Claim Interpretation
Although the phrase “expansion device” combines the nonce term “device” with the function of “expansion” the phrase is not interpreted under 35 USC §112(f) as it is considered to have sufficiently definite meaning in the art corresponding to a structure. MPEP 2181
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “a ventilation door disposed the evaporator duct” which is unclear. For the purpose of examination the limitation will be treated as –a ventilation door disposed at the evaporator duct--.
Claims 12-13 are rejected for their dependency to a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinrich et al (US 10,174,988) in view of Metellus et al (US 10,538,190).
Regarding claim 1, Heinrich discloses a mobile apparatus, comprising:
a mobile portion (118);
a cabin housing (10) that is disposed at the mobile portion and defines a first space (20) and a second space (30; 4:47-55); and
an air-conditioning apparatus (300) disposed in the second space (30) of the cabin housing and configured to cool or heat the first space of the cabin housing, wherein the air-conditioning apparatus comprises a compressor (302), a condenser (304), an expansion device (8:64), and an evaporator (308).
Heinrich lacks that the mobile portion is a mobile robot. Metellus discloses a refrigerated delivery robot (13:59-61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Heinrich with the mobile portion of Metellus in order to enable automated delivery.
Regarding claim 2, Heinrich discloses the cabin housing comprises: an outer case (102, 104, 105); and an inner case (202) that is disposed inside the outer case and partitions an interior space of the outer case into the first space and the second space.
Regarding claim 3, Heinrich discloses a loading door (106) disposed at the outer case and configured to open and close the first space of the cabin housing.
Regarding claim 4, Heinrich discloses a base plate (400) that supports the compressor, the condenser, the expansion device, and the evaporator.
Regarding claim 5, Heinrich discloses the condenser (304) and the evaporator (308) are arranged side by side adjacent to each other on the base plate (400; shown in figure 7).
Regarding claim 6, Heinrich discloses a condenser fan (306) disposed at the condenser; and an evaporator fan (310) disposed at the evaporator, wherein the cabin housing comprises an inner case disposed inside the cabin housing (inner case is portion of 300 dividing hot and cold sides as shown in figure 7), and wherein the condenser fan and the evaporator fan are disposed at opposite sides of the inner case (shown in figure 7 the evaporator fan is at a rear side of the second space and the condenser fan is at a front side of the second space).
Regarding claim 7, Heinrich discloses the compressor (302) is disposed at one side of the condenser fan and the evaporator fan and spaced apart from the inner case (figure 7 shows the compressor is at a left side of the fans and is spaced apart from the inner case).
Regarding claim 8, Heinrich discloses the cabin housing comprises an outer case that defines an outlet (116b) in fluid communication with the condenser, and wherein the mobile apparatus further comprises a condenser duct detachably disposed at the condenser fan and in fluid communication with the outlet defined at the outer case (shown in figure 7).
Regarding claim 9, Heinrich discloses an evaporator duct (214) that is detachably disposed at the evaporator fan and in fluid communication with the first space of the cabin housing.
Regarding claim 10, Heinrich discloses the mobile apparatus of claim 9, but lacks a heater. The examiner takes official notice that heater cores for use in maintaining food temperatures are old and well known. Metellus evidences the use of both hot and cold storage (13:53-63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Heinrich with a heater core that is disposed in the first space of the cabin housing, the heater core being disposed at a portion of the evaporator exposed to the first space or disposed at the evaporator duct in order to maintain food at an elevated temperature, for example in a state ready for serving.
Regarding claims 11-13, Heinrich discloses a loading door (106) configured to open and close the first space of the cabin housing. Heinrich lacks a ventilation door. The examiner takes official notice that ventilation doors are old and well known and to control associated fans based on ventilation door/damper condition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Heinrich with a ventilation door disposed at the evaporator duct and configured to be opened based on operation of the loading door in order to prevent blowing conditioned air out of an open loading door thereby providing more efficient operation.
Regarding claims 14-15, Heinrich discloses the air-conditioning apparatus comprises: a first refrigerant line, wherein the compressor (302) is disposed at the first refrigerant line; a second refrigerant line, wherein the condenser (304), the expansion device (8:64), and the evaporator (308) are disposed at the second refrigerant line. Heinrich lacks a 4-way valve. The examiner takes official notice that 4-way reversing valves are old and well known for use with refrigeration cycles and two-way expansion valves for use therewith. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Heinrich with a 4-way reversing valve in order to provide both heated or cooled storage such that food items may be stored in a hot ready-to-serve temperature or a cold temperature.
Regarding claim 16, Heinrich discloses the mobile portion comprises a wheel (118).
Regarding claim 17, Heinrich discloses the cabin housing is disposed above the mobile portion and covers an upper portion of the mobile portion (the cabin housing covers the wheels 118).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al (US 10,704,799) robot air conditioner;
Kurczewshi (US 11,548,373) delivery robot;
Ferguson et al (US 10,332,065) delivery robot;
Benton (US 10,568,766) mobile heating/cooling system;
Baker et al (US 11,967,627) delivery robot;
Kim (US 11,333,373) air conditioning robot;
Lockwood (US 9,939,188) portable cooler;
Kim et al (US 10,704,790) robot air conditioner;
Bentz et al (US 11,320,160) mobile air conditioning unit.
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799