DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 3-4, filed 09/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments and new prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dragon (US 2024/0055934 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dragon discloses a stator core (12) composed of a stack of electrical steel sheets (34), each of the electrical steel sheets (34) including a core back (22) having an annular shape and teeth (52) protruding inward in a radial direction of the annular shape from the core back (22), wherein
slits (32, 32a) are formed in a group of sheets (50a, 50e) among the electrical steel sheets (34), the group (50a, 50e) being stacked in a range that is adjacent to a coil end portion on the stator core (12), and
each of the slits (32, 32a) extends along a radial direction of the annular shape through the group (50a, 50e) from a periphery of the annular shape (FIG. 3A, 4A).
While Dragon does not disclose the functional language of the group is subjected to compressive stress from the coil end portion, Dragon does disclose all the structural limitations of the claim. Thus, Dragon is inherently capable of the desired functions of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 2/1, Dragon was discussed above in claim 1. While Dragon does not explicitly disclose the functional language of “wherein a width of the slits becomes substantially zero due to thermal expansion of the electrical steel sheets at a temperature at which a motor composed of the stator core is driven,” Dragon does disclose all the structural limitations of the claim. As all matter inherently expands when heated and Dragon discloses all the structure of the claim, Dragon is also inherently capable of the desired functions of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834