DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 09/05/2025 to claims are accepted. In this amendment, regarding claims 1,5-6: amended and claims 2&7: cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. (2002/0167291) in views of Sung et al.( US 2019/0356025), Takemura et al. (US 2017/0012445) and Scolari et al. (US 2019/0263274).
Regarding Claims 1 and 5-6. Imai teaches a method of calibrating (equalize: abstract; apparatus: [009]; fig. 2; The controller 22A includes, for example, a microcomputer having a combination of an input/output circuit, a CPU, a ROM: [0093] ) a state of charge (SOC) of a first battery module(121: fig.2; [0012]) and a SOC of a second battery module that are serially connected to each other(122: fig.2; [0012]), the method comprising(fig. 2):
calculating the SOC of the first battery module (SOC (state of charge) of the lower battery block: [0012]);
calculating the SOC of the second battery module(SOC of the higher battery block: [0012]); and
based on the SOC of the first battery module (SOC (state of charge) of the lower battery block: [0012]) and the SOC of the second battery module(SOC of the higher battery block: [0012]), using a direct-current-to-direct-current (DC-to-DC) converter (18: fig.2) that is electrically connected in parallel with the second battery module (122: fig.2) to calibrate the SOC of the second battery module ([0058]) by:
controlling a charge/discharge current from a storage unit as power supply (17: fig. 2 (alternator/generator)) to the second battery module([0060]), the storage unit (17) being connected in parallel with the second battery module(122) and the DC-to-DC converter(18: fi. 2.
Imai silent about controlling a charge/discharge current from the second battery module to the storage unit, which is configured store power,
wherein the storage unit being is connected in parallel with the second battery module and the DC-to-DC converter.
However, Sung teaches controlling a charge/discharge current between from a storage unit (400: fig. 8) to the second battery module(10: fig.8); and
controlling a charge/discharge current from the second battery module(10: fig. 9) to the storage unit(400: fig.9) , which is configured store power([0067]-[0070]),
wherein the storage unit (400: fig. 8-9)being is connected in parallel with the second battery module (10: fig. 8-9) and the DC-to-DC converter(160: fig. 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Imai, controlling a charge/discharge current from the second battery module to the storage unit, which is configured store power, wherein the storage unit being is connected in parallel with the second battery module and the DC-to-DC converter, as taught by Sung, so as to charging/ discharging battery module by the battery module equalization apparatus in compact and inexpensive way.
The modified Imai silent about wherein the storage unit is connected in parallel with the second battery module and the DC-to-DC converter such that a terminal of the second battery module and a terminal of the DC-to-DC converter are directly connected to each other.
However, Takemura teaches wherein the storage unit (U1: fig. 1) is connected in parallel with the second battery module and the DC-to-DC converter (3: fig. 1) such that a terminal of the second battery module (U2: fig. 1) and a terminal of the DC-to-DC converter (3: fig. 1) are directly connected to each other (fig. 1; [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Imai, wherein the storage unit is connected in parallel with the second battery module and the DC-to-DC converter such that a terminal of the second battery module and a terminal of the DC-to-DC converter are directly connected to each other, as taught by Takemura, so as to control an electrical energy moved to electrical storage apparatus from other electrical storage apparatus.
The modified Imai silent about calculating a SOC calibration value based on the SOC of the first battery module and the SOC of the second battery module: controlling the DC-to-DC converter by using a charge/discharge current command value corresponding to the SOC calibration value; and wherein the second battery module is a heterogeneous battery module havinq a different capacity from the first battery module.
However, Scolari teaches calculating a SOC calibration value based on the SOC of the first battery module and the SOC of the second battery module(W: fig. 4);
controlling the DC-to-DC converter by using a charge/discharge current command value corresponding to the SOC calibration value(control: fig. 4; [0029]-[0030], [0037]); and wherein the second battery module is a heterogeneous battery module having a different capacity from the first battery module( 36V, 12 V: fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the modified invention of Imai, calculating a SOC calibration value based on the SOC of the first battery module and the SOC of the second battery module: controlling the DC-to-DC converter by using a charge/discharge current command value corresponding to the SOC calibration value; and wherein the second battery module is a heterogeneous battery module havinq a different capacity from the first battery module, as taught by Scolari, so as to system utilizes a volt power supply to significantly improve performances of hybrid vehicles or of vehicles provided with start and stop systems and remarkably reduces currents absorbed by on board electric loads, thus improving at same time electric efficiency. The system allows manufacturers to significantly reduce costs of electric power system.
Regarding Claims 3 and 8. Imai further teaches the controlling of the DC-to-DC converter comprises controlling the charge/discharge current, which is for charging the storage unit, from the second battery module to the storage unit based on the SOC calibration value at which the SOC of the first battery module and the SOC of the second battery module have equal values (equalizing voltages across the cells: [0010], [0055]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 9. Imai further teaches the controlling of the DC-to-DC converter comprises controlling the charge/discharge current, which is for discharging the storage unit, from the storage unit to the second battery module based on the SOC calibration value at which the SOC of the first battery module and the SOC of the second battery module have equal values (equalizing voltages across the cells: [0055]-[0057]).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect 103 rejection, specially claims 1, 9 and 17 have been considered but are moot because a new ground of rejection made over amended limitation based on newly cited prior art, see the updated rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) Petrak et al. (US2023/0035894) disclose Batteries may be charged by various methods. For example, a constant current-constant voltage (CC-CV) charging method may charge a battery with CC and charge the battery at a constant voltage when a voltage of the battery reaches a preset level. For example, a varying current decay charging method may charge a battery at a low state of charge (SOC) with high current and gradually reduce the currents when the battery has a preset SOC by the charging. In addition to the described methods, a multi-step charging method may charge a battery with CC, and a pulse charging method may charge a battery by repeatedly applying pulse currents at short time intervals. The first battery cell and the second battery cell are heterogeneous.
Contact Information
/MOHAMMAD K ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857