DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claims 4-8 are Objected Claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zeng (CN102340139A), hereinafter Zeng in view of Tang (CN113049909A), hereinafter Tang and Yang(CN105787270B), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding Claim 1, Zeng disclose:
a method of determining a distributed line rating (DLR) for overhead transmission lines (para Fig.1, [0020], where multiple set on the overhead power transmission line tension pole tower is the DLR data collecting terminal (DTUs) and a dispatching centre of one DLR monitoring main station (DMS)), the method comprising:
determining a time-varying weather (para [0086], where determining line transmission capacity. combining with the real-time monitoring information and the load condition by weather model (WM) and wire temperature model (CTM) is combined with the method for determining the maximum permissible transmission capacity, e.g., weather model correspond to time-varying) and current (claim 4, where lead wire current and heat balance transmission capacity is calculated using the … equation);
using a predicted temperature, determine a current carrying capacity of the overhead transmission line conductor (Claim 4, where lead wire current and heat balance transmission capacity is calculated using the following equation, when the temperature of the lead higher than the environmental temperature 5 degrees centigrade or 5 degrees centigrade with the time).
Zeng does not disclose operating a distributed fiber optic sensor system (DFOS) configured to monitor environmental conditions proximate to the overhead transmission lines;
construct an artificial neural network (ANN) model for overhead transmission line conductor temperature predictor.
Tang disclose operating a distributed fiber optic sensor system (DFOS) configured to monitor environmental conditions proximate to the overhead transmission lines(page 6, lines 9-10, where distributed optical fiber sensing principle to measure the environment wind speed and temperature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide fiber optic sensor system (DFOS), as taught by Tang into Zeng in order to monitoring long distance and monitoring weather parameters with high sensitivity and reliability.
Yang disclose construct an artificial neural network (ANN) model for overhead transmission line conductor temperature predictor (Page 2, lines 41-43, where using the temperature Elman neural network model to predict the temperature in the future set time to obtain the temperature predicted value);
(Page 5, lines 14-17, where establishing the corresponding Elman neural network fir dynamic and prediction wherein the convection layer on the network structure forms a local feedback, the transmission function of the connecting layer is a linear function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide construct an artificial neural network (ANN) model for overhead transmission line conductor temperature predictor, as taught by Yang into Zeng in order to more accurately control the power flow when condition allow, prevents overheating faults and forecasts icing to prevent infrastructure damage.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng in view of Tang and Yang, as applied to the claim 1, and further in view of Myoung (KR20140041979A), hereinafter Myoung and Ji et al (US Pub.20200005036A1), hereinafter Ji.
Regarding Claim 2, Zeng and Tang and Yang disclose the method of claim 1, Zeng and Tang and Yang disclose do not disclose further comprising configuring the DFOS to monitor temperature via distributed temperature sensing (DTS) and monitor wind speed, wind direction, and solar radiation measure via distributed vibration sensing (DVS).
Ji disclose configuring the DFOS to monitor temperature via distributed temperature sensing (DTS)(para [0027], where distributed optical fiber sensor (DFOS) systems can monitor certain physical parameter(s), such as temperature, vibration, strain, etc.; para [0030], where distributed optical sensors include distributed temperature sensor (DTS), distributed vibration sensor (DVS), distributed acoustic sensor (DAS), and distributed temperature and strain sensor (DTSS), or combinations thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide DFOS to monitor temperature via distributed temperature sensing, as taught by Ji into Zeng in order to provide cost-effective technology(see para [0030]).
Myoung disclose monitor wind speed, wind direction, and solar radiation measure (The dynamic transmission capacity (DLR) is the temperature, wind speed, wind direction and solar radiation information such as weather).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to monitor wind speed, wind direction, and solar radiation measure, as taught by Myoung via distributed vibration sensing (DVS) of Ji and forward in combination of Zeng and Tang and Yang in order to more accurately determine the maximum power flow capacity in the line.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng in view of Tang, Yang, Ji and Myoung as applied above and further in view of Rhodes et al., (US Pub.20210344429A1), hereinafter Rhodes.
Regarding Claim 3, Zeng and Tang and Yang and Ji and Myoung disclose the method of claim 2 wherein wind speed, wind direction, and solar radiation measurements, as recited in claim 2.
Zeng and Tang and Yang do not disclose measurements are made by an acoustic modem configured to provide the measurements to the DFOS via DVS.
Ji disclose the measurements are made by an [acoustic modem]/interrogator configured to provide the measurements to the DFOS via DVS (para [0030], where Inasmuch as the fiber is the sensor, it is a cost-effective technology that can be easily deployed even in the harshest and most unusual environments. Some examples of distributed optical sensors include distributed temperature sensor (DTS), distributed vibration sensor (DVS), distributed acoustic sensor (DAS),..and further a series of optical pulses are sent periodically by the sensor unit (interrogator) down the sensing fiber, and the variation of various types of back-scattering light of incident optical pulse are measured and processed to provide physical information such as temperature, strain, vibration, etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide the measurements to the DFOS via DVS, as taught by Ji in combined system applied above in order to provide cost-effective technology(see para [0030]).
Rhodes disclose acoustic modem(para [0098], where acoustic modem).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide acoustic modem, as taught by Rhodes in combined system applied above in order to provide more reliable, long-distance communication path.
Objection
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 4,
The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a method of having the steps of “determining air density according to the following:
Where:
He elevation of the conductor above sea level;
Tfilm the average temperature of the boundary layer,
Ts conductor surface temperature; and
Ta ambient air temperature.”
Regarding Claim 5,
The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a method of having the steps of comprising determining viscosity of air uf according to the following:
Regarding Claim 6,
The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a method of having the steps of “comprising determining the conductivity of air kf according to the following:
Regarding Claim 7,
The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a method of having the steps of “determining a time-varying weather and current as a change in conductor temperature ∆Tavg during time interval ∆t according to the following:
where:
mCp is the total heat capacity of the conductor;
R(Tavg) is the AC resistant of conductor at the average temperature’
qs heat gain rate from sun;
qr the radiated heat loss rate per unit length; and
qc convection heat loss rate per unit length. “
Claim 8 is not rejected under 102/103 rejection, as being dependent from an base claim 7.
Conclusion
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/MICHAEL J DALBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857