DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/22/25, 2/26/26,
4/7/2026 and 5/28/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the specification paragraph 0084, line 5, “foe” seems to mean --for--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 30 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as
being anticipated by Aronhalt et al. (US 20180103952) hereinafter (Aronhalt).
With regard to claim 30, Aronhalt discloses a surgical adjunct (20220 fig.6), comprising: a polyurethane foam (Par 0297, line 2) comprising a plurality of pores (1180) configured to prevent or reduce fluid ingress into the polyurethane foam.
With regard to claim 32, Aronhalt discloses a surgical adjunct (20220 fig.6), wherein the plurality of pores (1180) form a gradient or double gradient based on an average diameter and with respect to a first side of the polyurethane foam (Par 0297, line2).
With regard to claim 33, Aronhalt discloses a surgical adjunct (20220 fig.6), wherein at least some of the plurality of pores (1180) are aligned in a first direction to direct fluid ingress within the polyurethane foam (Par 0297, line2) at least in a first direction and a second direction opposite the first direction.
With regard to claim 34, Aronhalt discloses a surgical adjunct (20220 fig.6), wherein at least some of the plurality of pores (1180) are close celled pores configured to prevent fluid ingress.
With regard to claim 35, Aronhalt discloses a surgical adjunct (20220 fig.6), wherein at least some of the plurality of pores (1180) are closed cell pores configured to prevent fluid ingress.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-29 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The art of record does not disclose or teach in combination, a surgical adjunct, comprising: a polyurethane foam comprising a volumetric ratio of the polyurethane foam to the total volume of the surgical adjunct is in a range of about 0.125 to about 0.325; and at least one hydrophobicity additive comprising at least one ceramic nanoparticle, at least one fatty acid, at least one ionic liquid, at least one long chain surfactant, at least one enteric coating, at least one photocurable resin, or combinations thereof.
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 31, the art of record does not disclose or teach in combination, the surgical adjunct, wherein a volumetric ratio of the polyurethane foam to the total volume of the surgical adjunct is in a range of about 0.125 to about 0.325.
Conclusion
Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
6/9/2026