DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claims 4, and 11-24 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 7-10 are addressed on the merits herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 17a, 17b, 17c.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “Retaining structures” in claim 6. “Fastening structures” in claim 7.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to “cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification identifies the retaining structures as clamps or brackets ([0019]). The specification identifies the fastening structures as sleeves ([0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parizeau (WO 2016/131138) in view of Reddicliffe (US 2014/0298741) and Bonlin (US 2019/0153720).
Re claim 1, Parizeau discloses a platform stack (Fig. 9 800) for a space-saving configuration (Fig. 9) of an energy conversion installation (800 is capable of use with an energy conversion installation), comprising a first platform (100) and a second platform (100) stacked one over another (Fig. 9) in the platform stack (800), wherein:
the first platform (100) is configured to position thereon a first skid (flooring of 100 in Fig. 6) with a first converter unit (floor of 100 in Fig. 6 is capable of positioning thereon a first converter unit, as this is a statement of intended use) of the energy conversion installation (100 is capable of use with an energy conversion installation, as this is part of a statement of intended use), and wherein the second platform (100) is configured to position thereon a second skid (flooring of 100 in Fig. 6) with a second converter unit (floor of 100 in Fig. 6 is capable of positioning thereon a second converter unit, as this is a statement of intended use) of the energy conversion installation (100 is capable of use with an energy conversion installation, as this is part of a statement of intended use), wherein the first (100) and the second platform (100) are configured to stack together (Fig. 9) one over another to form the platform stack (800),
- wherein the first platform (100) comprises a frame structure (see examiner comments) having a support surface (see examiner comments) for the first skid (see examiner comments), and comprises alignment elements (102, 104) on a first side (Fig. 6) of the frame structure (see examiner comments), and comprises support posts (see examiner comments) on a second side (Fig. 6) of the frame structure (see examiner comments) opposite the first side (Fig. 6),
- wherein the support posts (see examiner comments) of the first platform (100) are configured so that ends thereof (Fig. 9) work together in a stacked state (Fig. 9), to form a laterally centered (Fig. 9) and vertically spaced arrangement (Fig. 9) of the support surface (floor of 100) of the first platform (100) and the support surface (floor of another 100) of the second platform (100) within the platform stack (800), and/or the alignment elements of the first platform are configured so that they work together in a stacked state with ends of the support posts of the second platform to form a laterally centered and vertically spaced arrangement of the support surface of the first platform and the support surface of the second platform within the platform stack (as this is an “or” clause), and
- wherein, in the stacked state (Fig. 8), a free space (which receives 110) is formed between the support surfaces (of 100) of the first platform (100) and the second platform (another 100), for accommodating the first converter unit arranged on the first skid or the second converter unit arranged on the second skid (the space therein is capable of accommodating the first converter unit arranged on the first skid or the second converter unit arranged on the second skid, as this is a statement of intended use), wherein the free space (which receives 110) is without a wall surrounding (Fig. 6) the free space (which receives 110) along at least a portion of a periphery thereof (Fig. 6), and
wherein a wall surrounding (Fig. 6, Fig. 9; there being no wall) the support surface (see examiner comments) for the first skid (see examiner comments) of the first platform covers (100) at most 49% (Fig. 6, Fig. 9, showing no walls, and [0013] of Applicant’s specification defines this limitation as a wall ‘possibly present’) of a peripheral surface (Fig. 6, Fig. 9) surrounding the free space (which receives 10),
but fails to disclose wherein the frame structure also forms a standing surface which surrounds the support surface at least partially around a periphery of the support surface, and which is configured to be walkable for persons for access to an item on the frame structure; alignment elements on the support posts of the second platform.
However, Redicliffe discloses that it is known to provide a frame structure (20) which also forms a standing surface (Fig. 4, surrounding 10) which surrounds the support surface (which supports 10) at least partially around a periphery (Fig. 4) of the support surface (which supports 10), and which is configured to be walkable (Fig. 4) for persons for access to an item (10) on the frame structure (20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau where the frame structure also forms a standing surface which surrounds the support surface at least partially around a periphery of the support surface, and which is configured to be walkable for persons for access to an item on the frame structure as disclosed by Redicliffe in order to provide space for maintenance performance or extra room for additional storage.
In addition, Bonlin discloses alignment elements (65) on the support posts (1D) of the second platform (proximate 1B, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau with alignment elements on the support posts of the second platform as disclosed by Bonlin in order to provide precise connection and alignment during stacking, and to lock the first and second platforms together ([0122]).
Re claim 5, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, wherein the standing surface (Redicliffe: Fig. 4, surrounding 10) of at least one of the first platform (100) and the second platform (100) comprises floor panels (115) comprising gratings (115; [0044]).
Re claim 8, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a height of at least one of the first platform and the second platform is between 350 cm and 400 cm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau wherein a height of at least one of the first platform and the second platform is between 350 cm and 400 cm in order to optimize the sizing of the free space for a desired use, without wasting materials. In addition, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 9, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose herein a width of the standing surface of at least one of the first platform and the second platform is at least 1 m.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau herein a width of the standing surface of at least one of the first platform and the second platform is at least 1 m in order to optimize the sizing of the free space for a desired use, without wasting materials. In addition, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 10, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, Bonlin discloses wherein the alignment elements (65) or the ends of the support posts each comprise a twist-lock fastener ([0136]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parizeau (WO 2016/131138) in view of Reddicliffe (US 2014/0298741), Bonlin (US 2019/0153720) and Dominitz et al (“Dominitz”) (US 4,974,377).
Re claim 2, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the support surface for the first skid comprises a fire retardant material comprising a sandwich structure of two metal sheets and an intermediate non-combustible insulating material.
However, Dominitz discloses wherein the support surface (surface of 26) for the first skid (26) comprises a fire retardant material (Col 5 line 49 – Col 6 line 10 discloses vinyl foam which is fire resistant) comprising a sandwich structure (Col 6 lines 10-20) of two sheets (52, 53) and an intermediate non-combustible insulating material (Col 5 line 49 – Col 6 line 10 discloses vinyl foam).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau wherein the support surface for the first skid comprises a fire retardant material comprising a sandwich structure of two metal sheets and an intermediate non-combustible insulating material as disclosed by Dominitz in order to provide a lightweight, thermally insulating, high compressive strength and low cost material (Col 5 line 49 – Col 6 line 10). In addition, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
In addition, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau as modified by Dominitz to make the two sheets metal in order to provide a rigid, easily manufacturable, durable material. In addition, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parizeau (WO 2016/131138) in view of Reddicliffe (US 2014/0298741), Bonlin (US 2019/0153720) and Fan (US 2018/0274254).
Re claim 6, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein at least one of the first platform and the second platform comprises retaining structures configured to hold supply lines to the respective skid and/or the respective converter unit arranged thereon in a region of the support surface.
However, Fan discloses wherein at least one of the first platform (1) and the second platform comprises retaining structures ([0066] “water supply connector”) configured to hold supply lines ([0066], water supply pipe) to the respective skid and/or the respective converter unit (per the above) arranged thereon in a region of the support surface (surface of 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau wherein at least one of the first platform and the second platform comprises retaining structures configured to hold supply lines to the respective skid and/or the respective converter unit arranged thereon in a region of the support surface as disclosed by Fan in order to supply water to the unit ([0066]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parizeau (WO 2016/131138) in view of Reddicliffe (US 2014/0298741), Bonlin (US 2019/0153720) and Rishkel et al (“Rishkel”) (US 2021/0254355).
Re claim 6, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising fastening structures for a railing laterally delimiting the standing surface, wherein the fastening structures are on at least one of the first platform and the second platform.
However, Rishkel discloses further comprising fastening structures (120) for a railing (116) laterally delimiting (Fig. 1A) the standing surface (102), wherein the fastening structures (120) are on at least one of the first platform (100) and the second platform.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau further comprising fastening structures for a railing laterally delimiting the standing surface, wherein the fastening structures are on at least one of the first platform and the second platform as disclosed by Rishkel in order to quickly and easily allow for mounting and demounting of a guardrail ([0033]) for safety.
Examiner Comments
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Objections to the Drawings: Applicant’s argument with respect to the drawings is persuasive and objection to the drawings is hereby withdrawn, for the reasons stated in the previous rejection. However, the amendments thereto present a new objection as discussed in the above.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 112: Applicant’s argument with respect to the claims rejected under 35 USC 112 is persuasive and rejection of the claims pursuant to 35 USC 112 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation 35 USC 112: Applicant’s argument with respect to the claims rejected under 35 USC 112f has been considered but are not persuasive. Although Applicant amended from “retaining elements” and “fastening elements” to “retaining structures” and “fastening structures,” “elements” constituted a so called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning. In the same manner, “structures” is also a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning. In other words, “structures” has no specific structural meaning. Therefore, the phrases, “retaining elements” and “fastening elements” are interpreted under 35 USC 112f in the same manner as the previous Non-Final Rejection.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues that that the claim does not recite intended use (at least with respect to the position of the first skid on the first or second platform). Applicant states that the claim sets forth in an affirmative manner that the structure of the first and second platform have a configuration that accommodates the first and second skid, and also forms a standing surface. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim, in pertinent part, recites, “the first platform is configured to position thereon a first skid with a first converter unit of the energy conversion installation” and “the second platform is configured to position thereon a second skid with a second converter unit of the energy conversion installation” (emphasis added). The language “configured to position” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The language does not “affirmatively” (or positively) recite the claimed positioning, and only maintains that the platform is “configured to position” (be capable of positioning) a first and second skid thereon.
In addition, Applicant contends that Parizeau discloses two distinct frames: a first frame that supports cabinets 110, and a second frame that is floor grating 115 that is not configured to support 110, but instead configured to passes air therethrough. Regardless of the intended use of the frame elements of Parizeau, the claim recites, in pertinent part, “the first platform comprises a frame structure having a support surface for the first skid.” Fig. 6, as annotated, discloses a frame structure. That frame structure has a support surface (i.e., the top of the frame structure). Fig. 6 also shows floor grating thereon, cited as the skid. Therefore, Fig. 6 clearly denotes that there exists a first frame structure which includes a support surface onto which a first skid is placed.
Second, Applicant argues that Reddicliffe does not disclose a standing surface that is integral with the frame structure. Applicant contends that the array of cabinet frames 10 are “surrounded by an external, distinct frame 20 that comprises a balcony portion.” In effect, Applicant contends that because 20 is “distinct from” 10, it is a separate structure and thus cannot read on the claims. The claim does not recite or require “a standing surface that is integral with the frame structure). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Moreover, 20 surrounding 10 of Reddicliffe combine to form a final assembly 1. Therefore, the prior art meets the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635