DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lam et al (US Pat. No. 12,477,601).
Regarding claim 1, Lam et al discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (col. 11, [voice interface device, 102 – figure 1]), comprising:
a processor (figure 1, processor 108); and
a memory (figure 1, memory 112) coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution by the processor, cause the IHS to:
receive pairing information for a wireless shared device (col. 11 [lines 35-40] voice interface device receiving the pairing request from accessory device, 103);
pair with the wireless shared device on a temporary basis (col. 11 [lines 40-45] establish pairing between voice interface device and accessory device); and
purge the pairing information from the IHS based, at least in part, on an
occurrence of an expiration event (col. 11 [line 57] to col. 12 [line 6] dissociation event detected, removes the pairing information).
Regarding claim 2, Lam et al discloses the expiration event comprises a lapse of a preset duration of time (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 3, Lam et al discloses the expiration event comprises a disconnection of a meeting session (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 4, Lam et al discloses the expiration event comprises a removal of the IHS from a room associated with the wireless shared device (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 5, Lam et al discloses the temporary basis comprises at least one of the following types: a time-bound basis, a location-bound basis, or a Unified Communication (UC) meeting-bound basis (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 6, Lam et al discloses the program instructions, upon execution by the processor, further cause the IHS to: prompt a user for the type of temporary basis for pairing with the wireless shared device; and store the type of temporary basis for the wireless shared device in the memory (col. 22 [lines 60-67]).
Regarding claim 7, Lam et al discloses the program instructions, upon execution by the processor, further cause the IHS to: receive a second set of pairing information for the wireless shared device; retrieve the type of temporary basis for the wireless shared device from the memory, so that the user is not prompted a second time; and pair with the wireless shared device based on the retrieved type of temporary basis (col. 29 [lines 12-25] enterprise system receiving second identifier).
Regarding claim 8, Lam et al discloses the program instructions, upon execution by the processor, further cause the IHS to: monitor for the expiration event; and based, at least in part, on the expiration event not occurring, keep the type of temporary basis for the wireless shared device in the memory (col. 4 [lines 30-40]).
Regarding claim 9, Lam et al discloses to purge the pairing information from the IHS, the program instructions, upon execution by the processor, further cause the IHS to: monitor for the expiration event; and based, at least in part, on the occurrence of the expiration event, remove information regarding the type of temporary basis for the wireless shared device from the memory (col. 4 [lines 60-67]).
Regarding claim 10, Lam et al discloses a hardware memory device (memory 126 – figure 1) having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution by a processor of a wireless peripheral (accessory device 103 – figure 1), causes the peripheral to:
transmit peripheral pairing information (col. 11 [lines 35-40] voice interface device receiving the pairing request from accessory device, 103);
obtain Information Handling System (IHS) pairing information from an IHS (col. 11 [lines 5-20] accessory device receiving pairing command);
pair with the IHS on a temporary basis based, at least in part, on the IHS pairing information (col. 11 [lines 40-45] establish pairing between voice interface device and accessory device); and
automatically purge the IHS pairing information from the hardware memory based, at least in part, on an occurrence of an expiration event (col. 11 [line 57] to col. 12 [line 6] dissociation event detected, removes the pairing information).
Regarding claim 11, Lam et al discloses the expiration event comprises a lapse of a preset duration of time (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 12, Lam et al discloses the expiration event comprises a disconnection of a meeting session (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 13, Lam et al discloses the expiration event comprises a removal of the IHS from a room associated with the wireless shared device (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 14, Lam et al discloses the expiration event comprises a disconnection of the pair with the IHS (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 15, Lam et al discloses the temporary basis comprises at least one of the following types: a time-bound basis, a location-bound basis, or a Unified Communication (UC) meeting-bound basis (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 21, Lam et al discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at an Information Handling System (IHS), first pairing information for a wireless shared device (col. 11 [lines 35-40] voice interface device receiving the pairing request from accessory device, 103);
pairing the IHS with the wireless shared device on a temporary basis (col. 11 [lines 40-45] establish pairing between voice interface device and accessory device); and
causing the pairing information to be purged from the IHS based, at least in part, on an occurrence of an expiration event (col. 11 [line 57] to col. 12 [line 6] dissociation event detected, removes the pairing information).
Regarding claim 22, Lam et al discloses receiving, at the IHS, second pairing
information for the wireless shared device; based on retrieving a type of temporary pairing designation previously collected from a user, pairing the IHS and the wireless shared device without prompting the user for the type of temporary pairing designation (col. 29 [lines 12-25] enterprise system receiving second identifier).
Regarding claim 23, Lam et al discloses the temporary basis comprises a time-bound basis (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 24, Lam et al discloses the temporary basis comprises a location-bound basis (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Regarding claim 25, Lam et al discloses the temporary basis comprises a Unified Communication (UC) meeting-bound basis (col. 21 [lines 10-15]).
Response to Arguments
In response to Election/Restriction, an election was made to examine the invention of first species, claims 1-15 and 21-25. Claims 16-20 cancelled. Claims 21-25 were newly added.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Pedersen et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0053460) directed toward pairing of audio devices.
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642