Detailed Action
Claim 1-6 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-192994, filed on December 01, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karlsson et al. (US20230108456) in view of Zeng et al. (US10826035) and Oguma et al. (JP2019188857A). Machine translation is being used for citation of the foreign reference mentioned before.
Regarding Claim 1: Karlsson discloses a power storage device comprising at least one power storage module including a power storage stack having a plurality of power storage cells arranged in a row direction and a pair of end plates disposed at opposite ends of the stack (Fig. 2, 5, 7, 8 & 10). Karlsson further discloses a frame structure arranged adjacent the power storage module and configured to support the battery module assembly (Fig. 1-3). Karlsson does not disclose a cross member arranged adjacent to the power storage module in an orthogonal direction and extending along the one direction and a connecting member connecting the frame to the cross member and connecting the frame to one of the pair of the end plates.
Zeng discloses a battery pack support structure including a cross member extending along the longitudinal direction of a battery pack and positioned adjacent the battery module (Fig. 4-10). Zeng further teaches connecting structures coupling frame components, battery support members, and cross members together through mechanical fastening arrangements (Fig. 4 & 5; col. 4, line 50-65)
Oguma further discloses a battery stacks positioned between structural members and a transmission member configured to transfer loads between structural members and battery stacks (Abstract, Claim 1, Fig. 1-4, paragraph [0019], [0020], [0022]- [0023])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Karlsson incorporate the transmission member of Oguma because Oguma teaches distributing the impact load among the adjacent battery stack while maintaining the structural rigidity of the battery assembly.
Regarding Claim 2: Karlsson discloses all of the claim limitation as set forth above. Karlsson does not disclose a pair of power storage modules positioned on opposite sides of a cross member such that the cross member is sandwiched between in an orthogonal direction nor a connecting member connecting end plates of both power storage modules to the frame.
Oguma discloses a plurality of battery stacks arranged in a direction perpendicular to the frame member with a gap between the stacks (paragraph [0019]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karlsson’s battery pack arrangement with Oguma’s battery stacks arrangements because such configuration improves the structural support and force distribution while reducing localized stresses.
Regarding Claim 3: Karlsson discloses all of the claim limitation as set forth above. Karlsson does not disclose a restraint band connected to the pair of end plates.
Zeng discloses a battery module in with retention members restrain a cell stack between opposite end structures. (col. 4, line 32-44)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zeng’s restraint mechanism to Karlsson’s battery pack to improve stack compression and dimensional stability during charging discharging and vibration conditions.
Regarding Claim 4: Karlsson discloses all of the claim limitation as set forth above. Karlsson does not disclose a protrusion having a shape to protrude outwardly in the one direction from the plate body or the connecting member that connects the protrusion to the frame.
Zeng discloses a fixing frame structure including locking plate and extending portions identified as first end (31) and second end (32). (col. 4, lines 50-60)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the battery pack structure of Karlsson and Zeng’s fixing frame and extending portions because such structures provide a robust load path between the battery modules and the support members.
Regarding Claim 5: Karlsson discloses all of the claim limitation as set forth above. Karlsson does not disclose the first arm, the second arm and the cross connecting portion.
Zeng discloses a connecting component including side plate, opposite side plate and bottom plate. (col. 5, line 31- 59)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the connecting components of Zeng in the battery assembly of Karlsson because Zeng teaches that such structure improves the load transfer and the assembly rigidity while providing multiple attachment points.
Regarding Claim 6: Karlsson discloses all of the claim limitation as set forth above. Karlsson does not discloses a cross member having an upper surface formed to be flush with the frame and the cross connecting portion, the first arm and the second arm are formed in an identical plane.
Zeng discloses a connecting component including side plates and a bottom plate, as claim 5. Zeng further discloses that the bottom plate and associated structural portions are arranged in the same plane (col. 5, line 46- 50).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the upper surface of the cross member flush with the frame and to form the connecting portions within a common plane because doing so facilitates manufacturing, assembly and uniform load transfer. Such optimization constitutes a predictable design choice that would have been within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/NMRO/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725