DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-33 are pending in the instant application and subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2024, 08/16/2024 and 08/19/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 23-24 are objected to because of the following informalities: each of claims 23-24 contains a redundancy in the list of elements of the disclosed Markush group(s): claim 23 includes the element “imidazopyrazinyl” twice in the same Markush group listing, and claim 24 includes the element “imidazo[l,5-a]pyrazin-8-yl” twice in the same Markush group listing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 13, 30 and 32 are anticipated by Kelly.
Claims 1, 5, 13, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kelly (WO 2020/205683 A1)1.
Claim 1 is drawn to a genus of spirocyclic imidazolidinones bearing pendant aryl and/or heteroaryl rings with specific limitations on the groups linking the aryl/heteroaryl rings to the spirocyclic core, as shown in the table below. Kelly discloses a compound 1582 that anticipates the genus of instant formula I, as shown in the table below (page 41):
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Kelly
1
wherein:
Thus, claim 1 is anticipated by the disclosure of Kelly.
Claims 5 and 13 further limit claim 1, each to a narrower genus of compounds that is met by the disclosure of Kelly’s compound 158.
Claim 30 further limits claim 1 to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Kelly discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound disclosed therein in admixture with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (paragraph [0060]).
Claim 32 further limits claim 1 to a method of treating light chain amyloidosis in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a compound of claim 1. Kelly discloses a method of light chain amyloidosis in a patient, comprising administering to the patient an effective amount of any compound described therein (paragraph [0008]).
Thus, claims 5, 13, 30 and 32 are anticipated by the disclosure of Kelly.
Claims 1, 7-9, 15, 18-21, 25-26, 28 and 30-31 are anticipated by Quattropani.
Claims 1, 7-9, 15, 18-21, 25-26, 28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quattropani (WO 2020/039029 A1)3.
The limitations of claims 1 and 30 are discussed in the rejection above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
Quattropani discloses multiple compounds that anticipate the genus of claim 1, including for example Quattropani’s compounds IA34, 325 and 406 as shown in the table below (pages 17, 44 and 47, respectively):
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Quattropani
1
wherein:
Compound IA3
1
wherein:
Compound 32
1
wherein:
Compound 40
Thus, claim 1 is anticipated by the disclosure of Quattropani.
Claim 7 further limits claim 1 to wherein R1 is selected from a Markush group that includes pyridiyl, pyrimidinyl and phenyl, optionally substituted with methyl and/or cyano group(s), and is met by compounds 32 and 40 disclosed by Quattropani.
Claim 8 further limits claim 1 to wherein R1 is selected from a Markush group that includes pyrimidinyl, and is met by compound 40 disclosed by Quattropani.
Claim 9 further limits claim 1 to wherein R1 is selected from a Markush group that includes 4-cyanophenyl, and is met by compound 32 disclosed by Quattropani.
Thus, claims 7-9 are anticipated by the disclosure of Quattropani.
Claim 15 is drawn to a genus of spirocyclic imidazolidinediones bearing pendant aryl and/or heteroaryl rings with specific limitations on the groups linking the aryl/heteroaryl rings to the spirocyclic core, as shown in the table below. Quattropani discloses multiple compounds that anticipate the genus of claim 15, for example Quattropani’s compounds IA17, 58 and 139, shown in the table below (pages 17, 35 and 38, respectively):
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Quattropani
15
wherein:
Compound IA1
15
wherein:
Compound 5
15
wherein:
Compound 13
Thus, claim 15 is anticipated by the disclosure of Quattropani.
Claim 18 and 28 further limit claim 15, each to a narrower genus of compounds that is met by Quattropani’s compound IA1.
Claims 19 and 26 further limit claim 15, each to a narrower genus of compounds that is met by Quattropani’s compounds IA1, 5 and 13.
Claim 21 further limits claim 15 to a narrower genus of compounds that is met by Quattropani’s compound 13.
Claim 25 further limit claim 15, each to a narrower genus of compounds that is met by Quattropani’s compounds IA1 and 5.
Claim 26 further limits claim 15 to a narrower genus of compounds that is met by Quattropani’s compounds 5 and 13.
Claim 30 further limits claim 1 to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Claim 31 further limits claim 15 to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of claim 15 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Quattropani discloses that the invention disclosed therein relates to a pharmaceutical composition comprising as active ingredient an effective amount of at least one compound disclosed therein according to the invention and/or physiologically acceptable salts thereof together with pharmaceutically tolerable adjuvants and/or excipients (page 93, lines 11-14).
Thus, claims 18-19, 21, 25-26, 28 and 30-31 are anticipated by the disclosure of Quattropani.
Claims 15, 17, 28 and 31 are anticipated by Cowley.
Claims 15, 17, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cowley (WO 2016/071293 A2)10.
The limitations of claims 15, 28 and 31 are discussed in the rejection above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
Cowley discloses multiple compounds that anticipate the genus of instant formula II as claimed in claim 15, including for example Cowley’s compound 40711, shown in the table below (page 237):
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Cowley
15
wherein:
Thus, claim 15 is anticipated by the disclosure of Cowley.
Claims 17 and 28 further limit claim 15, each to a narrower genus that is met by Cowley’s compound 407.
Regarding claim 31, Cowley provides a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound disclosed therein and a pharmaceutically acceptable additive and/or excipient (pages 244-245, bridging paragraph).
Thus, claims 17, 28 and 31 are anticipated by the disclosure of Cowley.
Claims 15, 18-21 and 25-28 are anticipated by CAS 941970-37-2.
Claims 15, 18-21 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS 941970-37-2 (Chemical Abstracts Services, registry number 941970-37-2, originally entered on 07/10/2007 by Life Chemicals, Inc.).
The limitations of claims 15, 18-19, 21, 25-26 and 28 are discussed in the rejections above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection.
CAS 941970-37-2 discloses a compound12 that anticipates the genus of claim 15, as shown in the table below:
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
CAS 941970-37-2
15
wherein:
Thus, claim 15 is anticipated by the disclosure of CAS 941970-37-2.
Claims 18-21 and 25-28 further limit the genus of compounds of claim 15, each to a narrower genus, and each is met by the compound disclosed by CAS 941970-37-2.
Thus, claims 18-21 and 25-28 are anticipated by the disclosure of CAS 941970-37-2.
Double Patenting
The limitations of claims 1 and 15 are discussed in the rejections above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection below.
Claims 1, 5, 10-11, 13, 15-17, 23-24, 26 and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 64 and 130 of copending Application No. 18/494,587 (hereafter referred to as “Qiu”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Qiu’s claims 64 and 130 disclose compounds that anticipate the instant formulae I and II of instant claims 1 and 15, for examples Qiu’s compounds 213 and 2514, respectively, as shown in the table below:
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Qiu
1
wherein:
Compound 2
15
wherein:
Compound 25
Instant claims 5, 10-11 and 13 further limit the genus of compounds of instant claim 1, each to a narrower genus that is anticipated by Qiu’s compound 2 of Qiu’s claim 64.
Instant claims 16-17, 23-24, 26 and 28 further limit the genus of compounds of instant claim 15, each to a narrower genus that is anticipated by Qiu’s compound 25 of Qiu’s claim 130.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The limitations of claims 1 and 15 are discussed in the rejections above and hereby incorporated into the instant rejection below.
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-11, 13, 15-17, 22-24, 26 and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 43 and 86 of copending Application No. 18/494,601 (hereafter referred to as “Protego”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because because Protego’s claims 43 and 86 disclose compounds that anticipate the instant formulae I and II of instant claims 1 and 15, for examples Protego’s compounds 315 and 2616, respectively, as shown in the table below:
Claim Number(s) of Instant Application
Instant Application
Protego
1
wherein:
Compound 3
15
wherein:
Compound 26
Claims 2-3, 6, 10-11 and 13 further limit the genus of compounds of claim 1, each to a narrower genus that is met by Protego’s compound 3.
Claims 16-17, 22-24, 26 and 28 further limit the genus of compounds of claim 15, each to a narrower genus that is met by Protego’s compound 26.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12, 14, 29 and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/W.J.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629
1 Cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement dated 08/15/2024.
2 3-{2-[7-(diethylamino)-4-methyl-2-oxo-2H-chromen-3-yl]ethyl}-8-phenyl-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decan-2-one
3 Cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement dated 08/15/2024.
4 N-[5-({3-[(6-methylpyridin-3-yl)methyl]-2-oxo-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decan-
8-yl}methyl)-1,3-thiazol-2-yl]acetamide
5 4-({8-[1-(1,3-benzothiazol-5-yl)ethyl]-2-oxo-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decan-3-yl}methyl)benzonitrile
6 8-[1-(1,3-benzothiazol-5-yl)ethyl]-3-[(pyrimidin-2-yl)methyl]-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decan-2-one
7 N-{5-[(2,4-dioxo-3-{[6-(trifluoromethyl)pyridin-3-yl]methyl}-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decan-8-yl)methyl]-1,3-thiazol-2-yl}acetamide
8 8-[1-(1,3-benzothiazol-5-yl)ethyl]-3-[(pyrimidin-5-yl)methyl]-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decane-2,4-dione
9 4-({8-[1-(1,3-benzothiazol-5-yl)ethyl]-2,4-dioxo-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decan-3-yl}methyl)benzonitrile
10 Cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement dated 08/15/2024.
11 8-(6-chloro-1H-indazol-4-yl)-3-[(1,3-oxazol-2-yl)methyl]-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decane-2,4-dione
12 2,4-Dioxo-N-(2-phenylethyl)-8-(phenylmethyl)-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decane-3-acetamide
13 3-(2-{4-[(3S)-3-ethyl-3-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl]-6-methyl-2-oxo-1,2-dihydropyridin-1-yl}ethyl)-8-{imidazo[1,5-a]pyrazin-8-yl}-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decan-2-one
14 8-{imidazo[1,5-a]pyrazin-8-yl}-3-(2-{6-methyl-4-[(3R)-3-methyl-3-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl]-2-oxo-1,2-dihydropyridin-1-yl}ethyl)-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decane-2,4-dione
15 N-[2-(8-{imidazo[1,5-a]pyrazin-8-yl}-2-oxo-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decan-3-yl)ethyl]-3-methyl-5-[(3R)-3-methyl-3-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl]pyridine-2-carboxamide
16 3-{2-[3-methyl-5-(3-methyl-3-phenylpyrrolidin-1-yl)pyridin-2-yl]ethyl}-8-(pyrimidin-2-yl)-1,3,8-triazaspiro[4.5]decane-2,4-dione