DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to an amendment filed October 12, 2023. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/12/2023 and 04/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an access element…configured to be in communication with the cavity,” and a “sub-computational module being configured to compute the gas mixture parameter to provide the gas information” in claim 1.
The term “an access element…configured to be in communication with the cavity” is a generic placeholder “access element” followed by functional language “configured to be in communication with the cavity.” The term may be a needle (see par 0098 of the instant specification) or a hollow tube (see par 0101 of the instant specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 3, at line 1, the limitations “it” renders the claim indefinite; for example, one cannot be certain what the pronoun is intended to represent.
In regards to claim 5, the limitations “it” renders the claim indefinite; for example, one cannot be certain what the pronoun is intended to represent.
In regards to claim 14, at line 5, the limitations “a handheld detection device according to claim 9” lack sufficient antecedent basis; for example, there is no prior description of the detection device of claim 9 as being “handheld.”
In regards to claim 15, at line 2, the limitations “an insufflator” render the claim indefinite; for example, the limitations “a test gas insufflator” recited at line 3 of claim 5 from the claim depends, it is unclear whether or not the “insufflator” of claim 15 is the same as the “test gas insufflator” of claim 5 from which the claim depends.
Claim limitations “sub-computational module being configured to compute the gas mixture parameter to provide the gas information” is a generic placeholder “sub-computational module” followed by functional language “configured to compute the gas mixture parameter to provide the gas information” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The term “sub-computational module being configured to compute the gas mixture parameter to provide the gas information” includes a generic placeholder “sub-computational module” followed by functional language “configured to compute the gas mixture parameter to provide the gas information.” The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scalici et al. (US 2013/0096399) (“Scalici” hereinafter).
In regards to claim 1, Scalici discloses a detection device for use in providing a gas information from a gas mixture contained within a cavity (e.g., abdomen or pelvic cavities, see par 0124-0125) of a body part of a living being, and the body part comprising a skin layer, delimiting the cavity (e.g., abdomen or pelvic cavities, see par 0124-0125), the detection device comprising:
an access element 23 (e.g., tubing) presenting a distal end and configured to be in communication (e.g., in fluid communication, see at least figs. 5-8) with the cavity (e.g., abdomen or pelvic cavities, see par 0124-0125),
a housing 310 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 16A-B and par 0065 & 0095) connected to the access element 23,
a detection module 30 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 5-8 and par 0064-0065),
wherein the access element 23 and the housing 310 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 16A-B and par 0065 & 0095) are configured to be held by hand of a user, and the detection module 30 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 5-8 and par 0064-0065) comprises:
at least one sensor 34 (see at least par 0011, 0065 & 0095-0096) comprising a gas sensor 34 (see at least par 0065 & 0095-0096) arranged on the access element 23 (e.g., tubing) (see at least figs. 5-6 & 8) and configured to measure at least one gas mixture parameter (e.g., concentration of carbon dioxide, methane, hydrogen, sulfide, and/or nitrogen, see par 0054) related to the gas mixture within the cavity (e.g., abdomen or pelvic cavities, see par 0124-0125),
a sub-computational module 50 (see at least figs. 1A-B and par 0065, 0094, 0096 & 0101) arranged in the housing 310 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 16A-B and par 0065 & 0095) and connected to said at least one sensor 34 (see at least par 0065 & 0095-0096), the sub-computational module 50 (see at least figs. 1A-B and par 0049, 0065, 0094, 0096 & 0101) being configured to compute the gas mixture parameter (e.g., concentration of carbon dioxide, methane, hydrogen, sulfide, and/or nitrogen, see par 0054) to provide the gas information,
a user interface (see at least fig. 25 and par 0058, 0094, 0105-0106 & 0129) arranged in the housing 310 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 16A-B and par 0065 & 0095) and connected to the sub-computational module 50 (see at least figs. 1A-B and par 0065, 0094, 0096 & 0101), the user interface (see at least fig. 25 and par 0058, 0094, 0105-0106 & 0129) configured to communicate gas information,
a power supply 39 (see figs. 1A-B and par 0065) arranged in the housing 310 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 16A-B and par 0065 & 0095) and configured to supply the detection module 30 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 5-8 and par 0064-0065) with energy.
In regards to claim 4, Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 1, wherein the access element 23 comprises a gas outlet at a proximal end 40 opposite the distal end 21 (e.g., connector 40 and luer 21, see fig. 9 and par 0064).
In regards to claim 6, Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 1, wherein the access element 23 presents a proximal end 40 opposite the distal end 21, the housing 310 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 16A-B and par 0065 & 0095) being attached to the proximal end 40 of the access element 23 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 5-6 & 8 and par 0064).
In regards to claim 8, Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 1, wherein the gas information is representative of a leakage (e.g., due to perforation of the bowel, see at least abstract and par 0009, 0048 & 0070) in an anatomical conduit (e.g., bowel) within the cavity (e.g., abdomen or pelvic cavities, see par 0124-0125).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalici et al. (US 2013/0096399) (“Scalici” hereinafter) in view of Dove et al. (US 2022/0071517) (“Dove” hereinafter).
The following rejections are based on the CIP effective filing date of October 12, 2023.
In regards to claim 2, while Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 1, wherein the sub-computational module 50 (see at least figs. 1A-B and par 0065, 0094, 0096 & 0101) is configured to communicate and receive an external parameter (e.g., ambient gas concentration as baseline for comparison purposes during calibration, see par 0009, 0048, 0058, 0060, 0062, 0096, 0101 & 0113) from sensor 34 (see at least par 0065 & 0095-0096), and the sub-computational module 50 (see at least figs. 1A-B and par 0065, 0094, 0096 & 0101) is configured to compute the external parameter (e.g., ambient gas concentration as baseline for comparison purposes during calibration, see par 0009, 0048, 0058, 0060, 0062, 0096, 0101 & 0113) along with the gas mixture parameter, Scalici discloses a detection device that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein the sub-computational module thereof is configured to receive the external parameter from an external sensor. However, Dove teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein the sub-computational module 200 is configured to receive the external parameter from an external sensor 220 (e.g., external device 24 may be communicatively coupled to oxygen sensor 220, which may not be associated with catheter 10 and can be separate from catheter 10 shown in fig. 1) (see at least figs. 3-6 and par 0048 & 0057-0059). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici wherein the sub-computational module thereof is configured to receive the external parameter from an external sensor as taught by Dove since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Dove) to a known device (i.e., Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as reducing or minimizing any error in the signal from the gas sensor based on the determined the true gas partial pressure of ambient air, which may change at different elevations and atmospheric conditions, when calibrating the gas sensor and determining one or more calibration parameters therefor (see at least par 0059-0061 of Dove)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 3, Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein it comprises a supplementary sensor configured to measure at least one supplementary parameter, and the sub-computational module is configured to compute the supplementary parameter along with the gas mixture parameter. However, Dove teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein it comprises a supplementary sensor (220, 224, 230) configured to measure at least one supplementary parameter (e.g., ambient air oxygen, atmospheric pressure, ambient air temperature, see figs. 1 & 4), and the sub-computational module 200 is configured to compute the supplementary parameter (e.g., ambient air oxygen, atmospheric pressure, ambient air temperature, see figs. 1 & 4) along with the gas mixture parameter (e.g., oxygen concentration) (see at least figs. 1 & 3-6 and par 0020, 0027-0028, 0045, 0048, 0057-0059, 0062, 0075, 0087 & 0101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici wherein it comprises a supplementary sensor configured to measure at least one supplementary parameter, and the sub-computational module is configured to compute the supplementary parameter along with the gas mixture parameter as taught by Dove since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Dove) to a known device (i.e., Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as reducing or minimizing any error in the signal from the gas sensor based on the determined the true gas partial pressure and temperature of ambient air, which may change at different elevations and atmospheric conditions, when calibrating the gas sensor and determining one or more calibration parameters therefor (see at least par 0059-0062 of Dove)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
Claim(s) 5 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalici et al. (US 2013/0096399) (“Scalici” hereinafter) in view of Callahan et al. (US 2007/0123781) (“Callahan” hereinafter).
In regards to claim 5, although Scalici discloses a detection device comprising Scalici discloses the sub-computational module 50 (see at least figs. 1A-B and par 0065, 0094, 0096 & 0101) is configured to compute the test gas parameter along with the gas mixture parameter, Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein it comprises a gas connection device configured to: communicate with a test gas insufflator, and receive a test gas parameter. However, Callahan teaches that it is known to provide a detection device 30 wherein said detection device 30 comprises a gas connection device 34 configured to: communicate with a test gas insufflator (e.g., insufflation apparatus comprising fluid source 32), and receive a test gas parameter (e.g., real-time pressure readings or rate of pressure change such as loss, decay or increase) (see at least abstract, figs. 2-2A and par 0026-0030). Therefore, since Scalici discloses a detection device that may used in conjunction with intra-procedure and/or post-insufflation stage during which surgeons conduct the abdominal/pelvic procedure by insufflating the abdominal cavity with carbon dioxide (also known as pneumoperitoneum) and detecting the presence of other gaseous species in the abdomen or pelvic cavities above baseline levels (see at least par 0125-0152), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici wherein it comprises a gas connection device configured to: communicate with a test gas insufflator, and receive a test gas parameter as taught by Callahan since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Callahan) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as providing a single integrated system for evaluating the integrity of an anastomosis or a bowel resulting from various surgical abdominal/pelvic procedures by combining both an insufflation means and a detection means together (see at least abstract of Callahan)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 15, although Scalici discloses a system comprising a handheld detection device according to claim 5, so that the sensor 34 (see at least par 0065 & 0095-0096) measures at least one gas mixture parameter (e.g., concentration of carbon dioxide, methane, hydrogen, sulfide, and/or nitrogen, see par 0054) related to the test gas, Scalici discloses a system that fails to explicitly teach a system comprising: an insufflator intended to inject a test gas into an anatomical conduit within the cavity. However, Callahan teaches that it is known to provide a system comprising: an insufflator (e.g., insufflation apparatus comprising fluid source 32) intended to inject a test gas into an anatomical conduit (e.g., anastomosis) within the cavity (e.g., abdominal cavity) (see at least abstract, figs. 2-2A and par 0026-0030). Therefore, since Scalici discloses a detection device that may used in conjunction with intra-procedure and/or post-insufflation stage during which surgeons conduct the abdominal/pelvic procedure by insufflating the abdominal cavity with carbon dioxide (also known as pneumoperitoneum) and detecting the presence of other gaseous species in the abdomen or pelvic cavities above baseline levels (see at least par 0125-0152), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the system of Scalici comprising: an insufflator intended to inject a test gas into an anatomical conduit within the cavity as taught by Callahan since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Callahan) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as providing a single integrated system for evaluating the integrity of an anastomosis or a bowel resulting from various surgical abdominal/pelvic procedures by combining both an insufflation means and a detection means together (see at least abstract of Callahan)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalici et al. (US 2013/0096399) (“Scalici” hereinafter) in view of Mayer (US 2008/0163677).
Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein the housing comprises a data storage, configured to store gas parameter data from the sensor, or configured to store gas information.
However, Mayer teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein the housing 15 comprises a data storage 65, configured to store gas parameter data from the sensor (31, 32, 50), or configured to store gas information (see at least figs. 1-2 and par 0090-0092).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici wherein the housing comprises a data storage, configured to store gas parameter data from the sensor, or configured to store gas information as taught by Mayer since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Mayer) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as or storing data values received from the various sensors for further analysis (see at least par 0092 of Mayer)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
Claim(s) 9-10 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalici et al. (US 2013/0096399) (“Scalici” hereinafter) in view of Kunnecke (US 2012/0071788).
In regards to claim 9, while Scalisi discloses a detection device for use with a trocar (e.g., Verress needle or trocar, see figs. 5-8 and par 0048) having a cannula defining a passage to a free end and intended to be inserted in the body part through the skin layer so that the gas sensor 34 is in contact with the gas mixture (e.g., aspirate sample, see par 0064) when the cannula is arranged within the cavity (e.g., abdominal or pelvic cavity) (see at least fig. 3 and par 0060 & 0074, 0081 & 0124), Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein the access element is configured to penetrate the cannula with the gas sensor in fluid communication with the passage. However, Kunnecke teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein the access element (10, 25, 25’) is configured to penetrate the cannula (20, 82) with the gas sensor (not shown) in fluid communication with the passage (see at least figs. 2 & 7(a)-(b) and par 0026-0040, 0043, 0092, 0127 & 0139-0142). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici wherein the access element is configured to penetrate the cannula with the gas sensor in fluid communication with the passage as taught by Kunnecke since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Kunnecke) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as designing the access element for selectively fitting to a medical sampling access by positive interengagement and/or by a normal force and/or by friction and/or integrally (i) within a main body of the medium intended for sampling through a sampling access, (ii) in a sampling access, (iii) at an end of a sampling access and outside a main body of the medium intended for sampling and/or in a line connected to a sampling access and outside a main body of the medium intended for sampling (see 0026-0038 of Kunnecke)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 10, Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 9, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein an adjustment member disposed on an outer surface of the access element is configured to be radially tight against an internal surface of the cannula. However, Kunnecke teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein an adjustment member 11 disposed on an outer surface of the access element 10 is configured to be radially tight against an internal surface of the cannula 20 (see at least fig. 2 and par 0127). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici wherein an adjustment member disposed on an outer surface of the access element is configured to be radially tight against an internal surface of the cannula as taught by Kunnecke since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Kunnecke) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as keeping the access element spaced away from the inner walls of the cannula so as to ensure that the separating membrane remains free in the region of the window for the analyte to pass through and is not wholly or partly closed off by the inner wall of the cannula (see par 0127 of Kunnecke)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 14, although Scalici discloses a system comprising: a trocar, comprising a cannula (e.g., Verress needle or trocar, see par 0064 and figs. 5-8) which is intended to be inserted, through a skin layer delimiting a cavity (e.g., abdomen or pelvic cavities, see par 0048) of a body part of a living being, so that the cannula (e.g., Verress needle or trocar, see par 0064 and figs. 5-8) is arranged within the cavity (e.g., abdomen or pelvic cavities, see par 0124-0125) which is filled by a gas mixture; and
a handheld detection device 30 (see at least fig. 3 and par 0107) according to claim 9, and configured so that the distal end is in communication with the cavity (e.g., abdomen or pelvic cavities, see par 0124-0125), and so that the sensor 34 (see at least par 0065 & 0095-0096) measures at least one gas mixture parameter (e.g., concentration of carbon dioxide, methane, hydrogen, sulfide, and/or nitrogen, see par 0054) related to the gas mixture, Scalici discloses a system, as described above, that fails to explicitly teach a system wherein the handheld detection device thereof is configured to be inserted in the cannula. However, Kunnecke teaches that it is known to provide a handheld detection device (10, 25, 25’) is configured to be inserted in the cannula (20, 82) (see at least figs. 2 & 7(a)-(b) and par 0026-0040, 0043, 0092, 0127 & 0139-0142). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici wherein the handheld detection device thereof is configured to be inserted in the cannula as taught by Kunnecke since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Kunnecke) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as designing the access element for selectively fitting to a medical sampling access by positive interengagement and/or by a normal force and/or by friction and/or integrally (i) within a main body of the medium intended for sampling through a sampling access, (ii) in a sampling access, (iii) at an end of a sampling access and outside a main body of the medium intended for sampling and/or in a line connected to a sampling access and outside a main body of the medium intended for sampling (see 0026-0038 of Kunnecke)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalici et al. (US 2013/0096399) (“Scalici” hereinafter) in view of Kunnecke (US 2012/0071788) further in view of Church et al. (US 2022/0104777) (“Church” hereinafter).
The following rejections are based on the CIP effective filing date of October 12, 2023.
Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 9, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein the access element is configured to be radially tight against a sealing valve.
However, Church teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein the access element 14 (e.g., may be inserted into a cannula, see par 0614) is configured to be radially tight against a sealing valve 13 (see at least figs. 3 & 5 and par 0603-0604).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici as modified by Krunnecke wherein the access element is configured to be radially tight against a sealing valve as taught by Church since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Church) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as allowing for passage of items such as the access element from the exterior to the interior of the cannula in a sealed manner while preventing the inadvertent flow or leakage of gases from the interior to the exterior both during use when no items are, and during the insertion of the items (see at least par 0603 of Church)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalici et al. (US 2013/0096399) (“Scalici” hereinafter) in view of Kunnecke (US 2012/0071788) further in view of Kellner et al. (US 2017/0303964) (“Kellner” hereinafter).
The following rejections are based on the CIP effective filing date of October 12, 2023.
Scalici discloses the detection device according to claim 9, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein the access element is configured to be radially tight against a sealing valve. However, Kellner teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein the access element (e.g., diagnostic tool, see par 0014) is configured to be radially tight against a sealing valve 35 (see at least fig. 1 and par 0005 & 0014). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici as modified by Krunnecke wherein the access element is configured to be radially tight against a sealing valve as taught by Kellnner since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Kellner) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as allowing for passage of diagnostic tools such as the access element from the exterior to the interior of the trocar in a sealed manner while preventing the inadvertent flow or leakage of gases from the interior to the exterior both during use when no diagnostic tools are, and during the insertion of the diagnostic tools--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalici et al. (US 2013/0096399) (“Scalici” hereinafter) in view of Kunnecke (US 2012/0071788) further in view of Hart et al. (US 5,599,347) (“Hart” hereinafter).
While Scalici discloses a detection device wherein a switch controlling an activation and a deactivation of the detection module 30 (see at least figs. 1A-B & 5-8 and par 0064-0065), Scalici as modified by Kunnecke discloses the detection device according to claim 9, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein a switch is arranged on an external surface of the detection module, and is configured to be actuated by the trocar when the detection module is mounted on the trocar.
However, Hart teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein a switch 190 is arranged on an external surface (e.g., actuator 190 is mechanical reset switch, see figs. 15, 17 & 20-28 and col. 14, lines 17-52) of the detection module (e.g., including sensor 141, see fig. 10), and is configured to be actuated by the trocar 10 when the detection module (e.g., including sensor 141) is mounted on the trocar 10 (see at least abstract, col. 3, lines 19-50, col. 9, lines 51-63 and col. 14, lines 17-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Scalici as modified by Kunnecke wherein a switch is arranged on an external surface of the detection module, and is configured to be actuated by the trocar when the detection module is mounted on the trocar as taught by Hart since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Hart) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Scalici) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as selectively resetting the switch (see col. 14, lines 17-52 of Hart)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RENE T TOWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791