 is canceled, Claims 19-21 are newly added, and Claims 1-3 and 17 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tallarico (US 2021/0038998).
Claim 19: Tallarico discloses a cradle (10) for supporting input devices (30), the cradle comprising: rear support parts; front support parts; and side support parts that are positioned outside in a left-right direction with respect to the rear support parts and the front support parts, wherein the side support parts are curved in such a manner as to swell outward in the left-right direction in plan view, and are connected to the front support parts and the rear support parts (Figs. 2a-3h, 5a-f, ¶ 30, 35, 65, see below screenshot).
Claim(s) 1-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolff (US D312968 S).
Claim 1: Wolff teaches a cradle for supporting input devices having grips and tracked parts extending from the grips, the cradle comprising: rear support parts that are capable of supporting the grips at a connection point between rear parts and tracked parts of the grips; front support parts that are positioned forward away from the rear support parts and are capable of supporting the grips at a connection point between front parts of the grips and the tracked parts; and side support parts that are positioned outside in a left-right direction with respect to the rear support parts and the front support parts and are capable of supporting the tracked parts (see below screenshots, Figs. 1-14).
The examiner takes the position that recitations of the intended use of the claimed invention such as for example, “for supporting input devices having grips and tracked parts extending from the grips…are capable of supporting the grips at a connection point between rear parts and tracked parts of the grips; …. are capable of supporting the grips at a connection point between front parts of the grips and the tracked parts; and …. are capable of supporting the tracked parts” must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971), In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959), and MPEP 2114). As understood given it’s broadest reasonable interpretation the container of Wolff meets the structure as claimed and would be capable of the desire function.
Claim 2: Wolff teaches a cradle for supporting input devices having grips and tracked parts extending from the grips, the cradle comprising: rear support parts that are capable of supporting rear parts of the grips; front support parts that are capable of supporting front parts of the grips; and side support parts that are positioned outside in a left-right direction with respect to the rear support parts and the front support parts, wherein the side support parts are curved in such a manner as to swell outward in the left-right direction in plan view, are connected to the front support parts and the rear support parts, and are capable of supporting the tracked parts (see below screenshots, Figs. 1-14).
The examiner takes the position that recitations of the intended use of the claimed invention such as for example, “for supporting input devices having grips and tracked parts extending from the grips, the cradle comprising: …. that are capable of supporting rear parts of the grips; … that are capable of supporting front parts of the grips; and … are capable of supporting the tracked parts” must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971), In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959), and MPEP 2114). As understood given it’s broadest reasonable interpretation the container of Wolff meets the structure as claimed and would be capable of the desire function.
Claim 3: Wolff teaches wherein the front support parts are positioned forward from the rear support parts (see below screenshot).
Claims 4-5: Wolff teaches wherein a recessed part is formed between the rear support parts and the front support parts (Figs. 1-2).
Claims 6-7: Wolff teaches wherein an opening is formed at a bottom part of the recessed part (Figs. 1-14).
Claim 8: Wolff teaches wherein the side support parts connect the rear support parts to the front support parts, and are curved in such a manner as to swell outward in the left-right direction in plan view of the cradle (Figs. 1-3).
Claims 9-10: Wolff teaches a cradle right part that includes the rear support parts and the side support parts and supports an input device for a right hand that is one of the input devices; and a cradle left part that includes the rear support parts and the side support parts and supports an input device for a left hand that is another one of the input devices (see below screenshot, Fig. 2).
The examiner takes the position that recitations of the intended use of the claimed invention such as for example, “…. supports an input device for a right hand that is one of the input devices; and …. supports an input device for a left hand that is another one of the input devices” must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971), In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959), and MPEP 2114). As understood given it’s broadest reasonable interpretation the container of Wolff meets the structure as claimed and would be capable of the desire function.
Claims 11-12: Wolff teaches wherein the side support parts have support surfaces inclined in such a manner as to be lowered toward a center in the left-right direction (Figs. 1-3).
Claims 13-14: Wolff teaches wherein the rear support parts and the front support parts are formed such that the grips are obliquely arranged in plan view of the input devices and the cradle (Figs. 1-3).
The examiner takes the position that recitations of the intended use of the claimed invention such as for example, “…. such that the grips are obliquely arranged in plan view of the input devices and the cradle” must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971), In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959), and MPEP 2114). As understood given it’s broadest reasonable interpretation the container of Wolff meets the structure as claimed and would be capable of the desire function.
Claims 15-16: Wolff teaches wherein the cradle right part and the cradle left part are annular as a whole (Figs. 1-3).
Claim 19: Wolff discloses a cradle for supporting input devices, the cradle comprising: rear support parts; front support parts; and side support parts that are positioned outside in a left-right direction with respect to the rear support parts and the front support parts, wherein the side support parts are curved in such a manner as to swell outward in the left-right direction in plan view, and are connected to the front support parts and the rear support parts (see screenshots, Figs. 1-14).
The examiner takes the position that recitations of the intended use of the claimed invention such as for example, “for supporting input devices” must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971), In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959), and MPEP 2114). As understood given it’s broadest reasonable interpretation the container of Wolff meets the structure as claimed and would be capable of the desire function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 20-21 allowed are allowed in view of the applicant’s amendments and/or arguments filed 4/16/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAMAR HARPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715