DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment and arguments filed on July 17, 2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, 15, 16, 19-28 and 30 are rejected.
Claims 6, 14, 17, 18 and 29 are objected to.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, 15, 16, 19-28 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (See Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5, 7-9, 13, 15, 16, 18, 20, 21, 23, 24, 28 and 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0008080, hereinafter Pettersson, in view of Chu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0260086, hereinafter Chu, and Liu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0052900, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 1, Pettersson discloses a first access point (AP), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (Abstract; Figure 1, 3-5, 8, 11-15), the processing system configured to cause the first AP to:
transmit, to a second AP, a first signal on a secondary primary channel indicating that the first AP has a portion of a transmission opportunity available to share with the second AP (Figure 4; Paragraph [0054] the first AP 401 initiates the sharing of the TXOP by sending a CTI message 411. The CTI message 411 indicates that the first AP 401 has obtained a TXOP and, is willing to share its TXOP. The CTI message 411 may at the same time indicate reservation of the TXOP to other devices. Further, the CTI message 411 indicates the bandwidth part for which the TXOP was obtained, e.g., in terms of channel numbers or a bandwidth size and a starting channel number. The first AP 401 may transmit the CTI message 401 on the same link where the TXOP was obtained, i.e., in the bandwidth part indicated in the CTI message 411. In some scenarios, e.g., if the first AP 401 is a multi-link device, the CTI message 411 could also be transmitted on another link, e.g., in another bandwidth part than indicated in the CTI message 411);
and transmit a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP (Figure 4; Paragraph [0054-0058] he second AP 402 receives the CTI message 411 and responds with a CTR message 412, thereby indicating that it is willing to participate in the sharing of the TXOP. By means of the CTI message, AP1 notifies the other APs that it has obtained the TXOP and is willing to share it. The first AP 401 then sends a CTAS message 413 to the second AP 402, to inform the second AP 402, i.e., the sharing AP, about its allocated resources and the TX start time in the shared TXOP. The second AP 402 then sends a CTLS message 414 to its associated STA(s) 403).
Pettersson readily discloses transmission of a first and second signal indicating a transmission opportunity available for use but may not get into specific detail regarding the secondary primary channel and transmit a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP.
However, Chu more specifically teaches the secondary primary channel and transmit a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP (Abstract; Figure 8; Paragraph [0030-0052] a sharing AP indicates the RU allocated to a shared AP in an MU-RTS TXS based on a bandwidth of a sharing AP's PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS. In one embodiment, the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS is no wider than the BSS operating bandwidth (BW) of the sharing AP. In another embodiment, the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS is no wider than the BSS operating BW of the shared AP. The shared AP may also use the 20 MHz channels that are within a frequency of its operating channel In order for a sharing AP to allocate part of its TXOP to a shared AP, the sharing AP may use a scheduling channel with a bandwidth defined by the sharing AP's bandwidth capability and the sharing AP's primary 20 MHz channel. The scheduling channel of the sharing AP may span a frequency of the primary 20 MHz channel of shared AP. Further, the scheduling channel of the shared AP may span a frequency of the primary 20 MHz channel of sharing AP; That is Chu discloses various primary channel frequency bandwidth parts in which it uses a secondary primary channel to transmit to the second AP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson with the teachings of Chu. The method enables the shared AP or sharing AP to puncture 20 Mega Hertz channels of the wireless channel when transmitting data to a station, thus avoiding interference on the punctured subchannels while still utilizing the remainder of the available spectrum (Chu Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003 and 0013-0023]).
Pettersson in view of Chu disclose multiple primary channels with TXOP shared over a bandwidth but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first AP is in communication with the second AP using multiple primary channel access over multiple primary channels that comprise at least a primary channel and the secondary primary channel.
However, Liu more specifically teaches wherein the first AP is in communication with the second AP using multiple primary channel access over multiple primary channels that comprise at least a primary channel and the secondary primary channel (Figure 1, 4 and 5; Paragraph [0048-0064] The one or more second wireless communication devices include a device that uses a 20 MHz primary channel, a 20 MHz secondary channel, and a 40 MHz secondary channel. Selecting the primary channel for the first wireless communication device can include selecting a channel in the 40 MHz secondary channel as the primary channel for the first wireless communication device; The primary channel for the newly activated device can be selected such that the new BSS 510 has increased chances for obtaining a transmission opportunity (TXOP). To obtain a TXOP, a device such as an AP in the BSS can monitor one or more primary channels and one or more secondary channels for wireless traffic. If a primary channel has been idle for an Arbitration InterFrame Space (AIFS) plus a back-off duration, and one or more secondary channels have been idle for at least a Point coordination function InterFrame Space (PIFS) duration, the device can use the idle channels for the TXOP. The primary channel 515B of the new BSS 510 can be selected to overlap with the primary channel 525A of the existing BSS 520. Based on this option, the new BSS 510 can share the usage of 515B with the existing BSS 520, and the new BSS 510 can access channels 515C and 515D when it gains access to channel 515B. With respect to the traffic loads of the channels, when the new BSS 510 is fully loaded, it can gain access to channels 515C and 515D if the new BSS 510 has a TXOP. When the new BSS 510 is lightly loaded and the existing BSS 520 is fully loaded, the new BSS 510 can compete with the existing BSS 520 for accessing channel 515B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson in view of Chu with the teachings of Liu. Liu provides a solution where utilization rate of primary and secondary channel frequency bands are increased (Liu Abstract; Paragraph [0004-0017 and 0035]).
Regarding Claim 5, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the first AP of Claim 2. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein, to transmit the first signal, the processing system is configured to cause the first AP to: transmit, to the second AP, a transmission allocation message on the secondary primary channel identifying resources allocated to the portion of the transmission opportunity (Pettersson Figure 4; Paragraph [0053-0054] The first AP 401 initiates the sharing of the TXOP by sending a CTI message 411. The CTI message 411 indicates that the first AP 401 has obtained a TXOP and, is willing to share its TXOP. The CTI message 411 may at the same time indicate reservation of the TXOP to other devices. Further, the CTI message 411 indicates the bandwidth part for which the TXOP was obtained, e.g., in terms of channel numbers or a bandwidth size and a starting channel number. The first AP 401 may transmit the CTI message 401 on the same link where the TXOP was obtained, i.e., in the bandwidth part indicated in the CTI message 411. In some scenarios, e.g., if the first AP 401 is a multi-link device, the CTI message 411 could also be transmitted on another link, e.g., in another bandwidth part than indicated in the CTI message 411; Chu Paragraph [0018] The sharing AP 102 may transmit a MU-RTS TXS 120 to the shared AP 104 to share a service period of a TXOP with the shared AP 104. Further, a clear to send (CTS) 122 transmitted by the shared AP in response to the MU-RTS TXS indicates the confirmation of the shared AP which will use the service period of the TXOP. For example, the shared AP 104 may transmit a CTS 122 in response to the MU-RTS TXS 120 transmitted by the sharing AP);
and confirm that the second AP is tuned to the secondary primary channel according to a response message received from the second AP (Pettersson Figure 4; Paragraph [0055] The second AP 402 receives the CTI message 411 and responds with a CTR message 412, thereby indicating that it is willing to participate in the sharing of the TXOP; Chu Paragraph [0018] The sharing AP 102 may transmit a MU-RTS TXS 120 to the shared AP 104 to share a service period of a TXOP with the shared AP 104. Further, a clear to send (CTS) 122 transmitted by the shared AP in response to the MU-RTS TXS indicates the confirmation of the shared AP which will use the service period of the TXOP. For example, the shared AP 104 may transmit a CTS 122 in response to the MU-RTS TXS 120 transmitted by the sharing AP).
Regarding Claim 7, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the first AP of Claim 2. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first AP to: re-tune from the secondary primary channel to a primary channel upon transmission of the second signal, the second AP associated with multiple primary channels that comprise the primary channel and the secondary primary channel (Pettersson Paragraph [0074] After completion of the data transfer in the shared TXOP, all STAs may switch back to their original band, i.e., the band where the primary bandwidth of their associated AP is located; Chu Paragraph [0052-0057]).
Regarding Claim 8, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the first AP of Claim 2. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first AP to: monitor a primary channel to determine that the primary channel is unavailable for access during the transmission opportunity having a duration associated with an overlapping transmission opportunity on the primary channel, the first AP associated with multiple primary channels that comprise the primary channel and the secondary primary channel; and monitor the secondary primary channel to determine that the secondary primary channel is available for access, wherein the first signal is transmitted based at least in part on the access (Pettersson Paragraph [0012, 0040-0052, 0074] an AP operating on a first channel and gaining access to the channel in response to a successful (Clear Channel Assessment) procedure, e.g., according to the rules defined in the IEEE 802.11 Specifications, can reserve a TXOP and make the TXOP available for sharing also to APs which operate on other channels and thus do not perform CCA procedures on the first channel. The TXOP sharing can therefore significantly widen the bandwidth available to the APs.; The cooperating APs may use MLSR operation for efficiently scanning the primary bandwidth parts used by other APs, in particular by listening to transmission of control frames. Such control frames may include RTS frames, MU-RTS (multi-user RTS) frames, and/or CTS frames. In this way, each AP can track the status of the medium on the primary bandwidth parts utilized by the other APs. The MLSR operation may for example be based on the Enhanced MLSR operation described in “Enhanced multi-link single radio operation”, Internet document IEEE 802.11-20/0562r3; That is the access point monitors the primary channel and secondary primary channel and identifies which is available during the transmission opportunity; Chu Paragraph [0037 and 0058-0060] The shared AP may be allowed to use its BSS operating channel 406, provided its sub-20 MHz channels not overlapping with the sharing AP are clear based on a clear channel assessment (CCA) and the use does not interfere with RU allocation with the other shared AP's RU where the shared APs have the same time allocation (the allocated time by sharing AP of the shared APs have the same start time and end time) or overlapped time allocation (the allocated time of one shared AP does not end while another shared AP's allocated time starts).
Regarding Claim 9, Pettersson discloses a second access point (AP) comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system (Abstract; Figure 1, 3-5, 11-15) configured to cause the second AP to:
receive, from a first AP, a first signal indicating that the first AP has a portion of a transmission opportunity available to share with the second AP (Figure 4; Paragraph [0054] the first AP 401 initiates the sharing of the TXOP by sending a CTI message 411. The CTI message 411 indicates that the first AP 401 has obtained a TXOP and, is willing to share its TXOP. The CTI message 411 may at the same time indicate reservation of the TXOP to other devices. Further, the CTI message 411 indicates the bandwidth part for which the TXOP was obtained, e.g., in terms of channel numbers or a bandwidth size and a starting channel number. The first AP 401 may transmit the CTI message 401 on the same link where the TXOP was obtained, i.e., in the bandwidth part indicated in the CTI message 411. In some scenarios, e.g., if the first AP 401 is a multi-link device, the CTI message 411 could also be transmitted on another link, e.g., in another bandwidth part than indicated in the CTI message 411);
and receive, from the first AP, a second signal on a secondary primary channel indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP (Figure 4; Paragraph [0054-0058] he second AP 402 receives the CTI message 411 and responds with a CTR message 412, thereby indicating that it is willing to participate in the sharing of the TXOP. By means of the CTI message, AP1 notifies the other APs that it has obtained the TXOP and is willing to share it. The first AP 401 then sends a CTAS message 413 to the second AP 402, to inform the second AP 402, i.e., the sharing AP, about its allocated resources and the TX start time in the shared TXOP. The second AP 402 then sends a CTLS message 414 to its associated STA(s) 403).
Pettersson readily discloses transmission of a first and second signal indicating a transmission opportunity available for use but may not get into specific detail regarding the secondary primary channel and transmit a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP.
However, Chu more specifically teaches the secondary primary channel and transmit a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP (Abstract; Figure 8; Paragraph [0030-0052] a sharing AP indicates the RU allocated to a shared AP in an MU-RTS TXS based on a bandwidth of a sharing AP's PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS. In one embodiment, the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS is no wider than the BSS operating bandwidth (BW) of the sharing AP. In another embodiment, the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS is no wider than the BSS operating BW of the shared AP. The shared AP may also use the 20 MHz channels that are within a frequency of its operating channel In order for a sharing AP to allocate part of its TXOP to a shared AP, the sharing AP may use a scheduling channel with a bandwidth defined by the sharing AP's bandwidth capability and the sharing AP's primary 20 MHz channel. The scheduling channel of the sharing AP may span a frequency of the primary 20 MHz channel of shared AP. Further, the scheduling channel of the shared AP may span a frequency of the primary 20 MHz channel of sharing AP; That is Chu discloses various primary channel frequency bandwidth parts in which it uses a secondary primary channel to transmit to the second AP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson with the teachings of Chu. The method enables the shared AP or sharing AP to puncture 20 Mega Hertz channels of the wireless channel when transmitting data to a station, thus avoiding interference on the punctured subchannels while still utilizing the remainder of the available spectrum (Chu Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003 and 0013-0023]).
Pettersson in view of Chu disclose multiple primary channels with TXOP shared over a bandwidth but may not explicitly disclose wherein the second AP is in communication with the first AP over multiple primary channels that comprise at least a primary channel and a secondary primary channel.
However, Liu more specifically teaches wherein the second AP is in communication with the first AP over multiple primary channels that comprise at least a primary channel and a secondary primary channel (Figure 1, 4 and 5; Paragraph [0048-0064] The one or more second wireless communication devices include a device that uses a 20 MHz primary channel, a 20 MHz secondary channel, and a 40 MHz secondary channel. Selecting the primary channel for the first wireless communication device can include selecting a channel in the 40 MHz secondary channel as the primary channel for the first wireless communication device; The primary channel for the newly activated device can be selected such that the new BSS 510 has increased chances for obtaining a transmission opportunity (TXOP). To obtain a TXOP, a device such as an AP in the BSS can monitor one or more primary channels and one or more secondary channels for wireless traffic. If a primary channel has been idle for an Arbitration InterFrame Space (AIFS) plus a back-off duration, and one or more secondary channels have been idle for at least a Point coordination function InterFrame Space (PIFS) duration, the device can use the idle channels for the TXOP. The primary channel 515B of the new BSS 510 can be selected to overlap with the primary channel 525A of the existing BSS 520. Based on this option, the new BSS 510 can share the usage of 515B with the existing BSS 520, and the new BSS 510 can access channels 515C and 515D when it gains access to channel 515B. With respect to the traffic loads of the channels, when the new BSS 510 is fully loaded, it can gain access to channels 515C and 515D if the new BSS 510 has a TXOP. When the new BSS 510 is lightly loaded and the existing BSS 520 is fully loaded, the new BSS 510 can compete with the existing BSS 520 for accessing channel 515B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson in view of Chu with the teachings of Liu. Liu provides a solution where utilization rate of primary and secondary channel frequency bands are increased (Liu Abstract; Paragraph [0004-0017 and 0035]).
Regarding Claim 13, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the second AP of Claim 9. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein, to receive the first signal, the processing system is configured to cause the second AP to: receive, from the first AP, a transmission allocation message on the secondary primary channel identifying resources allocated to the portion of the transmission opportunity (Pettersson Figure 4; Paragraph [0053-0054] The first AP 401 initiates the sharing of the TXOP by sending a CTI message 411. The CTI message 411 indicates that the first AP 401 has obtained a TXOP and, is willing to share its TXOP. The CTI message 411 may at the same time indicate reservation of the TXOP to other devices. Further, the CTI message 411 indicates the bandwidth part for which the TXOP was obtained, e.g., in terms of channel numbers or a bandwidth size and a starting channel number. The first AP 401 may transmit the CTI message 401 on the same link where the TXOP was obtained, i.e., in the bandwidth part indicated in the CTI message 411. In some scenarios, e.g., if the first AP 401 is a multi-link device, the CTI message 411 could also be transmitted on another link, e.g., in another bandwidth part than indicated in the CTI message 411; Chu Paragraph [0018] The sharing AP 102 may transmit a MU-RTS TXS 120 to the shared AP 104 to share a service period of a TXOP with the shared AP 104. Further, a clear to send (CTS) 122 transmitted by the shared AP in response to the MU-RTS TXS indicates the confirmation of the shared AP which will use the service period of the TXOP. For example, the shared AP 104 may transmit a CTS 122 in response to the MU-RTS TXS 120 transmitted by the sharing AP);
and transmit a response to the first AP according to the transmission allocation message, wherein the response confirms that the second AP is tuned to the secondary primary channel (Pettersson Figure 4; Paragraph [0055] The second AP 402 receives the CTI message 411 and responds with a CTR message 412, thereby indicating that it is willing to participate in the sharing of the TXOP; Chu Paragraph [0018] The sharing AP 102 may transmit a MU-RTS TXS 120 to the shared AP 104 to share a service period of a TXOP with the shared AP 104. Further, a clear to send (CTS) 122 transmitted by the shared AP in response to the MU-RTS TXS indicates the confirmation of the shared AP which will use the service period of the TXOP. For example, the shared AP 104 may transmit a CTS 122 in response to the MU-RTS TXS 120 transmitted by the sharing AP).
Regarding Claim 15, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the second AP of Claim 9. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: re-tune from the secondary primary channel to a primary channel upon expiration of communicating with one or more wireless stations during the portion of the transmission opportunity, the second AP associated with multiple primary channels that comprise the primary channel and the secondary primary channel (Pettersson Paragraph [0074] After completion of the data transfer in the shared TXOP, all STAs may switch back to their original band, i.e., the band where the primary bandwidth of their associated AP is located; Chu Paragraph [0052-0057]).
Regarding Claim 16, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the second AP of Claim 9. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: identifying, based at least in part on the first signal, a secondary subband that is associated with the secondary primary channel available for sharing during the portion of the transmission opportunity, wherein communicating with one or more wireless stations during the portion of the transmission opportunity is performed in the secondary subband (Pettersson Paragraph [0012, 0040-0052, 0074] an AP operating on a first channel and gaining access to the channel in response to a successful (Clear Channel Assessment) procedure, e.g., according to the rules defined in the IEEE 802.11 Specifications, can reserve a TXOP and make the TXOP available for sharing also to APs which operate on other channels and thus do not perform CCA procedures on the first channel. The TXOP sharing can therefore significantly widen the bandwidth available to the APs.; The cooperating APs may use MLSR operation for efficiently scanning the primary bandwidth parts used by other APs, in particular by listening to transmission of control frames. Such control frames may include RTS frames, MU-RTS (multi-user RTS) frames, and/or CTS frames. In this way, each AP can track the status of the medium on the primary bandwidth parts utilized by the other APs. The MLSR operation may for example be based on the Enhanced MLSR operation described in “Enhanced multi-link single radio operation”, Internet document IEEE 802.11-20/0562r3; That is the access point monitors the primary channel and secondary primary channel and identifies which is available during the transmission opportunity; Chu Paragraph [0037 and 0058-0060] The shared AP may be allowed to use its BSS operating channel 406, provided its sub-20 MHz channels not overlapping with the sharing AP are clear based on a clear channel assessment (CCA) and the use does not interfere with RU allocation with the other shared AP's RU where the shared APs have the same time allocation (the allocated time by sharing AP of the shared APs have the same start time and end time) or overlapped time allocation (the allocated time of one shared AP does not end while another shared AP's allocated time starts).
Regarding Claim 20, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the second AP of Claim 9. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: monitor a primary channel to determine that the primary channel is unavailable for access, the second AP associated with multiple primary channels that comprise the primary channel and the secondary primary channel; and identifying, based at least in part on the first signal and a result of the monitoring, a secondary subband associated with the secondary primary channel available for sharing during the portion of the transmission opportunity, wherein communicating with one or more wireless stations during the portion of the transmission opportunity is performed in the secondary subband (Pettersson Paragraph [0012, 0040-0052, 0074] an AP operating on a first channel and gaining access to the channel in response to a successful (Clear Channel Assessment) procedure, e.g., according to the rules defined in the IEEE 802.11 Specifications, can reserve a TXOP and make the TXOP available for sharing also to APs which operate on other channels and thus do not perform CCA procedures on the first channel. The TXOP sharing can therefore significantly widen the bandwidth available to the APs.; The cooperating APs may use MLSR operation for efficiently scanning the primary bandwidth parts used by other APs, in particular by listening to transmission of control frames. Such control frames may include RTS frames, MU-RTS (multi-user RTS) frames, and/or CTS frames. In this way, each AP can track the status of the medium on the primary bandwidth parts utilized by the other APs. The MLSR operation may for example be based on the Enhanced MLSR operation described in “Enhanced multi-link single radio operation”, Internet document IEEE 802.11-20/0562r3; That is the access point monitors the primary channel and secondary primary channel and identifies which is available during the transmission opportunity; Chu Paragraph [0037 and 0058-0060] The shared AP may be allowed to use its BSS operating channel 406, provided its sub-20 MHz channels not overlapping with the sharing AP are clear based on a clear channel assessment (CCA) and the use does not interfere with RU allocation with the other shared AP's RU where the shared APs have the same time allocation (the allocated time by sharing AP of the shared APs have the same start time and end time) or overlapped time allocation (the allocated time of one shared AP does not end while another shared AP's allocated time starts).
Regarding Claim 21, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the second AP of Claim 9. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: monitor a primary channel to determine that the primary channel is unavailable for access, the second AP associated with multiple primary channels that comprise the primary channel and the secondary primary channel; and identifying, based at least in part on the first signal and a result of the monitoring, a primary subband and a secondary subband available for sharing during the portion of the transmission opportunity, wherein communicating with one or more wireless stations during the portion of the transmission opportunity is performed in the primary subband and the secondary subband (Pettersson Paragraph [0012, 0040-0052, 0074] an AP operating on a first channel and gaining access to the channel in response to a successful (Clear Channel Assessment) procedure, e.g., according to the rules defined in the IEEE 802.11 Specifications, can reserve a TXOP and make the TXOP available for sharing also to APs which operate on other channels and thus do not perform CCA procedures on the first channel. The TXOP sharing can therefore significantly widen the bandwidth available to the APs.; The cooperating APs may use MLSR operation for efficiently scanning the primary bandwidth parts used by other APs, in particular by listening to transmission of control frames. Such control frames may include RTS frames, MU-RTS (multi-user RTS) frames, and/or CTS frames. In this way, each AP can track the status of the medium on the primary bandwidth parts utilized by the other APs. The MLSR operation may for example be based on the Enhanced MLSR operation described in “Enhanced multi-link single radio operation”, Internet document IEEE 802.11-20/0562r3; That is the access point monitors the primary channel and secondary primary channel and identifies which is available during the transmission opportunity; Chu Paragraph [0037 and 0058-0060] The shared AP may be allowed to use its BSS operating channel 406, provided its sub-20 MHz channels not overlapping with the sharing AP are clear based on a clear channel assessment (CCA) and the use does not interfere with RU allocation with the other shared AP's RU where the shared APs have the same time allocation (the allocated time by sharing AP of the shared APs have the same start time and end time) or overlapped time allocation (the allocated time of one shared AP does not end while another shared AP's allocated time starts).
.
Regarding Claim 23, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the second AP of Claim 9. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: transmit a control message to the first AP releasing the portion of the transmission opportunity to the first AP (Pettersson Paragraph [0077]; Chu Paragraph [0034] If a shared AP is not able to use all the medium time (e.g., service period) allocated by the sharing AP, the shared AP may release the unused medium time back to the sharing AP. The explicit indication of the release may be carried by an HE Control field of a frame sent by the shared AP which is transmitted from the shared AP to the sharing AP after any downlink or uplink PPDU).
Regarding Claim 24, Pettersson discloses a method for wireless communications at a first access point (AP) (Abstract; Figure 1, 3-5, 11-15), comprising:
transmitting, to a second AP, a first signal on a secondary primary channel indicating that the first AP has a portion of a transmission opportunity available to share with the second AP (Figure 4; Paragraph [0054] the first AP 401 initiates the sharing of the TXOP by sending a CTI message 411. The CTI message 411 indicates that the first AP 401 has obtained a TXOP and, is willing to share its TXOP. The CTI message 411 may at the same time indicate reservation of the TXOP to other devices. Further, the CTI message 411 indicates the bandwidth part for which the TXOP was obtained, e.g., in terms of channel numbers or a bandwidth size and a starting channel number. The first AP 401 may transmit the CTI message 401 on the same link where the TXOP was obtained, i.e., in the bandwidth part indicated in the CTI message 411. In some scenarios, e.g., if the first AP 401 is a multi-link device, the CTI message 411 could also be transmitted on another link, e.g., in another bandwidth part than indicated in the CTI message 411);
and transmitting a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP (Figure 4; Paragraph [0054-0058] he second AP 402 receives the CTI message 411 and responds with a CTR message 412, thereby indicating that it is willing to participate in the sharing of the TXOP. By means of the CTI message, AP1 notifies the other APs that it has obtained the TXOP and is willing to share it. The first AP 401 then sends a CTAS message 413 to the second AP 402, to inform the second AP 402, i.e., the sharing AP, about its allocated resources and the TX start time in the shared TXOP. The second AP 402 then sends a CTLS message 414 to its associated STA(s) 403).
Pettersson readily discloses transmission of a first and second signal indicating a transmission opportunity available for use but may not get into specific detail regarding the secondary primary channel and transmit a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP.
However, Chu more specifically teaches the secondary primary channel and transmit a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP (Abstract; Figure 8; Paragraph [0030-0052] a sharing AP indicates the RU allocated to a shared AP in an MU-RTS TXS based on a bandwidth of a sharing AP's PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS. In one embodiment, the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS is no wider than the BSS operating bandwidth (BW) of the sharing AP. In another embodiment, the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS is no wider than the BSS operating BW of the shared AP. The shared AP may also use the 20 MHz channels that are within a frequency of its operating channel In order for a sharing AP to allocate part of its TXOP to a shared AP, the sharing AP may use a scheduling channel with a bandwidth defined by the sharing AP's bandwidth capability and the sharing AP's primary 20 MHz channel. The scheduling channel of the sharing AP may span a frequency of the primary 20 MHz channel of shared AP. Further, the scheduling channel of the shared AP may span a frequency of the primary 20 MHz channel of sharing AP; That is Chu discloses various primary channel frequency bandwidth parts in which it uses a secondary primary channel to transmit to the second AP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson with the teachings of Chu. The method enables the shared AP or sharing AP to puncture 20 Mega Hertz channels of the wireless channel when transmitting data to a station, thus avoiding interference on the punctured subchannels while still utilizing the remainder of the available spectrum (Chu Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003 and 0013-0023]).
Pettersson in view of Chu disclose multiple primary channels with TXOP shared over a bandwidth but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first AP is in communication with the second AP using multiple primary channel access over multiple primary channels that comprise at least a primary channel and the secondary primary channel.
However, Liu more specifically teaches wherein the first AP is in communication with the second AP using multiple primary channel access over multiple primary channels that comprise at least a primary channel and the secondary primary channel (Figure 1, 4 and 5; Paragraph [0048-0064] The one or more second wireless communication devices include a device that uses a 20 MHz primary channel, a 20 MHz secondary channel, and a 40 MHz secondary channel. Selecting the primary channel for the first wireless communication device can include selecting a channel in the 40 MHz secondary channel as the primary channel for the first wireless communication device; The primary channel for the newly activated device can be selected such that the new BSS 510 has increased chances for obtaining a transmission opportunity (TXOP). To obtain a TXOP, a device such as an AP in the BSS can monitor one or more primary channels and one or more secondary channels for wireless traffic. If a primary channel has been idle for an Arbitration InterFrame Space (AIFS) plus a back-off duration, and one or more secondary channels have been idle for at least a Point coordination function InterFrame Space (PIFS) duration, the device can use the idle channels for the TXOP. The primary channel 515B of the new BSS 510 can be selected to overlap with the primary channel 525A of the existing BSS 520. Based on this option, the new BSS 510 can share the usage of 515B with the existing BSS 520, and the new BSS 510 can access channels 515C and 515D when it gains access to channel 515B. With respect to the traffic loads of the channels, when the new BSS 510 is fully loaded, it can gain access to channels 515C and 515D if the new BSS 510 has a TXOP. When the new BSS 510 is lightly loaded and the existing BSS 520 is fully loaded, the new BSS 510 can compete with the existing BSS 520 for accessing channel 515B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson in view of Chu with the teachings of Liu. Liu provides a solution where utilization rate of primary and secondary channel frequency bands are increased (Liu Abstract; Paragraph [0004-0017 and 0035]).
Regarding Claim 28, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the method of Claim 24. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu further disclose wherein transmitting the first signal comprises: transmitting, to the second AP, a transmission allocation message on the secondary primary channel identifying resources allocated to the portion of the transmission opportunity (Pettersson Figure 4; Paragraph [0053-0054] The first AP 401 initiates the sharing of the TXOP by sending a CTI message 411. The CTI message 411 indicates that the first AP 401 has obtained a TXOP and, is willing to share its TXOP. The CTI message 411 may at the same time indicate reservation of the TXOP to other devices. Further, the CTI message 411 indicates the bandwidth part for which the TXOP was obtained, e.g., in terms of channel numbers or a bandwidth size and a starting channel number. The first AP 401 may transmit the CTI message 401 on the same link where the TXOP was obtained, i.e., in the bandwidth part indicated in the CTI message 411. In some scenarios, e.g., if the first AP 401 is a multi-link device, the CTI message 411 could also be transmitted on another link, e.g., in another bandwidth part than indicated in the CTI message 411; Chu Paragraph [0018] The sharing AP 102 may transmit a MU-RTS TXS 120 to the shared AP 104 to share a service period of a TXOP with the shared AP 104. Further, a clear to send (CTS) 122 transmitted by the shared AP in response to the MU-RTS TXS indicates the confirmation of the shared AP which will use the service period of the TXOP. For example, the shared AP 104 may transmit a CTS 122 in response to the MU-RTS TXS 120 transmitted by the sharing AP);
and confirming that the second AP is tuned to the secondary primary channel according to a response message received from the second AP (Pettersson Figure 4; Paragraph [0055] The second AP 402 receives the CTI message 411 and responds with a CTR message 412, thereby indicating that it is willing to participate in the sharing of the TXOP; Chu Paragraph [0018] The sharing AP 102 may transmit a MU-RTS TXS 120 to the shared AP 104 to share a service period of a TXOP with the shared AP 104. Further, a clear to send (CTS) 122 transmitted by the shared AP in response to the MU-RTS TXS indicates the confirmation of the shared AP which will use the service period of the TXOP. For example, the shared AP 104 may transmit a CTS 122 in response to the MU-RTS TXS 120 transmitted by the sharing AP).
Regarding Claim 30, Pettersson discloses a method for wireless communications at a second access point (AP) (Abstract; Figure 1, 3-5, 11-15), comprising:
receiving, from a first AP, a first signal indicating that the first AP has a portion of a transmission opportunity available to share with the second AP (Figure 4; Paragraph [0054] the first AP 401 initiates the sharing of the TXOP by sending a CTI message 411. The CTI message 411 indicates that the first AP 401 has obtained a TXOP and, is willing to share its TXOP. The CTI message 411 may at the same time indicate reservation of the TXOP to other devices. Further, the CTI message 411 indicates the bandwidth part for which the TXOP was obtained, e.g., in terms of channel numbers or a bandwidth size and a starting channel number. The first AP 401 may transmit the CTI message 401 on the same link where the TXOP was obtained, i.e., in the bandwidth part indicated in the CTI message 411. In some scenarios, e.g., if the first AP 401 is a multi-link device, the CTI message 411 could also be transmitted on another link, e.g., in another bandwidth part than indicated in the CTI message 411);
and receiving, from the first AP, a second signal on a secondary primary channel indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP (Figure 4; Paragraph [0054-0058] he second AP 402 receives the CTI message 411 and responds with a CTR message 412, thereby indicating that it is willing to participate in the sharing of the TXOP. By means of the CTI message, AP1 notifies the other APs that it has obtained the TXOP and is willing to share it. The first AP 401 then sends a CTAS message 413 to the second AP 402, to inform the second AP 402, i.e., the sharing AP, about its allocated resources and the TX start time in the shared TXOP. The second AP 402 then sends a CTLS message 414 to its associated STA(s) 403).
Pettersson readily discloses transmission of a first and second signal indicating a transmission opportunity available for use but may not get into specific detail regarding the secondary primary channel and transmit a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP.
However, Chu more specifically teaches the secondary primary channel and transmit a second signal on the secondary primary channel to the second AP indicating that the portion of the transmission opportunity is available for use by the second AP (Abstract; Figure 8; Paragraph [0030-0052] a sharing AP indicates the RU allocated to a shared AP in an MU-RTS TXS based on a bandwidth of a sharing AP's PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS. In one embodiment, the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS is no wider than the BSS operating bandwidth (BW) of the sharing AP. In another embodiment, the bandwidth of the PPDU carrying the MU-RTS TXS is no wider than the BSS operating BW of the shared AP. The shared AP may also use the 20 MHz channels that are within a frequency of its operating channel In order for a sharing AP to allocate part of its TXOP to a shared AP, the sharing AP may use a scheduling channel with a bandwidth defined by the sharing AP's bandwidth capability and the sharing AP's primary 20 MHz channel. The scheduling channel of the sharing AP may span a frequency of the primary 20 MHz channel of shared AP. Further, the scheduling channel of the shared AP may span a frequency of the primary 20 MHz channel of sharing AP; That is Chu discloses various primary channel frequency bandwidth parts in which it uses a secondary primary channel to transmit to the second AP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson with the teachings of Chu. The method enables the shared AP or sharing AP to puncture 20 Mega Hertz channels of the wireless channel when transmitting data to a station, thus avoiding interference on the punctured subchannels while still utilizing the remainder of the available spectrum (Chu Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003 and 0013-0023]).
Pettersson in view of Chu disclose multiple primary channels with TXOP shared over a bandwidth but may not explicitly disclose wherein the second AP is in communication with the first AP over multiple primary channels that comprise at least a primary channel and a secondary primary channel.
However, Liu more specifically teaches wherein the second AP is in communication with the first AP over multiple primary channels that comprise at least a primary channel and a secondary primary channel (Figure 1, 4 and 5; Paragraph [0048-0064] The one or more second wireless communication devices include a device that uses a 20 MHz primary channel, a 20 MHz secondary channel, and a 40 MHz secondary channel. Selecting the primary channel for the first wireless communication device can include selecting a channel in the 40 MHz secondary channel as the primary channel for the first wireless communication device; The primary channel for the newly activated device can be selected such that the new BSS 510 has increased chances for obtaining a transmission opportunity (TXOP). To obtain a TXOP, a device such as an AP in the BSS can monitor one or more primary channels and one or more secondary channels for wireless traffic. If a primary channel has been idle for an Arbitration InterFrame Space (AIFS) plus a back-off duration, and one or more secondary channels have been idle for at least a Point coordination function InterFrame Space (PIFS) duration, the device can use the idle channels for the TXOP. The primary channel 515B of the new BSS 510 can be selected to overlap with the primary channel 525A of the existing BSS 520. Based on this option, the new BSS 510 can share the usage of 515B with the existing BSS 520, and the new BSS 510 can access channels 515C and 515D when it gains access to channel 515B. With respect to the traffic loads of the channels, when the new BSS 510 is fully loaded, it can gain access to channels 515C and 515D if the new BSS 510 has a TXOP. When the new BSS 510 is lightly loaded and the existing BSS 520 is fully loaded, the new BSS 510 can compete with the existing BSS 520 for accessing channel 515B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson in view of Chu with the teachings of Liu. Liu provides a solution where utilization rate of primary and secondary channel frequency bands are increased (Liu Abstract; Paragraph [0004-0017 and 0035]).
Claims 2-4, 10-12 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. WIPO Publication WO 2024/262178, machine translated, hereinafter Tanaka.
Regarding Claim 2, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the first AP of Claim 1. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu briefly disclose capability of the access points but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first AP to: exchange capability signaling with the second AP indicating support for multiple access techniques on multiple primary channels, wherein the secondary primary channel comprises at least one of the multiple primary channels and the transmitting the first signal, the second signal, or both, on the secondary primary channel is based at least in part on the capability signaling.
However, Tanaka more specifically teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first AP to: exchange capability signaling with the second AP indicating support for multiple access techniques on multiple primary channels, wherein the secondary primary channel comprises at least one of the multiple primary channels and the transmitting the first signal, the second signal, or both, on the secondary primary channel is based at least in part on the capability signaling (Page 5-9 AP MLD1 and AP MLD2, and AP MLD1 and AP MLD3 may each perform a capability check to show that they support cooperative operation, and during this capability check, each AP MLD1 to 3 may exchange information about the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel of the operating link. In addition, each AP MLD1 to 3 may determine a priority list of channels when performing secondary channel access from the exchanged information. This priority list may be, for example, a list of channels when performing secondary channel access in order of priority; Method in which AP MLDs exchange information regarding the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel using the Capability Check, the AP MLD may also sequentially send this field with information about the required Secondary channel when sending an AASR Request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu with the teachings of Tanaka. Tanaka provides a solution for efficiency of frequency utilization using a secondary channel access where the communication apparatus is capable of confirming network allocation vector (NAV) setting in other channel when performing secondary channel access (Tanaka Abstract; Page 1-2).
Regarding Claim 3, Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanaka disclose the first AP of Claim 2. Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanka further disclose wherein the capability signaling indicates support for at least one of sharing the portion of the transmission opportunity and receiving a shared portion of the transmission opportunity, receiving a shared portion of the transmission opportunity, or sharing the portion of the transmission opportunity (Chu Paragraph [0030-0052] The sharing AP may indicate the RU allocated to a shared AP in the MU-RTS TXS (or the other new defined frame for resource allocation) based on the shared AP's operating channel. In yet another example, the shared AP may use the 20 MHz channels which are not within a frequency of the operating channel of the sharing AP based on a dynamic bandwidth signaling mechanism initiated by the shared AP. The sharing AP and shared AP may have different bandwidth capabilities. For example, the shared AP may have a wider operating bandwidth than the sharing AP. The bandwidth capability of the shared AP within the TXOP sharing mode may be leveraged in various ways. In order for a sharing AP to allocate part of its TXOP to a shared AP, the sharing AP may use a scheduling channel with a bandwidth defined by the sharing AP's bandwidth capability and the sharing AP's primary 20 MHz channel; Tanaka Page 5-8 exchange and communication of TXOP/NAV information for the secondary channel).
Regarding Claim 4, Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanaka disclose the first AP of Claim 2. Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanka further disclose wherein the capability signaling indicates at least one of support for all secondary primary channels in the multiple primary channels, support for sharing a subset of secondary primary channels in the multiple primary channels, or both (Tanaka Page 5-9 AP MLD1 and AP MLD2, and AP MLD1 and AP MLD3 may each perform a capability check to show that they support cooperative operation, and during this capability check, each AP MLD1 to 3 may exchange information about the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel of the operating link. In addition, each AP MLD1 to 3 may determine a priority list of channels when performing secondary channel access from the exchanged information. This priority list may be, for example, a list of channels when performing secondary channel access in order of priority; Method in which AP MLDs exchange information regarding the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel using the Capability Check, the AP MLD may also sequentially send this field with information about the required Secondary channel when sending an AASR Request).
Regarding Claim 10, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the second AP of Claim 9. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu briefly disclose capability of the access points but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: exchange capability signaling with the first AP indicating support for multiple access techniques on multiple primary channels, wherein the secondary primary channel comprises at least one of the multiple primary channels and the receiving the first signal, the second signal, or both, is based at least in part on the capability signaling.
However, Tanaka more specifically teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: exchange capability signaling with the first AP indicating support for multiple access techniques on multiple primary channels, wherein the secondary primary channel comprises at least one of the multiple primary channels and the receiving the first signal, the second signal, or both, is based at least in part on the capability signaling (Page 5-9 AP MLD1 and AP MLD2, and AP MLD1 and AP MLD3 may each perform a capability check to show that they support cooperative operation, and during this capability check, each AP MLD1 to 3 may exchange information about the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel of the operating link. In addition, each AP MLD1 to 3 may determine a priority list of channels when performing secondary channel access from the exchanged information. This priority list may be, for example, a list of channels when performing secondary channel access in order of priority; Method in which AP MLDs exchange information regarding the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel using the Capability Check, the AP MLD may also sequentially send this field with information about the required Secondary channel when sending an AASR Request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu with the teachings of Tanaka. Tanaka provides a solution for efficiency of frequency utilization using a secondary channel access where the communication apparatus is capable of confirming network allocation vector (NAV) setting in other channel when performing secondary channel access (Tanaka Abstract; Page 1-2).
Regarding Claim 11, Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu and Tanaka disclose the second AP of Claim 10. Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanka further disclose wherein the capability signaling indicates support for at least one of sharing the portion of the transmission opportunity and receiving a shared portion of the transmission opportunity, receiving a shared portion of the transmission opportunity, or sharing the portion of the transmission opportunity (Chu Paragraph [0030-0052] The sharing AP may indicate the RU allocated to a shared AP in the MU-RTS TXS (or the other new defined frame for resource allocation) based on the shared AP's operating channel. In yet another example, the shared AP may use the 20 MHz channels which are not within a frequency of the operating channel of the sharing AP based on a dynamic bandwidth signaling mechanism initiated by the shared AP. The sharing AP and shared AP may have different bandwidth capabilities. For example, the shared AP may have a wider operating bandwidth than the sharing AP. The bandwidth capability of the shared AP within the TXOP sharing mode may be leveraged in various ways. In order for a sharing AP to allocate part of its TXOP to a shared AP, the sharing AP may use a scheduling channel with a bandwidth defined by the sharing AP's bandwidth capability and the sharing AP's primary 20 MHz channel; Tanaka Page 5-8 exchange and communication of TXOP/NAV information for the secondary channel).
Regarding Claim 12, Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanaka disclose the second AP of Claim 10. Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanka further disclose wherein the capability signaling indicates at least one of support for all secondary primary channels in the multiple primary channels, support for sharing a subset of secondary primary channels in the multiple primary channels, or both (Tanaka Page 5-9 AP MLD1 and AP MLD2, and AP MLD1 and AP MLD3 may each perform a capability check to show that they support cooperative operation, and during this capability check, each AP MLD1 to 3 may exchange information about the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel of the operating link. In addition, each AP MLD1 to 3 may determine a priority list of channels when performing secondary channel access from the exchanged information. This priority list may be, for example, a list of channels when performing secondary channel access in order of priority; Method in which AP MLDs exchange information regarding the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel using the Capability Check, the AP MLD may also sequentially send this field with information about the required Secondary channel when sending an AASR Request).
Regarding Claim 25, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the method of Claim 24. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu briefly disclose capability of the access points but fail to explicitly disclose exchanging capability signaling with the second AP indicating support for multiple access techniques on multiple primary channels, wherein the secondary primary channel comprises at least one of the multiple primary channels and the transmitting the first signal, the second signal, or both, on the secondary primary channel is based at least in part on the capability signaling.
However, Tanaka more specifically teaches exchanging capability signaling with the second AP indicating support for multiple access techniques on multiple primary channels, wherein the secondary primary channel comprises at least one of the multiple primary channels and the transmitting the first signal, the second signal, or both, on the secondary primary channel is based at least in part on the capability signaling (Page 5-9 AP MLD1 and AP MLD2, and AP MLD1 and AP MLD3 may each perform a capability check to show that they support cooperative operation, and during this capability check, each AP MLD1 to 3 may exchange information about the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel of the operating link. In addition, each AP MLD1 to 3 may determine a priority list of channels when performing secondary channel access from the exchanged information. This priority list may be, for example, a list of channels when performing secondary channel access in order of priority; Method in which AP MLDs exchange information regarding the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel using the Capability Check, the AP MLD may also sequentially send this field with information about the required Secondary channel when sending an AASR Request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu with the teachings of Tanaka. Tanaka provides a solution for efficiency of frequency utilization using a secondary channel access where the communication apparatus is capable of confirming network allocation vector (NAV) setting in other channel when performing secondary channel access (Tanaka Abstract; Page 1-2).
Regarding Claim 26, Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanaka disclose the method of Claim 25. Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanka further disclose wherein the capability signaling indicates support for at least one of sharing the portion of the transmission opportunity and receiving a shared portion of the transmission opportunity, receiving a shared portion of the transmission opportunity, or sharing the portion of the transmission opportunity (Chu Paragraph [0030-0052] The sharing AP may indicate the RU allocated to a shared AP in the MU-RTS TXS (or the other new defined frame for resource allocation) based on the shared AP's operating channel. In yet another example, the shared AP may use the 20 MHz channels which are not within a frequency of the operating channel of the sharing AP based on a dynamic bandwidth signaling mechanism initiated by the shared AP. The sharing AP and shared AP may have different bandwidth capabilities. For example, the shared AP may have a wider operating bandwidth than the sharing AP. The bandwidth capability of the shared AP within the TXOP sharing mode may be leveraged in various ways. In order for a sharing AP to allocate part of its TXOP to a shared AP, the sharing AP may use a scheduling channel with a bandwidth defined by the sharing AP's bandwidth capability and the sharing AP's primary 20 MHz channel; Tanaka Page 5-8 exchange and communication of TXOP/NAV information for the secondary channel).
Regarding Claim 27, Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanaka disclose the method of Claim 25. Pettersson in view of Chu, Liu, and Tanka further disclose wherein the capability signaling indicates at least one of support for all secondary primary channels in the multiple primary channels, support for sharing a subset of secondary primary channels in the multiple primary channels, or both (Tanaka Page 5-9 AP MLD1 and AP MLD2, and AP MLD1 and AP MLD3 may each perform a capability check to show that they support cooperative operation, and during this capability check, each AP MLD1 to 3 may exchange information about the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel of the operating link. In addition, each AP MLD1 to 3 may determine a priority list of channels when performing secondary channel access from the exchanged information. This priority list may be, for example, a list of channels when performing secondary channel access in order of priority; Method in which AP MLDs exchange information regarding the Primary Channel and Secondary Channel using the Capability Check, the AP MLD may also sequentially send this field with information about the required Secondary channel when sending an AASR Request).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Zhuang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0039153, hereinafter Zhuang.
Regarding Claim 19, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the second AP of Claim 16. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu fail to disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: transmit an indication that the second AP is refraining from communicating with one or more wireless stations during the portion of the transmission opportunity.
However, Zhuang more specifically teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: transmit an indication that the second AP is refraining from communicating with one or more wireless stations during the portion of the transmission opportunity (Paragraph [0010-0014] Signaling indication from access point indicating a schedule and the AP refraining from communication with other stations during current transmission opportunity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu with the teachings of Zhuang. The method enables shared channel access with support for device prioritization in a manner which is partially decentralized as devices monitor the shared channel before data transmitting, so that the device transmits the data in a given slot. The device maintains centralized control of spectrum access to a degree as a scheduler to designate transmission opportunities and allow higher priority devices to have preferred transmission opportunities, thus improving delay/latency performance. The method improves spectral efficiency when devices only transmit messages in an assigned slot with limited probability less than one (Zhuang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0008]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Shen et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0039610, hereinafter Shen.
Regarding Claim 22, Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu disclose the second AP of Claim 21. Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu fail to disclose wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: reduce a transmit power level for the communicating with the one or more wireless stations in the primary subband according to a spatial reuse scheme, the spatial reuse scheme based at least in part on the primary channel being unavailable for access.
However, Shen teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the second AP to: reduce a transmit power level for the communicating with the one or more wireless stations in the primary subband according to a spatial reuse scheme, the spatial reuse scheme based at least in part on the primary channel being unavailable for access (Paragraph [0003-0012 and 0056] Spatial reuse; Paragraph [0077] to reduce interference between concurrent transmission links, in a current solution, the sharing AP and the shared AP negotiate a transmit power, and the shared AP (downlink scheduling) or the shared STA (uplink scheduling) usually needs to reduce the transmit power. This causes signal strength to be weakened, and affects a transmission rate between the shared AP and the shared STA. In addition, if a transmission direction between the shared AP and the shared STA is an uplink direction, the shared AP needs to control a transmit power of the shared STA..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pettersson in view of Chu and Liu with the teachings of Shen. The interference is obtained based on the channel measurement information so that the interference caused by the second link to the link during coordinated transmission can be reduced, and the success rate and transmission rate of data transmission on the first link can be ensured. The sharing AP has different coverage formed on a horizontal plane at different beam widths, so that the coverage of beam can be changed by switching beam width, to adjust a size of an overlapping area between the coverage of the beam and coverage of the shared AP. Thus, the effective area of the shared AP for spatial reuse can be adjusted. The channel quality between the sharing AP and the sharing STA is good at the first beam width, and a higher transmission rate can be achieved, so that a system capacity can be improved. The basic service sets (BSSs) BSSs can use same transmission resources, so that utilization of transmission resources of wireless local area network can be improved. The effective area for coordinated spatial reuse (CSR) in wireless local area network (WLAN) can be increased in efficient manner (Shen Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0016 and 0067]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14, 17, 18 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409