DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4, 8-9 and 12-16 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al. (US 8,647,283, hereinafter “Matsumoto”).
In regards to claim 1, Matsumoto discloses a system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a first wearable instrument (element 30);
a second wearable instrument comprising a biometric sensor (element 40; col. 4, lines 37-43);
an electrical connection between the first wearable instrument and the second wearable instrument (element 50; col. 4, line 34);
and a strap, sized and dimensioned to be disposed about a wrist (element 20; col. 4, lines 27-32),
the electrical connection being capable of:
connecting the first wearable instrument to the second wearable instrument when the second wearable instrument is at a first position on the strap relative to the first wearable instrument; and
connecting the first wearable instrument to the second wearable instrument when the second wearable instrument is at a second position on the strap relative to the first wearable instrument (col. 5, lines 22-29; col. 3, lines 5-10; “the pulse sensor is provided so as to be movable in the circumferential direction and axial direction of the band”).
In regards to claim 2, the electrical connection comprises a cable (col. 4, lines 34-36; “a connection line 50 for establishing an electric connection between the main body 30 and a pulse sensor 43 of the sensor means 40”).
In regards to claim 8, the system is configured, when a separation between the first wearable instrument and the second wearable instrument is less than a length of the cable, to accommodate a surplus section of the cable on a roller (col. 5, lines 22-29; “[n]ote that the main body 30 may be provided with an extending/retracting means having, for example, a structure in which a rotation means of a retrieving roll for retrieving the connection line 50 is controlled by a switch, thereby allowing the connection line 50 to be extensible and retractable”).
Claims 1, 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Saponas et al. (US 2016/0287103, hereinafter “Saponas”).
In regards to claim 1, Saponas discloses a system (Fig. 2A), comprising:
a first wearable instrument (element 201);
a second wearable instrument comprising a biometric sensor (element 202; par. 0043);
an electrical connection between the first wearable instrument and the second wearable instrument (elements 217; par. 0042);
and a strap, sized and dimensioned to be disposed about a wrist (element 205; abstract),
the electrical connection being capable of:
connecting the first wearable instrument to the second wearable instrument when the second wearable instrument is at a first position on the strap relative to the first wearable instrument; and
connecting the first wearable instrument to the second wearable instrument when the second wearable instrument is at a second position on the strap relative to the first wearable instrument (par. 0046; “satellite device 202 may be clamped to either first strap 205 or second strap 210, allowing the positioning of flexible cap 221 over the wearer's radial artery when wearable pressure sensing device 200 is worn on either arm”).
In regards to claim 2, the electrical connection comprises a cable (elements 217, par. 0045; “conductive wires”).
In regards to claim 16, second wearable instrument is configured, when a separation between the first wearable instrument and the second wearable instrument is less than a length of the cable, to connect to the cable at a point on the cable, the point on the cable being less distant from the first wearable instrument than the length of the cable (Fig. 2B, par. 0045; “[f]irst strap 205 may be of sufficient length to allow satellite device 202 to be placed at a distance from primary device 201 so as to accommodate positioning of flexible cap 221 above the wearer's radial artery without interference from primary fastening componentry 215 or secondary fastening componentry 216. A plurality of possible sensing locations may thus be defined by regions of first strap 205 wherein conductive contacts 230 may engage with conductive wires 217”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of Baranski et al. (US 2016/0255944, hereinafter “Baranski”). Matsumoto discloses the essential features of the claimed invention, including that the system is configured, when a separation between the first wearable instrument and the second wearable instrument is less than a length of the cable, accommodating a surplus section of the cable on a roller (col. 5, lines 22-29), but does not expressly disclose that the adjustment is carried out by a loop or in an enclosure of the first wearable instrument; or further comprising a slider, in the enclosure of the first wearable instrument, for adjusting the size of the loop. However, Baranski in the same field of endeavor of wrist-wearable electronic devices teaches providing an adjustment system wherein adjustment is carried out by a loop in an enclosure of the first wearable instrument (par. 0225; “the housing of the wearable electronic device 1000 can be configured to insert through about an aperture within the housing through which the complaint [sic] loop-style band 1002 can be inserted, and folded back on itself”); and further comprising a slider, in the enclosure of the first wearable instrument, for adjusting the size of the loop (par. 0225; “the actuator may be a…linear actuator”; the examiner is considering a linear actuator to be a “slider” because it comprises two elements sliding with respect to each other to provide actuation) to provide the predictable results of automatic adjustment of fit with an electronic actuator (par. 0228). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumoto by providing an adjustment system wherein adjustment is carried out by a loop in an enclosure of the first wearable instrument; and further comprising a slider, in the enclosure of the first wearable instrument, for adjusting the size of the loop to provide the predictable results of automatic adjustment of fit with an electronic actuator.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of Lee (US 2018/0279889, hereinafter “Lee”). Matsumoto discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing that the roller is in an enclosure of the first wearable instrument. However, Lee in same field of endeavor of wrist-wearable electronic devices teaches providing an adjustment roller that is in an enclosure of the first wearable instrument (Figs. 1 and 4, element 220) to provide the predictable results of being connected to a motor, which allows the battery within the housing to provide automatic actuation (par. 0115). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumoto by providing an adjustment roller that is in an enclosure of the first wearable instrument to provide the predictable results of being connected to a motor, which allows the battery within the housing to provide automatic actuation.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of Bailey (US 2015/0065840, hereinafter “Bailey”). Matsumoto discloses the essential features of the claimed invention, including wherein the system is configured, when a separation between the first wearable instrument and the second wearable instrument is less than a length of the cable, to accommodate a surplus section of the cable in a loop or on a roller (col. 5, lines 22-29), but does not expressly disclose wherein the cable comprises a flexible printed circuit board, wherein a portion of the cable is covered by an overmold, or wherein the surplus section is not covered by the overmold. However, Bailey in the same field of endeavor of wrist-wearable electronic devices teaches providing a cable comprising a flexible printed circuit board (abstract, “[t]he improved stretchable printed circuit boards include a serpentine conductive trace”), wherein a portion of the cable is covered by an overmold (Fig. 7, pars. 0058, 0078; larger “pods” 701-708 and thinner communicative pathways (720) can be molded with a single piece construction, the larger “pod” molding being considered the “overmold”), and wherein the surplus section (720) is not covered by the overmold (Fig. 7) to provide the predictable results of providing all of the communicative pathways providing communicative coupling between modules and further providing the elastic/adaptive physical coupling between pod structures (par. 0078). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumoto by providing a cable comprising a flexible printed circuit board, wherein a portion of the cable is covered by an overmold, and wherein the surplus section is not covered by the overmold to provide the predictable results of providing all of the communicative pathways providing communicative coupling between modules and further providing the elastic/adaptive physical coupling between pod structures.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/480,492 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application is narrower than (i.e., anticipates) the instant application, except for specifying that the system is capable of securing the first wearable instrument and the second instrument in a first and second position (rather than the conductor being capable of “connecting” as in the instant application). However, it is well known in the art of multi-module systems to provide all components (in this case a conductor) to have the capability of maintaining functionality during reconfiguration to provide the predictable results of a functional and reconfigurable system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reference application by making all elements, including the electrical connection, capable securing and still operating to provide the predictable results of a functional and reconfigurable system.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Williams et al. (US 11,890,083) is another example of a modular wrist-worn device with reconfigurable sensors.
/MICHAEL W KAHELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792