Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is rejected as it recites the limitation “said slide rail module” in line 6. The limitation “said slide rail module” renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is ambiguous whether it refers to the previously mention “rail transmitting module”, found in claim 6 line 3, or if the slide rail module should be identified as a separate structural claimed limitation. For the same reason, dependent claim 9 thereof are rejected as well by virtue of its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al (C.N. Patent Application Publication 115179022 A) hereinafter Fan, and further in view of Li et al (C.N. Patent Application Publication 219153079 U) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1, Fan discloses (Title: Photovoltaic Module Frame and Junction Box Integrated Dismounting Device and Dismounting Method) a removing device (photovoltaic module dismounting device, p. 2, ll. 35) for removing a junction box (junction box, p. 2, ll. 5; wiring box g7, p. 9, ll. 5) from a solar cell module (photovoltaic module G, p. 8, ll. 17), the solar cell module including a solar panel unit (photovoltaic module frame, p. 2, ll. 36) and at least one junction box which is attached to a back plate (glass cover plate, p. 8, ll. 17) of the solar panel unit, comprising:
a frame mechanism (FIG. 3 depicts a frame-like structure);
a carriage mechanism (plurality of annular conveying belt S, p. 8, ll. 27) mounted on said frame mechanism for carrying the solar cell module (FIG. 2 depicts conveying belt S on the frame-like structure); and
a removing mechanism (removing station 2, p. 8, ll. 31) mounted on said frame mechanism, said removing mechanism;
a seat regulating module (first positioning unit D, p. 7, ll. 3; first lifting mechanism d1, p. 8, ll. 36) which is spaced apart from said carriage mechanism (as depicted in FIG. 3);
an aligning and holding seat module (shovel blade power device e3, p. 9, ll. 15) wherein said seat regulating module allows the aligning and holding seat module to contact the back plate of the solar panel unit (p. 8, ll. 36-40, “the first locating unit D comprises a first lifting mechanism d1 for driving the photovoltaic module upwards separated from the transmission surface or downward set up the transmission surface”);
a removing seat (annotated FIG. 6 below depicts a seat-like structure) which is connected and moved with said aligning and holding seat module to abut against the back plate of the solar panel unit (p. 9, ll. 3-4, “the wiring box removing unit E comprises a scraper e1 which is adhered with the surface of the glass cover plate”), and;
a removing driving module (power part e34, p. 9, ll. 22) which is coupled with said removing seat and which drives movement of said removing seat toward the junction box along the back plate of the solar panel unit (p. 9, ll. 21-24, “the shovel power unit e3 further comprises an adjusting seat e32 extending along the left and right direction, a sliding seat e33 sliding set on the adjusting seat e32, a power part e34 driving the sliding seat e33 relative to the adjusting seat e32 linear motion, wherein the power part e34 adopts the conventional transmission screw.”),
said removing seat having a cutting blade (shovel blade e1, p. 9, ll. 6) which is driven by said removing driving module to move along the back plate of the solar panel unit into a juncture (area of contacting surfaces between the junction box/ wiring box g7) between the junction box and the back plate of the solar panel unit so as to remove the junction box from the solar panel unit (p. 9, ll. 3-5, “the wiring box removing unit E comprises a scraper e1 which is adhered with the surface of the glass cover plate the surface and can move oppositely, fence e2 formed at the opposite two sides of the scraper, wherein the scraper e1 synchronously shovels the adhesive tape and the wiring box g7”).
However, Fan fails to disclose the removing mechanism includes the seat regulating module such that they are integrated together. Fan also fails to disclose the aligning and holding seat module being connected with and moved by said seat regulating module toward the back plate of the solar panel unit.
Though Fan teaches all of the claim components, Fan teaches the components coming into direct contact with various locations of the module, namely the bottom and the top surfaces of the module, rather than the area directly around the junction box. More specifically, Fan discloses the seat regulating module (first lifting mechanism d1) not directly integrated together with the removing mechanism (removing station 2), being arranged such that the seat regulating module drives movement of the back plate (glass cover plate) towards the removing mechanism.
Li discloses a removing device (Title: Terminal Residual Material Cutting Device) with a removing mechanism (conveying assembly 600, p. 4, ll. 29) including the seat regulating module (driving cylinder 620, p. 5, ll. 37) such that the aligning and holding seat module (supporting frame 631, p. 6, ll. 1) is aligned and held with and moved by said seat regulating module (p. 5, ll. 37-39, “driving cylinder 620 is slidingly set on the first moving module 610 along the third direction”; p. 6, ll. 1-3, “supporting frame 631 connected with the driving cylinder 620”) toward the back plate (cutting mating seat 530, p. 6, ll. 5).
Fan discloses a Photovoltaic Module Frame and Junction Box Integrated Dismounting Device and Dismounting Method comprising of a frame, conveying roller assemblies, and a removing mechanism with components that are spread separately throughout the machine to engage with a module for removing a junction box from a back plate, namely a glass cover plate. More specifically, Fan’s disclosure teaches the holding and cutting functions at various points of contact with the glass cover plate. Li discloses a Terminal Residual Material Cutting Device, using a conveying assembly and a driving cylinder that are enabled together for movement to engage a cutting mating seat. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to take the combined assembly of a conveying assembly and a driving cylinder taught by Li and applied it to Fan’s dismounting device which features separated components to allow for direct movement of Fan’s removing mechanism towards the glass plate rather than direct movement of the glass plate towards the removing mechanism. Doing so would be preventing reduction of assembly complexity, improved structural support, and/or machine component relocation concerning spatial availability.
Furthermore, relocation or rearrangement of known parts to result in a more compact configuration is an obvious design choice. MEPE 2144.04(C) states that rearrangement of parts is obvious and no unexpected result is to be achieved. Accordingly, moving the components of Fan’s disclosure, namely the elements comprising the removing mechanism and first lifting mechanism, is nothing more than predictable use, reserving their intended function of bringing the removing mechanism and targeted junction box together.
Regarding claim 2, Fan in view of Li teaches the removing device of claim 1, as detailed above, and Fan further discloses wherein said aligning and holding seat module (shovel blade power device e3) has an abutting plate (one of the shovel blades e1, p. 9, ll. 6; Fan discloses two shovel blades; p. 9, ll. 11-13, “At the same time, one of the left and right shovel blades e1 is fixed, and the other one is elastically installed along the left and right direction”) which is spaced apart from said cutting blade (another one of the shovel blades e1, p. 9, ll. 6),
Li further discloses said seat regulating module (driving cylinder 620) being operable to drive movement of said aligning and holding seat module (supporting frame 631);
Fan further discloses the placement of said aligning and holding seat module respectively said abutting plate and said cutting blade at two opposite sides of the junction box, said abutting plate abutting against the junction box when said cutting blade is moved into the juncture between the junction box and the back plate of the solar panel unit (p. 3, ll. 15-19, “the wiring box removing unit comprises a shovel blade close to the glass cover plate and capable of moving oppositely, fence formed at two opposite sides of the shovel blade, wherein the shovel blade synchronously shovels the adhesive tape and the junction box, and the junction box is located in the temporary storage area formed by the shovel blade and the fence”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 2 regarding rearranging components to engage an area directly around the junction box).
Regarding claim 3, Fan in view of Li teaches the removing device of claim 2, as detailed above, and Fan further discloses wherein said carriage mechanism is disposed to support and carry the solar cell module horizontally (p. 8, ll. 27-30, “Specifically, photovoltaic module transmission line comprises a machine frame j, a plurality of annular conveying belt s set on the machine frame j, wherein a plurality of annular conveying belt s upper surface to form a transmission surface, the photovoltaic module G from the upper glass is cover plate set up, the transmission surface”),
Li further discloses said seat regulating module being disposed to drive the movement of said aligning and holding seat module in an up-down direction (p. 5, ll. 37-39, “driving cylinder 620 is slidingly set on the first moving module 610 along the third direction”; p. 6, ll. 1-3, “supporting frame 631 connected with the driving cylinder 620”),
Fan further discloses said removing seat being mounted on and horizontally movable relative to said aligning and holding seat module (FIG. 6 depicts moving seat mounted on aligning and holding seat module, allowed for horizontal movement on transmission screw rod e30; or similarly sliding seat e33 from FIG. 4), and
Fan further discloses the removing mechanism further having two constraint plates (fence e2, p. 9, ll. 4) which are horizontally spaced apart from each other and disposed on an upper side of said cutting blade away from the solar panel unit so as to constrain the removed junction box therebetween (as depicted in FIG. 6).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 3 regarding rearranging components to engage an area directly around the junction box).
Regarding claim 4, Fan in view of Li teaches the removing device of claim 3, as detailed above, and Fan further discloses wherein said removing seat further has an upper plate (bottom surface of transmission seat e31, p. 9, ll. 15) which straddles said two constraint plates and which is spaced apart from said cutting blade (FIG. 6 depicts all elements comprising elements e31 and e2 are connected together and are spaced apart from e1) such that said upper plate, said constraint plates and said cutting blade cooperatively define a receiving space there among (temporary storage area, p. 9, ll. 6, “the temporary storage area formed by the shovel blade e1 and the fence e2”; FIG. 6 depicts said receiving space, defined by e31, e2,and e1),
said receiving space having an opening which faces the junction box for entering of the junction box into said receiving space (FIG. 6 depicts an opening of said receiving space towards the middle),
said cutting blade having a cutting edge which projects from said opening (FIG. 6 depicts shovel blades e1 projecting towards said opening).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 4 regarding rearranging components to engage an area directly around the junction box).
Regarding claim 5, Fan in view of Li teaches the removing device of claim 4, as detailed above.
However, both fail to discloses wherein said constraint plates respectively have guiding end portions which are deflected away from each other proximate to said opening for facilitating entering of the junction box.
Though both fail to disclose such a configured shape to the constraint plates, Fan does teach the a similar “guiding end portions” shape applied to the shovel blade e1, as depicted in FIG. 6. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fence of Fan’s to include the slanted guided surface taught in the shovel blade, primarily used for removal of a junction box from a surface, to the fence to impart lateral force and to prevent the junction box and/or glass cover plate from damage due to misalignment of actuating parts.
Furthermore, the modification is merely an application of a known structure to perform its well-known guiding function in a related conveying environments, yielding no more than predictable results of improved manufacturing efficiency with considerations to misalignment.
(also refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 5 regarding rearranging components to engage an area directly around the junction box).
Regarding claim 6, Fan in view of Li teaches the removing device of claim 4, as detailed above, and Fan further discloses wherein said aligning and holding seat module further has a side plate (annotated FIG. 6 below depicts a side plate) which is spaced apart from said abutting plate (as described in the rejection of claim 2, one of the two shovel blades e1 may serve as a butting plate; such that either of the side plates of their respective shovel blade is spaced apart from the other shovel blade), and
a horizontal movement guideway unit (sliding seat e33, p. 9, ll. 21) which extends horizontally and interconnects said side plate and said abutting plate (annotated FIG. 6 above depicts sliding seat e33 which features a structure that connects elements together),
said removing seat being mounted on said horizontal movement guideway unit and being driven by said removing driving module to move along said horizontal movement guideway unit (p. 9, ll. 21-24, “Specifically, the shovel power unit e3 further comprises an adjusting seat e32 extending along the left and right direction, a sliding seat e33 sliding set on the adjusting seat e32, a power part e34 driving the sliding seat e33 relative to the adjusting seat e32 linear motion, wherein the power part e34 adopts the conventional transmission screw”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 6 regarding rearranging components to engage an area directly around the junction box).
Regarding claim 7, Fan in view of Li teaches the removing device of claim 6, as detailed above, and Fan further discloses wherein removing mechanism further includes a thrust member which is mounted on said side plate and which extends toward said abutting plate into said receiving space. Said removing seat being driven by said removing driving module to move between a cutting position and a returned position, wherein, when moved toward the cutting position, said removing seat is moved toward said abutting plate to have said cutting blade remove the junction box and receive the junction box in said receiving space, and said opening is moved away from said thrust member, and, when moved toward the returned position, said removing seat is moved away from said abutting plate to have said opening be moved toward said thrust member and to permit said thrust member to thrust the removed junction box outwardly of said opening.
(Fan discloses through FIG. 6 a structure that could be understood as a thrust member. Annotated FIG. 6 below depicts a configuration on which the shovel blade may be actuation and/or adjust such that it extends/retracts (cutting position and returned position, respectively) away from the opening).
(With a structure that allows for extension/retraction of the shovel blade, still comprising the elements such as e1, e2, and the bottom of e31 to define the receiving space for the junction box, the side plates could be understood as to extend into said space and to also serve as a thrust member (also previously mapped as the side plates in the rejection of claim 6) as retracting the shovel blade e1 would inherently abut against the junction box and thrusting it outwardly of said opening if the depicted thrusting portion were to be equipped with an actuator. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the depicted thrust portion in Fan’s disclosed FIG. 6 is able to individually move, or at least be separated from the movement of the shovel blade, allowing for the space to confine in the retracted state, adjusting according to the size of the junction box and its removal from said space).
(Also refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 7 regarding rearranging components to engage an area directly around the junction box).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan, in view of Li, and further in view of Nakajima (U.S. Patent Publication 6863324 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Fan in view of Li teaches the removing device of claim 7, as detailed above, and Li further discloses the device further comprising a temporary storage mechanism (collecting component 700, p. 6, ll. 8) which is mounted on said frame mechanism, said temporary storage mechanism including a rail transmitting module (second mobile module 710, p. 6, ll. 10) which is mounted on said frame mechanism and which extends horizontally (as depicted in FIG. 1), two wall plates (walls of the collecting box 730, p. 6, ll. 10) which are mounted on said frame mechanism and spaced apart from each other, and a movable bottom plate (mobile station 720, p. 6, ll. 10) which is movably mounted on said slide rail module and which is transmitted by and moved along said rail transmitting module relative to said wall plates between a carrying position, where said movable bottom plate interconnects said wall plates to cooperatively define a storage space with an upper opening (collecting box 730, p. 6, ll. 10) for receiving the junction box from said receiving space (p. 6, ll. 17, “the collecting box 730 aligned to the blanking pipe 130, for collecting the lower material of the terminal”).
However, Li fails to disclose a discharging position, where said movable bottom plate is disengaged from at least one of said wall plates to form a discharging port of said storage space so as to permit a downward discharge of the junction box.
Nakajima discloses a storage space (Title: Drop-bottom Container) wherein the storage space comprises a discharging position (opened position as depicted in FIG. 2), where said movable bottom plate (bottom plate 11, col. 2, ll. 50) is disengaged from at least one of said wall plates (side plates 13, col. 2, ll. 49) to form a discharging port of said storage space so as to permit a downward discharge of the junction box (col. 2, ll. 23-25, “bottom plates 11 are opened… so that the contents are discharged”).
Fan, in view of Li, discloses the photovoltaic module frame and junction box integrated dismounting device comprising of a frame, conveying roller assemblies, and removing mechanism, utilizing an additional conveying assembly to achieve vertical movement, allowing for the removing mechanism to engage with a module to remove a junction box. Furthermore, Li discloses a temporary storage mechanism, namely the collecting component, that comprises of a rail transmitting module and plates, configured to collect a removed portion from the removing mechanism. Nakajima discloses a container that is configured with a hinge-like opening that attaches the side walls to the bottom plate. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the container of Nakajima and implement it into the combination of Fan and Li’s temporary storage mechanism allow for collected components to be accessible from another opening/direction not interfered with the removing mechanism.
Regarding claim 9, Fan, in view of Li and Nakajima, teaches the removing device of claim 8, as detailed above, and Fan further discloses wherein said removing mechanism further includes a two-axis movement regulating module (adjusting seat e32, p. 9, ll. 21) mounted on said frame mechanism, said seat regulating module being mounted on and driven by said two-axis movement regulating module to be moved horizontally in two axial directions (p. 9, ll. 21-22, “adjusting seat e32 extending along the left and right direction”; FIG. 4 depicts the structures mounted on adjusting seat e32 to move in the axial directions).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 8, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 9 regarding rearranging components to engage an area directly around the junction box as well as modifying a temporary storage mechanism to open from a bottom direction).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan, in view of Li, and further in view of Zhu et al (C.N. Patent Application Publication 116571540 A) hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding claim 10, Fan in view of Li teaches the removing device of claim 1, as detailed above, and Fan further discloses wherein said carriage mechanism includes a carriage and transport module for carrying and transporting rearwardly the solar cell module to an operating space in said frame mechanism (FIG. 5 depicts plurality of annular conveying belt S with a transport module that extends into the operating space).
However, both Fan and Li fail to disclose at least one laterally aligning module, said laterally aligning module including a guide rail unit which extends in a left-right direction and is mounted on said frame mechanism, two laterally aligning members which are movably mounted on said guide rail unit and spaced apart from each other in the left-right direction, a synchronizing transmitting unit which is coupled with said laterally aligning members to synchronize movement of said laterally aligning members, and a laterally aligning driver which is coupled with said synchronizing transmitting unit such that said laterally aligning members make a synchronous movement along said guide rail unit in opposite directions.
Zhu discloses (Title: Full-Automatic Photovoltaic Component Splitting and Recycling Production Line) wherein at least one laterally aligning module (splitting device 3, p. 6, ll. 3), said laterally aligning module including a guide rail unit which extends in a left-right direction and is mounted on said frame mechanism (outside structure of the first driving mechanism 302, p. 6, ll. 5),
two laterally aligning members (push plate 301, p. 6, ll. 4) which are movably mounted on said guide rail unit and spaced apart from each other in the left-right direction (as depicted in FIG. 3),
a synchronizing transmitting unit (FIG. 3 above depicts a unit comprising of the elements 302 and the linkages) which is coupled with said laterally aligning members to synchronize movement of said laterally aligning members (as depicted in FIG. 3), and
a laterally aligning driver (first driving mechanism 302, p. 6, ll. 5) which is coupled with said synchronizing transmitting unit such that said laterally aligning members make a synchronous movement along said guide rail unit in opposite directions (p. 6, ll. 7-8, “The first driving mechanism 302 drives two push plates 301 parallel to each other at the same time to move oppositely”).
Fan, in view of Li, discloses the photovoltaic module frame and junction box integrated dismounting device comprising of a frame, conveying roller assemblies, and removing mechanism, utilizing an additional conveying assembly to achieve vertical movement, allowing for the removing mechanism to engage with a module to remove a junction box. Zhu also discloses a junction dismounting device that is configured with a splitting device that has two plates moved synchronously and oppositely to come into contact with the frame. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the splitting device of Zhu and implement it into the combination of Fan and Li’s device to allow for a method of removing the frame while also considering frame size and prevention of frame damage during the moving process (Zhu, p. 6, ll. 16-24).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan, in view of Li and Zhu, and further in view of Schad (E.P. Patent Application Publication 0639729 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Fan, in view of Li and Zhu, teaches the removing device of claim 10, as detailed above.
However, all fail to further discloses wherein said synchronizing transmitting unit includes a rotary seat which is rotatably mounted on said frame mechanism and which is coupled with said laterally aligning driver to be rotatable about a vertical axis, and two linkages, each of which interconnects said rotary seat and a respective one of said laterally aligning members such that rotation of said rotary seat makes the synchronous movement of said laterally aligning members.
Schad discloses (Title: Slider-Crank Driving Mechanism for the Transformation of a Reciprocating Motion into Rotational or Vice Versa) wherein said synchronizing transmitting unit (slider-crank driving mechanism depicted in FIG. III) includes a rotary seat (crank arm/cheek 2, p. 2, ll. 26) which is rotatably mounted on said frame mechanism and which is coupled with said laterally aligning driver to be rotatable about a vertical axis, and
two linkages (two plates 6, p. 2, ll. 12), each of which interconnects said rotary seat and a respective one of said laterally aligning members such that rotation of said rotary seat makes the synchronous movement of said laterally aligning members (p. 2, ll. 25-27, “At least 2 counter-rotating plates (6) with the respective previously described guide slot (5) and a crankshaft in which the crank bearing journals (1) and the crank sliding journals (3) are connected by the crank webs (2) at an angle of 180 to function this effect”).
Fan, in view of Li and Zhu, discloses the photovoltaic module frame and junction box integrated dismounting device comprising of a frame, conveying roller assemblies, and removing mechanism, utilizing an additional conveying assembly to achieve vertical movement, allowing for the removing mechanism to engage with a module to remove a junction box. The combination also is configured with a splitting device that has two plates moved synchronously and oppositely to come into contact with the frame. Schad discloses a rotational component, namely the crank arm, to undergo rotation and cause linear movement of driven plates. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the crank arm rotational component of Schad and implement it into the first driving mechanism of Zhu for routine optimization, allowing for usage of advantages seen in crank-slider mechanisms such as conversion of rotary output of an electric motor into linear motion, improved reliability by avoiding usage of hydraulic fluids, and varied stroke length due to crank-slider geometry.
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729