DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 2/27/2026, claims 2, 10, 12 and 20 are cancelled, claims 1, 3, 11 and 13 are amended. Claims 1, 3- 9, 11, 13- 19 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the remarks on 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 14 lines last two lines to page 15 first three lines, applicant argues, “However, since measurement configuration and measurement execution are two completely different actions, Xu does not disclose the "executing the first operation in the first RRC procedure, and determining the state of the first RRC procedure based on the execution result obtained from the first operation" as described in this application”.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that as per the claim recitations, “executing, by a remote terminal, a first operation, wherein the first operation comprises executing measurement and evaluation related to relay selection or re-selection and executing or skipping executing a first sub-operation”; Xu teaches in [0122]… shown in FIG. 12A, before the remote UE satisfies the trigger event for the A3 event measurement report, the relay reselection event has been completed, and a new connection has been established with a new relay UE. FIG. 12B shows that the remote UE is still served by the current relay UE when the remote UE satisfies the trigger event for the A3 event measurement report. In the above case, the remote UE may be triggered to perform a link selection strategy, for example, comparing the PC5 link of the currently connected relay UE with the neighboring cell Uu link. Hence measurement configuration and measurement execution are not two completely different actions.
On page 15, second paragraph of remarks applicant argues, “since Xu does not disclose the "executing the first operation in the first RRC procedure, and determining the state of the first RRC procedure based on the execution result obtained from the first operation", Xu also does not disclose the "determining the state of the RRC connection establishment procedure / RRC connection resume procedure / RRC connection re-establishment procedure based on the execution result obtained from the first operation during the RRC connection establishment procedure / RRC connection resume procedure / RRC connection re-establishment procedure".”
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that as per discussed above how Xu does disclose the "executing the first operation in the first RRC procedure, and determining the state of the first RRC procedure based on the execution result obtained from the first operation; hence Xu also does disclose the "determining the state of the RRC connection establishment procedure / RRC connection resume procedure / RRC connection re-establishment procedure based on the execution result obtained from the first operation during the RRC connection establishment procedure / RRC connection resume procedure / RRC connection re-establishment procedure; in context with [0137, 0043] refer to [0145] regarding Fig. 15….When the eNB informs the remote UE of the measurement configuration message by using the measConfig cell carried in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message, in the cell table, SupportERelay (1 bit) is additionally used to indicate whether the cell supports the UE-to-Network Relay, “1” indicates that the cell supports the UE-to-Network Relay, and “0” indicates that the cell does not support the UE-to-Network Relay. In addition, remote Thresh needs to be used to inform the cell of the threshold condition configured for the remote UE.
Claims 3- 9, 13- 19 are dependent claims of independent Claims. At least for the same reasons set forth in response to Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim above, claims 3- 9, 13- 19 remain rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0313315 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a measurement method, comprising:
executing, by a remote terminal, a first operation, wherein the first operation comprises executing measurement and evaluation related to relay selection or re-selection and executing or skipping executing a first sub-operation; see [0122]… shown in FIG. 12A, before the remote UE satisfies the trigger event for the A3 event measurement report, the relay reselection event has been completed, and a new connection has been established with a new relay UE. FIG. 12B shows that the remote UE is still served by the current relay UE when the remote UE satisfies the trigger event for the A3 event measurement report. In the above case, the remote UE may be triggered to perform a link selection strategy, for example, comparing the PC5 link of the currently connected relay UE with the neighboring cell Uu link;
wherein the first sub-operation comprises measurement and evaluation related to cell selection or re-selection; see [0137, 0043, 0145, 0148- 0157].
wherein the first operation is executed in a first radio resource control (RRC) procedure, and the method further comprises:
determining a state of the first RRC procedure based on an execution result obtained from the first operation; already discussed above see [0145, 0148- 0157];
wherein the first RRC procedure comprises one of the following procedures:
RRC connection establishment procedure;
RRC connection resume procedure; and
RRC connection re-establishment procedure; Xu see [0137, 0043, 0145, 0148- 0157].
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches terminal comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, following steps are implemented:
executing a first operation, wherein the first operation comprises executing measurement and evaluation related to relay selection or re-selection and executing or skipping executing a first sub-operation; see [0122]… shown in FIG. 12A, before the remote UE(i.e. terminal) satisfies the trigger event for the A3 event measurement report, the relay reselection event has been completed, and a new connection has been established with a new relay UE. FIG. 12B shows that the remote UE is still served by the current relay UE when the remote UE satisfies the trigger event for the A3 event measurement report. In the above case, the remote UE may be triggered to perform a link selection strategy, for example, comparing the PC5 link of the currently connected relay UE with the neighboring cell Uu link;
wherein the first sub-operation comprises measurement and evaluation related to cell selection or re-selection; see [0137, 0043, 0145, 0148- 0157].
wherein the first operation is executed in a first radio resource control (RRC) procedure, and the method further comprises:
determining a state of the first RRC procedure based on an execution result obtained from the first operation; already discussed above see [0145, 0148- 0157];
wherein the first RRC procedure comprises one of the following procedures:
RRC connection establishment procedure;
RRC connection resume procedure; and
RRC connection re-establishment procedure; Xu see [0137, 0043, 0145, 0148- 0157].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3- 9 and 13- 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0313315 A1) in view of Chang et al. (WO 2019/214606 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the determining a state of the first RRC procedure based on an execution result obtained from the first operation comprises:
in a case that the first operation comprises executing the measurement and evaluation related to relay selection or re-selection and skipping executing the first sub-operation and that a relay selection or re-selection condition has been met, determining that failure of the first RRC procedure occurs; or
in a case that the first operation comprises executing the measurement and evaluation related to relay selection or re-selection and executing the first sub-operation and that at least one of the following has been met: cell selection or re-selection condition and relay selection or re-selection condition, determining that failure of the first RRC procedure occurs; see [0137, 0043, 0145, 0148- 0157]; but fails to state about determining that failure of the first RRC procedure occurs; however Chang states as indicating that the RRC connection is released to the NAS layer and the reason for the release is RRC connection failure. It may also be described as indicating to the NAS layer that the RRC connection has been established, optionally including establishing the reason for the RRC connection re-establishment fallback or the RRC connection re-establishment failure. It can also be described as requesting the establishment of a new RRC connection to the NAS layer. The "establishment" can also be expressed as "update"; see page 10 last fourth paragraph. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chang with the teachings of Xu to make system more reliable.
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 3, wherein in a case of determining that failure of the first RRC procedure occurs, the method further comprises:
indicating, by an RRC layer of the remote terminal, first information to a non-access stratum (NAS) layer, wherein content of the first information comprises at least one of the following: failure of the first RRC procedure; and reason for the failure of the first RRC procedure; Chang states as indicating that the RRC connection is released to the NAS layer and the reason for the release is RRC connection failure. It may also be described as indicating to the NAS layer that the RRC connection has been established, optionally including establishing the reason for the RRC connection re-establishment fallback or the RRC connection re-establishment failure. It can also be described as requesting the establishment of a new RRC connection to the NAS layer. The "establishment" can also be expressed as "update"; see page 10 last fourth paragraph.
Regarding claim 5, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 4, wherein the method further comprises:
indicating, by the NAS layer, the RRC layer to trigger a resume operation corresponding to the failure of the first RRC procedure, wherein the resume operation comprises one of the following:
initiating a second RRC procedure with a cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition;
initiating a second RRC procedure with a relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition; and
determining, based on first measurement information, to initiate a second RRC procedure with a cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate a second RRC procedure with a relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition, wherein the first measurement information comprises at least one of the following: first measurement result of Uu link and second measurement result of sidelink; Chang states as indicating that the RRC connection is released to the NAS layer and the reason for the release is RRC connection failure. It may also be described as indicating to the NAS layer that the RRC connection has been established, optionally including establishing the reason for the RRC connection re-establishment fallback or the RRC connection re-establishment failure. It can also be described as requesting the establishment of a new RRC connection to the NAS layer. The "establishment" can also be expressed as "update"; see page 10 last fourth paragraph.
Regarding claim 6, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 5, further comprising:
remaining, by the remote terminal, in an RRC state before initiating the second RRC procedure, wherein the second RRC procedure is the same as the first RRC procedure; or
entering, by the remote terminal, an idle state before initiating the second RRC procedure, wherein the second RRC procedure is an RRC connection establishment procedure; Chang as indicating that the RRC connection is released to the NAS layer and the reason for the release is RRC connection failure. It may also be described as indicating to the NAS layer that the RRC connection has been established, optionally including establishing the reason for the RRC connection re-establishment fallback or the RRC connection re-establishment failure. It can also be described as requesting the establishment of a new RRC connection to the NAS layer. The "establishment" can also be expressed as "update".
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 5, wherein the determining, based on first measurement information, to initiate a second RRC procedure with a cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate a second RRC procedure with a relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises:
in a case that the first measurement result is greater than the second measurement result, initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition; and
in a case that the first measurement result is less than the second measurement result, initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition; see claim 5’s citations second measurement result is in “OR” limitations.
Regarding claim 8, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 5, wherein the determining, based on first measurement information, to initiate a second RRC procedure with a cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate a second RRC procedure with a relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises:
determining, based on the first measurement information and second information, to initiate the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition; wherein
the second information comprises at least one of the following: first threshold related to Uu link and second threshold related to sidelink; Xu see [0043]... the remote UE is in the coverage of cell A and has established a PC5 link with a relay UE, while the remote UE is moving from cell A to cell B. At this time, the quality of the PC5 (sidelik) link between the remote UE and the current relay UE may be decreased (i.e. threshold should be there to compare about decreasing event), and the quality of the Uu link of the cell A may also decreased, and the quality of the Uu link of an adjacent cell B may be increased. The measurement result of the remote UE may satisfy a relay reselection condition (the relay reselection refers to a case that the remote UE needs to reselect the relay UE due to the radio link quality or other reasons after establishing a connection with a relay UE) and a cell handover condition….
Regarding claim 9, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 8, wherein
in a case that the second information comprises the first threshold, the determining, based on the first measurement information and second information, to initiate the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the first measurement result is greater than the first threshold, initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition; and
in a case that the first measurement result is less than the first threshold, initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition;
or
in a case that the second information comprises the second threshold, the determining, based on the first measurement information and second information, to initiate the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the second measurement result is greater than the second threshold, initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition; and
in a case that the second measurement result is less than the second threshold, initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition;
or
in a case that the second information comprises the first threshold and the second threshold, the determining, based on the first measurement information and second information, to initiate the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises one of the following:
initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition in a first case, and initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition in a second case, wherein the first case comprises the first measurement result being greater than the first threshold and the second measurement result being less than the second threshold, and the second case is a case other than the first case; and
initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition in a third case, and initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition in a fourth case, wherein the third case comprises the first measurement result being less than the first threshold and the second measurement result being greater than the second threshold, and the fourth case is a case other than the third case; Xu see [0043]…. remote UE is in the coverage of cell A and has established a PC5 link with a relay UE, while the remote UE is moving from cell A to cell B. At this time, the quality of the PC5 link between the remote UE and the current relay UE may be decreased, and the quality of the Uu link of the cell A may also decreased, and the quality of the Uu link of an adjacent cell B may be increased. The measurement result of the remote UE may satisfy a relay reselection condition (the relay reselection refers to a case that the remote UE needs to reselect the relay UE due to the radio link quality or other reasons after establishing a connection with a relay UE) and a cell handover condition. A scheme for determining a path switching manner of the remote UE especially in this case is provided in this embodiment. For example, it is determined whether to switch from a PC5 link to another PC5 link of the cell A or the cell B, or to switch from the PC5 link to a Uu link of the cell B. In different situations, the remote UE performing different link switching may have different effects on service continuity. By performing communication link selection according to the present embodiment, for example, the remote UE can be better served in terms of service continuity, link switching power consumption, and delay. In the above example, the cell may be a macro cell or a small cell.
Regarding claim 13, Xu teaches as per claim 11, wherein the determining a state of the first RRC procedure based on an execution result obtained from the first operation comprises:
in a case that the first operation comprises executing the measurement and evaluation related to relay selection or re-selection and skipping executing the first sub-operation and that a relay selection or re-selection condition has been met, determining that failure of the first RRC procedure occurs; or
in a case that the first operation comprises executing the measurement and evaluation related to relay selection or re-selection and executing the first sub-operation and that at least one of the following has been met: cell selection or re-selection condition and relay selection or re-selection condition, determining that failure of the first RRC procedure occurs; see [0137, 0043, 0145, 0148- 0157]; but fails to state about determining that failure of the first RRC procedure occurs; however Chang states as indicating that the RRC connection is released to the NAS layer and the reason for the release is RRC connection failure. It may also be described as indicating to the NAS layer that the RRC connection has been established, optionally including establishing the reason for the RRC connection re-establishment fallback or the RRC connection re-establishment failure. It can also be described as requesting the establishment of a new RRC connection to the NAS layer. The "establishment" can also be expressed as "update"; see page 10 last fourth paragraph. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chang with the teachings of Xu to make system more reliable.
Regarding claim 14, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 13, wherein in a case of determining that failure of the first RRC procedure occurs, the method further comprises:
indicating, by an RRC layer of the remote terminal, first information to a non-access stratum (NAS) layer, wherein content of the first information comprises at least one of the following: failure of the first RRC procedure; and reason for the failure of the first RRC procedure; Chang states as indicating that the RRC connection is released to the NAS layer and the reason for the release is RRC connection failure. It may also be described as indicating to the NAS layer that the RRC connection has been established, optionally including establishing the reason for the RRC connection re-establishment fallback or the RRC connection re-establishment failure. It can also be described as requesting the establishment of a new RRC connection to the NAS layer. The "establishment" can also be expressed as "update"; see page 10 last fourth paragraph.
Regarding claim 15, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 14, wherein the method further comprises:
indicating, by the NAS layer, the RRC layer to trigger a resume operation corresponding to the failure of the first RRC procedure, wherein the resume operation comprises one of the following:
initiating a second RRC procedure with a cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition;
initiating a second RRC procedure with a relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition; and
determining, based on first measurement information, to initiate a second RRC procedure with a cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate a second RRC procedure with a relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition, wherein the first measurement information comprises at least one of the following: first measurement result of Uu link and second measurement result of sidelink; Chang states as indicating that the RRC connection is released to the NAS layer and the reason for the release is RRC connection failure. It may also be described as indicating to the NAS layer that the RRC connection has been established, optionally including establishing the reason for the RRC connection re-establishment fallback or the RRC connection re-establishment failure. It can also be described as requesting the establishment of a new RRC connection to the NAS layer. The "establishment" can also be expressed as "update"; see page 10 last fourth paragraph.
Regarding claim 16, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 15, further comprising:
remaining, by the remote terminal, in an RRC state before initiating the second RRC procedure, wherein the second RRC procedure is the same as the first RRC procedure; or
entering, by the remote terminal, an idle state before initiating the second RRC procedure, wherein the second RRC procedure is an RRC connection establishment procedure; Chang as indicating that the RRC connection is released to the NAS layer and the reason for the release is RRC connection failure. It may also be described as indicating to the NAS layer that the RRC connection has been established, optionally including establishing the reason for the RRC connection re-establishment fallback or the RRC connection re-establishment failure. It can also be described as requesting the establishment of a new RRC connection to the NAS layer. The "establishment" can also be expressed as "update".
Regarding claim 17, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 15, wherein the determining, based on first measurement information, to initiate a second RRC procedure with a cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate a second RRC procedure with a relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises:
in a case that the first measurement result is greater than the second measurement result, initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition; and
in a case that the first measurement result is less than the second measurement result, initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition; see claim 15’s citations second measurement result is in “OR” limitations.
Regarding claim 18, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 15, wherein the determining, based on first measurement information, to initiate a second RRC procedure with a cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate a second RRC procedure with a relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises:
determining, based on the first measurement information and second information, to initiate the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition; wherein
the second information comprises at least one of the following: first threshold related to Uu link and second threshold related to sidelink; Xu see [0043]... the remote UE is in the coverage of cell A and has established a PC5 link with a relay UE, while the remote UE is moving from cell A to cell B. At this time, the quality of the PC5 (sidelik) link between the remote UE and the current relay UE may be decreased (i.e. threshold should be there to compare about decreasing event), and the quality of the Uu link of the cell A may also decreased, and the quality of the Uu link of an adjacent cell B may be increased. The measurement result of the remote UE may satisfy a relay reselection condition (the relay reselection refers to a case that the remote UE needs to reselect the relay UE due to the radio link quality or other reasons after establishing a connection with a relay UE) and a cell handover condition….
Regarding claim 19, Xu in view of Chang teaches as per claim 18, wherein
in a case that the second information comprises the first threshold, the determining, based on the first measurement information and second information, to initiate the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the first measurement result is greater than the first threshold, initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition; and
in a case that the first measurement result is less than the first threshold, initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition;
or
in a case that the second information comprises the second threshold, the determining, based on the first measurement information and second information, to initiate the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the second measurement result is greater than the second threshold, initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition; and
in a case that the second measurement result is less than the second threshold, initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition;
or
in a case that the second information comprises the first threshold and the second threshold, the determining, based on the first measurement information and second information, to initiate the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition or initiate the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition comprises one of the following:
initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition in a first case, and initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition in a second case, wherein the first case comprises the first measurement result being greater than the first threshold and the second measurement result being less than the second threshold, and the second case is a case other than the first case; and
initiating the second RRC procedure with the relay terminal that meets the relay selection or re-selection condition in a third case, and initiating the second RRC procedure with the cell that meets the cell selection or re-selection condition in a fourth case, wherein the third case comprises the first measurement result being less than the first threshold and the second measurement result being greater than the second threshold, and the fourth case is a case other than the third case; Xu see [0043]…. remote UE is in the coverage of cell A and has established a PC5 link with a relay UE, while the remote UE is moving from cell A to cell B. At this time, the quality of the PC5 link between the remote UE and the current relay UE may be decreased, and the quality of the Uu link of the cell A may also decreased, and the quality of the Uu link of an adjacent cell B may be increased. The measurement result of the remote UE may satisfy a relay reselection condition (the relay reselection refers to a case that the remote UE needs to reselect the relay UE due to the radio link quality or other reasons after establishing a connection with a relay UE) and a cell handover condition. A scheme for determining a path switching manner of the remote UE especially in this case is provided in this embodiment. For example, it is determined whether to switch from a PC5 link to another PC5 link of the cell A or the cell B, or to switch from the PC5 link to a Uu link of the cell B. In different situations, the remote UE performing different link switching may have different effects on service continuity. By performing communication link selection according to the present embodiment, for example, the remote UE can be better served in terms of service continuity, link switching power consumption, and delay. In the above example, the cell may be a macro cell or a small cell.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479