DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on 10/11/2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-30 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, 14, 15, 18, 20, 22-25, 29, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as being anticipated by Patent Application No CN 202211414937 A (hereinafter referred to as Lei).
Consider claim 1, Lei teaches a network entity for wireless communication (see at least Fig. 3), comprising:
one or more memories (see at least page 4, Para. 4, “…The non-volatile storage medium stores an operating system, a computer program, and a database…”); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured (see at least page 4, Para. 4, “…processor of the computer device is used for providing calculation and control ability…”), individually or in any combination, to:
transmit an energy usage report configuration associated with an energy usage policy (see at least page 3, Para. 12, Fig. 3, step 302, “…sends the energy consumption collection policy information to the PCF, wherein the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information to be reported…”. Therefore, energy usage report as energy consumption information as Lei disclosed, and further see at least page 3, Para. 13, Fig. 3, step 303, “…the energy consumption collection policy comprises one or more of the following: the energy consumption type to be collected, the energy consumption counting time period and the energy consumption information reporting…”);
receive a first energy usage report associated with the energy usage report configuration (see at least page 3, Para. 14, Fig. 3, step 304, “…sends the energy consumption collection policy information to the PCF, wherein the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information to be reported…, …the PCF generates an energy consumption collection policy according to the energy consumption collection policy information, wherein the energy consumption collection policy comprises one or more of the following: the energy consumption type to be collected, the energy consumption counting time period and the energy consumption information reporting…, …the PCF sends a first energy consumption collection instruction to the network device according to the energy consumption collection policy, and the first energy consumption collection instruction is used to instruct the network device to collect and feedback energy consumption information…); and
transmit a second energy usage report associated with the first energy usage report (see at least page 3, Para. 6, “…determining the energy consumption collection policy information through the first device, determining the energy consumption collection policy through the second device, and sending the first energy consumption collection instruction to each network device deployed in the network through the second device, receiving the energy consumption information reported by each network device through the first device or the second device…” and further see at least page 3, Para. 27, Fig. 4, “…send a second energy consumption collection instruction to the network device, the network device responds to the second energy consumption collection instruction…”).
Consider claim 23, Lei teaches a policy control function (PCF) entity for wireless communication (see at least Fig. 3), comprising:
one or more memories (see at least page 4, Para. 4, “…The non-volatile storage medium stores an operating system, a computer program, and a database…”); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured (see at least page 4, Para. 4, “…processor of the computer device is used for providing calculation and control ability…”), individually or in any combination, to:
transmit an energy usage policy associated with an energy usage report configuration (see at least page 3, Para. 12, Fig. 3, step 302, “…sends the energy consumption collection policy information to the PCF, wherein the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information to be reported…”. Therefore, energy usage report as energy consumption information as Lei disclosed, and further see at least page 3, Para. 13, Fig. 3, step 303, “…the energy consumption collection policy comprises one or more of the following: the energy consumption type to be collected, the energy consumption counting time period and the energy consumption information reporting…”); and
receive, based at least in part on a first energy usage report associated with the energy usage report configuration, a second energy usage report associated with the first energy usage report (see at least page 3, Para. 15, Fig. 3, step 305, “…the network responds to the first energy consumption collecting instruction, collects the energy consumption information through the energy consumption collecting module and reports it to the PCF…” and further see at least page 3, Para. 16, Fig. 4, step 404, “…the device deployed in the network collects the energy consumption information in response to the energy consumption collection instruction and reports it to the PCF…”, and see at least page 3, Para. 17, “…the PCF can send a second energy consumption collection instruction to the network device, the network device responds to the second energy consumption collection instruction…”).
Consider claim 29, Lei teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity (see at least Fig. 3) comprising:
transmitting an energy usage report configuration associated with an energy usage policy (see at least page 3, Para. 12, Fig. 3, step 302, “…sends the energy consumption collection policy information to the PCF, wherein the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information to be reported…”. Therefore, energy usage report as energy consumption information as Lei disclosed, and further see at least page 3, Para. 13, Fig. 3, step 303, “…the energy consumption collection policy comprises one or more of the following: the energy consumption type to be collected, the energy consumption counting time period and the energy consumption information reporting…”);
receiving a first energy usage report associated with the energy usage report configuration (see at least page 3, Para. 14, Fig. 3, step 304, “…sends the energy consumption collection policy information to the PCF, wherein the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information to be reported…, …the PCF generates an energy consumption collection policy according to the energy consumption collection policy information, wherein the energy consumption collection policy comprises one or more of the following: the energy consumption type to be collected, the energy consumption counting time period and the energy consumption information reporting…, …the PCF sends a first energy consumption collection instruction to the network device according to the energy consumption collection policy, and the first energy consumption collection instruction is used to instruct the network device to collect and feedback energy consumption information…); and
transmitting a second energy usage report associated with the first energy usage report (see at least page 3, Para. 6, “…determining the energy consumption collection policy information through the first device, determining the energy consumption collection policy through the second device, and sending the first energy consumption collection instruction to each network device deployed in the network through the second device, receiving the energy consumption information reported by each network device through the first device or the second device…” and further see at least page 3, Para. 27, Fig. 4, “…send a second energy consumption collection instruction to the network device, the network device responds to the second energy consumption collection instruction…”).
Consider claim 4 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the energy usage report configuration, are configured to transmit the energy usage report configuration to a network node, and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the first energy usage report, are configured to receive the first energy usage report from the network node first energy usage report associated with the energy usage report configuration (see at least Page 3, Para. 12, Fig. 3, Step 302, “…sends the energy consumption collection policy information to the PCF, wherein the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information to be reported…”, see at least Page 3, Para. 14, Fig. 3, Step 304 “…the PCF sends a first energy consumption collection instruction to the network device according to the energy consumption collection policy, and the first energy consumption collection instruction is used to instruct the network device to collect and feedback energy consumption information…).
Consider claim 5 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the network entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 6 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the energy usage policy is associated with a user equipment (UE) (see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 7 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the energy usage policy is associated with a network slice associated with a user equipment (UE) (see at least page 2, Para. 26, “…the control plane network element may include …Network Slice Selection Function…” and see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 8 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: transmit an indication of a service area ion associated with energy usage (see at least page 3, Para. 12, Step 302, “…sends the energy consumption collection policy information to the PCF, wherein the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information to be reported…”).
Consider claim 9 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: receive subscription information associated with energy usage, wherein the energy usage is associated with a user equipment (UE) or with a network slice associated with the UE (UE) (see at least page 2, Para. 26, “…the control plane network element may include …Network Slice Selection Function…” and see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 10 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: receive a session management function (SMF) selection policy associated with energy usage, wherein the energy usage is associated with a user equipment (UE) (and see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 11 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the network entity is a session management function (SMF) (and see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 14 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the energy usage report configuration, are configured to transmit the energy usage report configuration to a user plane function (UPF) (and see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 15 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: receive a data usage report associated with the second energy usage report (see at least page 3, Para. 15, Fig. 3, Step 305, “…the network responds to the first energy consumption collecting instruction, collects the energy consumption information through the energy consumption collecting module and reports it to the PCF…” and further see at least page 3, Para. 26, Fig. 4, Step 404, “…the device deployed in the network collects the energy consumption information in response to the energy consumption collection instruction and reports it to the PCF…”, see at least page 3, Para. 27, “…the PCF can send a second energy consumption collection instruction to the network device, the network device responds to the second energy consumption collection instruction…”).
Consider claim 18 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the energy usage report configuration includes one or more indications of one or more of a periodicity associated with the second energy usage report, a triggering event associated with the second energy usage report, or a level of granularity associated with the second energy usage report (see at least page 3, “…the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information…” and further see at least page 3, Para. 16, Fig. 4, step 404, “…the device deployed in the network collects the energy consumption information in response to the energy consumption collection instruction and reports it to the PCF…”, and see at least page 3, Para. 17, “…the PCF can send a second energy consumption collection instruction to the network device, the network device responds to the second energy consumption collection instruction…”).
Consider claim 20 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the second energy usage report, are configured to transmit the second energy usage report based at least in part on one or more of a start of a mode of operation associated with a user equipment (UE), an energy usage associated with the UE satisfying an energy usage threshold, or expiry of credit associated with the UE (see at least page 2, Para. 6, “…one realizable mode, the energy consumption collection policy information is determined by the first device, the energy consumption collection policy is determined by the second device, and the first energy consumption collection instruction is sent to each network device deployed in the network by the second device, receiving the energy consumption information reported by each network device through the first device or the second device…”).
Consider claim 22 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: transmit, based at least in part on the second energy usage report, an indication of a networking action (see at least page 3, Para. 12, Fig. 3, Step 302, “…the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information…” and further “…the device deployed in the network collects the energy consumption information in response to the energy consumption collection instruction and reports it to the PCF…, …the PCF can send a second energy consumption collection instruction to the network device, the network device responds to the second energy consumption collection instruction…”).
Consider claim 24 (depends on at least claim 23), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 23 as applied to claim rejection 23 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the energy usage policy, are configured to transmit the energy usage policy to an access and mobility management function (AMF), and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the second energy usage report, are configured to receive the second energy usage report from the AMF (see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 25 (depends on at least claim 23), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 23 as applied to claim rejection 23 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the energy usage policy, are configured to transmit the energy usage policy to a session management function (SMF), and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the second energy usage report, are configured to receive the second energy usage report from the SMF (see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 30 (depends on at least claim 29), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 29 as applied to claim rejection 29 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein transmitting the energy usage report configuration includes transmitting the energy usage report configuration to a network node, and wherein receiving the first energy usage report includes receiving the first energy usage report from the network node (see at least page 3, Para. 12, Fig. 3, step 302, “…sends the energy consumption collection policy information to the PCF, wherein the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information to be reported…”. Therefore, energy usage report as energy consumption information as Lei disclosed, and further see at least page 3, Para. 13, Fig. 3, step 303, “…the energy consumption collection policy comprises one or more of the following: the energy consumption type to be collected, the energy consumption counting time period and the energy consumption information reporting…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 12, 13, 19, 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent Application No CN 202211414937 A (hereinafter referred to as Lei) in view of Patent Application No CN 202111296505 A (hereinafter referred to as Chai).
Consider claim 26, Lei discloses a charging function (CHF) entity for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (see at least page 4, Para. 4, “…The non-volatile storage medium stores an operating system, a computer program, and a database…”); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see at least page 4, Para. 4, “…processor of the computer device is used for providing calculation and control ability…”), which are configured, individually or in any combination, to:
receive, based at least in part on a first energy usage report associated with an energy usage report configuration, a second energy usage report associated with the first energy usage report receive a first energy usage report associated with the energy usage report configuration (see at least page 3, Para. 12, Fig. 3, step 302, “…sends the energy consumption collection policy information to the PCF, wherein the energy consumption collection policy information comprises one or a combination of more of the following: the device area, device type, energy consumption type and energy consumption counting time period of the energy consumption information to be reported…”. Therefore, energy usage report as energy consumption information as Lei disclosed, and further see at least page 3, Para. 13, Fig. 3, step 303, “…the energy consumption collection policy comprises one or more of the following: the energy consumption type to be collected, the energy consumption counting time period and the energy consumption information reporting…, …the PCF sends a first energy consumption collection instruction to the network device according to the energy consumption collection policy, and the first energy consumption collection instruction is used to instruct the network device to collect and feedback energy consumption information…”); and
transmit, based at least in part on the second energy usage report, a charging data record (CDR) (see at least page 3, Para. 15, Fig. 3, step 305, “…each network device deployed in the network responds to the first energy consumption collecting instruction, collects the energy consumption information through the energy consumption collecting module and reports it to the PCF…”), and see at least page 3, Para. 16, Fig. 3, step 306, “…the PCF receives the energy consumption information reported by the network device and sends a first signal to the unified control platform, wherein the first signal is used to indicate that the PCF has received the energy consumption information of the network device…”).
Lei disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Lei does not particularly disclose charging function (CHF) and charging data record (CDR). In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Chai, which teaches charging function (CHF) and charging data record (CDR) (see Chai, at least page 12, Para. 2, “…the charging bill corresponding to the user account, such as charging data record (CDR). For example, the charging processing entity receives the rate charging information of the rate group sent by the rate charging information acquisition entity…” and further see at least page 15, Para. 6, “…the SMF entity sends a first charging request message to the CHF entity; Correspondingly, the CHF entity can receive the first charging request message…” and see at least page 15, Para. 7, “… the first charging request message may further include a rate charging policy, such as the first charging request message may include a plurality of data transmission rate interval included in the rate charging policy information. ,…assuming the rate charging policy corresponding to the online charging rate group, then the first charging request further comprises the rate group of the online charging corresponding to the quota request, or a plurality of data transmission rate interval respectively corresponding to the quota request…”, and see at least page 15, Para. 8, “… the CHF entity sends a first charging response message to the SMF entity; Correspondingly, the SMF entity can receive the first charging response message…”, and see at least page 15, Para. 9, “…receiving the first charging request message, can be based on the online charging rate group corresponding to the quota request distribution quota, and sending the quota to the SMF entity through the first charging response message, The quota can be the quota corresponding to the rate group of the online charging … may also be a plurality of data transmission rate interval of the rate charging policy corresponding to the quota (such as CHF entity can according to the first charging request message included in the plurality of data transmission rate interval information, distributing the corresponding quota for a plurality of data transmission rate interval).…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and further a finding that the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. Lei disclosed invention, and have charging function (CHF) and charging data record (CDR), as taught by Chai, thereby, to provide the user with voice, video and more colorful services and the operator mainly charges the user equipment according to the flow rate, the fifth generation (5th generation, 5G) communication system as an example, the session management entity can obtain the user equipment data connection session corresponding to the usage amount, the use amount is the traffic generated by the data transmission of the service in the data connection session, and the usage amount is reported to the charging function entity, so that the charging function entity performs charging processing to the user device based on the usage amount., as discussed by Chai, (see at least page 1).
Consider claim 2 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei in discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the energy usage policy is associated with charging, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the second energy usage report, are configured to transmit the second energy usage report (see at least page 3, “…each network device deployed in the network responds to the first energy consumption collecting instruction, collects the energy consumption information through the energy consumption collecting module and reports it to the PCF…, …the PCF receives the energy consumption information reported by the network device and sends a first signal to the unified control platform, wherein the first signal is used to indicate that the PCF has received the energy consumption information of the network device…”).
Lei disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Lei does not particularly disclose charging function (CHF). In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Chai, which teaches charging function (CHF) (see Chai, at least page 15, “…the SMF entity sends a first charging request message to the CHF entity; Correspondingly, the CHF entity can receive the first charging request message…” and “… the first charging request message may further include a rate charging policy, such as the first charging request message may include a plurality of data transmission rate interval included in the rate charging policy information. …assuming the rate charging policy corresponding to the online charging rate group, then the first charging request further comprises the rate group of the online charging corresponding to the quota request, or a plurality of data transmission rate interval respectively corresponding to the quota request…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and further a finding that the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. Lei disclosed invention, and have charging function (CHF), as taught by Chai, thereby, to provide the user with voice, video and more colorful services and the operator mainly charges the user equipment according to the flow rate, the fifth generation (5th generation, 5G) communication system as an example, the session management entity can obtain the user equipment data connection session corresponding to the usage amount, the use amount is the traffic generated by the data transmission of the service in the data connection session, and the usage amount is reported to the charging function entity, so that the charging function entity performs charging processing to the user device based on the usage amount., as discussed by Chai, (see at least page 1).
Consider claim 3 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei in discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the energy usage policy is associated with energy usage monitoring, and wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the second energy usage report, are configured to transmit the second energy usage report (see at least page 3, “…each network device deployed in the network responds to the first energy consumption collecting instruction, collects the energy consumption information through the energy consumption collecting module and reports it to the PCF…, …the PCF receives the energy consumption information reported by the network device and sends a first signal to the unified control platform, wherein the first signal is used to indicate that the PCF has received the energy consumption information of the network device…”).
Lei disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Lei does not particularly disclose charging function (CHF). In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Chai, which teaches charging function (CHF) (see Chai, at least page 15, “…the SMF entity sends a first charging request message to the CHF entity; Correspondingly, the CHF entity can receive the first charging request message…” and “… the first charging request message may further include a rate charging policy, such as the first charging request message may include a plurality of data transmission rate interval included in the rate charging policy information. …assuming the rate charging policy corresponding to the online charging rate group, then the first charging request further comprises the rate group of the online charging corresponding to the quota request, or a plurality of data transmission rate interval respectively corresponding to the quota request…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and further a finding that the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. Lei disclosed invention, and have charging function (CHF), as taught by Chai, thereby, to provide the user with voice, video and more colorful services and the operator mainly charges the user equipment according to the flow rate, the fifth generation (5th generation, 5G) communication system as an example, the session management entity can obtain the user equipment data connection session corresponding to the usage amount, the use amount is the traffic generated by the data transmission of the service in the data connection session, and the usage amount is reported to the charging function entity, so that the charging function entity performs charging processing to the user device based on the usage amount., as discussed by Chai, (see at least page 1).
Consider claim 12 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei in discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Lei does not particularly disclose wherein the energy usage policy is associated with a protocol data unit (PDU) session. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Chai, which teaches wherein the energy usage policy is associated with a protocol data unit (PDU) session (see Chai, at least page 6, “…the SMF entity sends a charging request message 1 to the CHF entity, and the charging request message 1 may include the identification of the user equipment, the identification of the PDU session, and the like…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and further a finding that the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. Lei disclosed invention, and have wherein the energy usage policy is associated with a protocol data unit (PDU) session, as taught by Chai, thereby, to provide the user with voice, video and more colorful services and the operator mainly charges the user equipment according to the flow rate, the fifth generation (5th generation, 5G) communication system as an example, the session management entity can obtain the user equipment data connection session corresponding to the usage amount, the use amount is the traffic generated by the data transmission of the service in the data connection session, and the usage amount is reported to the charging function entity, so that the charging function entity performs charging processing to the user device based on the usage amount., as discussed by Chai, (see at least page 1).
Consider claim 13 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei in discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Lei does not particularly disclose wherein the energy usage policy is associated with a quality of service (QOS) flow. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Chai, which teaches wherein the energy usage policy is associated with a quality of service (QOS) flow (see Chai, at least page 7, “…a plurality of service data streams corresponding to a QoS flow in the data connection session of the user equipment, the rate charging policy can be used for indicating the rate charging information acquisition entity to generate at least one rate charging information of the QoS flow…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and further a finding that the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. Lei disclosed invention, and have wherein the energy usage policy is associated with a quality of service (QOS) flow, as taught by Chai, thereby, to provide the user with voice, video and more colorful services and the operator mainly charges the user equipment according to the flow rate, the fifth generation (5th generation, 5G) communication system as an example, the session management entity can obtain the user equipment data connection session corresponding to the usage amount, the use amount is the traffic generated by the data transmission of the service in the data connection session, and the usage amount is reported to the charging function entity, so that the charging function entity performs charging processing to the user device based on the usage amount., as discussed by Chai, (see at least page 1).
Consider claim 19 (depends on at least claim 1), Lei in discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Lei disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Lei does not particularly disclose wherein the second energy usage report includes an indication of the level of granularity. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Chai, which teaches wherein the second energy usage report includes an indication of the level of granularity (see Chai, at least page 8, “…The rate charging policy may also be referred to as a rate charging policy of the service granularity or a rate charging policy of the service level or a rate charging policy of the service …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and further a finding that the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. Lei disclosed invention, and have wherein the second energy usage report includes an indication of the level of granularity, as taught by Chai, thereby, to provide the user with voice, video and more colorful services and the operator mainly charges the user equipment according to the flow rate, the fifth generation (5th generation, 5G) communication system as an example, the session management entity can obtain the user equipment data connection session corresponding to the usage amount, the use amount is the traffic generated by the data transmission of the service in the data connection session, and the usage amount is reported to the charging function entity, so that the charging function entity performs charging processing to the user device based on the usage amount., as discussed by Chai, (see at least page 1).
Consider claim 27 (depends on at least claim 26), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 26 as applied to claim rejection 26 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the second energy usage report, are configured to receive the second energy usage report from an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Consider claim 28 (depends on at least claim 26), Lei discloses the limitations of claim 26 as applied to claim rejection 26 above and further discloses:
Lei teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the second energy usage report, are configured to receive the second energy usage report from a session management function (SMF) (see at least Page 3, Para. 5, “…an energy consumption collecting module, such as UE, BSS, AMF, SMF, UPF and so on…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 17, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHUONG A NGO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645