DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 7, and 9-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-12 of the Applicant’s Remarks, the Applicant argues that the combination of Seregin and Zhao fails to disclose the limitation, “wherein the coding information comprises at least one of a quantization parameter (OP), motion information, a color component, a color format, a temporal layer, a slice type, a coding tree depth, a residual coefficient of the video block, a residual coefficient coding mode, or a tree type,” of independent claims 1 and 18-20, and consequently fails to render obvious claims 1-3, 5, 8, and 16- 20.
However, the Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s Remarks. Zhao discloses that the bullets and sub-bullets listed below are generally directed to techniques of this disclosure that generally relate to conditions of using sign prediction. According to these aspects of this disclosure, several conditions may be applied for blocks which can apply sign prediction. These conditions may include, but are not limited to, the block width and height, block area size, transform coefficient frequency locations, last position, intra prediction mode, whether only primary transform is used to code a block, whether only particular transform functions or certain transform subset are used, inverse transform method, whether it is intra or inter coded blocks, or any other decoded information of the current and/or neighbor block(s). [See Zhao, 0236]. Thus, Zhao discloses that any decoded information of the current and/or neighbor block(s) could be used a condition of using sign prediction [See Zhao, 0236].
Further, Zhao discloses that the number of predicted signs (e.g., 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6) may depend on decoded/encoded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, block width/height, block size, QP, color components, temporal layer, intra/inter coded, whether transform skip/identity transform is applied, whether non-separable secondary transform is applied, quantized coefficients, EMT index, PDPC flag/index [See Zhao, 0263]. Thus, Zhao discloses that decoded information may include QP, color components, and temporal layer [See Zhao, 0263].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that any other decoded information would include QP, color components, or temporal layer information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the decoded information which include QP, color components, or temporal layer information could be used a condition for using sign prediction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seregin et al. (Hereafter, “Seregin”) [US 2018/0278951 A1] in view of Zhao et al. (Hereafter, “Zhao”) [US 2018/0176582 A1].
In regards to claim 1, Seregin discloses a method of processing video data ([0002] This disclosure relates to video encoding and decoding.), comprising: determining, for a conversion between a video block of a video and a bitstream of the video ([0048] To generate an encoded representation of a picture, video encoder 20 may encode blocks of the picture. Video encoder 20 may include, in a bitstream, an encoded representation of the video block.), whether a sign prediction is applied for one or more residual coefficients in the video block based on a rule ([0135] The following describes some possible MVD sign exceptions (e.g., times when the one or more example MVD component sign prediction techniques may not be used).); and performing the conversion based on the determining, wherein the rule specifies that whether the sign prediction is applied for one or more residual coefficients in the video block is based on coding information for the video block ([0135] The following describes some possible MVD sign exceptions (e.g., times when the one or more example MVD component sign prediction techniques may not be used). MVD sign predictor may not always be efficient. In one example, MVD sign predictor is not used with OBMC since OBMC may smooth the discontinuity measure and selecting the best block reconstruction may not be obvious. [0137] Absolute MV, MVP, MVD can be compared against the threshold, and, based on the comparison results, for example, if smaller or larger, MVD sign prediction is not applied.),
Zhao discloses a method of processing video data ([0013] method of coding video data), comprising: determining, for a conversion between a video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, whether a sign prediction is applied for one or more residual coefficients in the video block based on a rule ([0013] determining that a block of the video data is eligible to be coded using sign prediction); and performing the conversion based on the determining, wherein the rule specifies that whether the sign prediction is applied for one or more residual coefficients in the video block is based on coding information for the video block ([0013] performing the sign prediction with respect to one or more transform coefficients of the block only if the block meets a predetermined criterion, where the predetermined criterion is based on at least one of: a width of the block, a height of the block, a coding mode used to code the block, or a position of one or more sign-predicted transform coefficients within the block, and coding the block based on the sign prediction performed with respect to the block [0236] The bullets and sub-bullets listed below are generally directed to techniques of this disclosure that generally relate to conditions of using sign prediction. According to these aspects of this disclosure, several conditions may be applied for blocks which can apply sign prediction. These conditions may include, but are not limited to, the block width and height, block area size, transform coefficient frequency locations, last position, intra prediction mode, whether only primary transform is used to code a block, whether only particular transform functions or certain transform subset are used, inverse transform method, whether it is intra or inter coded blocks, or any other decoded information of the current and/or neighbor block(s).), wherein the coding information comprises at least one of a quantization parameter (QP), motion information, a color component, a color format, a temporal layer, a slice type, a coding tree depth, a residual coefficient of the video block, a residual coefficient coding mode, or a tree type ([0236] The bullets and sub-bullets listed below are generally directed to techniques of this disclosure that generally relate to conditions of using sign prediction. According to these aspects of this disclosure, several conditions may be applied for blocks which can apply sign prediction. These conditions may include, but are not limited to, the block width and height, block area size, transform coefficient frequency locations, last position, intra prediction mode, whether only primary transform is used to code a block, whether only particular transform functions or certain transform subset are used, inverse transform method, whether it is intra or inter coded blocks, or any other decoded information of the current and/or neighbor block(s). [0263] decoded/encoded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, block width/height, block size, QP, color components, temporal layer, intra/inter coded, whether transform skip/identity transform is applied, whether non-separable secondary transform is applied, quantized coefficients, EMT index, PDPC flag/index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seregin with the teachings of Zhao in order to effectively improve compression and efficiency.
In regards to claim 2, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Seregin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the coding information comprises a transform type for the video block.
Zhao discloses wherein the coding information comprises a transform type for the video block ([0236] The bullets and sub-bullets listed below are generally directed to techniques of this disclosure that generally relate to conditions of using sign prediction. According to these aspects of this disclosure, several conditions may be applied for blocks which can apply sign prediction. These conditions may include, but are not limited to, the block width and height, block area size, transform coefficient frequency locations, last position, intra prediction mode, whether only primary transform is used to code a block, whether only particular transform functions or certain transform subset are used, inverse transform method, whether it is intra or inter coded blocks, or any other decoded information of the current and/or neighbor block(s). [0245] In another example, sign prediction may be applied only for the blocks that use certain transform core or certain transform set/subset, because it is possible that sign prediction may not work efficiently for all transform basis/cores, and complexity can be reduced by limiting the sign prediction application.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seregin with the teachings of Zhao in order to effectively improve compression and efficiency.
In regards to claim 3, the limitations of claim 2 have been addressed. Seregin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sign prediction is allowed for the video block, in a case that the transform type for the video block is a low frequency non-separable transform (LFNST).
Zhao discloses wherein the sign prediction is allowed for the video block, in a case that the transform type for the video block is a low frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) ([0123] According to some implementations of the cost function measurement aspects of this disclosure, video encoder 22 may determine the number of predicted signs (e.g., 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, etc.) in a way that the number of predicted signs depends on previously-encoded information. Non-limiting examples of previously-encoded information that video encoder 22 may use in determining the number of predicted signs include, but are not limited to, intra prediction mode, block width/height, block size (area), QP, color components, temporal layer, whether the block is intra-coded or inter coded, whether transform skip or identity transform is applied, whether non-separable secondary transform is applied, quantized coefficients, the presence/value of an enhanced multiple transform (EMT) index, or the presence/value of a position-dependent prediction combination (PDPC) flag or index.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seregin with the determination of the number of predicted signs (0 or more) based on NSST being performed as taught by Zhao in order to effectively improve compression and efficiency.
In regards to claim 5, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Seregin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the rule further specifies that a maximum area for the sign prediction is determined based on at least one of configuration, a quantization parameter (QP), and a sequence class, or the maximum area for the sign prediction is signaled at a sequence parameter set (SPS) level in the bitstream.
Zhao discloses wherein the rule further specifies that a maximum area for the sign prediction is determined based on at least one of configuration, a quantization parameter (QP), and a sequence class, or the maximum area for the sign prediction is signaled at a sequence parameter set (SPS) level in the bitstream ([0237] a. In one example, sign prediction is not applied if either of block width or block height is larger than a threshold, where the threshold may be pre-defined. (Where otherwise, the sign prediction would be applied according to existing sign prediction technology). Alternatively, the threshold can be configurable and may be signaled. A typical threshold value can be, but is not limited to 4, 8, 16, 32, or 64.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seregin with the teachings of Zhao in order to effectively improve compression and efficiency.
In regards to claim 8, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Seregin discloses wherein the coding information further comprises at least one of a prediction mode ([0135] In one example, MVD sign predictor is not used with OBMC since OBMC may smooth the discontinuity measure and selecting the best block reconstruction may not be obvious.), a coding tool, information of a neighboring block for the video block.
Zhao discloses wherein the coding information further comprises at least one of a prediction mode, a coding tool, or information of a neighboring block for the video block ([0236] The bullets and sub-bullets listed below are generally directed to techniques of this disclosure that generally relate to conditions of using sign prediction. According to these aspects of this disclosure, several conditions may be applied for blocks which can apply sign prediction. These conditions may include, but are not limited to, the block width and height, block area size, transform coefficient frequency locations, last position, intra prediction mode, whether only primary transform is used to code a block, whether only particular transform functions or certain transform subset are used, inverse transform method, whether it is intra or inter coded blocks, or any other decoded information of the current and/or neighbor block(s).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seregin with the teachings of Zhao in order to effectively improve compression and efficiency.
In regards to claim 16, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Seregin discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the video block into the bitstream ([0007] a video coder (e.g., video encoder or video decoder) [0009] a method of encoding video data).
In regards to claim 17, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Seregin discloses wherein the conversion includes decoding the video block from the bitstream ([0007] a video coder (e.g., video encoder or video decoder) [0008] a method of decoding video data).
Claim 18 lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 18.
Claim 19 lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 19.
Claim 20 lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 20.
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482