Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an automated transportation device configured to transport an object to be conveyed (recited in Claim 1 and disclosed as an autonomous mobile robot, see Specification at [0009]) and
an information processing device configured to obtain a three-dimensional stop position information of the automated transportation device and the identification information from the taken image (recited in Claim 1 and disclosed as a personal computer comprising a central processor, See Specification at [0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the information processing device rewrites a correspondence relationship between the identification code and the identification information without changing the identification code” that is unclear and indefinite. Claim 4 is dependent on claim 1 and claim 1 recites “wherein the identification code indicates an identification information to identify at least either one of the object to be conveyed and the automated transportation device”. As such, the identification code as recited in claim 1 is defined as an identification information to identify the object. Claim 4 appears to recite the identification code and the identification information as two different variables, which renders claim 4 unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2021/0122054-A1).
With respect to claim 1, Sun teaches of an automated transportation system (a robotic singulation system 200, fig.2A) comprising:
an automated transportation device (chute/bin/receptacle 206/1004, fig.2A/10A) configured to transport an object to be conveyed (chute/bin/receptacle 206/1004 transport parcels/items/packages, fig.2A/10A and [0048][0124]), wherein the automated transportation device includes an identification code and a stop position confirmation marker attached to the automated transportation device, wherein the identification code indicates an identification information to identify at least either one of the object to be conveyed and the automated transportation device (items are placed with an orientation such that a label or tag is able to be read by a downstream reader configured to read routing (e.g., destination address) information and use the routing information to sort the item to a corresponding destination, such as a pile, bin, or other set of items destined for the same next intermediate and/or final destination, [0046]; a multi-axis barcode (or other) scanner or sensor is positioned downstream on the conveyor belt 1008, one that can scan barcodes on the top or bottom [0129]; scan the package, enabling the system to ensure the package barcode becomes associated with the slot in which it ultimately is placed [0151]);
a stereo camera (set of cameras 214 and 216 or 1010, 1012, and 1014; figs.2A-B or figs.10A-B; a plurality of cameras, including one or more 3D cameras [0085]) configured to obtain an image of the identification code and the stop position confirmation marker, where in the stereo camera is arranged at a predetermined stop position of the automated transportation device (to generate a 3D view of the workspace, such as a pile or flow of items in a chute or other receptacle [0085]; to read routing information (e.g., text address, optical or other code, etc.)…reads the label and associates sorting/routing information with the corresponding location on the output conveyor [0127]; a multi-axis barcode (or other) scanner or sensor is positioned downstream on the conveyor belt 1008, one that can scan barcodes on the top or bottom [0129]; a camera pointed at the item/pile, such as a camera mounted near the station and/or on the robotic arm and/or end effector, may be used to capture the image [0135]; the label is scanned locally, e.g., using a multi-axis sensor array such as the cameras 1010, 1012, and 1014 of FIGS. 10A and 10B…the routing information determined by scanning the label locally is associated with the slot or other segmented location on the conveyor on which the item was placed [0136]);
an information processing device (control computer 212, fig.2B) configured to obtain a three-dimensional stop position information of the automated transportation device and the identification information from the taken image (3D image data is received from one or more cameras 214, 216, 224, and/or 226 of FIGS. 2A and 2B,…image data from multiple cameras is merged to generate a composite 3D view of the scene, such as a pile or flow of items from which items are to be picked {by the robot arms 202,230,232 or 234, fig.2B}, [0082]; real time segmentation results are used to track and/or model the flow of an individual item through the chute. A future position of an item is predicted based on its item-specific model/movement and a plan and strategy to grasp the item at the future location and time is determined and executed autonomously. In some embodiments, the position of the target item is updated continuously [0101]), wherein the information processing device transmits the three-dimensional stop position information to a post-process equipment when the identification information is compatible with a predetermined condition (coordinates the operation of one or more robotic arms and associated end effectors to pick items from a corresponding chute or other item receptacle and place them singly on a segmented conveyor or similar structure [0093]; a trajectory of the robotic arm may be updated in real time, as the arm is in motion to grasp an item, based on a updated predicted future position of the item [0101]; the parcel is placed label down a scanner across which parcel slides and/or is swiped reads the label and associates sorting/routing information with the corresponding location on the output conveyor [0127]),
wherein the post-process equipment is processing a post-process, wherein the post-process is later process than a conveyance process conveying the object to be conveyed by the auto mated transportation device (a process to model item flow to pick and place items {by the robot arms 202,230,232 or 234, fig.2B}, [0111]; the system uses the robotic arm to attempt to change the state of the pile/flow in a way that makes a grasp strategy available…the robotic arm may be used to gently nudge, pull, push, etc. an item or multiple items into different positions in the pile…re-computing the 3D view of the scene to determine if a viable grasp strategy has become available [0114]; a process to pick and place items using a robotic arm and end effector [0119], robotic arm is used to approach and attempt to grasp an item according to a grasp strategy determined and selected to grasp the item [0121]).
With respect to claim 2, Sun teaches wherein the information processing device performs abnormality notification when the identification information incompatible with the predetermined condition (If the barcode is on the side or on the bottom or otherwise occluded, the cameras (or other sensors) 1010, 1012, and 1014 are used to scan the package as the robot lifts it up and moves it to the conveyor belt or bin [0130], the robot modifies its controller and motion plan to guarantee that the package is scanned in flight, which may require positioning the object in an optimal way for a barcode scanner to view it while at the same time constraining the motion path so the object lands on an empty slot [0131]…for barcode scanning at the bottom or sides since the barcode scanners must be placed in an optimized configuration to simplify the motion planning task for the robot, and to make sure the robot can do the scan and place rapidly [0132]).
With respect to claim 3, Sun teaches wherein the identification code is configured to be changeable (a multi-axis barcode (or other) scanner or sensor is positioned downstream on the conveyor belt 1008, one that can scan barcodes on the top or bottom [0129]; a local barcode scanner may be used to scan the package, enabling the system to ensure the package barcode becomes associated with the slot in which it ultimately is placed [0151], barcode is interpreted to be changeable).
With respect to claim 41, Sun teaches wherein the information processing device rewrites a correspondence relationship between the identification code and the identification information without changing the identification code (In the event two robots independently are tasked to acquire the same item, the system picks one at random to get that item and the other moves on to the next item (e.g., identify, select, determine grasp strategy, pick, move according to plan, and place) [0055], Conveyor movement and/or speed controlled as needed to avoid empty locations and maximize robot productivity (throughput) [0056], In the event an item is misplaced or dropped, the system assigns a robot or, if needed, a human worker to pick it up and place back in the retrieving robot's own source pile or, if available or more optimal, on a next open slot on the conveyor [0057], Upstream robots controlled to intentionally leave some slots open for downstream robots to place items on the conveyor [0058 [0059] Failure that cannot be corrected by same or another robot results in alert to obtain human (or other robotic) intervention to resolve [0059]; coordinates operation of a plurality of robots, e.g., one or more robots working at each of a plurality of stations, to achieve desired throughput without conflict between robots, such as one robot placing an item in a location the scheduler has assigned to another robot [0068]; strategies to grasp items may be learned over time, e.g., by the system noting and recording the success or failure of prior attempts to grasp a similar item (e.g., same standard item/packaging type; similar shape, rigidity, dimensions; same or similar shape; same or similar material; position and orientation relative to other items in pile; the extent of item overlap; etc.) [0073]; if after a prescribed and/or configured number of attempts the system fails to grasp an item, or if the system cannot determine a further strategy to grasp the item, the system moves on to identify and grasp another item, if available, and/or sends an alert to obtain assistance [0076]).
With respect to claim 5, Sun teaches wherein the post-process equipment is a robot that grasps the object to be conveyed according to the transmitted three-dimensional stop position information (Upstream robots controlled to intentionally leave some slots open for downstream robots to place items on the conveyor [0058 [0059] Failure that cannot be corrected by same or another robot results in alert to obtain human (or other robotic) intervention to resolve [0059]; coordinates operation of a plurality of robots, e.g., one or more robots working at each of a plurality of stations, to achieve desired throughput without conflict between robots, such as one robot placing an item in a location the scheduler has assigned to another robot [0068]).
Conclusion
The additional prior arts made of record and have not been relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as follows: Galluzzo et a. (US 2015/0032252-A1), US-20200242544-A1, US-20210122054-A1, US-20230166914-A1, JP_5872652_B1, JP_6690411_B2, and JP_2022137633_A.
/HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 December 16, 2025
1 See 112b rejection above for claim interpretation.