DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues one of ordinary skill in the art would not have combined Wu and Tan as such a combination would not allow a capacitor structure with parallel combinations of at least two base capacitances as the antiferroelectric material of Tan has a dielectric constant that can decrease as an applied electric field increases and thus is unstable.
The examiner disagrees with applicant. Wu discloses the dielectric material can be a high-k dielectric material which are known to have variations based on electric field and other environmental factors such as temperature. The dielectric constant K may vary; however, the variation would be across the at least two difference capacitance (i.e. the K in both capacitance areas would be the same), and thus two difference capacitances values would be obtained based on the distance between electrodes. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (such as in high voltage and high temperature environments) as a matter of obvious design choice.
Applicant further argues there is no motivation to combine Laibowitz with Tan.
The examiner disagrees a clear motivation was provided in the rejection. Specifically, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dielectric of Tan ‘913 as the dielectric of Wu ‘335 to obtain a capacitor wherein the dielectric has a high dielectric constant and high energy storage capabilities with ease of processing as well as with improved mechanical properties. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Furthermore, the examiner notes it is well within the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the capacitor art that a dielectric layer can be formed of an antiferroelectric material or a ferroelectric material (i.e. said materials can be substituted for one another).
Lastly, applicant argues the examiner has stated that HfO2 is antiferroelectric without providing evidence.
The examiner disagrees with said assertion. The only instance in the rejection where that HfO2 is stated to be antiferroelectric is in references to Ali which explicitly discloses an antiferroelectric HfO2. All claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-17, & 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2011/0019335) in view of Tan et al. (US 2007/0117913).
In regards to claim 1,
Wu ‘335 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a first electrode layer (10 – fig. 1a; [0028]);
a second electrode layer (20 – fig. 1a; [0028]); and
a dielectric layer (15 – fig. 1a; [0028]) disposed between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer in a thickness direction of the first electrode layer, wherein
an inner portion of the first electrode layer covers the dielectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the first electrode layer when the first electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 1),
an inner portion of the second electrode layer covers the dielectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the second electrode layer when the second electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 1), and
the dielectric layer has a thickness differing from one point to another (fig. 1a). Wu ‘335 fails to disclose the dielectric is an antiferroelectric.
Tan ‘913 discloses an antiferroelectric dielectric (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dielectric of Tan ‘913 as the dielectric of Wu ‘335 to obtain a capacitor wherein the dielectric has a high dielectric constant and high energy storage capabilities with ease of processing as well as with improved mechanical properties. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 2,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for wherein the antiferroelectric layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers or more and 1 micrometer or less. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 such that the antiferroelectric layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers or more and 1 micrometer or less to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 3,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for a ratio of a maximum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer to a minimum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is more than 1 and less than 10. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 such that a ratio of a maximum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer to a minimum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is more than 1 and less than 10to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 4,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for wherein a maximum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is 500 nanometers or less. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 such that a maximum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is 500 nanometers or less to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 5,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for wherein the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is smaller than a thickness of the first electrode layer. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 such that the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is smaller than a thickness of the first electrode layer to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 6,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for wherein the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is smaller than a thickness of the second electrode layer. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 such that the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is smaller than a thickness of the second electrode layer to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 7,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer varies continuously or stepwise in a particular in-plane direction (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 8,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer varies continuously or stepwise from one end to the other end in a particular in- plane direction (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 9,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein the antiferroelectric layer includes a first region and a second region, the first region having a minimum thickness and having a given area in plan view, the second region having a maximum thickness and having a given area in plan view, and
a ratio of the area of the second region in plan view to the area of the first region in plan view is more than 1 and less than 10 (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335 wherein the ratio is 2:3).
In regards to claim 10,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein the antiferroelectric layer includes a connecting portion between a pair of regions having different thicknesses, the connecting portion defining a step corresponding to a difference between the thicknesses of the pair of regions (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 12,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein the antiferroelectric layer includes a plurality of particular regions each having a particular thickness and having a given area in plan view, and
the particular regions are disposed apart from each other when the antiferroelectric layer is viewed in plan from the second electrode layer (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 13,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein the particular regions are disposed regularly when the antiferroelectric layer is viewed in plan from the second electrode layer (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 14,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein each of the particular regions is in a shape of a belt parallel to another belt when the antiferroelectric layer is viewed in plan from the second electrode layer (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 15,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein each of the particular regions is in a circular or rectangular shape when the antiferroelectric layer is viewed in plan from the second electrode layer (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 16,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein the antiferroelectric layer includes a metal oxide including at least one of hafnium and zirconium ([0029] of Tan ‘913).
In regards to claim 17,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses further comprising a support, wherein the first electrode layer is disposed between the support and the antiferroelectric layer in the thickness direction of the first electrode layer ([0039] of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 19,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses an electrical circuit comprising the capacitor according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above) wherein the capacitor is mounted to the electrical circuit ([0052] of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 20,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses a circuit board comprising the capacitor according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein the capacitor is mounted to an electrical circuit formed on the circuit board ([0052] & [0005] of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 21,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses an electronic device comprising the capacitor according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein the capacitor is mounted to an electrical circuit on a circuit board, and the electronic device is equipped with the circuit board ([0052] & [0005] of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 22,
Wu ‘335 discloses an electricity storage device comprising:
a battery ([0070] – it is noted cell phones have a battery); and
a capacitor, the capacitor comprising:
a first electrode layer (10 – fig. 1a; [0028]);
a second electrode layer (20 – fig. 1a; [0028]); and
a dielectric layer (15 – fig. 1a; [0028]) disposed between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer in a thickness direction of the first electrode layer, wherein
an inner portion of the first electrode layer covers the dielectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the first electrode layer when the first electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 1),
an inner portion of the second electrode layer covers the dielectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the second electrode layer when the second electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 1), and
the dielectric layer has a thickness differing from one point to another (fig. 1a). Wu ‘335 fails to disclose the dielectric is an antiferroelectric.
Tan ‘913 discloses an antiferroelectric dielectric (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dielectric of Tan ‘913 as the dielectric of Wu ‘335 to obtain a capacitor wherein the dielectric has a high dielectric constant and high energy storage capabilities with ease of processing as well as with improved mechanical properties. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-17, & 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu ‘335 in view of Silicon-doped hafnium oxide anti-ferroelectric thin films for energy storage hereafter referred to as Ali.
In regards to claim 1,
Wu ‘335 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a first electrode layer (10 – fig. 1a; [0028]);
a second electrode layer (20 – fig. 1a; [0028]); and
a dielectric layer (15 – fig. 1a; [0028]) disposed between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer in a thickness direction of the first electrode layer, wherein
an inner portion of the first electrode layer covers the dielectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the first electrode layer when the first electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 1),
an inner portion of the second electrode layer covers the dielectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the second electrode layer when the second electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 1), and
the dielectric layer has a thickness differing from one point to another (fig. 1a). Wu ‘335 fails to disclose the dielectric is an antiferroelectric.
Ali discloses an antiferroelectric dielectric for use in capacitors (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dielectric of Ali as the dielectric of Wu ‘335 to obtain a capacitor wherein the dielectric has high energy storage capabilities. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 2,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for wherein the antiferroelectric layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers or more and 1 micrometer or less. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali such that the antiferroelectric layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers or more and 1 micrometer or less to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 3,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for a ratio of a maximum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer to a minimum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is more than 1 and less than 10. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali such that a ratio of a maximum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer to a minimum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is more than 1 and less than 10to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 4,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for wherein a maximum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is 500 nanometers or less. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali such that a maximum of the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is 500 nanometers or less to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 5,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for wherein the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is smaller than a thickness of the first electrode layer. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali such that the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is smaller than a thickness of the first electrode layer to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 6,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for wherein the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is smaller than a thickness of the second electrode layer. However, the thickness of a dielectric layer in a capacitor is a result effective variable based on the formula of capacitance, particularly for controlling capacitance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali such that the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer is smaller than a thickness of the second electrode layer to obtain a desired capacitance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 7,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer varies continuously or stepwise in a particular in-plane direction (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 8,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein the thickness of the antiferroelectric layer varies continuously or stepwise from one end to the other end in a particular in- plane direction (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 9,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein the antiferroelectric layer includes a first region and a second region, the first region having a minimum thickness and having a given area in plan view, the second region having a maximum thickness and having a given area in plan view, and
a ratio of the area of the second region in plan view to the area of the first region in plan view is more than 1 and less than 10 (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335 wherein the ratio is 2:3).
In regards to claim 10,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein the antiferroelectric layer includes a connecting portion between a pair of regions having different thicknesses, the connecting portion defining a step corresponding to a difference between the thicknesses of the pair of regions (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 12,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein the antiferroelectric layer includes a plurality of particular regions each having a particular thickness and having a given area in plan view, and
the particular regions are disposed apart from each other when the antiferroelectric layer is viewed in plan from the second electrode layer (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 13,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein the particular regions are disposed regularly when the antiferroelectric layer is viewed in plan from the second electrode layer (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 14,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein each of the particular regions is in a shape of a belt parallel to another belt when the antiferroelectric layer is viewed in plan from the second electrode layer (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 15,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein each of the particular regions is in a circular or rectangular shape when the antiferroelectric layer is viewed in plan from the second electrode layer (fig. 1a of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 16,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein the antiferroelectric layer includes a metal oxide including at least one of hafnium and zirconium (abstract of Ali).
In regards to claim 17,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses further comprising a support, wherein the first electrode layer is disposed between the support and the antiferroelectric layer in the thickness direction of the first electrode layer ([0039] of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 19,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses an electrical circuit comprising the capacitor according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above) wherein the capacitor is mounted to the electrical circuit ([0052] of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 20,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses a circuit board comprising the capacitor according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein the capacitor is mounted to an electrical circuit formed on the circuit board ([0052] & [0005] of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 21,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses an electronic device comprising the capacitor according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein the capacitor is mounted to an electrical circuit on a circuit board, and the electronic device is equipped with the circuit board ([0052] & [0005] of Wu ‘335).
In regards to claim 22,
Wu ‘335 discloses an electricity storage device comprising:
a battery ([0070] – it is noted cell phones have a battery); and
a capacitor, the capacitor comprising:
a first electrode layer (10 – fig. 1a; [0028]);
a second electrode layer (20 – fig. 1a; [0028]); and
a dielectric layer (15 – fig. 1a; [0028]) disposed between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer in a thickness direction of the first electrode layer, wherein
an inner portion of the first electrode layer covers the dielectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the first electrode layer when the first electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 1),
an inner portion of the second electrode layer covers the dielectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the second electrode layer when the second electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 1), and
the dielectric layer has a thickness differing from one point to another (fig. 1a). Wu ‘335 fails to disclose the dielectric is an antiferroelectric.
Ali discloses an antiferroelectric dielectric for use in capacitors (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dielectric of Ali as the dielectric of Wu ‘335 to obtain a capacitor wherein the dielectric has high energy storage capabilities. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 23,
Wu ‘335 as modified by Ali further discloses wherein: an antiferroelectric layer comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of a first metal oxide, a second metal oxide, and a third metal oxide, the first metal oxide is expressed by HfO2, ZrO2, or Hfi-xZrxO2, where x satisfying 0<x<1, and has a fluorite structure, the second metal oxide is a metal oxide in which part of Hf in HfO2 or Hfi-xZrxO2 is substituted by Si or Al, where x satisfying 0<x<1, and the third metal oxide is a metal oxide in which part of Zr in ZrO2 or Hfi-xZrxO2 is substituted by Y, Ti, Sn, or Ce, where x satisfying 0<x<1 (conclusion of Ali).
Claim(s) 1, 11, & 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laibowitz et al. (US 5,926,360) in view of Tan ‘913.
In regards to claim 1,
Laibowitz ‘360 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a first electrode layer (42-43 – fig. 4; C6:L8-31);
a second electrode layer (45-46 – fig. 4; C6:L8-31); and
a dielectric layer (44 – fig. 4; C6:L8-31) disposed between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer in a thickness direction of the first electrode layer, wherein
an inner portion of the first electrode layer covers the antiferroelectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the first electrode layer when the first electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 4),
an inner portion of the second electrode layer covers the antiferroelectric layer, the inner portion surrounded by an outermost portion of the second electrode layer when the second electrode layer is viewed in plan (fig. 4), and
the dielectric layer has a thickness differing from one point to another (fig. 4). Laibowitz ‘360 fails to disclose the dielectric is an antiferroelectric.
Tan ‘913 discloses an antiferroelectric dielectric (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dielectric of Tan ‘913 as the dielectric of Wu ‘335 to obtain a capacitor wherein the dielectric has a high dielectric constant and high energy storage capabilities with ease of processing as well as with improved mechanical properties. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 11,
Laibowitz ‘360 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein the antiferroelectric layer includes a connecting portion between a pair of regions having different thicknesses, the connecting portion having a thickness varying continuously or stepwise from one of the pair of regions toward the other (fig. 4 of Laibowitz ‘360).
In regards to claim 17,
Laibowitz ‘360 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses further comprising a support (40), wherein the first electrode layer is disposed between the support and the antiferroelectric layer in the thickness direction of the first electrode layer (fig. 4 of Laibowitz ‘360).
In regards to claim 18,
Laibowitz ‘360 as modified by Tan ‘913 further discloses wherein the support has no empty space overlapping the antiferroelectric layer in plan view (fig. 4 of Laibowitz ‘360).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2010/0025817 – [0032] US 2020/0395435 – [0036]
EP3557633A1 – teaches dielectric of capacitor can be ferroelectric or antiferroelectric
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847