DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the July 20th, 2026 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”). The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received on July 20th, 2026:
Claims 1 and 4-8 are pending in the present application. Claims 1 and 7 have been amended. Claims 2-3 have been cancelled. No new matter has been added.
All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings is withdrawn in view of the corrected drawings filed on July 20th, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 20 have been fully considered as described below:
Regarding Claim 1, applicant argues that reference Yang does not disclose a fixing part comprising a first opening, second opening, and connection passage in communication with the flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) as claimed (see pgs. 5-6 of the “Remarks”).
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
As cited in the rejection below, Yang discloses:
a substrate holder 140 in which is filled with a mold by injection molding forming a molding part ([0104]), wherein the molding part comprises a fixing part to which the flexible printed circuit board is fixed ([0065]-[0066]). The fixing part comprises a first opening on a lower surface of the molding part (Yang teaches that the substrate holder 140 housing covers two surfaces, an upper portion and a front surface portion ([0031], [0064], [0101]); therefore, the lower/bottom surface of the substrate is not covered by the substrate holder and an opening portion is formed at the bottom of the molding part where the injection molding is performed ([0104], Fig. 1));
a second opening (140a, 140b) on a side of the formed molding part;
and a connection passage connecting the first opening and the second opening ([0084] teaches that the flexible printed circuit board is inserted into the first opening and drawn out through the second opening (either 140a or 140b in which are located at a side of the molding part)). The FPCB is inserted through the first opening located at a lower surface of the molding part and drawn out to the second opening through a connection passage ([0066], [0070], Fig. 1).
As Yang teaches all claim limitations and the applicant has not shown any deficiencies in the previous rejection, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (U.S. Pat. No. 20200014001 A1).
[AltContent: textbox (Yang (Fig. 1))]
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches a battery pack comprising:
a battery cell ([0024]-[0025]);
an electrode tab coupled to the battery cell ([0051]);
a protection circuit module electrically connected to the battery cell ([0008]), the protection circuit module comprising a circuit board 121 ([0051]) and a molding part ([0104] discloses a substrate holder 140 in which is filled with a mold by injection molding forming a molding part), covering the circuit board ([0105], Fig. 1);
and a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) in which is electrically connected to the protection circuit module ([0081] teaches a circuit board 121 formed in a multilayer structure with a flexible substrate in which a connection line 180 can be made integral with said flexible substrate; therefore, the flexible portion of the circuit board including the flexible substrate and connection line is analogous to a flexible printed circuit board);
wherein the molding part comprises a fixing part to which the flexible printed circuit board is fixed ([0065]-[0066]).
Yang teaches that the fixing part comprises:
a first opening on a lower surface of the molding part (Yang teaches that the substrate holder 140 housing covers two surfaces, an upper portion and a front surface portion ([0031], [0064], [0101]); forming an opening portion at the bottom of the molding part when the injection molding is performed ([0104], Fig. 1));
a second opening (140a, 140b) on a side of the formed molding part;
and a connection passage connecting the first opening and the second opening ([0084] teaches that the flexible printed circuit board is inserted into the first opening and drawn out through the second opening (either 140a or 140b in which are located at a side of the molding part)).
Yang teaches that the FPCB is inserted through the first opening located at a lower surface of the molding part and drawn out to the second opening through a connection passage ([0066], [0070], Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (U.S. Pat. No. 20200014001 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang teaches all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Yang teaches an electronic device (circuit element 122) seated on a first surface of the circuit board ([0059], Fig. 1); and a first pad and a second pad (electrode lead tabs, [0059]) on a first surface of the circuit board, wherein the first pad is electrically connected to the electrode tabs and the second pad is electrically connected to the FPCB (both the first and second pads (tab leads) are electrically connected to the FPCB, [0059]).
Yang does not teach arrangement of the first pad and second pad on a second surface of the circuit board.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as a mere design choice, to arrange the electronic device and first/second pad on opposite surfaces of the circuit board since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art; and the device would not perform differently than the prior art device. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the rearrangement to further protect and secure the circuit board within the molding part. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)."
Further, the claim language reciting that “the second pad is electrically connected to the flexible printed circuit board” relies upon the circuit board and FPCB being separate structures in which are connected by the second pad. However, making parts separable and establishing connection there between would be an obvious design choice as electrically connected the circuit board, FPCB, and tab leads are necessary for the operability of the prior art; and the Courts have held that making known elements separable is within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348 (CCP A 1961) (see MPEP § 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to separate the circuit board and FPCB to improve contact with the battery cells and improve flexibility for establishing exterior connections. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)."
Regarding Claim 7, Yang teaches all claim limitations as applied to Claim 2 above. Yang teaches that the FPCB is integrally formed with the circuit board in which is coupled to the lower surface of the molding part ([0079], [0104]). Yang further teaches that another end 182 of the FPCB protrudes from [AltContent: textbox (Yang (Fig. 9))]
the side of the molding part 140a (Fig. 9, [0095]).
Yang does not teach that the FPCB is coupled to a lower surface of the molding part in which relies upon the circuit board and FPCB being separate structures.
However, making parts separable and establishing connection there between would be an obvious design choice as electrically connecting the circuit board, FPCB, and tab leads are necessary for the operability of the prior art; and the Courts have held that making known elements separable is within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348 (CCP A 1961) (see MPEP § 2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to separate the circuit board and FPCB to improve contact with the battery cells and improve flexibility of the FPCB for establishing exterior connections. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)."
Regarding Claim 8, Yang teaches all claim limitations as applied to Claim 7 above. Yang teaches that the battery pack comprises a connector 182 located at the “another end” of the flexible printed circuit board ([0095], Fig. 9).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (U.S. Pat. No. 20200014001 A1) as further evidenced by Takada et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170279106 A1).
[AltContent: textbox (Takada et al. (Fig. 4))]
Regarding Claim 5, Yang teaches all claim limitations as applied to Claim 4 above. Yang teaches injection molding within the substrate holder 140 ([0104]) forming a molding part. It would be obvious to apply the molding part to cover the first surface and the electronic device there within to provide further protection and reinforcement. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)." As further evidence of said configuration, Takada et al. provides a molding part 2 covering the circuit board 3 and an electronic device 17 (temperature sensor) located on a first (upper) surface of the circuit board (Fig. 4, [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang teaches all claim limitations as applied to Claim 4 above. Yang teaches injection molding within the substrate holder 140 ([0104]) forming a molding part. It would be obvious to apply the molding part to cover the second surface to provide further protection and reinforcement; and to further expose the first pad and the second pad to establish electrical connection there between. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)." As further evidence, Takada et al. provides a molding part 2 covering the circuit board 3 and an electronic device 17 (temperature sensor) located on a second (lower) surface of the circuit board (Fig. 4, [0023]-[0024]). It would be obvious to expose the first pad and the second pad to allow electrical connection to the electrode terminals as further evident by Takada et al. in which teaches a pad (lead plate 14) in which is exposed from a side of the molding part 2 to allow electrical contact and connection between the circuit board, electrode terminals, and battery cells ([0048], Fig. 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729