DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 10/11/2023.
3. The IDS filed on 03/12/2024 is considered and entered.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:. a desktop application 314 is not shown in the drawing. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalantarian et al (US 20210275023 A1).
Kalantarian et al (“Kalantarian”) is directed to health monitoring system for wellness, safety, and remote care using digital sensing technology.
As per claim 1, Kalantarian discloses a computer-implemented method (see at least flowcharts of Figs. 6-8) comprising:
allowing a user in one application (see caregiver dashboard 115, Fig. 1) to open and control a layout of both a web application (web application 125) and a desktop application (desktop application 130);
allowing the web application and the desktop application to load and run in a native state ([0025] The caregiver dashboard could consist of software running on a mobile device such as a smartphone 120, a web page or web application, 125, a desktop application 130, or another platform such as a browser plug-in or social media integration);
allowing the user to direct which records are loaded by the web application and the desktop application ([0052] the server contains a record based on the caregiver's selection in the Settings 340 panel of the Caregiver dashboard 115. Thus, when the Device Compliance module 800 reports that the device is used, the current system time reported by the Patient device 105 is compared to the settings loaded from the server 835); and
allowing the user to control a window position and layout of both the web application and the desktop application ([0029] The bottom of the dashboard 115 is the navigation panel, with links to several other interfaces. The history 330 page includes a list of chronological events relevant to the patient's wellness and could include updates about when the patient left the house, when they started driving, or when their location changed. This interface is designed to provide a summary of historic data related to the patient's health and behavior. The communication 335 tab provides the caregiver 135 with a gateway to communicate directly with the patient by means of voice or text. For example, the caregiver can press a button in this interface to initiate a call. The settings tab 340 enables the caregiver 135 to customize which notifications they would like to receive. Also see [0044]).
As per claim 2, Kalantarian further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
allowing a user to select one or more graphical analytic features and configure automatic extraction of record data into a grid ([0044] In this embodiment, the fall sensitivity threshold is configured by the caregiver in the Settings pane of the dashboard 340, where the user can select from several predefined options such as “low sensitivity”, “medium sensitivity”, and “high sensitivity.” After selection is made, the data is stored on the server or database 110 in the form of a number, where it can be retrieved by the motion detector module 605 using a web API. ([0035] Should the caregiver select the card in its alarm state, they would be presented with an alternative detail view. One particular embodiment of such a view is shown in FIG. 5 in which the patient's location has changed.
and automatically opening records in multiple different targeted applications (a dashboard accessible by one or more caregivers in the form of a mobile or web application that loads data from said server or database, wherein real time notifications and alarms of said individual's status can be received in the form of automated calls, mobile push notifications, text messages, or other means (Kalantarian, see claim 1).
As per computer-readable storage medium claims 12-13, these claims include limitations similar to that of method claims 1-2, respectively. Thus, the storage claims are also rejected for the same reasons/citations given to method claims.
6. Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang et al (US 20180307390 A1).
Fan et al (“Fang”) is directed to Contextual New Tab Experience In A Heterogeneous Tab Environment.
As per claims 1. Fang discloses a computer-implemented method (see flowcharts of Figs. 5-8) comprising:
allowing a user in one application to open and control a layout of both a web application and a desktop application; allowing the web application and the desktop application to load and run in a native state; allowing the user to direct which records are loaded by the web application and the desktop application; and allowing the user to control a window position and layout of both the web application and the desktop application ([0020] The client device 102 further includes a tab environment module 108, which is representative of functionality for presenting a tab environment 110 capable of integrating content from heterogeneous sources into a single interactive interface. Generally, content may take a variety of forms, such as various combinations of the applications 106, services, text, multi-media streams, documents, application files, photos, audio/video files, animations, images, web pages, web applications, content for display by a browser or other client application, data structures, self-executing content, local content, remote content, application interfaces for the applications 106, and so forth. As further detailed below, the tab environment module 108 is configured to manage launching and execution of the applications 106 and other content in a heterogeneous tab environment).
As per computer-readable storage medium claim 12, the claim includes limitations similar to that of method claim 1. Thus, the storage claim is also rejected for the same reasons/citations given to method claim.
7. Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rothschiller et al (US 11762537 B1).
Rothschiller et al (“Rothschiller”) is directed to Tabbed User Interface.
As per claim 1, Rothschiller discloses a computer-implemented method (flowchart of Fig. 7) comprising:
allowing a user in one application to open and control a layout of both a web application and a desktop application; allowing the web application and the desktop application to load and run in a native state; allowing the user to direct which records are loaded by the web application and the desktop application; and allowing the user to control a window position and layout of both the web application and the desktop application (FIG. 1 shows an example of a horizontal tabbed user interface 105 that may be implemented according to the techniques described herein. The user interface 105 may be generated by a tab management unit of the browser application or web-enabled native application of a client device. The user interface 105 includes an address bar 190 that may be used to enter a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) for a document or web-based application and/or display the URL associated with content being displayed in a currently selected tab of the tabbed user interface 105. The tabs 110a and 110b in this example are each displaying content associated with a web-based word processing application, and tab 110b is the currently selected or “active” tab. The user interface 105 also includes a content pane 195 in which first content associated with the active tab 110b is displayed. Column 3, lines 40-54, column 7, lines 29-52). FIG. 7 is an example flow chart of an example process 700 for providing a tabbed user interface that may be implemented by the browser application 355 or native application 350 of the client device 205. The process 700 may include an operation 710 of displaying a tabbed user interface comprising a plurality of tabs for navigating among a plurality of electronic documents. The tabbed user interface may be presented by the browser application 355 or native application 350 of the client device 205 to enable a user to access, create, and/or otherwise consume electronic content. The electronic content may be accessed via one or more web-based applications provided by the application services 225a and/or 225b. column 17, lines 5-17).
As per computer-readable storage medium claim 12, the claim includes limitations similar to that of method claim 1. Thus, the storage claim is also rejected for the same reasons/citations given to method claim.
8. Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnold et al (US 20210383252 A1).
Arnold et al (“Arnold”) is directed toward systems, methods, and non-transitory computer readable media for generating contextual hubs for organizing and presenting web-accessible content from third-party sources.
As per claim 1, Arnold discloses a computer-implemented method (flowcharts of Figs. 6, 13 , etc.) comprising:
allowing a user in one application to open and control a layout of both a web application and a desktop application; allowing the web application and the desktop application to load and run in a native state; allowing the user to direct which records are loaded by the web application and the desktop application; and allowing the user to control a window position and layout of both the web application and the desktop application ([0082] As further illustrated in FIG. 1, the client devices 108a-108n include the client application 110. The client application 110 may be a web application or a native application on the user client device 108 (e.g., a mobile application, a desktop application, etc.). The client application 110 can communicate with the contextual hub system 116 to provide digital data including graphical user interfaces, user interactions, contextual hubs, receive user input, and perform other operations as described herein. In some embodiments, the client application 110 may comprise a web browsing application that accesses and displays web-accessible content. The client application 110 may implement the contextual hub system 116 as part of a native application on the client devices 108a-108n. The contextual hub system 116 may operate (in part or in whole) on an extension within the client application 110. In other embodiments, the client application 110 is part of a content management system application within which a user can access a contextual hub as described herein. Also see [0064, 0102]).
As per computer-readable storage medium claim 12, the claim includes limitations similar to that of method claim 1. Thus, the storage claims is also rejected for the same reasons/citations given to method claim.
9. Claims 1-2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferguson et al (US 20020065849 A1) .
Ferguson et al ( “Ferguson”) is directed to Method And System For Integrating Network-based Functionality Into Productivity Applications Employing Word Processing Documents.
As per claim 1, Ferguson discloses a computer-implemented method (e.g. , method steps of Fig. 4, 8, 9, 13-15, etc.) comprising:
allowing a user in one application to open and control a layout of both a web application and a desktop application ([0058] The wireframe includes static content and scripting code that is generally not modified during runtime within a productivity application residing on an user's system. The static content also includes the layout configuration of the word processing document viewed by a user, such as fonts and/or colors. The script code allows users or developers to extend the built-in functionality of the productivity application or simply create macros containing often-used packaged sequences of operations (for example, repeatedly creating the same customized chart from a set of data). In the context of the wireframe, the script code may contain code to assist in supporting the present invention. Also see [0173] );
allowing the web application and the desktop application to load and run in a native state ([0055] In this runtime environment, an augmented productivity application may allow an end-user to download and open word processing documents within the productivity application's native environment. In one embodiment, the document may constitute a web page, or a productivity application version thereof, downloaded from a web server. The augmented desktop application and enhanced document together form an Internet or network-enabled application that facilitates access to remote services and functionality while retaining functionality inherently provided by the desktop application. Access to distributed services may be via any network or protocol); [0088] Ferguson further provides for tools, pre-defined scripts, and supporting runtime code that make construction of such enhanced documents in the desktop application's native format simple enough for users, yet flexible and comprehensive enough for developers to rapidly construct complex, powerful applications that leverage both Internet/network services and the client-side functionality of the particular productivity application. also see [0018, 0042, 0064-0065, 0068, 0070, and 0146]).
allowing the user to direct which records are loaded by the web application and the desktop application ([0180] While viewing the enhanced word processing document 1270, the user has available all functionality provided by word processing software 1260 that the web page developer has left accessible. For example, if the displayed page contains raw stock data, the end-user may use the word processing software's chart functionality to create a chart from said data. Also [000181-0182]; and
allowing the user to control a window position and layout of both the web application and the desktop application ([0183] Accordingly, in step 1308, the developer clicks on the "browse to web page" button on the developer toolbar. In step 1310, a browsing window pops up within the document's UI and the developer browses to and selects the web page that the developer wishes to copy. According to one embodiment, the developer browses to a web page 1234 displaying stock price performance).
As per claims 2, Ferguson further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: allowing a user to select one or more graphical analytic features and configure automatic extraction of record data into a grid; and automatically opening records in multiple different targeted applications ([0146] Ferguson may also be used to provide professional developers with a tool set for creating productivity application based services and applications, such as "Productivity Application Web Sites." While certain development capabilities may best be provided through a specific, separate application program for developers using the technology, many capabilities may be provided to developers through an extended version of the target productivity application itself [0197] As noted above, while viewing the page, the end-user has access to all built-in word processing functionality of productivity application 1260 allowed by the developer. As a result, the user can still do table analysis, refer to cells, create charts and figures, create frees-standing network content at a desired location outside of a table, embed other document types with or without network-based content, and the like. [0063-0064]).
As per computer-readable storage medium claims 12-13, the claims include limitations similar to that of method claims 1-2, respectively. Thus, the storage claims are also rejected for the same reasons/citations given to method claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 8, 10 and 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalantarian et al in view of Pearce et al (US 20100250271 A1).
As per claim 8. Kalantarian fails to mention ticketing system. as a result Kalantarian does not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein both the web application and desktop application include a modular overlay ticketing system (MOTS) configured to create a ticket which automatically extracts from a source of patient record information.
Pearce, on the other hand, discloses ticketing system, [0114] The patient user interface 700 may also provide a listing of all active healthcare issues for a patient, and all valid Tickets for use at third party healthcare providers. [0115] As described above, on the interface 700 the patient may select display of the healthcare Ticket, which was generated along with the patient instructions. Within this interface, the user may select to print the Ticket (for example, by creating a PDF ticket barcode that can be downloaded and printed by the patient), or send the Ticket to the patient's mobile device. The interface allows the patient to print and resend the Ticket at any time until the Ticket expires. The following section describes the transmission and use of the healthcare Ticket at third party healthcare service providers). [0117] The ticket is then available for future retrieval, enabling its use as a "boarding pass" for patients to be received into a clinic, testing center, or other third party medical provider.
Thus, before effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ticketing system of Pearce with Kalantarian to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
As per claim 10, Kalantarian et al in view of Pearce further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the template selection screen includes a ticket creation button configured to open a ticket manager window and allow for user creation of a new ticket that is automatically associated with a pre-loaded record for a selected patient ([0014] Another aspect of the present invention includes techniques for facilitating a patient-driven healthcare interaction with the patient using a mobile device and a healthcare "Ticket" identifier. In this embodiment, a Ticket is generated in response to the patient interaction with the digital healthcare platform, which includes an adaptive interview and the clinician-edited assessment and plan of action. [0115] As described above, on the interface 700 the patient may select display of the healthcare Ticket, which was generated along with the patient instructions.
As per computer-readable storage medium claims 19-20, these claims include limitations similar to that of method claims 8 and 10, respectively. Thus, the storage claims are also rejected for the same reasons/citations given to method claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 3-7, 9, 11, and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al (US 20100313199 A1) is directed to Method, Server And System For Converging Desktop Application And Web Application.
Hawkins et al (US 20220365639 A1 ) is directed to associating file types with web-based applications for automatically launching the associated application
Steinberg et al (US 9692854 B2). As in the current invention Steinberg et al (“Steinberg”) is directed to Communication Between A Web-based Application And A Desktop Application.
/TADESSE HAILU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174