Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR. Patent Application Publication 20140075972 A), and further in view of Hamblin et al (U.S. Patent Publication 8026903 B2) hereinafter Hamblin.
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a system (Title: An Apparatus for Transferring a Substrate), the system comprising:
a tooling head (support 113, p. 2, ll. 14) coupled for movement with a robotic arm assembly (substrate transfer apparatus 100, p. 2, ll. 10);
a first manipulator (substrate support frame 120, p. 2, ll. 15) coupled to a first arm (horizontal movement table 112e, p. 2, ll. 26) extending from the tooling head, the first manipulator configured to engage a first printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) (p. 2, ll. 10-11, “a non-contact type vacuum pad 130 and a contact pad 140 are provided on the substrate support frame 120 to perform a function of gripping the circuit board P to be transferred”);
wherein the first manipulator is configured to move the first PCBA onto a side (p. 4, ll. 13-14, “the user turns on the power supply of the substrate transfer apparatus 100 and places the circuit board P to be transferred to the substrate supply table S”).
However, Song fails to disclose the system is directed to assembling an onboard charger (OBC), further comprising of a second manipulator coupled to a second arm extending from the tooling head, the second manipulator configured to engage a second PCBA, wherein the second manipulator is configured to move the second PCBA onto a distinct side of the OBC while the OBC remains static.
Hamblin discloses (Title: Double-sided Touch Sensitive Panel and Flex Circuit Bonding) an onboard charger (OBC) (sensor panel 300, col. 9, ll. 44), further comprising:
a first and second manipulator (bonding head 410 & cooling head 412, respectively, col. 10, ll. 4), the first and second manipulator configured to engage a first and second PCBA (col. 9, ll. 65-66, “Bonding head 410 now presses down on topside flex circuit portion 400”; col. 10, ll. 4-5, “cooling head 412 can make contact with previously bonded backside flex circuit portion 402”);
wherein the second manipulator is configured to move the second PCBA onto a distinct side of the OBC while the OBC remains static (col. 9, ll. 60-62, “bonding of two flex circuit portions 400 and 402 on directly opposing substrate attachment areas 404 and 406 of substrate 408”).
Song discloses an apparatus for transferring a substrate using a tooling head provided with a substrate support frame and horizontal movement table, extending and engaging with a circuit board to be transferred. Hamblin discloses a double-sided touch sensitive panel, provided with a flex circuit bonded to opposite sides of the panel, and utilizes a bonding/cooling head to provide the flex circuit. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the known circuit transfer technique, as disclosed by Song, and modify it such that can transfer a circuit to an opposite side of a workpiece using an opposing transfer arm, taught by Hamblin, to allow for improved manufacturing efficiency. Having provided two transfer mechanisms can reduce the handling operations, eliminate the need to reorient the workpiece, and/or allow for simultaneous or sequential placement of the circuit to opposite ends without additional fixturing. Furthermore, such a combination would feature a simple duplication of known elements.
Regarding claim 2, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 1, as detailed above, and Hamblin further discloses wherein the first and second manipulators are configured to move concurrently while locating the first PCBA onto a first receiving surface of the OBC and the second PCBA onto a second receiving surface of the OBC (col. 10, ll. 2-5, “prior to or substantially simultaneous with the application of heat and pressure by bonding head 410, cooling head 412 can make contact”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 2 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 3, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 2, as detailed above, and Hamblin further discloses wherein the first receiving surface is on an opposite side of the OBC as the second receiving surface (col. 9, ll. 60-62, “bonding of two flex circuit portions 400 and 402 on directly opposing substrate attachment areas 404 and 406 of substrate 408”; FIG. 4A depicts flex circuits portions 400 & 402 provided on opposite sides of the substrate 8).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 3 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 4, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 1, as detailed above, and Hamblin further discloses wherein the first and second manipulators are configured to move sequentially while locating the first PCBA onto a first receiving surface of the OBC and the second PCBA onto a second receiving surface of the OBC (col. 10, ll. 2-5, “prior to or substantially simultaneous with the application of heat and pressure by bonding head 410, cooling head 412 can make contact”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 4 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 5, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 1, as detailed above, and Song further discloses wherein the first manipulator further comprises:
a first leg (vertical movement device 111, p. 2, ll. 13; and/or contact pad 140, p. 2, ll. 11; and/or mounting portion 141, p. 3, ll. 27) that extends from the manipulator (FIG. 3 depicts elements 111, 140, and 141 extending from the substrate supporting frame 120), the first leg movably attached to the manipulator, wherein the first leg is configured to move relative to the manipulator to accommodate a PCBA having a distinct size.
(Vertical movement device 111, p. 4, ll. 18-19 & ll. 28-29, “vertical movement device 111 to advance the rod portion 111b to position the substrate support frame 120 directly above the circuit board P to be transported… Subsequently, the control device drives the vertical movement device 111 to retreat the rod portion 111b, thereby separating the substrate support frame 120 from the substrate supply stand S”; such movement would drive elements 120 and 140 vertically, allowing for consideration of the circuit size)
(mounting portion 141, p. 4, ll. 3-5, “In that case, it is necessary to make the thickness of the contact pad 140 sufficiently thick so that the installation height of the contact pad 140 is lower than the installation height of the non-contact type vacuum pad 130”; Though used to accommodate for element 130, the result of extending contact pad 140 would also consider the size of circuit board P).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 5 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 6, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 5, as detailed above, and Song further discloses wherein the first manipulator further includes a first track defined therein, wherein the first leg is configured to translate along the first track (p. 3, ll. 28-29, “contact pads 140 are provided and it is preferable that the contact pads 140 are disposed at appropriate positions so that the contact pads 140 contact the edge of the circuit board P to be held”; FIG. 4 depicts how contact pads may be positioned such that they contact the corners of the circuit to prevent damage).
Song discloses that the contact pads 140 may be provided as specific locations to accommodate different circuit sizes. With the contact pads being able to be repositioned, movably mounted, or adjustable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the use of a track to move the contact pads is an obvious variation and/or obvious design choice to enable movement of such elements. Tracks, rails, slots, and guides are well-known in the art, providing no more than unexpected results associated for said movement. (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 6 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 7, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 6, as detailed above, and Song further discloses wherein the first manipulator further comprises a second, third and fourth leg that extend from the manipulator, wherein each of the second third and fourth leg are configured to move relative to the manipulator to accommodate a PCBA having a distinct size (p. 3, ll. 34-35, “the number of contact pads according to the present invention may be one, two, four, or the like”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 7 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate. Also refer to the rejection of claim 5 regarding a leg configured to moving to accommodate a circuit board size).
Regarding claim 8, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 5, as detailed above, and Song further discloses wherein the first leg further includes a first foot (contact pads 140) at a distal end thereof, the first foot configured to engage the first PCBA.
Regarding claim 9, Song discloses a method of assembling (Title: An Apparatus for Transferring a Substrate), the method comprising:
engaging a first printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) (circuit board P, p. 2, ll. 11) with a first manipulator (substrate support frame 120, p. 2, ll. 15) extending from a tooling head (support 113, p. 2, ll. 14) coupled for movement with a robotic arm assembly (substrate transfer apparatus 100, p. 2, ll. 10) (p. 2, ll. 10-11, “a non-contact type vacuum pad 130 and a contact pad 140 are provided on the substrate support frame 120 to perform a function of gripping the circuit board P to be transferred”; p. 4, ll. 13-14, “the user turns on the power supply of the substrate transfer apparatus 100 and places the circuit board P to be transferred to the substrate supply table S”);
advancing the first PCBA with the first manipulators onto a side (p. 4, ll. 13-14, “the user turns on the power supply of the substrate transfer apparatus 100 and places the circuit board P to be transferred to the substrate supply table S”).
However, Song fails to disclose the method directed to assembling an onboard charger (OBC), the method further comprising engaging a second PCBA with a second manipulator; and advancing the first and second PCBA’s with the respective first and second manipulators onto distinct first and second sides of the OBC while the OBC remains static.
Hamblin discloses a method (Title: Double-sided Touch Sensitive Panel and Flex Circuit Bonding) for producing an onboard charger (OBC) (sensor panel 300, col. 9, ll. 44), the method further comprising:
engaging a first and second PCBA (flex circuit portions 400 & 402, respectively, col. 9, ll. 60-61) with a first and second manipulator (bonding head 410 & cooling head 412, respectively, col. 10, ll. 4) (col. 9, ll. 65-66, “Bonding head 410 now presses down on topside flex circuit portion 400”; col. 10, ll. 4-5, “cooling head 412 can make contact with previously bonded backside flex circuit portion 402”); and
advancing the first and second PCBA’s with the respective first and second manipulators onto distinct first and second sides of the OBC while the OBC remains static (col. 9, ll. 60-62, “bonding of two flex circuit portions 400 and 402 on directly opposing substrate attachment areas 404 and 406 of substrate 408”).
Song discloses an apparatus and method for transferring a substrate using a tooling head provided with a substrate support frame and horizontal movement table, extending and engaging with a circuit board to be transferred. Hamblin discloses a double-sided touch sensitive panel, provided with a flex circuit bonded to opposite sides of the panel, and utilizes a bonding/cooling head to provide the flex circuit. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the known circuit transfer technique, as disclosed by Song, and modify it such that can transfer a circuit to an opposite side of a workpiece using an opposing transfer arm, taught by Hamblin, to allow for improved manufacturing efficiency. Having provided two transfer mechanisms can reduce the handling operations, eliminate the need to reorient the workpiece, and/or allow for simultaneous or sequential placement of the circuit to opposite ends without additional fixturing. Furthermore, such a combination would feature a simple duplication of known elements.
Regarding claim 10, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 9, as detailed above, and Hamblin further discloses the system further comprising:
coupling the first PCBA to the first side of the OBC (col. 9, ll. 60 to col. 10, ll. 12; FIG. 4A depicts flex circuit portion 400 bonded to the top surface of substrate 408); and
coupling the second PCBA to the second side of the OBC (col. 9, ll. 60 to col. 10, ll. 12; FIG. 4A depicts flex circuit portion 402 bonded to the bottom surface of substrate 408).
Regarding claim 11, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 10, as detailed above, and Hamblin further discloses wherein the first side and the second side are opposite sides of the OBC. (col. 9, ll. 60-62, “bonding of two flex circuit portions 400 and 402 on directly opposing substrate attachment areas 404 and 406 of substrate 408”; FIG. 4A depicts flex circuits portions 400 & 402 provided on opposite sides of the substrate 8).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 9, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 11 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 12, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 10, as detailed above, and Hamblin further discloses wherein advancing the first and second PCBA’s comprises:
concurrently advancing the first and second PCBA’s while locating the first PCBA onto a first receiving surface of the OBC and the second PCBA onto a second receiving surface of the OBC. (col. 10, ll. 2-5, “prior to or substantially simultaneous with the application of heat and pressure by bonding head 410, cooling head 412 can make contact”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 9, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 12 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 13, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 9, as detailed above, and Hamblin further discloses wherein advancing the first and second PCBA’s comprises:
sequentially advancing the first and second PCBA’s while locating the first PCBA onto a first receiving surface of the OBC and the second PCBA onto a second receiving surface of the OBC. (col. 10, ll. 2-5, “prior to or substantially simultaneous with the application of heat and pressure by bonding head 410, cooling head 412 can make contact”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 9, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 13 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 14, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 9, as detailed above, and Song further discloses wherein engaging the first PCBA includes engaging the first PCBA with a first leg extending from the first manipulator (vertical movement device 111, p. 2, ll. 13; and/or contact pad 140, p. 2, ll. 11; and/or mounting portion 141, p. 3, ll. 27) (FIG. 3 depicts elements 111, 140, and 141 extending from the substrate supporting frame 120).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 9, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 14 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 15, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 14, as detailed above, and Song further discloses the system further comprising:
moving the first leg relative to the first manipulator into a desired position to engage the first PCBA.
(Vertical movement device 111, p. 4, ll. 18-19 & ll. 28-29, “vertical movement device 111 to advance the rod portion 111b to position the substrate support frame 120 directly above the circuit board P to be transported… Subsequently, the control device drives the vertical movement device 111 to retreat the rod portion 111b, thereby separating the substrate support frame 120 from the substrate supply stand S”; such movement would drive elements 120 and 140 vertically, allowing for consideration of the circuit size)
(mounting portion 141, p. 4, ll. 3-5, “In that case, it is necessary to make the thickness of the contact pad 140 sufficiently thick so that the installation height of the contact pad 140 is lower than the installation height of the non-contact type vacuum pad 130”; Though used to accommodate for element 130, the result of extending contact pad 140 would also consider the size of circuit board P).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 9, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 15 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 16, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 15, as detailed above, and Song further discloses wherein moving the first leg comprises:
advancing the first leg along a first track defined in the first manipulator.
(p. 3, ll. 28-29, “contact pads 140 are provided and it is preferable that the contact pads 140 are disposed at appropriate positions so that the contact pads 140 contact the edge of the circuit board P to be held”; FIG. 4 depicts how contact pads may be positioned such that they contact the corners of the circuit to prevent damage).
Song discloses that the contact pads 140 may be provided as specific locations to accommodate different circuit sizes. With the contact pads being able to be repositioned, movably mounted, or adjustable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the use of a track to move the contact pads is an obvious variation and/or obvious design choice to enable movement of such elements. Tracks, rails, slots, and guides are well-known in the art, providing no more than unexpected results associated for said movement. (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 9, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 16 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Regarding claim 17, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 14, as detailed above, and Song further discloses wherein engaging the first PCBA includes engaging the first PCBA with a second, third and fourth leg extending from the first manipulator (p. 3, ll. 34-35, “the number of contact pads according to the present invention may be one, two, four, or the like”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 9, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 17 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate. Also refer to the rejection of claim 15 regarding a leg configured to moving to accommodate a circuit board size).
Regarding claim 18, Song in view of Hamblin teaches the system of claim 17, as detailed above, and Song further discloses the system further comprising:
moving at least one of the second, third and fourth leg relative to the first manipulator into a position suitable for engaging the first PCBA (Refer to the rejection of claim 15 regarding a leg configured to moving to accommodate a circuit board size; moving of the substrate support frame 120 results in the movement of all contact pads 140 engaging with circuit board P, not limited to the number of contact pads according to the present invention disclosed in p. 3, ll. 22-34).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 9, supra, as it is application to the rejection of claim 17 regarding a transfer assembly providing a circuit to opposite surfaces of a substrate).
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729