Response to Amendment
2. Applicant's amendment filed on 12/23/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 15 and 19 are amended. Claims 20-25 are added new. Claims 2-14 and 16-18 are cancelled. Claims 1, 15, 19 and 20-25 are still pending in the application with claims 1, 15 and 19 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 15 and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia et al. (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #112, R2-2009265, “Scenarios and Impact analysis for Switching Notification”, dated Nov, 2020) in view of Gurumoorthy et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0361132 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nokia et al. teach a communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks, including a first network and a second network, using a plurality of subscriber identification modules (see page 1, Introduction and page 2, section 2, 1st para wherein MUSIM/Multi-SIM capable UE being registered for NTWK-A and NTWK-B, is mentioned), the communication apparatus comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit, to a base station of the first network, a user equipment (UE) assistance information message including first information indicating a first identifier of a first frequency band for communication using the plurality of subscriber identification modules (see page 4, under proposal 9, wherein dynamic capability update to network/base station regarding UEs supported bands (that includes first information indicating a first identifier of a first frequency band), is mentioned and also see page 5, 1st para under Capability coordination requirements for idle/connected case, wherein a multi SIM UE transmitting by notifying the SIM operating in the connected mode (that includes the first frequency band), is mentioned and also see page 5, under proposal 11 wherein assistance information based method being employed to communicate capability signaling, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “transmitting, to a base station of the first network, a user equipment (UE) assistance information message including first information indicating a first identifier of a first frequency band for communication using the plurality of subscriber identification modules”).
Nokia et al. is silent in teaching the above apparatus comprising the transmitter configured to transmit second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state in the first network.
However, Gurumoorthy et al. teach a communication apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.4/UE ) comprising the transmitter configured to transmit second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state in the first network (see Fig.7 and para [0112] wherein the UE providing a proactive indication to the network prior to detection of a band conflict, for example, the UE may report, to the network serving the first SIM, the serving cell frequency of its second SIM that is in idle mode ( that includes second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer) while establishing a connected mode with its first SIM, is mentioned, also see para [0097] wherein RF band conflicts occurring in Connected-IDLE scenarios where SIM1 is in an RRC connected mode on a first frequency band (e.g., band B1), is mentioned and also see para [0116] wherein the conflict indication of a band conflict from UE over the first SIM (e.g., through an IDC message, UE assistance information (UAI) message, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to having “the transmitter configured to transmit second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state in the first network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above apparatus of Nokia et al. to have the transmitter being configured to transmit second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state in the first network, disclosed by Gurumoorthy et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a user equipment for efficiently providing multi-SIM UE capability indications to a base station for band conflict resolution and also performing effective dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) operations in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 15, Nokia et al. teach a base station of a first network in a mobile communication system including a communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks including the first network and a second network using a plurality of subscriber identification modules (see page 1, Introduction and page 2, section 2, 1st para wherein MUSIM/Multi-SIM capable UE/communication apparatus being registered for NTWK-A/base station and NTWK-B, is mentioned and also see page 4, para under proposal 7), the base station comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from the communication apparatus, a user equipment (UE) assistance information message including first information indicating a first identifier of a first frequency band for communication using the plurality of subscriber identification modules (see page 4, under proposal 9, wherein dynamic capability update to be received by network/base station regarding UEs supported bands (that includes first information indicating a first identifier of a first frequency band), is mentioned and also see page 5, 1st para under Capability coordination requirements for idle/connected case, wherein a multi SIM UE transmitting to network/BS by notifying the SIM operating in the connected mode (that includes the first frequency band), is mentioned and also see page 5, under proposal 11 wherein assistance information based method being employed to communicate capability signaling, is mentioned).
Nokia et al. is silent in teaching the above base station comprising the receiver configured to receive second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state in the first network.
However, Gurumoorthy et al. teach a base station (see Abstract and Fig.5/BS) comprising the receiver configured to receive second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state in the first network (see Fig.7 and para [0112] wherein the UE providing a proactive indication to the network/base station prior to detection of a band conflict, for example, the UE may report, to the network serving the first SIM, the serving cell frequency of its second SIM that is in idle mode ( that includes second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer) while establishing a connected mode with its first SIM, is mentioned, also see para [0097] wherein RF band conflicts occurring in Connected-IDLE scenarios where SIM1 is in an RRC connected mode on a first frequency band (e.g., band B1), is mentioned and also see para [0116] wherein the conflict indication of a band conflict from UE over the first SIM (e.g., through an IDC message, UE assistance information (UAI) message, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above base station of Nokia et al. to have the receiver being configured to receive second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state in the first network, disclosed by Gurumoorthy et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently providing multi-SIM UE capability indications to a base station for band conflict resolution and also performing effective dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) operations in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Nokia et al. teach a communication control method performed by a communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks including a first network and a second network using a plurality of subscriber identification modules (see page 1, Introduction and page 2, section 2, 1st para wherein MUSIM/Multi-SIM capable UE being registered for NTWK-A and NTWK-B, is mentioned), the communication control method comprising the steps of: transmitting, to a base station of the first network, a user equipment (UE) assistance information message including first information indicating a first identifier of a first frequency band for communication using the plurality of subscriber identification modules (see page 4, under proposal 9, wherein dynamic capability update to network/base station regarding UEs supported bands (that includes first information indicating a first identifier of a first frequency band), is mentioned and also see page 5, 1st para under Capability coordination requirements for idle/connected case, wherein a multi SIM UE transmitting by notifying the SIM operating in the connected mode (that includes the first frequency band), is mentioned and also see page 5, under proposal 11 wherein assistance information based method being employed to communicate capability signaling, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “transmitting, to a base station of the first network, a user equipment (UE) assistance information message including first information indicating a first identifier of a first frequency band for communication using the plurality of subscriber identification modules”).
Nokia et al. is silent in teaching the above communication control method performed by a communication apparatus comprising the steps of: transmitting second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in the first network.
However, Gurumoorthy et al. teach a above communication control method performed by a communication apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.4/UE) comprising the steps of transmitting second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in the first network (see Fig.7 and para [0112] wherein the UE providing a proactive indication to the network prior to detection of a band conflict, for example, the UE may report, to the network serving the first SIM, the serving cell frequency of its second SIM that is in idle mode ( that includes second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer) while establishing a connected mode with its first SIM, is mentioned, also see para [0097] wherein RF band conflicts occurring in Connected-IDLE scenarios where SIM1 is in an RRC connected mode on a first frequency band (e.g., band B1), is mentioned and also see para [0116] wherein the conflict indication of a band conflict from UE over the first SIM (e.g., through an IDC message, UE assistance information (UAI) message, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “transmitting second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in the first network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of Nokia et al. to include the step of transmitting second information indicating a second identifier of a second frequency band that the communication apparatus does not prefer, in a case where the communication apparatus is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in the first network, disclosed by Gurumoorthy et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a user equipment for efficiently providing multi-SIM UE capability indications to a base station for band conflict resolution and also performing effective dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) operations in wireless communication system.
Regarding claims 20, 22 and 24 Nokia et al. and Gurumoorthy et al. together teach the communication apparatus/base station of the first network/communication method according to claims 1/15/19 respectively.
Gurumoorthy et al. further teach the communication apparatus/base station of the first network/communication method according to claims 1/15/19, wherein the first and second information is used for determining a particular frequency band for communication by the base station of the first network (see para [0112] wherein the UE reporting, to the network serving the first SIM, the serving cell frequency of its second SIM that is in idle mode while establishing a connected mode with its first SIM, is mentioned and also, the proactive indication is provided as a UE capability indication within a connection request message, is mentioned and also see para [0113] wherein the network allocating frequency bands to the UE for measurement, handover & redirection based on the indication provided by the UE (i.e., to avoid band conflicts), is mentioned, all of which includes and equivalent to “the first and second information being used for determining a particular frequency band for communication by the base station of the first network”) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 1/15/19).
Regarding claims 21, 23 and 25 Nokia et al. and Gurumoorthy et al. together teach the communication apparatus/base station of the first network/communication method according to claims 1/15/19 respectively.
Gurumoorthy et al. further teach the communication apparatus/base station of the first network/communication method according to claims 1/15/19, further comprising a controller configured to/further comprising the step of include/including the first and second information in the UE assistance information message in a case where the communication apparatus is configured to provide the first and second information/wherein the UE assistance information message includes the first and second information in a case where the communication apparatus is configured to provide the first and second information (para [0112] wherein the UE providing a proactive indication to the network prior to detection of a band conflict, for example, the UE may report, to the network serving the first SIM, the serving cell frequency of its second SIM that is in idle mode, while establishing a connected mode with its first SIM, is mentioned, also see para [0116] wherein the conflict indication of a band conflict from UE over the first SIM (e.g., through an IDC message, UE assistance information (UAI) message, is mentioned and also see para [0119]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 1/15/19).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claims 1, 15 and 19 have been considered but are moot under the new ground(s) of rejection made in view of Gurumoorthy et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0361132 A1) as presented in the current office action.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bergqvist et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0191779 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to cell selection operations in the context of wireless communication networks.
Jha et al. (US Pat. No: 10,764,957 B2) disclose mechanisms relating to a method and a user equipment (UE) for optimizing resources of wireless communication network while providing 5th generation (5G) services.
Yi et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0329523 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to radio access networks in multicarrier communication systems.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
3/17/2026