DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on October 11, 2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on October 11, 2023, February 5, 2024, March 5, 2024, April 19, 2024, June 12, 2025, and August 25, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,435,102B. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula I in claim 1 of the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘102 Patent as evidenced by compounds in claim 16 of the ‘102 patent.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/440,512 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula I in claim 1 of the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula B in claim 1of the copending ‘512 application as evidenced by compounds in claim 16 on pages 49 – 50 of the ‘512 application as filed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/524104 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula I in claim 1 of the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula I in claim 1of the copending ‘104 application as evidenced by compounds in claim 16 on page 233 of the ‘104 application as filed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5 – 8, 20 – 22, 39, 40, 45 – 50, 53, 57 and 82 of copending Application No. 17/722531 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula I in claim 1 of the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula I, Formula IIa and Formula IIb in claim 1 of the copending ‘531 application as evidenced by compounds in claim 49 on page 91 of the ‘531 application as filed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18, 20, and 21 of copending Application No. 17/586159 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula I in claim 1 of the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula I in claim 1 of the copending ‘159 application as evidenced by compounds in claim 16 on page 12 of the ‘159 application as filed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Case law holds that applicant' s specification must be “commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]” Ex Parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1990). Otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant' s invention. The test for undue experimentation as to whether or not [Claimed Feature] within the scope of the claims can be used [meet the claim requirements] as claimed and whether the claims meet the test is stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir. 1988). Upon applying this test to claims 1 – 20, it is believed that undue experimentation would be required because:
(A) Breadth of the claims: (B) Nature of the invention:(C) State of the prior art: (D) The level of one of ordinary skill: (E) The level of predictability in the art:(F) Amount of direction provided: (G) The existence of working examples: (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure:.
Independent claims 1, 17 and 20 require a structure of Formula II
and defines Q1, Q2, and Q3 as being selected from CRQ and CRQRQ’. However, it is unclear how Q2 or Q1 when n is greater than 1 could be CRQ as all the bonds drawn between the atoms are single bonds, because the corresponding carbon atoms would only have three bonds (two single bonds and a RQ bond), which is not a commonly known bonding pattern of carbon (Wands Factors C and E). Applicant has further not provided any examples of compounds wherein Q2 is CRQ (Wands Factors F and G). Furthermore, as Q1, Q2 and Q3 are CRQRQ’, it is not clear how RF can exist as that would result in a carbon atom having five bonds, which is not a commonly known bonding pattern of carbon (Wands Factors C and E). Applicant has further not provided any examples of compounds wherein the saturated carbon atoms are provided with an additional substituent such that the carbon atom has five bonds (Wands Factors F and G).
In light of the above factors, it is seen that undue experimentation would be necessary to make and use the invention of claims 1 – 20.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 17, and 20 require a compound having a formula M(LA)(LB) having the structure of Formula I
, wherein “ligand LA comprises moiety A-L3-moiety B-L1 and ligand LB comprises moiety D-L2-moiety C.” However, it is not clear if K1 is part of either ligand or where K1 falls within the formula M(LA)(LB).
For examination purposes, K1 is interpreted as being part of ligand LB
Claims 2 – 16, 18, and 19 are rejected as being dependent on claims 1, 17, and 20.
Claim 13 defines ligands of LA including ligand LA1. However, as defined, ligand LA1 requires a variable Rm, which is not shown in the corresponding ligand. Therefore, it is unclear what variable, if any, Rm is intended to represent.
For examination purposes, the variable is interpreted as being represented by hydrogen, i.e. R1.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Independent claim 1 requires a group of Formula II
, wherein the atoms Q1, Q2 and Q3 are connected via single bonds. However, claim 3 defines Formula II has having a structure selected from the group including
. These groups both show a double bond between the Q3 and Q2 atoms of Formula II. Therefore, the groups appear to be outside the scope of Formula II as defined in claim 1 and claim 3 fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Similarly, claim 16, which is dependent on claim 1, recites compounds such as at least
. These compounds all include a double bond in a position between the Q atoms in Formula II, which appears to be outside the scope of Formula II as defined in claim 1 and therefore claim 16 fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8, 13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahn (US20230117263A1).
As per claims 1 – 8, 13, 14, 17 and 18, Ahn teaches:
A compound having a formula M(LA)(LB) having the structure of Formula I
(Ahn teaches compound 1
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein moiety A is polycyclic fused ring system, moieties B, C, and D are a monocyclic ring system, namely two benzene rings and one pyridine ring as required by claim 7; Z3 is N and the other two Z groups are C; L3 is a direct bond; L1 is O and L2 is NR; K1 is a direct bond; M is Pt; X1 – X6 are all C; a structure of Formula II is directly fused to moiety C wherein each of Q1 – Q3 are all CRQRQ’ and n is an integer of 1; RA, RB, RC, and RF represent no substitutions and RD represents one substitution, that is an alkyl group; RE is an alkyl group, R is an aryl group. The group represented by Formula II is selected from
as in claim 3, wherein all the Q atoms are alky groups. Ligand LA is selected from LA1-(R3)(R1)(R1)(R1).)
An organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises the compound (In Example 1, as described in [0335 – 0339], an OLED was manufactured with compound 1 in the emission layer between an anode and a cathode.)
Wherein the organic layer further comprises a host, wherein the host comprises at least one chemical moiety selected from the group of… carbazole…(In Example 1, compound HTH29 was used a host material
. This compound contains a carbazole group as required by the claim.)
Claims 1 – 7, 12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eum (WO2024080842A1, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 1 – 7, 12, and 17 – 19, Eum teaches:
A compound having a formula M(LA)(LB) having the structure of Formula I
(Eum teaches compounds 129
. This compound reads on the claimed limitations wherein moiety A is polycyclic fused ring system, moieties B, C, and D are a monocyclic ring system, namely two benzene rings and one pyridine ring as required by claim 7; Z3 is N and the other two Z groups are C; L3 is a direct bond; L1 is O and L2 is NR; K1 is a direct bond; M is Pt; X1 – X6 are all C; a structure of Formula II is directly fused to moiety A wherein each of Q1 – Q3 are all CRQRQ’ and n is an integer of 2; RA, RB, RC, RD and RF represent no substitutions; RE is an alkyl group, R is an aryl group. The group represented by Formula II is selected from
as in claim 3, wherein all the RQ3 to RQ6 are hydrogen and the remaining Q atoms are alky groups. Ligand LB is selected from
in claim 12.)
An organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises the compound (In Example 7, a device was formulated as described in [0259 – 0263], with a structure of a substrate, anode, cathode and an emission layer between wherein the emission layer contains Compound 129.)
Wherein the organic layer further comprises a host, wherein the host comprises at least one chemical moiety selected from the group of… carbazole…(In Example 7, the emission layer was formed with HOST A
, which contains a carbazole group as claimed. This compound is the same as compound
in claim 19.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US20230117263A1) as applied to claims 1 – 8, 13, 17 and 18 above.
As per claim 20, Ahn teaches:
A consumer product comprising the organic light-emitting device (Ahn teaches display apparatuses containing the OLEDs in Fig. 1 as described in [0080].)
Ahn teaches that OLEDs are predictably suitable for use in display devices, which is interpreted as a consumer product as claimed. It would have been obvious to use the OLED of Ahn in a consumer device such as a display as Ahn demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum (WO2024080842A1, using the provided machine translation) as applied to claims 1 – 7, 12, 17, and 18 above.
As per claim 20, Eum teaches:
A consumer product comprising the organic light-emitting device ([0009]: “Another objective of the present invention is to provide an organometallic compound suitable for electroluminescence in the visible region of the electromagnetic spectrum, particularly in the blue region, which enables the manufacture of full-color displays and white light organic electroluminescent devices.”)
Eum teaches that OLEDs are predictably suitable for use in display devices, which is interpreted as a consumer product as claimed. It would have been obvious to use the OLED of Eum in a consumer device such as a display as Eum demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20220106342A1 has a common assignee with the instant application but could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789