DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 29 December 2025. Claims 1-30 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
10 January 2025
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (hereinafter Lu) (US 2024/0179739 A1) in view of further support by Ahn et al. (US 2017/0338935 A1; hereinafter Ahn; also, see ).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 27, and 29, Lu discloses a first wireless device (e.g., 600, 1000, STA) { (see pg. 6, [0290, 0276-0277]; Figs. 30-34) }, comprising:
a processing system (e.g., 620, 1010) that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry (e.g., 1020) that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless device (e.g., 600, 1000) to { (see pg. 6, [0290, 0276-0277]; Figs. 30-34) }:
receive a first signaling indicating a first reservation of a first transmission opportunity for a second wireless device (e.g., 600, 1000; STA) on a first primary channel (e.g., primary link) of a first bandwidth, the first bandwidth comprising a first plurality of channels that are reservable via the first primary channel (e.g., primary link), the first signaling indicating an ending time of the first reservation { (see pg. 4, [0073-0074]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34), where the system provides communication with a primary link }; and
transmit or receive, via a second primary channel, a second signaling indicating a second reservation of a second transmission opportunity (e.g., TXOP), wherein an ending time of the second transmission opportunity occurs prior to the ending time of the first reservation and prior to a start of a transition delay associated with a transition delay associated with a transition between the first primary channel and the second primary channel for a communication event scheduled on one of the first plurality of channels or on one of a second plurality of channels of a second bandwidth { (see pg. 4, [0073-0074, 0077-0085]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34), where the system provides communication with a secondary link }.
Lu inexplicitly discloses having the feature(s) of a transition between the first primary channel and the second primary channel for a communication event. However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) a transition between the first primary channel and the second primary channel for a communication event was well known in the art, as taught by Ahn.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Ahn discloses the feature(s) a transition (e.g., switching) between the first primary channel (e.g., basic primary channel) and the second primary channel (e.g., alternative primary channel) for a communication event { (see pg. 3, [0038]; pg. 17, [0192]; pg. 2, [0013]; Figs. 8, 24-27, & 31-35), where the system provides a switching between basic primary channel and alternative primary channel }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Lu as further alternatively supported by Ahn to have the feature(s) a transition between the first primary channel and the second primary channel for a communication event, in order to provide methods to increase a data transmission speed of the terminal, as taught by Ahn (see pg. 4, [0054]).
Regarding claims 2, 17, and 30, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit or receive one or more packets, during the second transmission opportunity, prior to the ending time of the second transmission opportunity in accordance with the second signaling { (see pg. 4, [0077-0085, 0073-0074,]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein:
the transition delay is associated with switching from the second primary channel to the first primary channel, and the communication event is scheduled on one of the first plurality of channels { (see pg. 4, [0073-0074, 0077-0085]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein: the transition delay is associated with switching from the second primary channel to the first primary channel, and the communication event is scheduled on one of the second plurality of channels { (see pp. 9-10, [0177]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claims 5 and 20, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 4), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 4, wherein the first plurality of channels and the second plurality of channels are associated with a non-simultaneous transmit and receive link pair, an enhanced multi-link single radio link set, or an enhanced multi-link multi radio link set { (see pp. 3-4, [0070, lines 12-16; 0071]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claims 6 and 21, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 5), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 5, wherein the transition delay is associated with an enhanced multi-link single radio transition delay or an enhanced multi-link multi radio transition delay { (see pp. 9-10, [0177, 0185-0187]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claims 7 and 22, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 4), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 4, wherein: the transition delay is indicated in one or more management frames { (see pp. 9-10, [0177, 0185-0187]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claims 8 and 23, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive a third signaling indicating a third reservation of a third transmission opportunity, wherein a second communication event is scheduled to occur during the third transmission opportunity on one of the first plurality of channels or on one of the second plurality of channels; and transmit a response to the second signaling, wherein the response indicates a refusal to communicate during at least a portion of the third transmission opportunity { (see pg. 12, [0126]; pg. 4, [0073-0074, 0077-0085]; Figs. 2-4, 12, & 30-34) }.
Regarding claims 9 and 24, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive, from the second wireless device or from a third wireless device, a third signaling indicating a third reservation of a third transmission opportunity, wherein a second communication event is scheduled to occur during the third transmission opportunity on one of the first plurality of channels or on one of the second plurality of channels; and transmit an instruction to the second wireless device or the third wireless device to refrain from transmitting during at least a portion of the third transmission opportunity { (see pg. 12, [0126]; pg. 4, [0073-0074, 0077-0085]; Figs. 2-4, 12, & 30-34) }.
Regarding claims 10 and 25, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive a third signaling indicating a third reservation of a third transmission opportunity, wherein a second communication event is scheduled to occur during the third transmission opportunity on one of the first plurality of channels or on one of the second plurality of channels; and refrain from transmitting a response to the third signaling based at least in part on the second communication event being scheduled to occur during the third transmission opportunity { (see pg. 12, [0126]; pg. 4, [0073-0074, 0077-0085]; Figs. 2-4, 12, & 30-34) }.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 10), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 10, wherein the second communication event is a dynamic event { (see pg. 4, [0073-0074, 0077-0085]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein: the transition delay is zero { (see pp. 9-10, [0185-0186]; pg. 5, [0107-0108]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the communication event is a target beacon transmission beam scheduled on one of the first plurality of channels or one of the second plurality of channels, a target wake time service period scheduled on one of the first plurality of channels, or a target wake time service period scheduled on one of the second plurality of channels { (see pg. 4, [0073-0074, 0077-0085]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 13), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 13, wherein the communication event is a restricted target wake time service period associated with the first primary channel that applies to the second primary channel or a coordinated restricted target wake time service period associated with the first primary channel that applies to the second primary channel { (see pg. 4, [0073-0074, 0077-0085]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lu and Ahn discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 13), in addition Lu further discloses the first wireless device of claim 13, wherein the communication event is a coordinated restricted target wake time service period associated with the first primary channel, and the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: transmit or receive a third signaling indicating whether the communication event applies to the second primary channel, a third primary channel of the second bandwidth, or any combination thereof { (see pg. 4, [0073-0074, 0077-0085]; Figs. 2-4 & 30-34) }.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amended language, new limitations, and/or new claims.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the applied reference(s) provide more than adequate support and to further clarify (see the above claims for relevant citations and comments in this section).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahn et al. (US 2017/0188336 A1) discloses wireless communication method and wireless communication device for broadband link configuration.
Naribole et al. (US 2021/0289499 A1) discloses shared transmission opportunity operation in multi-access point coordination.
Naik et al. (US 2025/0126645 A1) discloses enabling coordinated multiple access on multiple primary channels.
Fang et al. (US 2023/0061407 A1) discloses wideband channel access with multiple primary channels.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
13 April 2026