Status of Claims/Response to Claim Amendments
Claims 1-6 are currently pending in response to the claim amendments filed 03/18/2026. Claim 6 is new and claims 1-2 and 4 are currently amended. The claim amendments overcame the 112 and 102 rejections as set forth in the Office Action mailed 12/18/2025. Upon further consideration, a new 103 ground(s) of rejection is set forth as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nasu (US-2019/0370993-A1) in view of Sun et al. (US 2021/0122054-A1).
With respect to claim 1, Nasu teaches an automated transportation system (a system with an autonomous vehicle 1 travels on a passage in the site, fig.1) comprising:
an autonomous traveling vehicle (autonomous vehicle 1, fig.1) configured to transport an object to be conveyed (to convey a package…in a predetermined site such as a factory, fig.1 and [0020]), [[wherein the autonomous traveling vehicle includes]] an identification code (QR code, [0028]) and a [[stop]] position confirmation marker (RFID tag T, [0028]) [[attached to the autonomous traveling vehicle]], wherein the identification code corresponds to identification information to identify at least either one of the object to be conveyed and the autonomous traveling vehicle (performs a recognition process on a QR code included in an image portion around the position of the vehicle 1 within a shot image and located the closest to the vehicle 1, and thereby detects the section identification information assigned to the QR code…detect the section identification information for identifying the section where the detected vehicle 1 is located [0028], detect section identification information of a section from an image feature value of another object placed in the section…detect section identification information associated with camera identification information associated with a shot image transmitted from the camera 20, from the camera identification information [0029]);
a [[stereo]] camera (camera 20, fig.3) configured to obtain an image of the identification code and the position confirmation marker (performs a recognition process on a QR code included in an image portion around the position of the vehicle 1 within a shot image and located the closest to the vehicle 1, and thereby detects the section identification information assigned to the QR code…detect the section identification information for identifying the section where the detected vehicle 1 is located [0028], detect section identification information of a section from an image feature value of another object placed in the section…detect section identification information associated with camera identification information associated with a shot image transmitted from the camera 20, from the camera identification information [0029]), wherein the camera is arranged at a predetermined position of the autonomous traveling vehicle (camera 20 arranged in sections along travel path of autonomous vehicle 1, fig.1/3); and
an information processing device (management server 30, figs.1-4) comprising: a memory (storage part 34, fig.2); and at least one processor (execution of a program by the arithmetic logic unit, fig.2 and [0024]) configured to obtain a [[three-dimensional stop]] position information of the autonomous traveling vehicle and the identification information from the taken image (acquiring part 31 performs a recognition process on a QR code included in an image portion around the position of the vehicle 1 within a shot image and located the closest to the vehicle 1, and thereby detects the section identification information assigned to the QR code…detect the section identification information for identifying the section where the detected vehicle 1 is located [0028]; the acquiring part 31 may detect section identification information of a section from an image feature value of another object placed in the section…detect section identification information associated with camera identification information associated with a shot image transmitted from the camera 20, from the camera identification information [0029]; the specifying part 32 (a specifying unit) performs image processing on a shot image transmitted from each of the cameras 20 and specifies position information representing the position of the vehicle 1 present in the shot image…specifies position information representing a more detailed position within a section where the vehicle 1 is located…specifies position information of the vehicle 1 based on a shot image showing the vehicle 1 in which vehicle identification information has been detected by the acquiring part 31 described above and based on a passage image stored on the passage information storage part 34 [0030]), and transmit the position information to a post-process equipment1 (vehicle terminal 10 of autonomous vehicle 1, fig.2) when the identification information is compatible with a predetermined condition, wherein the post-process equipment is processing a post-process, wherein the post-process is a later process than a conveyance process of conveying the object to be conveyed by the autonomous traveling vehicle (the transmitting part 33 (a transmitting unit) transmits section identification information and position information of a section where the vehicle 1 present in a shot image is located, which have been acquired from the shot image, to the outside in association with each other…the transmitting part 33 transmits the section identification information and the position information so that the vehicle 1 located in a site where the vehicle 1 can travel can receive from an access point (not shown in the drawings) placed in the site [0032]; Upon receiving mutually associated section identification information and position information transmitted from the transmitting part 33 of the management server 30 as described above, the estimating part 11 (an estimating unit) estimates position information representing the position of itself, namely, the vehicle 1 from the above information…the estimating part 11 checks whether or not the transmitted section identification information and the section identification information stored on the identification information storage part 12 match and, when they match, estimates the position information associated with the transmitted section identification information as the position of the vehicle 1. The estimating part 11 may estimate the transmitted position information as the position of the vehicle 1 as it is, or may estimate the position of the vehicle 1 by using other information from the transmitted position information [0035]).
With respect to claim 1, Nasu teaches of an autonomous traveling vehicle (autonomous vehicle 1, fig.1), an identification code (QR code, [0028]), a position confirmation marker (RFID tag T, [0028]), a camera (camera 20, fig.3), and a position information ([0032-0035].
Nasu fails to teach that the identification code and the stop position confirmation marker are attached to the autonomous traveling vehicle, the camera is a stereo camera, and the position information is a three-dimensional stop position information.
However, it is known by Sun et al. (US 2021/0122054-A1) to teach of an automated transportation system (a robotic singulation system 200, fig.2A) comprising: an automated transportation device (chute/bin/receptacle 206/1004, fig.2A/10A) configured to transport an object to be conveyed (chute/bin/receptacle 206/1004 transport parcels/items/packages, fig.2A/10A and [0048][0124]), wherein the automated transportation device includes an identification code and a stop position confirmation marker attached to the automated transportation device, wherein the identification code indicates an identification information to identify at least either one of the object to be conveyed and the automated transportation device (items are placed with an orientation such that a label or tag is able to be read by a downstream reader configured to read routing (e.g., destination address) information and use the routing information to sort the item to a corresponding destination, such as a pile, bin, or other set of items destined for the same next intermediate and/or final destination, [0046]; a multi-axis barcode (or other) scanner or sensor is positioned downstream on the conveyor belt 1008, one that can scan barcodes on the top or bottom [0129]; scan the package, enabling the system to ensure the package barcode becomes associated with the slot in which it ultimately is placed [0151]); a stereo camera (set of 3D cameras 214 and 216 or 1010, 1012, and 1014; figs.2A-B or figs.10A-B and [0049]; a plurality of cameras, including one or more 3D cameras [0085]) configured to obtain an image of the identification code and the stop position confirmation marker, where in the stereo camera is arranged at a predetermined stop position of the automated transportation device (to generate a 3D view of the workspace, such as a pile or flow of items in a chute or other receptacle [0085]; to read routing information (e.g., text address, optical or other code, etc.)…reads the label and associates sorting/routing information with the corresponding location on the output conveyor [0127]; a multi-axis barcode (or other) scanner or sensor is positioned downstream on the conveyor belt 1008, one that can scan barcodes on the top or bottom [0129]; a camera pointed at the item/pile, such as a camera mounted near the station and/or on the robotic arm and/or end effector, may be used to capture the image [0135]; the label is scanned locally, e.g., using a multi-axis sensor array such as the cameras 1010, 1012, and 1014 of FIGS. 10A and 10B…the routing information determined by scanning the label locally is associated with the slot or other segmented location on the conveyor on which the item was placed [0136]); an information processing device (control computer 212, fig.2B) configured to obtain a three-dimensional stop position information of the automated transportation device and the identification information from the taken image (3D image data is received from one or more cameras 214, 216, 224, and/or 226 of FIGS. 2A and 2B,…image data from multiple cameras is merged to generate a composite 3D view of the scene, such as a pile or flow of items from which items are to be picked {by the robot arms 202,230,232 or 234, fig.2B}, [0082]; real time segmentation results are used to track and/or model the flow of an individual item through the chute. A future position of an item is predicted based on its item-specific model/movement and a plan and strategy to grasp the item at the future location and time is determined and executed autonomously. In some embodiments, the position of the target item is updated continuously [0101]), wherein the information processing device transmits the three-dimensional stop position information to a post-process equipment when the identification information is compatible with a predetermined condition (coordinates the operation of one or more robotic arms and associated end effectors to pick items from a corresponding chute or other item receptacle and place them singly on a segmented conveyor or similar structure [0093]; a trajectory of the robotic arm may be updated in real time, as the arm is in motion to grasp an item, based on a updated predicted future position of the item [0101]; the parcel is placed label down a scanner across which parcel slides and/or is swiped reads the label and associates sorting/routing information with the corresponding location on the output conveyor [0127]), wherein the post-process equipment is processing a post-process, wherein the post-process is later process than a conveyance process conveying the object to be conveyed by the auto mated transportation device (a process to model item flow to pick and place items {by the robot arms 202,230,232 or 234, fig.2B}, [0111]; the system uses the robotic arm to attempt to change the state of the pile/flow in a way that makes a grasp strategy available…the robotic arm may be used to gently nudge, pull, push, etc. an item or multiple items into different positions in the pile…re-computing the 3D view of the scene to determine if a viable grasp strategy has become available [0114]; a process to pick and place items using a robotic arm and end effector [0119], robotic arm is used to approach and attempt to grasp an item according to a grasp strategy determined and selected to grasp the item [0121]).
Because Sun’s teaching is also directed to an automated transportation system (Sun: a robotic singulation system 200, fig.2A; Nasu: a system with an autonomous vehicle 1 travels on a passage in the site, fig.1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching that “the identification code and the stop position confirmation marker are attached to the autonomous traveling vehicle, the camera is a stereo camera, and the position information is a three-dimensional stop position information” as taught by Sun with the automated transportation system as taught by Nasu for the purpose of minimizing errors and increase accuracy [Sun: 0062;0063;0096;0103;0148-0151].
With respect to claim 2, Sun teaches wherein the information processing device performs abnormality notification when the identification information incompatible with the predetermined condition (If the barcode is on the side or on the bottom or otherwise occluded, the cameras (or other sensors) 1010, 1012, and 1014 are used to scan the package as the robot lifts it up and moves it to the conveyor belt or bin [0130], the robot modifies its controller and motion plan to guarantee that the package is scanned in flight, which may require positioning the object in an optimal way for a barcode scanner to view it while at the same time constraining the motion path so the object lands on an empty slot [0131]…for barcode scanning at the bottom or sides since the barcode scanners must be placed in an optimized configuration to simplify the motion planning task for the robot, and to make sure the robot can do the scan and place rapidly [0132]).
With respect to claim 3, Nasu and Sun combined teaches wherein the identification code is configured to be changeable (Sun: a multi-axis barcode (or other) scanner or sensor is positioned downstream on the conveyor belt 1008, one that can scan barcodes on the top or bottom [0129]; a local barcode scanner may be used to scan the package, enabling the system to ensure the package barcode becomes associated with the slot in which it ultimately is placed [0151], barcode is interpreted to be changeable).
With respect to claim 4, Nasu and Sun combined teaches wherein the information processing device rewrites a correspondence relationship between the identification code and the identification information without changing the identification code (Sun: In the event two robots independently are tasked to acquire the same item, the system picks one at random to get that item and the other moves on to the next item (e.g., identify, select, determine grasp strategy, pick, move according to plan, and place) [0055], Conveyor movement and/or speed controlled as needed to avoid empty locations and maximize robot productivity (throughput) [0056], In the event an item is misplaced or dropped, the system assigns a robot or, if needed, a human worker to pick it up and place back in the retrieving robot's own source pile or, if available or more optimal, on a next open slot on the conveyor [0057], Upstream robots controlled to intentionally leave some slots open for downstream robots to place items on the conveyor [0058 [0059] Failure that cannot be corrected by same or another robot results in alert to obtain human (or other robotic) intervention to resolve [0059]; coordinates operation of a plurality of robots, e.g., one or more robots working at each of a plurality of stations, to achieve desired throughput without conflict between robots, such as one robot placing an item in a location the scheduler has assigned to another robot [0068]; strategies to grasp items may be learned over time, e.g., by the system noting and recording the success or failure of prior attempts to grasp a similar item (e.g., same standard item/packaging type; similar shape, rigidity, dimensions; same or similar shape; same or similar material; position and orientation relative to other items in pile; the extent of item overlap; etc.) [0073]; if after a prescribed and/or configured number of attempts the system fails to grasp an item, or if the system cannot determine a further strategy to grasp the item, the system moves on to identify and grasp another item, if available, and/or sends an alert to obtain assistance [0076]).
With respect to claim 5, Nasu and Sun combined teaches wherein the post-process equipment is a robot that grasps the object to be conveyed according to the transmitted three-dimensional stop position information (Sun: Upstream robots controlled to intentionally leave some slots open for downstream robots to place items on the conveyor [0058 [0059] Failure that cannot be corrected by same or another robot results in alert to obtain human (or other robotic) intervention to resolve [0059]; coordinates operation of a plurality of robots, e.g., one or more robots working at each of a plurality of stations, to achieve desired throughput without conflict between robots, such as one robot placing an item in a location the scheduler has assigned to another robot [0068]).
With respect to claim 6, Nasu and Sun combined teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to acquire, from an image in which the stop position confirmation marker is captured, a deviation amount of the autonomous traveling vehicle relative to a reference position at which the autonomous traveling vehicle is to stop (Sun: Computer vision information is generated by merging data from multiple sensors, including one or more of 2D cameras, 3D (e.g., RGBD) cameras, infrared, and other sensors to generate a three-dimensional view of a workspace that includes one or more sorting stations. [0052] Robotic system coordinates operation of multiple robots to avoid collisions, getting in each other's way, and contending to pick up the same item and/or place an item in the same destination location (e.g., segmented part of the conveyor) as another robot [0051-0052]; the robot would lower its speed and would also approach the grasp for the second object in a manner that avoids collisions between the already held first object and the surrounding pile of objects [0088]).
Conclusion
The additional prior arts made of record and have not been relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as follows: WO_2020013337_A1, JP_6199351_B2, JP_6740116_B2, and JP_2003295951_A.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 May 20, 2026
1 As disclosed by Applicant, a post-process equipment is the transfer robot 30. See Specification at [0012].