DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-3, 6-13, and 16-21 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 1, 11, and 21 are amended as filed on 05/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11-13, 16-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen Kaidi (Patent No. US 12,143,405 B2), hereinafter Chen, in view of Reyes et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2021/0044563 A1), hereinafter Reyes, in view of Tran et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2025/0106232 A1), hereinafter Tran, and in further view of Hipp et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2023/0012460 A1), hereinafter Hipp.
2. With respect to claims 11, 1, and 21, Chen taught a computer system, comprising: one or more processors (6:39-48); one or more computer readable storage media (6:39-48); and computer readable code stored collectively in the one or more computer readable storage media, with the computer readable code including data and instructions to cause the one or more computer processors to perform a method (6:39-48) comprising: receiving, by the one or more processors, data associated with web traffic from one or more requesters for a website (4:35-60, where the monitoring implicitly teaches receiving the data); analyzing, by the one or more processors, the flow data associated with the web traffic for the website (4:35-60, the analyzed activities); determining, by the one or more processors, whether the data associated with the web traffic for the website indicates a likelihood of a malicious enumeration attack (4:35-60, the enumeration attempts); and alerting, by the one or more processors, an administrator of the website of the likelihood of the malicious enumeration attack (12:25-37, where the valid user is alerted).
However, while Chen did express that device histories and address were analyzed (9:42-51 & 20:56-59), Chen did not explicitly state analyzing network traffic flow data. On the other hand, Reyes did teach analyzing network traffic flow data (0045). Both of the systems of Chen and Reyes are directed towards providing network security and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Chen, to utilize specifically analyzing flow data, as taught by Reyes, as doing so will allow the system to accurately monitor network traffic and more easily detect security threats. Furthermore, Chen undoubtedly performs the aforementioned flow monitoring but simply, does not explicitly state as much.
However, Chen did not explicitly state wherein the analyzing the flow data associated with the web traffic for the website further includes: determining a threshold percentage; and determining, by the one or more processors of the network detection and response computer system, whether a percentage of the requests made by the requester matches at least one name on a word list of common web pages is greater than the threshold percentage. On the other hand, Tran did teach wherein the analyzing the flow data associated with the web traffic for the website further includes: determining a threshold percentage (0085, where the percentage threshold hold is “at least one of parameter values” under broadest reasonable interpretation); and determining, by the one or more processors of the network detection and response computer system, whether a percentage of the requests made by the requester matches at least one name on a word list of common web pages is greater than the threshold percentage (0085, where the parameter is the word). Both of the systems of Chen and Tran are directed towards providing network security and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Chen, to utilize determining request threshold percentages as it relates to a request matching a word list, as taught by Tran, as doing so would provide an easy method of detecting problematic requests.
However, Chen did not explicitly state that the requests made by the requester matches at least one name on a word list of common web pages is greater than the threshold percentage, the word list comprising common web page names used by enumeration attacks. On the other hand, Hipp did teach that the requests made by the requester matches at least one name on a word list of common web pages is greater than the threshold percentage, the word list comprising common web page names used by enumeration attacks (0033, where the merchant name includes a web page name in accordance with 0086, 0091, & 0106). Both of the systems of Chen and Hipp are directed towards providing network security and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Chen, to utilize specifically analyzing requests against a webpage/merchant list, as taught by Hipp, as doing so will allow the system to accurately monitor network traffic and more easily detect security threats.
3. As for claims 2 and 12, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Chen taught storing, by the one or more processors of the network detection and response computer system, the flow data associated with web traffic for the website in a database, wherein the database is configured to maintain the flow data for a predetermined data retention period (7:61 to 8:12).
4. As for claims 3 and 13, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Chen taught determining, by the one or more processors of the network detection and response computer system, that a potential threat exists when a volume of requests by a requester of the one or more requesters over a predetermined data analysis period is greater than a threshold (3:54-61, the activities performed together implicitly teaches the time period and the volume accordingly).
5. As for claims 6 and 16, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 5 and 15 (respectively). In addition, Chen taught determining, by the one or more processors of the network detection and response computer system, whether the requester matches at least one name on an agent name list (20:56-59, the blacklist would list any blacklisted IP address which includes agent addresses).
6. As for claims 7 and 17, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 6 and 16 (respectively). In addition, Chen taught calculating, by the one or more processors of the network detection and response computer system, a security score based on: the volume of requests by the requester over the predetermined data analysis period (9:34-51); whether the threshold percentage of the requests made by the requester matches a request on the word list of common web pages; and whether the requester matches at least one name on an agent name list (20:56-59, the blacklist would list any blacklisted IP address which includes agent addresses).
7. As for claims 8 and 18, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 7 and 17 (respectively). In addition, Chen taught wherein the analyzing is performed at predetermined analysis intervals, wherein at each predetermined analysis interval a list of each determined potential threat is provided with a calculated security score for each of the potential threats (11:36-45, where the high-risk activity is identified by the score of 12:10-24).
8. As for claims 9 and 19, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 3 and 13 (respectively). In addition, Reyes taught wherein the volume of requests by a requester of the one or more requesters is adjustable (0054-0055), and wherein the predetermined data analysis period is adjustable by an administrator of the network detection and response computer system (0060, using the extracted portions teaches the time period selection under broadest reasonable interpretation).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Reyes, in view of Tran, in view of Hipp, and in further view of Official Notice.
9. As for claims 10 and 20, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). However, Chen did not explicitly state wherein the one or more processors of the network detection and response computer system does not perform packet analysis in determining whether the flow data associated with the web traffic for the website indicates the likelihood of the malicious enumeration attack. On the other hand, the examiner gives official notice that there were a plurality of techniques and/or actions that could be taken in response to a potential security threat that were contemporary to the time of the invention and accordingly, including not performing packet analysis and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Chen, to utilize different techniques for mitigating threat, in order to have a robust and efficient security system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
10. The applicant argues on page 11 that “With respect to claims 10 and 20, the Examiner has alleged that these claims are obvious over Chen, Reyes, and Tran, in further view of Official Notice. Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection. As argued above, the combination of Chen, Reyes, and Tran fails to teach or suggest all limitations of claims 1 and 11.” However, the Official Notice was taken in the Non-Final Rejection dated 05/14/2025. The response submitted 09/15/2025, did not traverse the rejection and thus, according to MPEP 2144.03 (C), the official notice is taken as Applicant Admitted Prior Art.
“the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate.”
If the applicant believes that the limitations (for which official notice was taken) are fundamental towards the novelty of the invention, then please contact the examiner for an interview and further discussion on the matter.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443