DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder et al. (hereafter “Snyder”) (US Patent 4,530,228) in view Hahn et al. (hereafter “Hahn”)(US Patent 5,129,252).
With regards to claim 1, Snyder discloses a ram assembly for a can bodymaker, the ram assembly comprising:
a frame (192);
a pair of slideways (186, 188, 190) structured to be coupled to a frame (192) of the can bodymaker (10);
a carriage (114) slidingly engaged within the pair of slideways;
a ram body (12) having a first end and an opposite second end, the first end supported by the carriage such that the ram body is slidable generally along a primary axis, as seen in at least Figures 1-2;
a punch (62) positioned at the second end of the ram body.
Snyder discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for an adjustment arrangement structured to provide for dynamic adjustment of the radial positioning of the punch with respect to the primary axis. Hahn is relied upon to teach a ram assembly for a can bodymaker comprising an adjustment arrangement (60) structured to provide for dynamic adjustment of the radial positioning of the punch with respect to the primary axis [Column 5, lines 3-45]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Snyder’s ram assembly with an adjustment arrangement because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
With regards to claim 2, Hahn further teaches wherein the adjustment arrangement (60) is an electromagnetic adjustment arrangement [Column 5, lines 3-45].
With regards to claim 3, Hahn further teaches wherein the electromagnetic adjustment arrangement comprises a number of electromagnetic bearings (110, 112, 114, 116, 210, 220, 224, 226) positioned in or on each slideway facing the carriage [Column 5, lines 3-45].
With regards to claim 4, Hahn further teaches wherein the number of electromagnetic bearings comprises a plurality of bearings positioned in or on more than one inward facing surface of each slideway [Column 5, lines 3-45].
With regards to claim 5, the combination of Snyder and Hahn discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the number of electromagnetic bearings comprises a plurality of bearings positioned in or on more than one outward facing surface of each slideway. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bearing on the outward facing surface instead of the inward facing surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and this arrangement would allow for easier replacement of bearings.
Claims 10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder in view Hahn and Fleischer et al. (hereafter “Fleischer”)(US 2012/0304720).
With regards to claim 10, the combination of Snyder and Hahn discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for a toolpack coupled to the frame, the toolpack having a forming passage defined therethrough about a central forming axis by a plurality of forming dies structured to form a can body from a cup. Fleischer is relied upon to teach a toolpack (6) coupled to the frame, the toolpack having a forming passage defined therethrough about a central forming axis by a plurality of forming dies structured to form a can body from a cup [paragraphs 26-27 and Figure 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Snyder’s ram assembly with a toolpack because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)] and in order to complete two steps od can making with a single machine.
With regards to claim 13, the combination of references further teaches wherein the adjustment arrangement (60) is an electromagnetic adjustment arrangement [Hahn: Column 5, lines 3-45].
With regards to claim 14, the combination of references further teaches wherein the electromagnetic adjustment arrangement comprises a number of electromagnetic bearings (110, 112, 114, 116, 210, 220, 224, 226) positioned in or on each slideway facing the carriage [Hahn: Column 5, lines 3-45].
With regards to claim 15, Hahn further teaches wherein the number of electromagnetic bearings comprises a plurality of bearings positioned in or on more than one inward facing surface of each slideway [Column 5, lines 3-45].
With regards to claim 16, the combination of Snyder and Hahn discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the number of electromagnetic bearings comprises a plurality of bearings positioned in or on more than one outward facing surface of each slideway. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bearing on the outward facing surface instead of the inward facing surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and this arrangement would allow for easier replacement of bearings.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder in view Hahn, and Fleischer and Swedberg (US Patent 10,864,568).
The combination of Snyder, Hahn and Fleischer discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for further comprising a sensing arrangement comprising: a plurality of sensors positioned around and spaced a radial distance from the central forming axis, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is structured to determine a number of characteristics of a can body positioned on the punch as the can body passes therethrough on the punch and wherein the adjustment arrangement comprises a control arrangement in communication with the sensing arrangement, and wherein the control arrangement is structured to receive information from the sensing arrangement and responsive thereto control operation of the adjustment arrangement to carry out dynamic adjustments to the positioning of the punch. Swedberg is relied upon to teach a tool pack assembly having a plurality of sensors (31 or 24) positioned around and spaced a radial distance from the central forming axis, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is structured to determine a number of characteristics of a can body positioned on the punch as the can body passes therethrough on the punch and wherein the adjustment arrangement comprises a control arrangement in communication with the sensing arrangement, and wherein the control arrangement is structured to receive information from the sensing arrangement and responsive thereto control operation of the adjustment arrangement to carry out dynamic adjustments to the positioning of the punch (at least Abstract, Column 5, lines 1-35 and claim 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Snyder’s ram assembly with sensors and accompanying control means because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)] and in order to ensure the quality of the cans being produced.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725