DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 10/11/2023.
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/01/2025 and 10/11/2023 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a greenhouse integrated control unit configured to set an interval” recited in claims 1-2 and 4-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 1 is directed to software per se. More specifically, claim 1 recites an apparatus comprising “a moving enabling control unit” and “a greenhouse integrated control unit”. Specification teaches “a moving enabling control unit” and “a greenhouse integrated control unit” may be software and does not exclude them being software. Therefore, claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as patent ineligible as software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (WO 2020/103039 A1), in view of Mukter-Uz-Zaman et al. (US 2012/0053706 A1).
As to claims 1 and 7, LIU discloses the invention as claimed, including an apparatus for performing high-capacity wireless communication in an environment (Figs. 1-2), the apparatus comprising:
a moving enabling control unit comprising a motor for moving at least one wireless router (Figs. 1-2, 30) in an upper end portion of a system, a moving enabling module including a motor control module and a motor communication module, and a moving enabling rails installed in a predetermined number, length and direction at the upper end portion of the system (¶0031, “As shown in FIG. 1, in this embodiment, the wireless router autonomous movement system 200 further includes a guide rail 60, which is used to provide a preset path 50. The wireless router 30 can be mounted on the guide rail 60 and can move along the preset path 50 under the guidance of the guide rail 60. Specifically, the movable base 33 may be mounted on the guide rail 60, and the router body 31 is mounted on the guide rail 60 via the movable base 33”; ¶0032, “By setting a guide rail 60 above the conference room, that is, on the ceiling, and installing the wireless router 30 of the present application on the guide rail 60, and driving the router body 31 to slide on the guide rail 60 through the mobile base 33, the spatial position of the wireless router 30 can be autonomously moved, and a balance point of network connection can be found for each terminal device 40 to ensure that each terminal device 40 has better communication quality”); and
a system integrated control unit configured to set an interval of movement of the wireless router by communicating with the motor communication module and to generate and transmit a control command for controlling the motor control module in such a manner that the wireless router moves at the set interval of movement (¶0012, “The mobile base is controlled to move and stay at the target location, wherein the plurality of terminal devices have optimal comprehensive communication quality when the wireless router is located at the target location”; ¶0026, “In this embodiment, the controller 34 is used to control the mobile base 33 to move along a preset path 50, and detect the signal strength information of the wireless network signal received by multiple terminal devices 40 during the movement of the wireless router 30, and calculate the target position of the wireless router 30 based on the detected signal strength information, and control the mobile base 33 to move and stay at the target position, wherein the multiple terminal devices 40 have the best comprehensive communication quality when the wireless router 30 is located at the target position”; ¶0029, “the preset path 50 may include an initial position. When controlling the movable base 33 to move along the preset path 50, the controller 34 first controls the movable base 33 to move to the initial position, and then controls the movable base 33 to move along the preset path 50. In another embodiment, the controller 34 controls the movable base 33 to move along a preset path 50 starting from a current position; ¶0038, “During the movement of the wireless router 30, the controller 34 controls the mobile base 33 to stay at each of the preset signal detection points on the preset path 50 for a preset time”; ¶0041, “the controller 34 may determine the plurality of preset signal detection points according to a plurality of preset coordinate values on the preset path 50 .It can be understood that in one embodiment, the wireless router 30 may also include a positioning unit 35 (as shown in Figure 2), which is used to detect the location information of the wireless router 30 during the movement of the wireless router 30. The controller 34 controls the wireless router 30 to stay at each preset signal detection point during the movement according to the preset coordinates of the multiple preset signal detection points and the location information of the wireless router 30”; ¶0042, “the controller 34 can control the mobile base 33 to move along the preset path 50 according to a preset moving speed, and control the mobile base 33 to stay for a second preset time after each movement of the first preset time, and determine the stop position of the mobile base 33 as the multiple preset signal detection points”; ¶0073, “various parameters used by the wireless router 30, such as the coordinate range of the preset path 50, the first preset weight and the second preset weight, the multiple preset coordinate values, the moving speed, the first preset time and the second preset time, etc., can all be initialized and pre-set”).
LIU does not specifically disclose a greenhouse environment.
However, Mukter-Uz-Zaman discloses a greenhouse environment (Figs. 2-3; ¶0006, “EP 1,374,667 A2, which describes a small-sized greenhouse with an internal environment. It is described therein that separate sensors are utilized to measure the condition of different parameter in the greenhouse and the result of measurement would be displayed on a display unit”; ¶0043, “a large green house environment, wireless data communication can be used to collect the sensor data…the integrated sensor systems 10 and the feedback control systems 20 are arranged in arrays 90. Only certain number of the integrated sensor systems 10 and certain number of the feedback control systems 20 are limited to be incorporated into an array 90. Also preferably provided on the array 90 is one wireless gateway 40. The number of the wireless gateway 40 is preferably limited to one unit per an array 90 as shown in FIG. 1”; ¶0045, “a process to profile and control the parameters/field conditions of the plants grown in the environment/greenhouse is shown. The process is shown commencing with sensing and measuring field conditions by means of integrated sensor systems 10”; ¶0046, “the data of the measured parameters/field conditions, determines revised field conditions based on the data, according to the plants' requirements, and sends feedback commands to the feedback control system 20. According to the feedback control devised by the PC-based system in commands form, the microcontroller unit 49 controls the integrated sensor system 10, the ROIC 16, and utilizes the serial memory unit 41 of the wireless gateway 40”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LIU to include a greenhouse environment, as taught by Mukter-Uz-Zaman because it would measure the condition of different parameter in the greenhouse and the result of measurement would be displayed on a display unit, thereby controlling the parameters/field conditions of the plants grown in the environment/greenhouse (Mukter-Uz-Zaman; ¶0006; ¶0043; ¶0045).
As to claim 2, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, LIU discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the system integrated control unit transmits a control command for designating a location of the wireless router to the motor communication module, and wherein, when receiving the control command through the motor communication module, the motor control module controls the motor in such a manner that the wireless router moves to the designated location that corresponds to the control command (¶0012, “The mobile base is controlled to move and stay at the target location, wherein the plurality of terminal devices have optimal comprehensive communication quality when the wireless router is located at the target location”; ¶0026, “In this embodiment, the controller 34 is used to control the mobile base 33 to move along a preset path 50, and detect the signal strength information of the wireless network signal received by multiple terminal devices 40 during the movement of the wireless router 30, and calculate the target position of the wireless router 30 based on the detected signal strength information, and control the mobile base 33 to move and stay at the target position, wherein the multiple terminal devices 40 have the best comprehensive communication quality when the wireless router 30 is located at the target position”; ¶0029, “the preset path 50 may include an initial position. When controlling the movable base 33 to move along the preset path 50, the controller 34 first controls the movable base 33 to move to the initial position, and then controls the movable base 33 to move along the preset path 50. In another embodiment, the controller 34 controls the movable base 33 to move along a preset path 50 starting from a current position; ¶0038, “During the movement of the wireless router 30, the controller 34 controls the mobile base 33 to stay at each of the preset signal detection points on the preset path 50 for a preset time”; ¶0041, “the controller 34 may determine the plurality of preset signal detection points according to a plurality of preset coordinate values on the preset path 50 .It can be understood that in one embodiment, the wireless router 30 may also include a positioning unit 35 (as shown in Figure 2), which is used to detect the location information of the wireless router 30 during the movement of the wireless router 30. The controller 34 controls the wireless router 30 to stay at each preset signal detection point during the movement according to the preset coordinates of the multiple preset signal detection points and the location information of the wireless router 30”; ¶0042, “the controller 34 can control the mobile base 33 to move along the preset path 50 according to a preset moving speed, and control the mobile base 33 to stay for a second preset time after each movement of the first preset time, and determine the stop position of the mobile base 33 as the multiple preset signal detection points”; ¶0073, “various parameters used by the wireless router 30, such as the coordinate range of the preset path 50, the first preset weight and the second preset weight, the multiple preset coordinate values, the moving speed, the first preset time and the second preset time, etc., can all be initialized and pre-set”).
As to claim 3, LIU discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wireless router includes at least one stationary wireless router (¶0003, “fixed wireless routers”) and at least one moving wireless router that is controlled in such a manner as to move along the moving enabling rail (¶0038, “During the movement of the wireless router 30, the controller 34 controls the mobile base 33 to stay at each of the preset signal detection points on the preset path 50 for a preset time”; ¶0041, “the controller 34 may determine the plurality of preset signal detection points according to a plurality of preset coordinate values on the preset path 50 .It can be understood that in one embodiment, the wireless router 30 may also include a positioning unit 35 (as shown in Figure 2), which is used to detect the location information of the wireless router 30 during the movement of the wireless router 30. The controller 34 controls the wireless router 30 to stay at each preset signal detection point during the movement according to the preset coordinates of the multiple preset signal detection points and the location information of the wireless router 30”; ¶0042, “the controller 34 can control the mobile base 33 to move along the preset path 50 according to a preset moving speed, and control the mobile base 33 to stay for a second preset time after each movement of the first preset time, and determine the stop position of the mobile base 33 as the multiple preset signal detection points”).
As to claim 4, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, LIU discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the system integrated control unit checks an operating state of the moving enabling control unit through periodic heartbeat communication with the motor communication module (It is noted that heartbeat message/communication is a signal sent periodically from a system to another to indicate that it is alive and functioning properly, which is well known in the art).
As to claim 5, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, LIU discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein, in a case where the system integrated control unit does not receive a response from the motor communication module as a result of the heartbeat communication, the system integrated control unit retransmits a heartbeat message a predetermined number of times at a predetermined time interval (It is noted that heartbeat message/communication is a signal sent periodically from a system to another to indicate that it is alive and functioning properly, which is well known in the art).
As to claim 6, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, LIU discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein when it is impossible to communicate with the motor communication module after retransmitting the heartbeat message, the system integrated control unit generate communication failure information and alarm information for alerting about the motor communication module (It is noted that heartbeat message/communication is a signal sent periodically from a system to another to indicate that it is alive and functioning properly, and the system sends a failure alarm when the heartbeat message/communication is not received within a predetermined period of time, which is well known in the art).
As to claims 8-12, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2-6 above, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lloyd (US 11,356,909), Gil et al. (US 2016/0119798), Daugherty (US 2023/0153926), Ching (US 2014/0137468), Kramarenko et al. (US 2022/0015287), TU et al. (US 2022/0107300), SUNTYCH (US 2023/0262865), SUNTYCH (US 2023/0037527) disclose providing an automated plant probe system and method.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 September 30, 2025