DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/485,259, “BATTERY SYSTEM AND METHOD OF ASSEMBLING THEREOF”, was filed with the USPTO on 10/11/2023 and has a foreign priority document of EP22210403.6 filed on 11/30/2022.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 10/11/2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, including claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 7/14/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/14/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 11/23/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/11/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sensors” in claims 1 and 5 and the “electrode terminals” in claims 1 and 7 (notes: the Examiner suggests showing details of the electrode terminals recited in claim 7 for a proper understanding of claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(Citations see the specification filed on 10/11/2023)
[0036]: line 17 on page 10, “may be provides” should read “may be provided”;
[0046]: line 10 on page 13, “there a method” should read “there is a method”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-15 are objected to because they do not have the correct status identified. To overcome the objection, the Examiner suggests that they should be indicated as withdrawn.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asakura et al. (US 20140154541 A1) in view of Fritz (US 20130112551 A1, provided on IDS filed on 10/11/2023) in view of Grzywok et al. (US 20170012269 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Asakura et al. teaches a battery system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a battery pack (formed by 10s, see Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of battery cells (10, Fig. 1) having electrode terminals (12, Fig. 1); and
a cell contacting unit (CCU) (Fig. 1 except 10/11/12) on the battery pack (formed by 10s, see Fig. 1), the CCU (Fig. 1 except 10/11/12) comprising an electrically isolating carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1; notes: 30 is an insulating material such as resin, to achieve insulating condition between the single battery 10 and the holder 20, see [0027]; 80 has an insulating layer in an external portion, see [0067]; insulating body 30 and insulating sheet 80 make it electrically isolating) covering (51/80 cover 12, see Fig. 1) at least the terminals (12, Fig. 1) of the battery cells (10, Fig. 1), a plurality of busbars (60b/62, Fig. 1) electrically connecting (62 connects to 12, see [0051]) the terminals (12, Fig. 1) of the battery cells (10, Fig. 1),
wherein the busbars (60b/62, Fig. 1) are on a first side (the side below 30, see Fig. 1; note: 60b/62 are below 30, see Fig. 1) of the carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1) facing (60b/62 face 10 when assembled, see Figs. 1 and 2) the battery cells (10, Fig. 1),
wherein the carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1) has a plurality of access openings (31, Fig. 1; note 30 has plurality of 31s, see [0027]) for providing access (31 provides access to 62/60b from the side above 30, see Fig. 1) to the busbars (60b/62, Fig. 1) from a second side (the side above 30, see Fig. 1) of the carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1) opposite to the first side (the side below 30, see Fig. 1), and
wherein the access openings (31, Fig. 1) in the carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1) are closed (80 covers 30/31, see Fig. 1).
Asakura et al. does not teach comprising sensors configured to detect a physical property of the battery cells,
wherein the sensors are on a first side of the carrier facing the battery cells;
wherein the access openings are closed by an adhesive.
Fritz teaches comprising sensors (194, Fig. 6; 194 is a temperature sensor, [0140]) configured to detect a physical property (temperature, [0140]) of the battery cells (104, Fig. 2),
wherein the busbars (192/118, Fig. 6) and the sensors (194, Fig. 6; 194 is a temperature sensor, [0140]) are on a first side (the side of 112/122 facing cell 104, see Figs. 2-6; note: cell collector 118/192 and 194 both on the side of 112/122 facing cell 104, see Figs. 2-6) of the carrier facing the battery cells (104, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Asakura et al. by adding the temperature sensors and place them on the same side with the cell connectors (busbars) taught by Fritz to measure the temperature of the cells (see Fritz [0140]). When the temperature sensors being added on the same side as the busbars, both are on the side below the insulating body facing battery cells.
However, Asakura et al. in view of Fritz does not teach wherein the access openings are closed by an adhesive.
Grzywok et al. teaches wherein the access openings (7, Fig. 3) are closed (40 closes 7 when 40 adhesively bonded to 2, see [0030]) by an adhesive (an adhesive on 40, see [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the insulating sheet taught by Asakura et al. in view of Fritz by adding the adhesive taught by Grzywok et al. to have the cover adhesively bonded to the carrier and covers the openings in the carrier (see Grzywok et al. [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Asakura et al. in view of Fritz in view of Grzywok et al. teaches wherein a shape of the carrier (51/80/30, Asakura Fig. 1) corresponds (see Asakura Fig. 1) to a base (42, Asakura Fig. 1) of the plurality of battery cells (10, Asakura Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Asakura et al. in view of Fritz in view of Grzywok et al. teaches wherein an arrangement of the access openings (31, Asakura Fig. 1) corresponds (see Asakura Fig. 1) to an arrangement of the terminals (12, Asakura Fig. 1) of the battery cells (10, Asakura Fig. 1) when the CCU (Asakura Fig. 1 except 10/11/12) is on the battery pack (formed by 10s, see Asakura Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Asakura et al. teaches an electric vehicle (a vehicle having electric energy output from the battery into a kinetic energy with use of a motor generator, see [0042]) comprising
a battery system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a battery pack (formed by 10s, see Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of battery cells (10, Fig. 1) having electrode terminals (12, Fig. 1); and
a cell contacting unit (CCU) (Fig. 1 except 10/11/12) on the battery pack (formed by 10s, see Fig. 1), the CCU (Fig. 1 except 10/11/12) comprising an electrically isolating carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1; notes: 30 is an insulating material such as resin, to achieve insulating condition between the single battery 10 and the holder 20, see [0027]; 80 has an insulating layer in an external portion, see [0067]; insulating body 30 and insulating sheet 80 make it electrically isolating) covering (51/80 cover 12, see Fig. 1) at least the terminals (12, Fig. 1) of the battery cells (10, Fig. 1), a plurality of busbars (60b/62, Fig. 1) electrically connecting (62 connects to 12, see [0051]) the terminals (12, Fig. 1) of the battery cells (10, Fig. 1),
wherein the busbars (60b/62, Fig. 1) are on a first side (the side below 30, see Fig. 1; note: 60b/62 are below 30, see Fig. 1) of the carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1) facing (60b/62 face 10 when assembled, see Figs. 1 and 2) the battery cells (10, Fig. 1),
wherein the carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1) has a plurality of access openings (31, Fig. 1; note 30 has plurality of 31s, see [0027]) for providing access (31 provides access to 62/60b from the side above 30, see Fig. 1) to the busbars (60b/62, Fig. 1) from a second side (the side above 30, see Fig. 1) of the carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1) opposite to the first side (the side below 30, see Fig. 1), and
wherein the access openings (31, Fig. 1) in the carrier (51/80/30, Fig. 1) are closed (80 covers 30/31, see Fig. 1).
Asakura et al. does not teach comprising sensors configured to detect a physical property of the battery cells,
wherein the sensors are on a first side of the carrier facing the battery cells;
wherein the access openings are closed by an adhesive.
Fritz teaches comprising sensors (194, Fig. 6; 194 is a temperature sensor, [0140]) configured to detect a physical property (temperature, [0140]) of the battery cells (104, Fig. 2),
wherein the busbars (192/118, Fig. 6) and the sensors (194, Fig. 6; 194 is a temperature sensor, [0140]) are on a first side (the side of 112/122 facing cell 104, see Figs. 2-6; note: cell collector 118/192 and 194 both on the side of 112/122 facing cell 104, see Figs. 2-6) of the carrier facing the battery cells (104, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Asakura et al. by adding the temperature sensors and place them on the same side with the cell connectors (busbars) taught by Fritz to measure the temperature of the cells (see Fritz [0140]). When the temperature sensors being added on the same side as the busbars, both are on the side below the insulating body facing battery cells.
However, Asakura et al. in view of Fritz does not teach wherein the access openings are closed by an adhesive.
Grzywok et al. teaches wherein the access openings (7, Fig. 3) are closed (40 closes 7 when 40 adhesively bonded to 2, see [0030]) by an adhesive (an adhesive on 40, see [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the insulating sheet taught by Asakura et al. in view of Fritz by adding the adhesive taught by Grzywok et al. to have the cover adhesively bonded to the carrier and covers the openings in the carrier (see Grzywok et al. [0030]).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asakura et al. (US 20140154541 A1) in view of Fritz (US 20130112551 A1, provided on IDS filed on 10/11/2023) in view of Grzywok et al. (US 20170012269 A1) in view of Fritz2 et al. (US 20140045007 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Asakura et al. in view of Fritz in view of Grzywok et al. does not teach further comprising a battery management module (BMM) on the second side of the carrier.
Fritz2 et al. teaches further comprising a battery management module (BMM) (19, Fig. 2; note: 19 is a battery module control device, see [0024]) on the second side (the side above 16, see Fig. 2; 19 sits in the depression part of 16, see Fig. 2) of the carrier (16, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Asakura et al. in view of Fritz in view of Grzywok et al. by adding the battery module control device accommodated in the depression part of the guide element taught by Fritz2 et al. to have the battery module control device and to ensure a particularly compact design (see Fritz2 et al. [0025] and Fig. 2). When the battery module control device is added and accommodated in the depression part (convex portion in -Z direction (the direction close to battery)), it is also on the side above the insulating body.
Regarding claim 3, Asakura et al. in view of Fritz in view of Grzywok et al. in view of Fritz2 et al. teaches wherein the carrier (51/80/30, Asakura Fig. 1) has a first section (511, Asakura Fig. 1) having a corrugated shape (see 511 in Asakura Fig. 5) having elevations (511a in Asakura Fig. 5) and a depression (511b in Asakura Fig. 5), and
wherein the elevations (511a in Asakura Fig. 5) accommodate degassing channels (S1, Asakura Fig. 5; note: S1 is a gas exhaustion path, see Asakura [0067]) arranged between the carrier (511/80, Asakura Fig. 5) and the battery cells (10, Asakura Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Asakura et al. in view of Fritz in view of Grzywok et al. in view of Fritz2 et al. teaches wherein the BMM (19, Fritz2 et al. Fig. 2; note: 19 is a battery module control device, see Fritz2 et al. [0024]) is accommodated in the depression (511b in Asakura Fig. 5; see rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 5, Asakura et al. in view of Fritz in view of Grzywok et al. in view of Fritz2 et al. does not teach wherein the CCU further comprises a plug extending through the carrier from the first side to the second side,
wherein the BMM is electrically connected to the sensors via the plug.
Fritz teaches wherein the CCU (112, Fig. 1) further comprises a plug (172, Fig. 1) extending through (see Figs. 1-4) the carrier (122, Fig. 1) from the first side (bottom side of 122, see Fig. 1) to the second side (top side of 122, see Fig. 1),
wherein the BMM (monitoring unit, [0125]) is electrically connected (174 connects to monitoring unit via plug 172, [0125]; 174 comprises 182, one end of 182 connects to 172 and the other end of 182 connects to 178 and sensor 194, see [0127]-[0128]) to the sensors (194, Fig. 6; 194 is a temperature sensor, [0140]) via the plug (172, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Asakura et al. in view of Fritz in view of Grzywok et al. in view of Fritz2 et al. by adding the plug and temperature measuring lines taught by Fritz to connect the temperature sensor to the monitoring unit via temperature measuring lines and the plug (see Fritz [0125]-[0128]); therefore to monitor the temperature of at least one cell terminal (see Fritz [0057]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(Zeng): US 20220021068 A1, Figs. 16-18;
(Kim): US 20150162578 A1, Fig. 6, BMS and bus-bar on the same side;
(Ridisser): US 20230318050 A1, Fig. 4.
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723