DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/485,157, “SECONDARY BATTERY AND METHOD OF MANUFACTURING SAME”, was filed with the USPTO on 10/11/2023 and has a foreign priority document of KR10-2022-0129774 filed on 10/11/2022.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 7/6/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5 are now pending and claims 6-10 have been cancelled.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 11/6/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/11/2023, 12/14/2023 and 4/11/2024 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and being considered by the examiner except:
It is inconsistent for the foreign patent document “KR 10-2022-010811” listed in the IDS filed on 12/14/2023 (see strike-out line) while a copy was provided as “KR 10-2022-0108011” filed on 12/14/2023. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(paragraph citations are based on the specification filed on 10/11/2023)
[0049]: “the second through-hole s142b” appears to be a typo of “the second through-holes 142b”;
[0057]: “in addition, an electrolyte be injected into….” appears to be missing a verb such as “can be” or “is injected into”;
[0075]: “the can 110” appears to be “the can 310”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/946,170 (hereinafter 170’) in view of Sodeyama (US 20200091469 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 170’ teaches a secondary battery (secondary battery, claim 1 of 170’) comprising:
a can (case, claim 1 of 170’) having an accommodation space therein;
an electrode assembly (electrode assembly, claim 1 of 170’) accommodated in the accommodation space in the can (“to accommodate the electrode assembly”, claim 1 of 170’); and
a cap assembly (cap plate, claim 1 of 170’) sealed with the can (“to seal the upper end portion of the case”, claim 1 of 170’),
wherein the can (case, claim 1 of 170’) has a beading part (beading portion, claim 1 of 170’) recessed into a side wall of the can (“depressed toward an interior of the case”, claim 1 of 170’) at a region below where the cap assembly is accommodated (position below the cap plate, claim 1 of 170’).
170’ does not teach wherein the beading part has an acute angle with respect to the side wall of the can.
Sodeyama teaches wherein the beading part (11U, Fig. 3) has an acute angle (θ, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) with respect to the side wall of the can (side wall of 11, see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the beading portion taught by 170’ to have the angle θ taught by Sodeyama because it’s known in the art to have such an angle for the bent portion (see Sodeyama Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, 170’ in view of Sodeyama teaches wherein the acute angle (θ, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) is in a range from 20° to 45° (approx. 45°, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3).
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/778,790 (hereinafter 790’) in view of Sodeyama (US 20200091469 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 790’ teaches a secondary battery (cylindrical secondary battery, claim 1 of 790’) comprising:
a can (cylindrical case, claim 1 of 790’) having an accommodation space therein;
an electrode assembly (electrode assembly, claim 1 of 790’) accommodated in the accommodation space in the can (“cylindrical case accommodating the electrode assembly”, see claim 1 of 790’); and
a cap assembly (cap plate, claim 1 of 790’) sealed with the can (“seal the open upper end portion of the cylindrical case”, see claim 1 of 790’),
wherein the can has a beading part (beading portion, claim 2 of 790’) recessed into a side wall of the can at a region below where the cap assembly (position below the cap plate, claim 2 of 790’) is accommodated.
790’ does not teach wherein the beading part has an acute angle with respect to the side wall of the can.
Sodeyama teaches wherein the beading part (11U, Fig. 3) has an acute angle (θ, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) with respect to the side wall of the can (side wall of 11, see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the beading portion taught by 790’ to have the angle θ taught by Sodeyama because it’s known in the art to have such an angle for the bent portion (see Sodeyama Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, 790’ in view of Sodeyama teaches wherein the acute angle (θ, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) is in a range from 20° to 45° (approx. 45°, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sodeyama (US 20200091469 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sodeyama teaches a secondary battery (Fig. 1) comprising:
a can (11, Fig. 1) having an accommodation space (where 20 is housed, see Fig. 1) therein;
an electrode assembly (20, see Figs 1 and 4) accommodated in the accommodation space in the can (see Fig. 1); and
a cap assembly (14, Fig. 1) sealed (via 15, see Figs 1-3) with the can (11, Fig. 1),
wherein the can (11, Fig. 3) has a beading part (11U, Fig. 3) recessed into a side wall of the can (side wall of 11, see Fig. 3) at a region below (see Fig. 3) where the cap assembly (14, Fig. 3) is accommodated, and
wherein the beading part (11U, Fig. 3) has an acute angle (θ, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) with respect to the side wall of the can (side wall of 11, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Sodeyama teaches wherein the acute angle (θ, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) is in a range from 20° to 45° (approx. 45°, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Sodeyama teaches wherein the cap assembly (14, Fig. 3) is seated on an upper portion (upper portion of 11U, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3-1) of the beading part (14 sits on 31 on 15 then on upper portion of 11U, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3-1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodeyama (US 20200091469 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200365839 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Sodeyama is silent wherein the beading part continuously extends along a circumference of the can.
Kim et al. teaches wherein the beading part (113, Fig. 1A) continuously extends (see Fig. 1A) along a circumference of the can (110, Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the recess taught by Sodeyama to continuously extends along a circumference of the case as taught by Kim et al. to prevent the cap assembly from being deviated to the outside (see Kim et al. [0026]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodeyama (US 20200091469 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Sodeyama is silent wherein a depth of the beading part inside the can is in a range from 10% to 20% of a diameter of the can.
Sodeyama teaches wherein a depth (P, Fig. 3) of the beading part (11U, Fig. 3) inside the can (11, Fig. 3) is 7.5% (P = 1.6 mm, D1 diameter = 21.2 mm, see [0261]-[0262]; P/D1 = 7.5%) of a diameter (D1, Fig. 1; diameter = 21.2 mm, see [0262]) of the can.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the 1.6 mm depth P taught by Sodeyama to be 3.2 mm because a depth P of the recess 11U is not particularly limited, and thus can be set arbitrarily (see Sodeyama [0069]). When the depth P is 3.2 mm, it is 15% (3.2 mm/21.2 mm × 100%) of the 21.2 mm diameter of the battery can.
Conclusion
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723