DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 13-14, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valve index wall mounted charging station AMVR (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3j4u9j1LEgg ), herein Valve.
Claim 1: Valve discloses a cradle for supporting input devices having grips and tracked parts extending from the grips (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00),
the cradle comprising: rear support parts that are capable of supporting rear parts of the grips (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00);
front support parts that are positioned forward away from the rear support parts and are capable of supporting front parts of the grips of the input devices (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00);
and side support parts that are positioned outside in a left-right direction with respect to the rear support parts and the front support parts and are capable of supporting the tracked parts (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00).
Claim 2: Valve discloses a cradle for supporting input devices having grips and tracked parts extending from the grips (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00),
the cradle comprising: rear support parts that are capable of supporting rear parts of the grips (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00);
and side support parts that are positioned outside in a left-right direction with respect to the rear support parts, are curved in such a manner as to swell outward in the left-right direction in plan view, and support the tracked parts (see below screenshot, time 1:02 - 3:00).
Claim 3: Valve teaches further comprising: front support parts that are positioned forward from the rear support parts and are capable of supporting front parts of the grips (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00).
Claim 4: Valve teaches wherein a recessed part is formed between the rear support parts and the front support parts (the side supports form a recessed part between the rear support parts and the front support parts, time 1:02-3:00).
Claim 5: Valve teaches wherein a recessed part is formed between the rear support parts and the front support parts (the side supports form a recessed part between the rear support parts and the front support parts, time 1:02-3:00).
Claim 6: Valve teaches wherein an opening is formed at a bottom part of the recessed part (the side support parts that form an opening at the bottom part of the recessed e.g. the side supports have an opening formed therein to accommodate the track parts of the input devices, time 1:02-3:00).
Claim 7: Valve teaches wherein an opening is formed at a bottom part of the recessed part (the side support parts that form an opening at the bottom part of the recessed e.g. the side supports have an opening formed therein to accommodate the track parts of the input devices, time 1:02-3:00).
Claim 9: Valve teaches a cradle right part that includes the rear support parts and the side support parts and supports an input device for a right hand that is one of the input devices; and a cradle left part that includes the rear support parts and the side support parts and supports an input device for a left hand that is another one of the input devices (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02-3:00).
Claim 10: Valve teaches a cradle right part that includes the rear support parts and the side support parts and supports an input device for a right hand that is one of the input devices; and a cradle left part that includes the rear support parts and the side support parts and supports an input device for a left hand that is another one of the input devices (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02-3:00).
Claim 13: Valve teaches wherein the rear support parts and the front support parts are formed such that the grips are obliquely arranged in plan view of the input devices and the cradle (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02-3:00).
Claim 14: Valve teaches wherein the rear support parts and the front support parts are formed such that the grips are obliquely arranged in plan view of the input devices and the cradle (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02-3:00).
Claim 17: Valve discloses a system comprising: a cradle for supporting input devices having grips and tracked parts extending from the grips (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00),
the cradle including rear support parts that are capable of supporting rear parts of the grips (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00),
front support parts that are positioned forward away from the rear support parts and are capable of supporting front parts of the grips of the input devices (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00),
and side support parts that are positioned outside in a left-right direction with respect to the rear support parts and the front support parts and are capable of supporting the tracked parts; and the input devices (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00).
Claim 18: Valve teaches a system comprising: a cradle for supporting input devices having grips and tracked parts extending from the grips (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00),
the cradle including rear support parts that are capable of supporting rear parts of the grips (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00),
and side support parts that are positioned outside in a left-right direction with respect to the rear support parts (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00),
are curved in such a manner as to swell outward in the left-right direction in plan view, and support the tracked parts; and the input devices (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02 - 3:00).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 11-12, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valve index wall mounted charging station AMVR (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3j4u9j1LEgg ), herein Valve.
Claim 8: Valve teaches the above, in addition to the side support parts being curved in such a manner to swell outward in the left-right direction in plan view of the cradle (time 1:02-3:00), but lacks explicitly suggesting the side support parts connect the rear support parts to the front support parts. However, applicant fails to disclose that having the side support parts connect the rear support parts to the front support parts solve any stated problem, provides an advantage, or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the side supports of Valve, or applicant’s invention, would perform the same function of providing a means of supporting the track parts of the input devices, regardless of whether or not the side support parts connect the rear support parts to the front support parts. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Valve to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Valve.
Claims 11-12: Valve teaches the above, in addition to at least one side support part surface included in such a manner as to be lowered toward a center in the left-right direction and the other side support surface to included in such a manner as to be lowered toward a center in the right-left direction (see below screenshot(s), time 1:02-3:00),
but, lacks explicitly suggesting wherein the side support parts have support surfaces inclined in such a manner as to be lowered toward a center in the left-right direction. However, applicant fails to disclose that having the side support parts have support surfaces inclined in such a manner as to be lowered toward a center in the left-right direction solve any stated problem, provides an advantage, or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the side supports of Valve, or applicant’s invention, would perform the same function of providing a means of supporting the track parts of the input devices, regardless of whether or not the side support parts the side support parts have support surfaces inclined in such a manner as to be lowered toward a center in the left-right direction. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Valve to obtain the invention as specified in claims 11-12 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Valve.
Claims 15-16: Valve teaches the above, in addition to the cradle left part and cradle right part (see above), but lacks explicitly suggesting wherein the cradle right part and the cradle left part are annular as a whole. However, applicant fails to disclose that having the cradle right part and the cradle left part are annular as a whole solve any stated problem, provides an advantage, or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the left and right cradle parts of Valve, or applicant’s invention, would perform the same function of providing the rear support parts and the side support parts for supporting the input devices, regardless of whether or not the cradle right part and the cradle left part are annular as a whole. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Valve to obtain the invention as specified in claims 15-16 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see PTO-892.
/TRAMAR HARPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715