DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 18 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-10, 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 19/048061. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
A terminal, comprising: a terminal body including
a pair of terminal plates spaced opposite each other in a height direction; and
a pair of elastic contact members arranged on respective inner sides of the pair of terminal plates, each elastic contact member including an elastic arm having an extension direction inclined at a non-right angle with respect to a length direction of the terminal body, the elastic arms adapted to clamp a mating terminal inserted therebetween along the extension direction to achieve electrical connection between the terminal and the mating terminal. = Broader than claims 1, 18 and 19 of 19/048061
3. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the elastic contact member includes multiple elastic arms arranged in a row along a direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the elastic arm. Equivalent to claim 11
4. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein each terminal plate has an inclined side edge perpendicular to the extension direction of the elastic arm. Obvious over 19/048061
6. The terminal according to claim 5, wherein: the elastic contact member further includes a first side edge portion and a second side edge portion opposite to each other in the extension direction of the elastic arm, the elastic arm connected between the first side edge portion and the second side edge portion; and the first side edge portion is arranged adjacent to the inclined side edge and is fixed to the inner side of the terminal plate, and the second side edge is arranged opposite the inclined side edge and is slidably supported on the inner side of the terminal plate. Obvious over 19/048061
7. The terminal according to claim 6, wherein a riveting hole is formed in the first side edge portion, and a rivet is inserted into the riveting hole to rivet the first side edge portion to the inner side of the terminal plate. Equivalent to claim4
8. The terminal according to claim 7, wherein: the first side edge portion and the second side edge portion extend in a direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the elastic arm; and a plurality of riveting holes are formed in the first side edge portion and are arranged in a row along the extension direction of the first side edge portion. Equivalent to Claim 4
9. The terminal according to claim 5, wherein: a pair of support protrusions are formed on the inner side of the terminal plate and are located at respective ends of the inclined side edge and extend along the extension direction of the elastic arm; and the support protrusions on the pair of terminal plates are adapted to support the mating terminal inserted between the pair of elastic contact members to prevent the elastic arms from being excessively pressed by the mating terminal. Equivalent to claims 14 and 15
10. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein: a raised rib is formed on the inner side of the terminal plate and extends in a direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the elastic arm; the raised rib on the terminal plate is adapted to support the elastic arm to prevent excessive deformation of the elastic arm. Equivalent to claim 8
11. The terminal according to claim 5, wherein the terminal plate further includes: a first side edge; a second side edge opposite to the first side edge in a width direction of the terminal body; and a third side edge connected between one end of the second side edge and one end of the inclined side edge, wherein the inclined side edge is connected between one end of the first side edge and one end of the third side edge. Obvious over 19/048061
12. The terminal according to claim 11, wherein the first side edge and the second side edge extend along the length direction of the terminal body, and the third side edge is perpendicular to the inclined side edge.
13. The terminal according to claim 11, further comprising a locking member sleeved on ends of the pair of terminal plates of the terminal body and adapted to lock the terminal in a connector housing. Equivalent to claims 9, 10
14. The terminal according to claim 13, wherein the locking member includes: a bottom plate fixed to an outer side of one of the terminal plates; a top plate fixed to an outer side of the other one of the terminal plates; and an end plate connected between the bottom plate and the top plate, wherein the end plate faces the third side edges of the pair of terminal plates and abuts the third side edge. Equivalent to claims 9, 10
18. The terminal according to claim 14, wherein a locking spring is formed on each of the bottom plate and top plate of the locking member and is adapted to engaged with the connector housing to lock the terminal in the connector housing. Equivalent to claims 9, 10
19. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the terminal body further comprises: a welding part adapted to be welded to a conductor end of a wire, including: a pair of welding plates stacked vertically and riveted together with each other; and a bent connection part connected between one sides of the pair of welding plates; a first bending part connected between one end of one of the welding plates and one end of one of the terminal plates; and a second bending part connected between one end of the other one of the welding plates and one end of the other one of the terminal plates.
20. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the terminal body further comprises: a crimping part adapted to be crimped onto a conductor end of a wire, including: a U-shaped body part; and a pair of side wing parts connected to each of two sides of an opening of the U-shaped body part; and a connecting part connected between the U-shaped body part and the pair of terminal plates. Obvious over 19/048061
A terminal, comprising:
a terminal plate having a top surface and a bottom surface opposite one another in a thickness direction and a slot formed in the top surface, the terminal plate is a single terminal plate of the terminal; a limit shell including a top plate located above the top surface of the terminal plate and a pair of side plates connected to the top plate, a pin is formed on a lower side edge of at least one of the pair of side plates, the pin is inserted into the slot in an interference fit manner to fix the limit shell to the terminal plate; and
an elastic contact member installed on the top surface of the terminal plate and facing the top plate of the limit shell, the elastic contact member makes electrical contact with a mating terminal inserted between the elastic contact member and the top plate of the limit shell to electrically connect the terminal and the mating terminal.
The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the terminal plate has a front end and a rear end opposite one another in a longitudinal direction, the limit shell and the elastic contact member are installed on the front end of the terminal plate, the limit shell has a pair of opposite openings in a transverse direction of the terminal plate to allow the mating terminal to be inserted between the elastic contact member and the top plate of the limit shell along the transverse direction.
3. The terminal according to claim 2, wherein the pair of side plates of the limit shell include a front side plate and a rear side plate that are opposite to each other in the longitudinal direction of the terminal plate, the limit shell includes a riveting plate connected to a lower side of the rear side plate and bent towards a rear, the pin is formed on the lower side edge of the front side plate, the front side plate is fixed to the terminal plate by the pin, the riveting plate is riveted to the top surface of the terminal plate, and the rear side plate is fixed to the terminal plate through the riveting plate.
4. The terminal according to claim 3, wherein a plurality of first riveting holes are formed in the riveting plate, and a plurality of first riveting posts are formed on the terminal plate, the first riveting posts are respectively riveted into the first riveting holes to rivet the riveting plate to the terminal plate.
5. The terminal according to claim 3, wherein the pin is one of a plurality of pins formed on the lower side edge of the front side plate, the pins are arranged in a row along the transverse direction of the terminal plate, the slot is one of a plurality of slots formed in the top surface of the terminal plate and arranged in a row along the transverse direction of the terminal plate, the pins are respectively inserted into the slots in an interference fit manner to fix the front side plate to the terminal plate.
6. The terminal according to claim 5, wherein the slots run through the terminal plate along the thickness direction and are adjacent to a front end surface of the terminal plate.
7. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the pin and the slot are flat in shape, a pair of guide slopes are formed on both sides of an end of the pin to guide the pin into the slot.
8. The terminal according to claim 2, wherein at least one rib that protrudes inwardly is formed on the top plate of the limit shell, the rib extends along the transverse direction of the terminal plate to apply a predetermined pressure on the mating terminal, ensuring reliable electrical contact between the mating terminal and the elastic contact member.
9. The terminal according to claim 8, wherein a locking spring piece is formed on the top plate of the limit shell, the locking spring piece extends obliquely towards a back and outward for engaging with a housing of a connector to lock the terminal in the housing of the connector.
10. The terminal according to claim 9, wherein a pair of ribs are formed on the top plate of the limit shell, the two ribs are respectively located at a front side and a rear side of the locking spring piece.
11. The terminal according to claim 2, wherein the elastic contact member has a plurality of elastic arms extending along the transverse direction of the terminal plate, the elastic arms are arranged in a row along the longitudinal direction of the terminal plate, the elastic arms of the elastic contact member simultaneously electrically contact the mating terminal inserted along the transverse direction of the terminal plate.
12. The terminal according to claim 11, wherein the elastic contact member has a first side edge part and a second side edge part opposite to each other in the transverse direction of the terminal plate, the first side edge part and the second side edge part extend along the longitudinal direction of the terminal plate, the elastic arms are connected between the first side edge part and the second side edge part, one of the first side edge part and the second side edge part is fixed to the terminal plate and the other of the first side edge part and the second side edge part is supported on the terminal plate in a sliding manner.
13. The terminal according to claim 12, wherein a plurality of second riveting holes are formed in the first side edge part, and a plurality of second riveting posts are formed on the terminal plate, the second riveting posts are respectively riveted into the second riveting holes to rivet the first side edge part to the terminal plate.
14. The terminal according to claim 12, wherein a first support protrusion and a second support protrusion are formed on the top surface of the terminal plate, the first support protrusion is adjacent to the first side edge part of the elastic contact member, and the second support protrusion is adjacent to the second side edge part of the elastic contact member, the first support protrusion and the second support protrusion support the mating terminal to prevent the elastic arms of the elastic contact member from being excessively compressed by the mating terminal.
15. The terminal according to claim 14, wherein an inclined guide surface is formed on the first support protrusion for guiding the mating terminal to be inserted between the elastic contact member and the top plate of the limit shell.
16. The terminal according to claim 12, wherein a support rib extending along the longitudinal direction is formed on the terminal plate, the support rib is located below the elastic arms of the elastic contact member to support the elastic arms of the elastic contact member and prevent excessive deformation of the elastic arms.
17. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the limit shell is an integral stamped part.
18. A connector, comprising:
a housing; and a terminal inserted into the housing, the terminal includes:
a terminal plate having a top surface and a bottom surface opposite one another in a thickness direction and a slot formed in the top surface, the terminal plate is a single terminal plate of the terminal;
a limit shell including a top plate located above the top surface of the terminal plate and a pair of side plates connected to the top plate,
a pin is formed on a lower side edge of at least one of the pair of side plates, the pin is inserted into the slot in an interference fit manner to fix the limit shell to the terminal plate; and
an elastic contact member installed on the top surface of the terminal plate and facing the top plate of the limit shell, the elastic contact member makes electrical contact with a mating terminal inserted between the elastic contact member and the top plate of the limit shell to electrically connect the terminal and the mating terminal.
19. A connector assembly, comprising:
a connector including
a housing and
a terminal disposed in the housing, the terminal includes:
a terminal plate having a top surface and a bottom surface opposite one another in a thickness direction and a slot formed in the top surface, the terminal plate is a single terminal plate of the terminal;
a limit shell including a top plate located above the top surface of the terminal plate and a pair of side plates connected to the top plate, a pin is formed on a lower side edge of at least one of the pair of side plates, the pin is inserted into the slot in an interference fit manner to fix the limit shell to the terminal plate; and
an elastic contact member installed on the top surface of the terminal plate and facing the top plate of the limit shell; and a mating connector mated with the connector, the mating connector includes: a mating housing matable with the housing of the connector; and a mating terminal inserted between the elastic contact member of the connector and the top plate of the limit shell to electrically contact the elastic contact member of the connector.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tyler (US 2012/0156947).
Regarding claim 1, Tyler, discloses a terminal 100, comprising: a terminal body 102 including a pair of terminal plates 124, 126 spaced opposite each other in a height direction; and a pair of elastic contact members 110, 112 arranged on respective inner sides of the pair of terminal plates 124, 126, each elastic contact member including an elastic arm 184, 204 having an extension direction inclined at a non-right angle with respect to a length direction of the terminal body, the elastic arms 184,204 adapted to clamp a mating terminal inserted therebetween along the extension direction to achieve electrical connection between the terminal and the mating terminal 108 (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Tyler, discloses the angle between the extension direction of the elastic arm and the length direction of the terminal body is greater than 90 degrees and less than 180 degrees.
Regarding claim 3, Tyler, discloses the elastic contact member includes multiple elastic arms arranged in a row along a direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the elastic arm.
Regarding claim 4, Tyler, discloses each terminal plate has an inclined side edge perpendicular to the extension direction of the elastic arm.
Regarding claim 5, Tyler, discloses the terminal body has a mating port defined between the inclined side edge portions of the pair of terminal plates and adapted to receive the mating terminal 108 (see fig. 4). Regarding claim 6, Tyler, discloses the elastic contact member 110, 112 further includes a first side edge portion and a second side edge portion opposite to each other in the extension direction of the elastic arm 184, 204 , the elastic arm connected between the first side edge portion and the second side edge portion; and the first side edge portion is arranged adjacent to the inclined side edge and is fixed to the inner side of the terminal plate, and the second side edge is arranged opposite the inclined side edge and is slidably supported on the inner side of the terminal plate (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Tyler, discloses a raised rib (inner surface of terminal plate 124, 126 itself) is formed on the inner side of the terminal plate and extends in a direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the elastic arm; the raised rib on the terminal plate is adapted to support the elastic arm to prevent excessive deformation of the elastic arm (as, inner surface of terminal plate 124, 126 are capable to support (at contact points B and D the extension arm to prevent the excessive deformation of the elastic arm, as each elastic arms are fit between the first and second terminal plates 124, 16 and both terminal plates are connected by mating end 106 (figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 11, Tyler, discloses the terminal plate further includes: a first side edge; a second side edge opposite to the first side edge in a width direction of the terminal body; and a third side edge 102 (of fig. 4) connected between one end of the second side edge and one end of the inclined side edge, wherein the inclined side edge is connected between one end of the first side edge and one end of the third side edge. Regarding claim 12, Tyler, discloses the first side edge and the second side edge extend along the length direction of the terminal body, and the third side edge is perpendicular to the inclined side edge.
Regarding claim 12, Tyler, discloses, the first side edge and the second side edge extend along the length direction of the terminal body, and the third side edge TSE is perpendicular to the inclined side edge.
Regarding claim 19, Tyler, discloses the terminal body further comprises: a welding part 120 adapted to be welded (it is to be noted the broader meaning of welding can be considered as connecting the (power) cable (not shown (see Paragraph [0014].to a conductor end of a wire (see paragraph [0014], including: a pair of welding plates 120 stacked vertically and riveted together (being integrally made, see fig. 2) with each other; and a bent connection part BP 1, BP2 (see annotated fig.) connected between one sides 120 of the pair of welding plates; a first bending part BP2 connected between one end of one of the welding plates and one end of one of the terminal plates; and a second bending part BP1 connected between one end of the other one of the welding plates and one end of the other one of the terminal plates (see annotated fig.).
Regarding claim 20, Tyler, discloses the terminal body further comprises: a crimping part 120 (104) adapted to be crimped onto a conductor end of a wire (power cable , not shown see paragraphs [0014], including: a U-shaped body part; and a pair of side wing parts 120 connected to each of two sides of an opening of the U-shaped body part; and a connecting part CP (see annotated fig.) connected between the U-shaped body part and the pair of terminal plates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches a terminal according to claim 6, wherein a riveting hole is formed in the first side edge portion, and a rivet is inserted into the riveting hole to rivet the first side edge portion to the inner side of the terminal plate as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches a terminal according to claim 5, wherein: a pair of support protrusions are formed on the inner side of the terminal plate and are located at respective ends of the inclined side edge and extend along the extension direction of the elastic arm; and the support protrusions on the pair of terminal plates are adapted to support the mating terminal inserted between the pair of elastic contact members to prevent the elastic arms from being excessively pressed by the mating terminal as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches a terminal according to claim 11, further comprising a locking member sleeved on ends of the pair of terminal plates of the terminal body and adapted to lock the terminal in a connector housing, as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831