DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claims 4, and 11-24 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 7-10 are addressed on the merits herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I and Species B in the reply filed on 1/22/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there are common features such that there would be no burden. This is not found persuasive because:
(1) the search required for the elected species would not include a search for the nonelected species since the differences between the patentably distinct species (as indicted in the Restriction Requirement) would necessitate additional search, and (2) examination is not limited to search. In addition to the search, much of the examination is devoted to determining patentability of claims. Said determination requires the formulation of rejections including applying relevant prior art and responding to Applicant’s arguments with regard to same. The additional search and the determination of patentability for multiple, patentably distinct species would place serious burden on the Examiner. With respect to the additional search, the different species would require different search strategies; as the search is not limited to a class/subclass search the search would also require employing different search queries.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species (being drawn instead to non-elected Species A; Container), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the free space of claim 1, the fire retardant material comprising a sandwich structure of two metal sheets and an intermediate non-combustible insulating material of claim 2 must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “Retaining elements” in claim 6. “Fastening elements” in claim 7.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to “cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification identifies the retaining elements as clamps or brackets ([0019]). The specification identifies the fastening elements as sleeves ([0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, claim 1 recites, “largely without a wall” in line 10. The term “largely without” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “largely without” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What constitutes “largely without” to one of ordinary skill may not to another and thus, the scope of the claim is unclear. For the purposes of this examination, this language will be interpreted as, “at least partially without.”
In addition, claim 1 recites, “its” in line 11. Numerous elements are previously introduced and thus, it is unclear as to which this language refers. It appears this language is intended to refer to the support surface and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 3, claim 3 recites, “the converter unit” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It appears this language is intended to refer to “the first or second converter unit” and will be interpreted as such.
Claims 2, 5-6, and 7-10 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parizeau (WO 2016/131138) in view of Reddicliffe (US 2014/0298741) and Bonlin (US 2019/0153720).
Re claim 1, Parizeau discloses a platform stack (Fig. 9 800) for a space-saving configuration (Fig. 9) of an energy conversion installation (800 is capable of use with an energy conversion installation), comprising a first platform (100) and a second platform (100) stacked one over another (Fig. 9) in the platform stack (800), wherein:
the first platform (100) is configured to position thereon a first skid (flooring of 100 in Fig. 6) with a first converter unit (floor of 100 in Fig. 6 is capable of positioning thereon a first converter unit, as this is a statement of intended use) of the energy conversion installation (100 is capable of use with an energy conversion installation, as this is part of a statement of intended use), and wherein the second platform (100) is configured to position thereon a second skid (flooring of 100 in Fig. 6) with a second converter unit (floor of 100 in Fig. 6 is capable of positioning thereon a second converter unit, as this is a statement of intended use) of the energy conversion installation (100 is capable of use with an energy conversion installation, as this is part of a statement of intended use), wherein the first (100) and the second platform (100) are configured to stack together (Fig. 9) one over another to form the platform stack (800),
- wherein the first platform (100) comprises a frame structure (see examiner comments) having a support surface (see examiner comments) for the first skid (see examiner comments), and wherein the first platform (100) is at least largely without a wall (Fig. 6, Fig. 9) surrounding the support surface (see examiner comments) around its periphery (Fig. 6, Fig. 9), comprises alignment elements (102, 104) on a first side (Fig. 6) of the frame structure (see examiner comments), and comprises support posts (see examiner comments) on a second side (Fig. 6) of the frame structure (see examiner comments) opposite the first side (Fig. 6),
- wherein the support posts (see examiner comments) of the first platform (100) are configured so that ends thereof (Fig. 9) work together in a stacked state (Fig. 9), to form a laterally centered (Fig. 9) and vertically spaced arrangement (Fig. 9) of the support surface (floor of 100) of the first platform (100) and the support surface (floor of another 100) of the second platform (100) within the platform stack (800), and/or the alignment elements of the first platform are configured so that they work together in a stacked state with ends of the support posts of the second platform to form a laterally centered and vertically spaced arrangement of the support surface of the first platform and the support surface of the second platform within the platform stack (as this is an “or” clause), and
- wherein, in the stacked state (Fig. 8), a free space (which receives 110) is formed between the support surfaces (of 100) of the first platform (100) and the second platform (another 100), for accommodating the first converter unit arranged on the first skid or the second converter unit arranged on the second skid (the space therein is capable of accommodating the first converter unit arranged on the first skid or the second converter unit arranged on the second skid, as this is a statement of intended use), wherein the free space (which receives 110) is without a wall surrounding (Fig. 6) the free space (which receives 110) along at least a portion of a periphery thereof (Fig. 6),
but fails to disclose wherein the frame structure also forms a standing surface which surrounds the support surface at least partially around its periphery, and which is configured to be walkable for persons for access to an item on the frame structure; alignment elements on the support posts of the second platform.
However, Redicliffe discloses that it is known to provide a frame structure (20) which also forms a standing surface (Fig. 4, surrounding 10) which surrounds the support surface (which supported 10) at least partially around its periphery (Fig. 4), and which is configured to be walkable (Fig. 4) for persons for access to an item (10) on the frame structure (20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau where the frame structure also forms a standing surface which surrounds the support surface at least partially around its periphery, and which is configured to be walkable for persons for access to an item on the frame structure as disclosed by Redicliffe in order to provide space for maintenance performance or extra room for additional storage.
In addition, Bonlin discloses alignment elements (65) on the support posts (1D) of the second platform (proximate 1B, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau with alignment elements on the support posts of the second platform as disclosed by Bonlin in order to provide precise connection and alignment during stacking, and to lock the first and second platforms together ([0122]).
Re claim 5, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, wherein the standing surface (Redicliffe: Fig. 4, surrounding 10) of at least one of the first platform (100) and the second platform (100) comprises floor panels (115) comprising gratings (115; [0044]).
Re claim 8, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a height of at least one of the first platform and the second platform is between 350 cm and 400 cm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau wherein a height of at least one of the first platform and the second platform is between 350 cm and 400 cm in order to optimize the sizing of the free space for a desired use, without wasting materials. In addition, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 9, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose herein a width of the standing surface of at least one of the first platform and the second platform is at least 1 m.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau herein a width of the standing surface of at least one of the first platform and the second platform is at least 1 m in order to optimize the sizing of the free space for a desired use, without wasting materials. In addition, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 10, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, Bonlin discloses wherein the alignment elements (65) or the ends of the support posts each comprise a twist-lock fastener ([0136]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parizeau (WO 2016/131138) in view of Reddicliffe (US 2014/0298741), Bonlin (US 2019/0153720) and Dominitz et al (“Dominitz”) (US 4,974,377).
Re claim 2, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the support surface for the first skid comprises a fire retardant material comprising a sandwich structure of two metal sheets and an intermediate non-combustible insulating material.
However, Dominitz discloses wherein the support surface (surface of 26) for the first skid (26) comprises a fire retardant material (Col 5 line 49 – Col 6 line 10 discloses vinyl foam which is fire resistant) comprising a sandwich structure (Col 6 lines 10-20) of two sheets (52, 53) and an intermediate non-combustible insulating material (Col 5 line 49 – Col 6 line 10 discloses vinyl foam).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau wherein the support surface for the first skid comprises a fire retardant material comprising a sandwich structure of two metal sheets and an intermediate non-combustible insulating material as disclosed by Dominitz in order to provide a lightweight, thermally insulating, high compressive strength and low cost material (Col 5 line 49 – Col 6 line 10). In addition, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
In addition, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau as modified by Dominitz to make the two sheets metal in order to provide a rigid, easily manufacturable, durable material. In addition, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parizeau (WO 2016/131138) in view of Reddicliffe (US 2014/0298741), Bonlin (US 2019/0153720) and Fan (US 2018/0274254).
Re claim 6, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein at least one of the first platform and the second platform comprises retaining elements configured to hold supply lines to the respective skid and/or the respective converter unit arranged thereon in a region of the support surface.
However, Fan discloses wherein at least one of the first platform (1) and the second platform comprises retaining elements ([0066] “water supply connector”) configured to hold supply lines ([0066], water supply pipe) to the respective skid and/or the respective converter unit (per the above) arranged thereon in a region of the support surface (surface of 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau wherein at least one of the first platform and the second platform comprises retaining elements configured to hold supply lines to the respective skid and/or the respective converter unit arranged thereon in a region of the support surface as disclosed by Fan in order to supply water to the unit ([0066]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parizeau (WO 2016/131138) in view of Reddicliffe (US 2014/0298741), Bonlin (US 2019/0153720) and Rishkel et al (“Rishkel”) (US 2021/0254355).
Re claim 6, Parizeau as modified discloses the platform stack according to claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising fastening elements for a railing laterally delimiting the standing surface, wherein the fastening elements are on at least one of the first platform and the second platform.
However, Rishkel discloses further comprising fastening elements (120) for a railing (116) laterally delimiting (Fig. 1A) the standing surface (102), wherein the fastening elements (120) are on at least one of the first platform (100) and the second platform.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform stack of Parizeau further comprising fastening elements for a railing laterally delimiting the standing surface, wherein the fastening elements are on at least one of the first platform and the second platform as disclosed by Rishkel in order to quickly and easily allow for mounting and demounting of a guardrail ([0033]) for safety.
Examiner Comments
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635