DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 7, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa, et. al. (US 20150255998 A1), in view of Matsuda, et. al. (US2010003561A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hasegawa teaches an all-solid-state battery system (“[0047] The configuration of the battery whose charging is to be controlled by the present invention is not particularly limited. For example, an all-solid-state battery can be preferably used”), comprising: an all-solid-state battery (see [0047]); a heating device (“[0025] heating device such as a heater”) that heats the all-solid-state battery; and a control device configured to control the heating device (“[0029] a control device of battery charging”).
Hasegawa teaches a charging control map stored within the engine control unit (ECU), specifying the intended SOC, the steps for charging, and the intended pre-determined temperature for beginning charging. Id. at [0031]. This strongly implies a “predetermined time,” as charging by necessity has a duration and thereby a time period / pre-determined time. However, a means of distinguishing between intervals, i.e. the difference between a pause in charging and this predetermined time, is not directly disclosed by Hasegawa. Finally, Hasegawa teaches “[0008] The inventors also have found that: in order to charge a degraded all-solid-state battery to a high SOC with the charging current value increased and without causing Li precipitation, it is effective to charge the battery with the temperature of the battery increased.”
Matsuda teaches a control unit for determining dryness, wherein “[0049] In Embodiment 1, the dryness degree determination means 20 measures the time between the time the stack 2 stops power generation and the time it resumes power generation, i.e., the shut-down period, to determine the degree of dryness of the stack 2 or cathode 7. The degree of dryness or wetness of the cathode 7 at the time of start of power generation can be estimated from the shut-down period, which varies according to how the fuel cell system is used. A commonly used timer can be used as the dryness degree determination means 20, and the shut-down period after the power generation is stopped is measured based on a time-storing program.” Further, “0062] More specifically, the CPU 17 obtains information on the difference between the temperatures detected by the temperature sensors 23 A and 23 B from the dryness degree determination means 20 . When it determines that the temperature of the cathode 7 detected by the temperature sensor 23 A is higher than the temperature of the outside air detected by the temperature sensor 23 B by more than the reference value for determining the degree of dryness, it determines that the shut-down period is not long enough to dry the cathode 7 . As a result, the power generation control means 5 controlled by the CPU 17 actuates the air delivery means 10 and causes it to supply the air sucked through the air pipe 11 to the stack 2 through the air pipe 12 , thereby drying the cathode 7 .” This also comprises “[0043] a pair of heaters.” Because “[0084] In stopping the power generation, the supply of air and fuel and the heaters were stopped,” this indicates the heaters, i.e. a heating device, activates alongside the air supply. This indicates that a) degree of dryness is at least in part determined by time, wherein a predetermined time indicates the average time to dry, and b) that heating may occur in response to a resumption of charging, to a temperature higher than a temperature of the all-solid state battery before the pause of the charging. However, “[0015] After the power generation is stopped for a certain period of time, the amount of water remaining in the MEA is small, and in such state, the amount of water accumulated in the cathode is not so large as to require drying by a purge. In such cases, these methods may make the MEA too dry.” The corollary to this teaching is that, c) when the time is less than this “certain period,” heating / purge methods may be appropriate. These teachings a), b), and c), as well as the teaching of Hasegawa come together to indicate that a pause shorter than a predetermined time indicates that drying may be appropriate which indicates that shutdown time acts as a result effective variable for optimal temperature performance, particularly because Hasegawa teaches higher temperatures improve high SOC charging with degraded all-solid-state batteries.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery system of Hasegawa, wherein “when charging of the all-solid-state battery is resumed after a pause shorter than a predetermined time, the control device is configured to control the heating device to raise a temperature of the all-solid-state battery after resumption of the charging to a temperature higher than a temperature of the all-solid-state battery before the pause of the charging,” because Hasegawa teaches a benefit to charging when in a specific temperature range, Matsuda teaches a device and method for measuring shutdown time as well as temperature, and heating in response to the shutdown time, and Matsuda teaches that shutdown time acts as a result effective variable for optimal temperature performance that one of skill in the art would arrive at through routine optimization.
Claim 1 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Modified Hasegawa teaches predetermined time of Claim 1. Hasegawa teaches an all solid battery having a layered active material such as lithium cobalt oxide. Hasegawa at [0047].
Claim 2 depends upon a product claim. A component or limitation of a product claim, such as a reference or predetermined time period of shutdown, which is taught by the prior art applies even if it does not recite the same intended use. MPEP 2111.02. (I). For this reason, because Modified Hasegawa teaches a predetermined time and an active material, modified Hasegawa teaches “the all-solid-state battery includes an active material; and the predetermined time is a time required for reaction unevenness occurring in the active material to be resolved during the pause of the charging.”
Claim 2 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Hasegawa teaches a charging control map for the control device, wherein “[0033] The charging current value is specified in the step S 108 . Then, it is judged whether or not the degree of degradation X of the battery is X 3 or more (step S 109 ). In a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 109 , it can be considered that the degradation of the battery has so proceeded that it is difficult to charge the battery with the temperature increased. Therefore, in a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 109 , the battery temperature is set lower than T 2 (step S 110 ). The temperature T 3 lower than T 2 can be specified by means of the charging control map.”
As previously modified, modified Hasegawa teaches the raising of the temperature of the battery system to facilitate charging. Taken together with [0033], modified Hasegawa reads upon “wherein after the resumption of the charging, when an elapsed time from the pause of the charging exceeds a reference time after the resumption of the charging, the control device is configured to control the heating device to lower a temperature of the all-solid-state battery after the elapsed time exceeds the reference time to below a temperature of the all-solid-state battery before the elapsed time exceeds the reference time.”
Claim 7 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 3. Claim 3 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Hasegawa teaches a first and second temperature T 1 and T 2. Hasegawa at [0023]. Within the charging current control map stored within the ECU, this is stored along with a predetermined time. Further, Hasegawa teaches [0032] therefore, in a case where a negative judgment is made in the step S 106 , the temperature of the battery is increased (step S 116 ). The battery temperature T 2 after increased can be specified by means of the charging control map.”
As previously modified within Claim 1 above, modified Hasegawa teaches that when charging of the all-solid-state battery is resumed after a pause shorter than a predetermined time, the control device is configured to control the heating device to raise a temperature of the all-solid-state battery after resumption of the charging to a temperature higher than a temperature of the all-solid-state battery before the pause of the charging. Taken together with the target temperatures T1, Tw, and the charging control map of Hasegawa, this reads upon, “the control device is configured to set a target temperature of the all-solid-state battery and control the heating device such that the temperature of the all-solid-state battery reaches the target temperature; and after the resumption of the charging, when the elapsed time from the pause of the charging does not exceed the reference time, the control device is configured to set the target temperature to a second target temperature that is higher than a first target temperature before the resumption of the charging.”
Claim 8 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda, further in view of Ashida.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 7. Claim 7 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
In a configuration wherein the reference time is shorter than the predetermined time, this indicates cooling during or immediately preceding a halt in operation. Because Hasegawa teaches ““[0033] The charging current value is specified in the step S 108 . Then, it is judged whether or not the degree of degradation X of the battery is X 3 or more (step S 109 ). In a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 109 , it can be considered that the degradation of the battery has so proceeded that it is difficult to charge the battery with the temperature increased. Therefore, in a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 109 , the battery temperature is set lower than T 2 (step S 110 ). The temperature T 3 lower than T 2 can be specified by means of the charging control map,” this reads upon setting a reference time such that
the reference time is shorter than the predetermined time provided degradation of the battery is detected.
Claim 9 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Hasegawa teaches ““[0033] The charging current value is specified in the step S 108 . Then, it is judged whether or not the degree of degradation X of the battery is X 3 or more (step S 109 ). In a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 109 , it can be considered that the degradation of the battery has so proceeded that it is difficult to charge the battery with the temperature increased. Therefore, in a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 109 , the battery temperature is set lower than T 2 (step S 110 ). The temperature T 3 lower than T 2 can be specified by means of the charging control map.” Because this teaches setting a references time this reads upon setting a reference time in response to the charge and degradation state, this reads upon “the reference time is a remaining time obtained by subtracting a pause time of the charging from the predetermined time.”
Claim 10 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 relies upon Claim 7. Claim 7 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Hasegawa teaches “[0031] In a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 101 , the vehicle is in the charging mode, where the battery is charged; therefore a starting command to give a command to start the feeding device is sent from the controller equipped with the vehicle to the feeding device (step S 102 ). Once the starting command is sent to the feeding device, the temperature of the battery is measured (step S 103 ); thereafter the degree of degradation of the battery is examined (step S 104 ). The temperature measurement of the step S 103 can be carried out by means of a known temperature sensor.” Further, Hasegawa teaches ““[0033] The charging current value is specified in the step S 108 . Then, it is judged whether or not the degree of degradation X of the battery is X 3 or more (step S 109 ). In a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 109 , it can be considered that the degradation of the battery has so proceeded that it is difficult to charge the battery with the temperature increased. Therefore, in a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 109 , the battery temperature is set lower than T 2 (step S 110 ). The temperature T 3 lower than T 2 can be specified by means of the charging control map.”
Because increasing the reference time amounts to slower charging, this reads upon “further comprising a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the all-solid-state battery, wherein the control device is configured to set the reference time to be longer as the detected temperature is lower.”
Claim 11 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Hasegawa teaches “[0002] A lithium-ion secondary battery has a higher energy density and is operable at a high voltage compared to conventional secondary batteries. Therefore, it is used for information devices such as a cellular phone, as a secondary battery which can be easily reduced in size and weight, and nowadays there is also an increasing demand for the lithium-ion secondary battery to be used as a power source for electric vehicles and hybrid vehicles.” This indicates modified Hasegawa teaches a vehicle, comprising the all-solid-state battery system according to claim 1.
Claim 12 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda.
Regarding Claim 13, Hasegawa teaches a control method (“[0001] The present invention relates to a control device of battery charging”) for an all-solid-state battery (“[0047] The configuration of the battery whose charging is to be controlled by the present invention is not particularly limited. For example, an all-solid-state battery can be preferably used”), comprising: charging the all-solid-state battery (“[0009] a control device of battery charging capable of quickly charging a battery to an intended capacity while inhibiting occurrence of defects in the battery”);
Hasegawa teaches a charging control map stored within the engine control unit (ECU), specifying the intended SOC, the steps for charging, and the intended pre-determined temperature for beginning charging. Id. at [0031]. This strongly implies a “predetermined time,” as charging by necessity has a duration and thereby a time period / pre-determined time. However, a means of distinguishing between intervals, i.e. the difference between a pause in charging and this predetermined time, is not directly disclosed by Hasegawa. Finally, Hasegawa teaches “[0008] The inventors also have found that: in order to charge a degraded all-solid-state battery to a high SOC with the charging current value increased and without causing Li precipitation, it is effective to charge the battery with the temperature of the battery increased.”
Matsuda teaches a control unit for determining dryness, wherein “[0049] In Embodiment 1, the dryness degree determination means 20 measures the time between the time the stack 2 stops power generation and the time it resumes power generation, i.e., the shut-down period, to determine the degree of dryness of the stack 2 or cathode 7. The degree of dryness or wetness of the cathode 7 at the time of start of power generation can be estimated from the shut-down period, which varies according to how the fuel cell system is used. A commonly used timer can be used as the dryness degree determination means 20, and the shut-down period after the power generation is stopped is measured based on a time-storing program.” Further, “0062] More specifically, the CPU 17 obtains information on the difference between the temperatures detected by the temperature sensors 23 A and 23 B from the dryness degree determination means 20 . When it determines that the temperature of the cathode 7 detected by the temperature sensor 23 A is higher than the temperature of the outside air detected by the temperature sensor 23 B by more than the reference value for determining the degree of dryness, it determines that the shut-down period is not long enough to dry the cathode 7 . As a result, the power generation control means 5 controlled by the CPU 17 actuates the air delivery means 10 and causes it to supply the air sucked through the air pipe 11 to the stack 2 through the air pipe 12 , thereby drying the cathode 7 .” This also comprises “[0043] a pair of heaters.” Because “[0084] In stopping the power generation, the supply of air and fuel and the heaters were stopped,” this indicates the heaters, i.e. a heating device, activates alongside the air supply. This indicates that a) degree of dryness is at least in part determined by time, wherein a predetermined time indicates the average time to dry, and b) that heating may occur in response to a resumption of charging, to a temperature higher than a temperature of the all-solid state battery before the pause of the charging. However, “[0015] After the power generation is stopped for a certain period of time, the amount of water remaining in the MEA is small, and in such state, the amount of water accumulated in the cathode is not so large as to require drying by a purge. In such cases, these methods may make the MEA too dry.” The corollary to this teaching is that, c) when the time is less than this “certain period,” heating / purge methods may be appropriate. These teachings a), b), and c), as well as the teaching of Hasegawa come together to indicate that a pause shorter than a predetermined time indicates that drying may be appropriate which indicates that shutdown time acts as a result effective variable for optimal temperature performance, particularly because Hasegawa teaches higher temperatures improve high SOC charging with degraded all-solid-state batteries.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the battery system of Hasegawa, such that it comprises a step of “heating the all-solid-state battery such that when the charging is resumed after a pause shorter than a predetermined time, a temperature of the all-solid-state battery after resumption of the charging is higher than a temperature of the all-solid-state battery before the pause of the charging,” because Hasegawa teaches a benefit to charging when in a specific temperature range, Matsuda teaches a device and method for measuring shutdown time as well as temperature, and heating in response to the shutdown time, and Matsuda teaches that shutdown time acts as a result effective variable for optimal temperature performance that one of skill in the art would arrive at through routine optimization.
Claim 13 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda.
Claims 3 – 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Ashida, et. al. (US2010231177A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Hasegawa teaches “0031] In a case where an affirmative judgment is made in the step S 101 , the vehicle is in the charging mode, where the battery is charged; therefore a starting command to give a command to start the feeding device is sent from the controller equipped with the vehicle to the feeding device (step S 102 ). Once the starting command is sent to the feeding device, the temperature of the battery is measured (step S 103 ); thereafter the degree of degradation of the battery is examined (step S 104 ). The temperature measurement of the step S 103 can be carried out by means of a known temperature sensor.”
Hasegawa is silent as to a voltage sensor.
Ashida teaches “0009] According to an embodiment of the present invention, a battery pack comprises: a plurality of secondary battery cells; a voltage measurement module configured to measure a voltage of each of the plurality of secondary battery cells; a charge switching module configured to turn on and off a charge current to the plurality of secondary battery cells; a first judgment module configured to judge whether a highest voltage value measured by the voltage measurement module is equal to or greater than a predetermined value, and a charge stop module configured to turn off the charge switching module when the highest value is equal to or greater than a predetermined value.” Further, Ashida teaches “[0105] The present invention is not limited to the above-described embodiments and may be embodied with modifications to the constituent elements within the scope of the invention. For example, the battery pack 100 may further comprise a temperature measurement circuit configured to measure a temperature in the vicinity of the secondary battery cells BT, and the charge switching circuit 16 , the discharge switching circuit 17 , and the switching circuit 25 may be turned on and off according to the temperature measured by the temperature measurement circuit.” Finally, Ashida teaches “[0029] When the overall voltage of the secondary battery cells BT of the battery pack 100 is monitored so as to control their discharge, overdischarge may occur when the secondary battery cells BT are unevenly charged or have different temperature distributions and differ in self-discharge states, although such a problem does not occur when the secondary battery cells BT are evenly charged.” This indicates that there is a relationship between temperature distribution and voltage, i.e. unevenness in the charging states of the cells. Finally, Ashida teaches “[0030] Accordingly, according to the charging system of the present embodiment, it is possible to provide a charging system capable of preventing the secondary battery cells BT from being overcharged or overdischarged, thereby reducing damage to the secondary battery cells BT and securing safety of the secondary battery cells BT.”
This reads upon “voltage sensor that detects a voltage of the all-solid-state battery.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery system of modified Hasegawa, such that it comprises a “voltage sensor that detects a voltage of the all-solid-state battery wherein when a detected value of the voltage sensor after the resumption of the charging exceeds a reference voltage, the control device is configured to control the heating device to raise a temperature of the all-solid-state battery after the detected value of the voltage sensor exceeds the reference voltage to above a temperature of the all-solid-state battery before the detected value of the voltage sensor exceeds the reference voltage,” because Hasegawa teaches a benefit to modifying the temperature to ensure effective charging, and Ashida teaches the relationship between uneven charge states, uneven temperature distributions, and the detected voltage, and because Ashida teaches a benefit to preventing battery damage from overcharging.
Claim 3 is over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda, further in view of Ashida. Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 3. Claim 3 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Hasegawa teaches a heating device and a control device, wherein “[0045] In the above explanation regarding the present invention according to the first embodiment and the present invention according to the second embodiment, a configuration in which the charging is started after the battery temperature is increased to a target temperature is exemplified,” which reads upon “the control device is configured to set a target temperature of the all-solid-state battery and control the heating device such that the temperature of the all-solid-state battery reaches the target temperature.”
Ashida teaches that a goal of the voltage sensor is to prevent over discharge (see [0029 – 30]), which may be caused by uneven charging; taken together with the teachings of Hasegawa, that heating to the target temperature improves charge performance, this reads upon “and when the detected value of the voltage sensor after the resumption of the charging exceeds the reference voltage, the control device is configured to set the target temperature to a second target temperature that is higher than a first target temperature before the resumption of the charging.”
Claim 4 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda, further in view of Ashida.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 3. Claim 3 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Ashida teaches “[0029] When the overall voltage of the secondary battery cells BT of the battery pack 100 is monitored so as to control their discharge, overdischarge may occur when the secondary battery cells BT are unevenly charged or have different temperature distributions and differ in self-discharge states, although such a problem does not occur when the secondary battery cells BT are evenly charged. That is, when the secondary battery cells BT including a secondary battery cell BT with a low amount of remaining battery are discharged, the secondary battery cell BT with the low amount of remaining battery may be overdischarged. [0030] On the other hand, in the charging system according to the present embodiment, the battery pack 100 monitors the voltages of the secondary battery cells BT so as to control discharge. Accordingly, according to the charging system of the present embodiment, it is possible to provide a charging system capable of preventing the secondary battery cells BT from being overcharged or overdischarged, thereby reducing damage to the secondary battery cells BT and securing safety of the secondary battery cells BT.” Finally, Ashida teaches “[0105] the switching circuit 25 may be turned on and off according to the temperature measured by the temperature measurement circuit.”
This indicates Ashida teaches the voltage may be modulated in response to the detected temperature, and previously modified Hasegawa was modified to teach “, the control device is configured to control the heating device to raise a temperature of the all-solid-state battery after the detected value of the voltage sensor exceeds the reference voltage to above a temperature of the all-solid-state battery before the detected value of the voltage sensor exceeds the reference voltage,” modified Hasegawa reads upon “a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the all-solid-state battery, wherein the control device is configured to set the reference voltage to be lower as the detected temperature is lower.”
Claim 5 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda, further in view of Ashida.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 3. Claim 3 is obvious over modified Hasegawa.
Ashida teaches that a goal of the voltage sensor is to prevent over-discharge (see [0029-30]), which may be caused by uneven charging; taken together with the teachings of Hasegawa, that heating to the target temperature improves charge performance, this reads upon “wherein the control device is configured to set the reference voltage to be higher as state of charge (SOC) of the all-solid-state battery is higher” to prevent overcharging, and/or facilitate shutoff.
Claim 6 is obvious over Hasegawa, in view of Matsuda, further in view of Ashida.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725